HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Authentic Red Farm House On Zephyr Lake, Beautiful In All Seasons!

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

This is a unique rental opportunity in the heart of the beautiful Monadnock Region. The 18th century farm home/residence is located on beautiful Zephyr lake. The 600 ft. waterfront insures privacy for swimming and relaxation on the furnished deck. Large eat-in kitchen, full dining room, large living room with sitting area, family room, four double bedrooms, two full baths, washer/dryer. Sleeps 8. Kick back and relax at the lake or take a stroll near by. For a little more of a challenge Mt Monadnock is close by for the climbing enthusiasts. Nearby Crotched Mountain and Mount Sunapee is perfect for skiing in the winter and hiking in summer.

The Red House is a short scenic drive from picturesque Peterborough a lovely, typical New England town offering quaint shops, restaurants, and theater. In the summer there are the Peterborough Players, Monadnock Music, and many other cultural events.

More Details

Owner/Property Manager
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
11 August, 2017


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Greenfield in Hillsborough County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:00 / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • village
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed
  • New high end mattresses and box springs added in all bedrooms Aug 3, 2017.
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Garden
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • ski
  • swimming


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

71% Complete
14% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Authentic Red Farm House On Zephyr Lake, Beautiful In All Seasons!
average rating of 4.571429 based on 14 reviews

Nice historic vacation home

  • 4 of 5

Most lake houses I've stayed in are pretty rustic so this one was a step up. It was nice to have linens, beach towels and laundry included. The oven wasn't working during my stay but otherwise everything was in decent condition and all beds were very comfortable. They have a charcoal grill in the barn. The lake is very peaceful and we were probably the only people on it the week I visited. It is located on a busy road but if you walk down the dirt road across the street there are lots of quiet hiking trails to enjoy. I would definitely go back.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and sorry for the inconvenience of the pilot light. The stove is next on the list to be replaced next week! Enjoy the rest of your summer.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lots of character, beds could be better

  • 3 of 5

The house is very old and interesting. Parts are apparently around 300 years old. It has lots of bedrooms and space. The kitchen worked fine for us, and has modern conveniences. The lake is beautiful and just a few steps away. The main difficulty we found is that the larger beds are very soft. My wife and I had to sleep separately as the smaller beds were better.

There is no AC, and I understand the bedrooms are not heated. But if the weather is good (as it was for us), it can make for a charming stay.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your feedback. So happy that you enjoyed your stay. I have just placed an order for firm mattresses for the larger beds at your suggestion and new ones all around while I was at it! Have a wonderful summer!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 3 of 5

We had a very nice time overall. Great lake access with paddleboard and little boats. Wonderful deck near the lake and nice 3 season porch. Large yard was nice for dogs. Kitchen well stocked with plates, cups, spices, etc. Laundry on site.

On the other hand, the house is quite old and did not check off all of our boxes. It's on a main road which was not great for the dogs. No dock at the lake. Beds not comfortable. Appliances outdated like whoa. We had a mouse one night... which the property manager quickly and kindly took care of for us.

We had a nice time but overall, the house was just decent. Not terrible, not bad but also not great or spectacular.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a very nice time Ben. Yes the house is a 17th century farmhouse and so it should be clear it is old and on the road. I accommodated your three dogs so I am happy they had fun. The refrigerator is brand new and the rest of kitchen is being updated. Some mattresses will be replaced for maximum guest comfort. However, the Red House is overall an amazing country summer guest home for families to relax and feel at home. The lake is a phenomenal open expanse to the universe with a view of Pack Monadnock and beautiful sunrises and sunsets. God is present at the Red House and if you missed Him I am sorry.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Hampshire

Beautiful location!

  • 4 of 5

Great New England period home and was a nice way for our children and grandchildren to experience their first visit to New England. There were two families of 4 and ample space in the home.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pepperell, Massachusetts

The house was exactly as shown in the photos. Very spacious and beds were comfortable.

  • 5 of 5

My family of 6 stayed for 1 week and had a fun and relaxing time. The rooms are very large and the house is well stocked with linens and towels and even beach towels. Having 2 bathrooms was nice. There was dish detergent, bath soaps and hand soaps, plus Toilet paper and paper towels. Plenty of dishes and silverware and pots and pans. The washer and dryer were used and it was nice to bring home clean clothes.

The kids and adults enjoyed the lake as well as the deck overlooking the lake.

The eat in kitchen and dinning room were both used. It was nice to have a sitting room and a living room. The enclosed porch with another table and chairs plus a couch and a rocker were enjoyed by everyone. The privacy of the lake is very nice as we don't have neighbors to the left or right, just across the lake so it was like having the lake to ourselves.

Great vacation😍? Thanks for sharing your home with us!!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brookline, MA

Peaceful getaway for 3 women in a beautiful spot.

  • 5 of 5

My mother (80 +yr) and my sister and I (50 +yr) met in Boston and drove to Greenfield for a long weekend. My mother traveled from the Midwest and my sister traveled from Europe. Our weather was cool (mostly 40-50 degrees), with one day of rain. The house sits on a beautiful piece of property on Zephyr Lake. The house has 4 nice size bedrooms on the second floor and 2 full bathrooms (one on each floor). The kitchen is big and well stocked with utensils, cookware , dishes and spices. We enjoyed eating breakfast at the round kitchen table. The house is tastefully decorated with traditional furniture and decor.

There are plenty of chairs in the living rooms, along with a sofa, tv, and a closet filled with board games. It was too cold for us to sit on the screened in porch, but it look cozy. We spent our days exploring Greenfield, Peterborough, Hancock and Keene. We found good food at restaurants in Peterborough and Keene. It was a relaxing, enjoyable weekend in a beautiful spot.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Manchester, NH
Nearest Train
46 Miles
Brattleboro, VT
Nearest Ski
7 Miles
Crotched Mountain, Bennington, NH
Car: necessary


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Greenfield, New Hampshire

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
14 May 2017 - 9 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
10 Sep 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £38.84
Damage Insurance £76.9
Damage Deposit £194.2

All garbage must be taken to the Greenfield recycling center based on the schedule provided. A sticker will be provided in the house and must be left in the house when leaving.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.