Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Debbie's Beautiful Beachfront Home, 4 Bed, 4 1/2 Bath + Pool + Jacuzzi

Bedrooms 4
Separate WCs1
Space 3,400 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8). Many more reviews under Manager Info

Looking directly over the ocean to the world's second largest coral barrier reef and benefiting from the ocean breezes, our home in paradise, is just ½ mile from the reef opposite the Pescador cut (a route through the reef) and two miles from the local town of San Pedro, so it is quiet, private and secluded but also provides very quick and easy access, by boat, golfcart and bicycle, to the 'bright lights' of town with lots of restaurants, bars, coffee shops and shopping.

The house sits on a large private site, with private access, a private dock and the use of our own private infinity pool and jacuzzi (unheated) as well as wonderful views from our balcony (with hammocks) and patio out to the reef just 1/2 mile away.

There are 4 double bedrooms, 4 1/2 baths, a large kitchen and living room as well as a den with library and TV (cable and internet/wifi is available). All the bedrooms and the den are air-conditioned.

Our caretakers, Martin and Lupe, live on site and are there to help you in any way they can. They both speak good English. Lupe does all the regular cleaning.

We are really pleased to report that two years ago the town council paved the road to town. This allows both a quick and comfortable trip to town (2 miles) by golfcart or bike. We are delighted!!


Please swipe left to right on the overview photo to see a video of our home and grounds! Swipe right to left to see all our other photos with the video being the last one (no:38).

Keywords: Private ocean front house on secluded large plot with private entrance, private pool and Jacuzzi.

More Details

Debbie and Nick, Owners with Mary Hawthorne, In Country Co-Manager
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
13 July, 2018

About Debbie and Nick, Owners with Mary Hawthorne, In Country Co-Manager

We are Debbie and Nick and are English so we are a long way from our base for much of our lives. Having spent many years in offices, we love to relax by taking as much time as possible outdoors, eithter here in Belize, in the mountains of Europe or seeing other parts of the world. We have recently retired and are now looking forward to spending several months a year at our home here in Belize. Up-date! We are spending 4 months in Belize each year - we cant wait to get back to the warm weather and sand between our toes! Thank you all for your 'hits' and for the many bookings while we are away in Europe - goodness VRBO is great! We are sorry that our home will not be available from early May to end July as we will be there then but it will be available from mid July/ August each year right through to mid - early May! Best wishes to you all and thanks for your interest!

Debbie and Nick, Owners with Mary Hawthorne, In Country Co-Manager purchased this house in 2004

Why Debbie and Nick, Owners with Mary Hawthorne, In Country Co-Manager chose San Pedro

We, perhaps like you in the future, came on holiday to Ambergris Caye, from our base in England, and fell in love with the beautiful location, the island and its people (who’s first language is English).

A few months later we returned and viewed a number of pieces of beachfront land. We chose this one because it is beautiful, close enough to town for easy access but far enough to be away from the noise and traffic. We then, over the next 2 years, built our own home on this piece of paradise at the same time as learning to scuba dive, to fish and to improve the flexibility of our 'aging' bodies by taking yoga lessons locally.

Why the name? Debbie is my wife (see image above!) and she always wanted a home on a beach - so Debbie's Beach House was born! Please come and stay and form your own opinion for yourselves!

What makes this house unique

Well where do we start?!

Some days we feel like being active so we regularly go out snorkelling, scuba diving, fishing (pick-up from our private dock) and attending yoga lessons nearby.

Other days we want to be social so we

head into town by island ferry (from the next door dock), by golf cart or on our bicycles to go to one or several of our favourite restaurants, bars, live music shows or even shopping.

Very often we just feel like doing absolutely nothing very much, so we swim in our pool, sit in our Jacuzzi looking out over the ever changing view of the sea and the reef or sit reading in one of our hammocks on the balcony with a home made rum punch in hand (recipe is in our visitors book!).

The gradual effect of these combinations of activities or in-activity! on this island means, for us, that the rush and stress of our lives in a large city seem to just ‘slip away’ and we relax! Please come and try it!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We both had THE most amazing honeymoon!!

Debbie's Beach House was perfect for us .... so gorgeous and private. We loved every minute of it. Thank you SO very much for everything especially the champagne - that was very thoughtful!

We did Clinton tour to the ruins and cave tubing and we both highly recommend it. Clinton was EXCELLENT!!

We would absolutely LOVE to come back again!!
Apr 2018
  • 1 of 55


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house on San Pedro on Belize District

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 3400 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • resort ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 - Toilet , Guest toilet or access from pool
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or King Bed (can be combined) (1)
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles
  • Terrace
  • Garden ...
  • 4 bicycles
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(12 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
25% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Debbie's Beautiful Beachfront Home, 4 Bed, 4 1/2 Bath + Pool + Jacuzzi
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 67 reviews

perfect San Pedro beach house

  • 5 of 5

I believe this is the best house to rent for the $ in San Pedro! We came to San Pedro with 4 couples ranging in age from 50-70years old. The location is perfect, you can walk the beautiful beach in both directions; both ways there is a nice outdoor tiki bar & restaurants very close. the road in front is newly paved past Debbies and clear in to the town of San Pedro. The lay out of the house was perfect for us; there are 3 suites on the main, all very private. we had 2 couples that like to 'sleep in' so they took the 2 suites separated by the breezeway. the 3rd is on the main connected to the main part of the house also very private. the 4th suite is up stairs also private all with private full bathrooms. the only down side was the winding stairs that you have to use a lot to get up where the main part of the house is; living room, kit, tv room and outside veranda. we had a few with knee and back issues and the staircase was a 'chore' . Have to complement the 'caretakers' ! we loved Martin, his wife and daughter, they have a real talent for magically replacing everything i.e. towels, drinking water, etc. they were there any time we wanted anything, just mention it and it was there (floaties for the pool) they really took good care of us, thank you. Pix don't do the house justice! it's quality thru out , superbly stocked kitchen . the ocean was really just in front of the house, we did a little snorkeling just off our dock. Martin set up a private snorkeling trip for us it was great!! then set a catered in lobster dinner for us all very reasonable priced and delicious! on top of the fridge there is a 'pulley tray' to deliver drinks to the people below (found it late) and it really helped and fun to use. we rented 2 golf carts, we just told Martin before we arrived and they were waiting for us on arrival at the house. Perfect! the people just before us had left the hot tub on all night and nearly burnt down the place (shame on 'um) they had someone there to repair but needed to order a part so we didn't have a hot tub. The infinity pool was perfect and cleaned every morning. highly recommend this house, nice and quiet at night, close to everything and the views from both decks are great. we took the Ferry to San Pedro but found it to rough and long (1.5 hours) so ended up flying back (10 min.) thank you, Bonnie

  • Review Submitted: 17-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bonnie Thank you very much for your detailed review, including the compliments for Martin and Lupe (we appreciate them too!) and we are delighted that you all loved our Belize home! We are back there again soon ourselves and are so much looking forward to it too! We are sorry about the jacuzzi being broken - getting spare parts down there can be time consuming but it is fixed now. We hope you will all come again some time! Best wishes! Debbie
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Beautiful house, wonderful view on the ocean

  • 5 of 5

Great place, Wonderful views of ocean. As described in description. 1 a/c went out, fixed that same day. Chef Marie cooked for us one evening. Best meal of entire week of eating out. Highly recommend her. Martin the house caretaker was fabulous. Attended to grounds meticulously. Took care of everything we needed. Fantastic experience, Bruce Cremer

  • Review Submitted: 11-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bruce. We are delighted to hear that you and your group had a lovely time at our Belize home! We are looking forward to returning ourselves in a couple of months! Many thks for posting and kind regArds! Debbie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Location for Friends Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Debbie's Beach House was a wonderful location for our group's vacation in Ambergris Caye. It is on the north side of 'the bridge' but we had a few golf carts that made it easy to get in to town and to shops and restaurants. The best 'attribute' of this house is Martin and Lupe. He met us on arrival and gave us the full tour of the house and helped us with all of our bags. He introduced us to his two dogs (we are all dog lovers) and told us to come to him with any requests or questions. Martin gave us recommendations for restaurants that were outstanding.... you gotta try Carambas for their fresh seafood and Marbucks for a great breakfast sandwich and coffee to start your day! The grounds were manicured and raked daily and the pool was always crystal clear. Our lounge chairs were always lined up with cushions and 'floaties' were provided for us to relax in the pool. Lupe serviced the inside of the house every 3 days and we always had fresh towels at our disposal.

As for the house itself, we were there in 'rainy' season so the tiles outside got extremely slippery. And the spiral staircase gets harder to navigate as the week went on, and the rum punch took over. But we made use of the 'dumb waiter' rope and tray to our advantage. As expected, mosquitos are abundant - but we came prepared with dozens of cans of spray with DEET. We had no issues with the A/C or any appliances while we were there. The kitchen is equipped with everything you need should you decide to actually cook.

We ate out for most of our meals as we were too lazy to cook and the prices at the local grocery stores are extremely high. Akbol has a great outdoor restaurant overlooking their beach that we had breakfast at a few times. We also had a number of breakfasts and dinners down the road at Captain Morgans Resort. We went to the Dive Bar for dinner two times - the food is good but the atmosphere can get very loud if it is raining and they enclose it with tarps. There were other options in town but we opted to stay on the north side more.

As for other activities - DEFINITELY go with Catamaran Belize for any snorkel excursions and sailing charters. You won't be disappointed. Try your luck at fishing off of the pier - we didn't catch anything, but we also were without the proper bait (sardines). If you are willing to drive a bit on rocky, bumpy and sometimes flooded roads - go to Secrets Beach. Its the only real beach where you can go out in the water from the beach.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted that you were well looked after by Martin and Lupe and had a great time despite the amount of rain at the moment, which can interfere with a number of the activities on the island. Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review! Kind Regards! Debbie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful San Pedro house

  • 5 of 5

This was truly one of the best places we have stayed in in all of the Caribbean. The value of this home is unmatched. You could not find a better place for the money.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so delighted you had a wonderful time! Thank you for your review! Debbie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
la grange, il, usa

Terrific Ambergris Caye Rental

  • 5 of 5

This is a terrific house that comfortably houses two families of four. We found the house even nicer than it appears on the VRBO pictures. House was in great shape, the pool is very nice and the caretaker is a great guy. It's about a 15 min golf cart ride to San Pedro for those that want to venture that way, but there are plenty of quality restaurant options 5-10 mins away. Great views from the house, but it's not what one would consider a true beach house as beaches don't stand out as much on Belize as the diving and fishing do. As far as getting around, the golf carts are great. Water taxis are available, but they're not scheduled to run that frequently. For anyone looking for a Belize vacation, I definitely recommend Debbie's Beach House. I would give it a 4 1/2 star rating, but I can't figure out how to do it on the VRBO site.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Apr-2016
  • Date of Stay: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay in our home! Thank you for posting! We, ourselves, are returning to our home next month for several months and can't wait to get in one of the hammocks and enjoy the views across to the reef once more. Best Wishes! Debbie
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Mankato, MN

Great house just too far north

  • 4 of 5

We stayed last week for a work retreat, and the house was great!! Lots of privacy, excellent caretakers, great common space, and they provide everything you need. However, we were led to believe it was "just north" of San Pedro, when in reality it is a few miles into town. Also, the pool was leaking (listened to a jackhammer one entire afternoon) and the hot tub only worked if Martin rigged it. But the worst part is the bugs. Our entire crew was eaten alive, and we wore bug spray every single day. This isn't necessarily the owners fault (although maybe fog would help?), but wanted to make people aware.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Feb-2015
  • Date of Stay: January 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Amy Thank you for taking the trouble to comment on your stay at our home. We are sorry about the pool disruption. The pool has been installed for some 5 years and,having worked perfectly all that time, it has suddenly sprung a leak from one of the jets. I'm afraid that is not a fault that we could just leave given we were losing water all the time. We much appreciated your forbearance during the disruption and the leak is now fixed. As for the bugs, this too is unfortunate timing and does very much depend on the weather in a Tropical region with the amount of rain and breeze being critical factors. When we were there last year for 3 months, for instance, we had hardly a bite and rarely needed bug spray. We recognise that this doesn't help you when the bugs obviously have been bad during your stay. Re the distance from town, I think we specify in the VRBO details that the house is 2 miles north of town on an island that is 20 miles long but we are keen to re-iterate that here so that all our guests who book our home know this in advance. Many thanks again! Kind Regards! Debbie
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Nearest Airport
3 Miles
San Pedro airstrip
Car: not necessary

Daily yoga retreat 8 minutes bike ride away - we go 2-3 days a week!


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

We require a 2-night deposit to hold a reservation with the balance due 30 days prior to arrival. Please Note**Christmas bookings require a 50% deposit with the balance due 30 days prior to arrival**

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals