HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Charming Lakefront Home with Spectacular Sunset Views

People12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
12
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Lake Pocotopaug - 13 south wangonk trail

4 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, sleeps 10 -12

Newly renovated home on beautiful Lake Pocotopaug. This private 650 acre lake is closed to the public! Located in a small town with local shopping, antiques, casual and fine dining, walking and bike trails. This home is conveniently located less than 2 miles from CVS, Stop and Shop, McDonald's, Dunkin Donuts, Rite Aid, and Subway. 15 minutes from this home you'll find a movie theatre and restaurants with lots of outdoor seating. And also 30 minutes from Mohegan Sun and Foxwoods Casinos.

So, Bring your motorized boat or jet ski, or just enjoy our accomodations which include kayaks, a row boat,

a paddle boat, an inflatable boat, rafts and fishing poles.

Upper level: Master bedroom includes King bed and crib, with private deck overlooking the lake. 2nd bedroom has Queen bed with lakefront views. A/C units in each individual bedroom. Full bathroom has a jacuzzi tub with skylight.

Lower level: Lower level includes large bedroom with a full and a twin bed and 4th bedroom has twin over a full bunk bed.

Here you will also find the kitchen and dining area with comfortable seating for 8, large family room with great water views and a brand new futon that can sleep an additional 2 people.

30' tv with cable and dvd player in living room and an additional 19' tv with cable in bunk bed room.

2nd bathroom has shower only.

Large wall unit a/c cools entire first level.

All new linens and towels are included.

This vacation is recommended for families with young children, families with teenagers, seniors, girls getaway, tourists without a car, or make it a romantic getaway.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Property Manager
elvi
Member since: 2011
Speaks English, Italian
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
14 September, 2016

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

Charming Lakefront Home with Spectacular Sunset Views
average rating of 4.2727275 based on 11 reviews
5

Great family lake spot

  • 5 of 5

We've rented this house twice in the summer with our two small children and had great time both years. Very comfortable and clean. There's plenty of room for two families and easy to separate groups upstairs and down if that's needed. The views and deck are great, and you're just a couple steps from the dock. There's plenty of shade on the deck, but full sun on the dock. Everyone enjoyed the kayaks, paddle boat and trampoline, and the kids especially liked the sandy little beach just across the parking area. Courteous and friendly neighbors help round out an excellent vacation spot.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Class reunion week

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I rented this house for a week to attend an EHHS class reunion. Two classmates joined us for the weekend of the reunion, for which most of the activities took place across the lake at Angelico's. We found the house to be as advertised and quite comfortable. The views out of the back of the house were spectacular, and because of the season the lake was fairly quiet. It was great to sit on the deck or dock with my book and a glass of wine. The weather was cold enough that we did not take advantage of all the water toys ( two kayaks, inflatable boat, pedal boat, or trampoline raft) but I imagine they would be very popular with children and adults alike in better weather. The house was adequately stocked with dishes, silverware, and pots for our group. Might want to,add some wine glasses. We did have some trouble locating the bed linens as they were all in the dryer which according to the owner should not have happened. Very convenient to stores, restaurants, etc. We enjoyed exploring old haunts. Overall a very relaxing week. Two extra pluses...the man who lives across the street (Jerry) plays fabulous guitar. It was a joy to hear. And, a classmate lived two doors away.

We would certainly consider renting this house again.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Needs a good cleaning and updates

  • 2 of 5

Unfortunately I have to agree with Cathleen. Frankly, my sister and I couldn't believe this home had been rated 5 stars! It does have a very musty smell when you walk in (possibly Damp Rid or a dehumidifier would help). I have never been to a rental where the beds weren't made when you arrive. The refrigerator was nasty, not enough silverware, no ice trays or ice maker. The upstairs bed (to the right) "creeked" every time you moved in it. The bedspreads on the beds looked like Goodwill rejects. Lastly, I thought it ridiculous that they expect you to wash, dry and fold the towels before you leave. Landlord, go ahead and say I'm rude too but I think you should make some long overdue changes to your rental! Yes, it does have a nice view, I can say that about it.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
1

Listing not represtative

  • 1 of 5

Major disappointment. Our fun family weekend ruined. An overwhelming musty smell greeted us when we walked in, beds were unmade, dirty sheets on the floor, the furniture old and dated. not enough inside seating for all of us. The terrific view wasn't enough to make us want to stay. We left, contacted the owner and asked for full refund.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please disregard this rude lady's review. We've been renting for the past 5 years and have never had anything but positive responses from every renter. It just so happens that this past weekend was cold and rainy and she was looking for a reason to leave and get a refund. I have never come across such dishonest people.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Great, Charming waterfront getaway !

  • 5 of 5

Our stay in this lake front home was awesome . We had a few adults and kids, all of us were real comfortable with our stay , I loved the back deck very spacious, the kayaks were so much fun, very peaceful and a quick drive to local stores, waking up to the incredible sunrise and sunsets was great. Overall would love to go back and re-live it all over again .

  • Review Submitted: Sep 30, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Durham, ME
5

Perfect Family Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

The house was exactly as advertised! We rented the house for an extended family vacation with 4 adults (ages 36, 40, 42 and 68) and 3 children (ages 3, 7 & 9).

Everyone had a blast. The location is ideal as it is not far from the highway, but you definitely have the "away from it all" feeling. The house is equipped with everything we needed for the week. The beds were comfortable and everything was well maintained. The few questions we had were answered quickly by the owners.

The location on the lake was perfect, with the dock and float for swimming. The water was great and the kids swam ALL week long. The kayaks and paddle boat were also a big hit for kids and adults alike. For runners, the lake isnt too large and we ran around the whole lake and it was about 6 miles roundtrip. Very scenic route.

The proximity to the grocery store as well as a great farm stand made shopping easy and convenient.

All in all, it was a perfect week and the house was ideal. One recommendation our family had was to perhaps have some board games. Thankfully we had perfect weather all week, but if it had rained, those would have been handy.

Enjoy!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Location

Nearest Airport
32 Miles
Bradley International
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Quarry Ridge Golf Course
Nearest Train
2.3 Miles
CT-66 W / E High St
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Angelina's or Rossini's
Nearest Ski
18 Miles
Powder Ridge Ski
Nearest Beach
30 Miles

Get away to a charming lakefront home with water views from almost every room in the house in a completely renovated home on Lake Pocotopaug. Sit back and relax on the deck while the kids play in the lake right in front of you. This 4 bedroom house sleeps 10- 12. Upstairs, the master bedroom includes your own private balcony with spectacular water views. Included are 2 kayaks, paddle boat, row boat, fishing poles, and floats. Backyard also has a private dock and outdoor shower.

You can launch a boat or jet ski right next door and also enjoy a quaint, private sandy beach right out your front door.

Just minutes away from local restaurants and fine dining and only 35 minutes to Mohegan Sun or Foxwoods casinos!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Lake Pocotopaug, Central Connecticut

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£635
for 2 nights
From
£317
£1,428
£2,222
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £397

$2500 weekly peak season
$1800 weekly off-peak season
rates include taxes and exit cleaning fee

no credit cards accepted

$500 security deposit to hold reservation
will be returned within 10 days after departure

check-in time: 4:00pm
check-out time: 11:00am

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Lake Pocotopaug in Central Connecticut

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • lake
  • Lakefront
  • waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Backpack
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telescope
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Water Tank
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Outdoor Shower
  • Full bathroom on second level includes jacuzzi tub with skylight. Outdoor Shower allows you to rinse off as soon as you step out of the lake
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Cot
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , futon
  • Master Bedroom and Queen Bedroom located upstairs have individual a/c units.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck Chairs
  • Binoculars
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Terrace
  • Inflatable Boat
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Pedal Boat
  • Raft
  • Shed
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Decking
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
Upstairs bedrooms have individual a/c units Downstairs wall unit cools entire level

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties