HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Secret Tropical Hideaway - Only 5 Min Walk to Central Ubud

People15
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms6
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview


Details
Property
villa
People
15
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
6
Minimum Stay
3 - 5 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 5 bedroom holiday villa in Kutuh Kaja - Villa Madu

Villa, Cabins, Cottages- 7 bd 7 ba, in lush, on secluded 3/4 acre, walk to town

Gorgeous, newly renovated Villa Madu is a secluded tropical paradise, on over 3000 sq meters (3/4 acre) of fern gardens, frangipani trees, and jungle, yet only 5 minutes walk to the main street in Ubud. A beautiful setting for a group retreat, family reunion, anniversary celebration, or an intimate wedding.

This unique property sleeps 4-20+ people comfortably, offering privacy when you need it and inviting common areas when you are feeling sociable. The Villa, The Cottages, and The Cabins can be booked together for large groups, or separately for smaller groups.

Please contact us for special discounts when booking the entire property, or for weekly and long term rates.

Luxuriate in the Swimming Pool just steps away from the Villa, with an upper wading and soaking pool with water that cascades down to the larger infinity pool below. In the mornings you may see the beautiful Java Kingfisher whiz by with his brilliant blue feathers and bright red beak, and at night you may see the little flashing green tail lights of the fireflies in the bamboo groves all around you.

***Villa Madu

Sleeps 5+

offers 2 master suites and an additional room with an antique day bed that converts to a charming sleeping space with it's own bath for 2 at night. The villa has 3.5 bathrooms, a large fully equipped kitchen, dining table that seats 10 to 12, and the Media Room with a 47" flat screen TV, satellite service, large DVD library, and plenty of books and periodicals to read during your stay.

***The Cabins

Sleeps 4+

Descend the 30 stone steps into the cool ravine to arrive at the grass thatched teak wood entry way for the 2 antique teak wood Javanese cabins. You will feel miles away from everything in your own private jungle cabin. The North Cabin has two twins that can be separated or joined as needed, and a quaint alcove with 2 single futons and a shared kitchenette. The South Cabin has two twins that can be separated or joined as needed. Both cabins together sleep up to 5.

***The Cottages

Sleeps 4+

Two self-contained one-bedroom one bath cottages, with private gardens and kitchenette, The Vanilla Cottages can be booked together with the villa and two cabins for a total of 7 bedrooms and 7.5 baths.

***Rumah Maduluna (optional add-on - inquire for availability)

Sleeps 4+

Newly built in an eclectic style, this 2 bedroom 2 bath house features antique Indonesian furnishings and modern conveniences. Downstairs bedroom adjoins the large master bath with outdoor views and terrazzo tub. Upstairs suite with large veranda overlooking the garden and jungle greenery on all sides.

***WiFi

You may decide to put away your phones and computers and just relax and enjoy the peaceful surroundings, but whenever you need it, we have fiber optic WIFI, which is unlimited and available throughout the property, and is included at no extra charge.

***Our Friendly Staff

Our full time staff of 8 is here to make your stay as pleasant and luxurious as possible.

With advance notice, Nurdi, our cook can prepare outstanding local or international cuisine for you if you want to eat at home. She uses locally grown, organic produce whenever possible, and depending on the season some of it comes from our own on-site gardens. She is equally talented with vegetarian or non-vegetarian selections, and can accommodate your dietary requirements. Indonesian, Thai or Indian cooking classes in our large, fully equipped kitchen can be arranged.

***Food Choices

Central Ubud is just minutes away, and offers your choice of many world class cafes and restaurants. Most of them will deliver if you want to stay home.

***Activities & Services -

If you feel the need to work out after one of Nurdi's sumptuous breakfasts, the popular Ubud Fitness Center is only 100 meters away and offers a full-service air-conditioned gym and racquetball court.

***Delicious full breakfasts included in rate the rate; as well as 16% taxes; welcome drinks; unlimited WiFi; high quality linens and bathroom amenities; free shuttle transportation within Ubud when available; drinking water, Bali coffee and tea; satellite TV service; full time staff of 8.

Private and personalized Spa Services available, including therapeutic massage arranged in suite by appointment

***Valet & Laundry Services

***24 Hour Security

***Bali coffee or tea and cookies (sometimes homemade) any time.

~WiFi (high speed for Bali)

~Satellite TV

~Drinking water, bali coffee, tea

~Ping Pong Table

~Projector and 2 Meter Screen

~Darts, Cards Against Humanity, Monopoly, Scrabble, Pictionary, Playing Cards

Optional -

***Transportation & Guides

Airport pick up, drop off and other transportation can be arranged.

For large groups a minibus can be organized.

Day trips can be booked with optional guides that speak English, French, German, Spanish, Indonesian & Malay, Russian, Japanese or Mandarin.

***Massage and Spa Treatments

***Yoga & Salsa

Private instructors can be arranged for lessons at the Villa

***Child Care

Qualified babysitters are available at very reasonable daily and weekly rates.

***AIR-CONDITIONING & FANS - Our location next to a stream, lush jungle surroundings, great architectural design in terms of cross ventilation and efficient ceiling fans over the beds, makes the temperatures at the villa very comfortable. Air-conditioning is available in the downstairs villa master bedroom, and all the rest of the rooms have ceiling or floor fans. While in some months of the year it can get hot during the day, the pool, the fans and the evening breezes are normally enough to keep people comfortable, especially at night.

Many people don't realize what they are missing when they spend time in a closed, tightly sealed air-conditioned room. You don't hear the frogs chirping in the pond, the approach of a monsoon rain, or the gentle breezes rustling the leaves in the trees.

We really want our guests to enjoy the real experience of life in Ubud and in Bali, so we chose not to put A/C in all the rooms. We also feel it is important to do whatever possible to try to reduce our carbon footprint.

Guests may worry about being too hot because they make the comparison with living in a big city during the summer months without A/C. But of course, there is no comparison being in the rain forests of Ubud.

It is seldom that we receive a complaint from a guest about being too hot, and it is not unusual for a guest to request an extra blanket at night.

***CREATURES – Living in a rain forest, surrounded by the jungle, you will be sharing the environment with other members of the animal kingdom. We have regular guests like geckos which are harmless, but will happily eat as many mosquitoes as it can catch; a variety of frogs and toads will serenade you on rainy nights; and you may be visited occasionally by a monitor lizard or a monkey. There are snakes on Bali, however being very shy, they do not make an appearance very often. One should be aware, though, and avoid stepping on anything that looks like one.

****RABIES - The situation with rabies has generally been under control in the Ubud area. A local organization called BAWA has vaccinated all the dogs in the surrounding villages with great success. We rarely get a stray monkey at the villa, and so far there have been no reports of rabies in the monkey population. We have two lovely, clean and friendly (and of course vaccinated) dogs at the villa that keep local strays from wandering onto the property.

****MOSQUITOES & DENGUE FEVER - In the ubud area, dengue fever has always been much more of a concern than malaria. We do not use anti-mosquito fogging at the villa because of chemical concerns and also because fogging contributes to the eradication of the beneficial insects. We have also found that it is not effective for more than 24 hours anyway, and even less if it rains. We have many plants in our garden that help repel mosquitoes, and all the beds have netting. The use of a fan at night helps and we will light mosquito coils if you wish. While we do not have many mosquitos at the villa, it takes only one so it is best to be vigilant with the mosquito repellant and apply liberal doses as a preventative at dusk and also in the early morning when they like to feed. We have plenty for you to use at the villa, or you can bring your own preferred brand with you.

Keywords: bungalow, villa, estate, resort, hideaway, secluded, paradise, jungle, garden, cabin, view, pool, group, yoga, retreat, tropical, rainforest, gay friendly, LGBT friendly

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks English, French, Spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
5 December, 2016

About The Owner

We've seen so many changes in Ubud since we first came here. We didn't have baguettes or cappucino, and often didn't even have electricity. The rice paddies on Monkey Forest Road have been replaced with glass fronted air-conditioned Polo shops, and there are no more fireflies.

But the heart of Ubud is still here, and all the reasons I've loved it from the first are still to be found. There is, of course, the stunning beauty of the physical surroundings, mouthwatering cuisine, and the clement weather, but it's really the people, always gracious and full of smiles, and as beautiful and inspirational as ever that have made this truly my home.

A life long dog lover, I have two charming beasts, Monkey and Alfie, who will greet you with wagging tails and, if you're lucky, a gift of the perfect leaf or stone, selected especially for you.

The Owner purchased this villa in 2001

What makes this villa unique

***A PEACEFUL ENVIRONMENT – While we have a large TV monitor and cable service, we don't have TVs or phones in the rooms but have tried to create a truly peaceful and natural environment.

Enjoy cooler temperatures and breezes as soon as you step into the compound from the road. The villa and cottages are situated on over 1/2 acre of lush, tropical gardens, and overlooking a small ravine, but in just a few minutes you can walk to central Ubud.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(25 traveller reviews)

Secret Tropical Hideaway - Only 5 Min Walk to Central Ubud
average rating of 4.84 based on 25 reviews
5

Heaven on Toast!

  • 5 of 5

Our one biggest regret of our 2-week holiday in Bali is that we did not stay at Villa Madu first. Had we known what it would be like, we would have cancelled all other accommodations and just stayed there. We stayed only 4 nights; we could have stayed the entire 2 weeks and still would not have had our fill. Beyond all the marvellous sightseeing and shopping, the very best part was just staying in the villa, eating the wonderful meals prepared there or ordered in, getting massages and pedicures by the pool, playing cards or board games (there is a large selection) or a game of ping pong, or music on the drums and guitars provided; or watching a movie on the laptop beamed through the projector on to the 2 meter screen. Just being together with our extended family gathered together from far-flung countries - This was seriously paradise.

The 12 of us knew, from the moment we set foot in the Villa, that this was coming home. They took such good care of us - Nurdi, Dewa, Jero, Wayan and all of the staff. Breakfast was so amazing we could barely believe that dinner was even better. They helped us organize transportation, motorbike rentals, in-house massages or spa visits, meals, laundry, and even made special meals for one of us who was under the weather. Even Alfie, the friendly little white dog, came by each evening to say hello to each of us in turn, one by one.

The property is secluded, being set back from the road. You can actually feel the air temperature drop several degrees when you step through the massive teak wood gates. Each room in the villa has it's own charms and none of them are the same. They have been thoughtfully furnished and decorated, so there is a feeling of warmth and intimacy being surrounded with beautiful original paintings, stone carvings, and a collection of pieces from the owner's world travels.

The location couldn't be better - just a few minutes walk to the main road and all that central Ubud has to offer. What wonderful memories we were able to take away with us. We can't wait to return to make more.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Stunning and serene

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at Villa Madu with 2 other families (14 people in total) for one week in mid July. I wished we could have stayed forever....the property is simply stunning and we were so well cared for by Adrienne and all the staff. (Our children wanted to adopt Dee as their mother !). We loved absolutely everything about the property / the pool and water features, the outdoor bathroom, the location to town (5 min walk), the open air feel of the main villa, the exquisite furnishings in each room, the rustic bungalows hidden below the main villa, the gardens.....my list could go on and on ! With 14 people, there was so much space we could all escape to our own area, yet still come together in the main villa - which never felt crowded as it blended right into the outdoors. A real highlight was breakfast each morning and the dinners we had prepared by Dee...we have never eaten so well ! The food was a real highlight, as were all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble, from booking cycling tours to taking us to the local market to buy ingredients for dinner (and showing us how to cook it !). We felt so grateful to be able to stay at Villa Madu, and enjoy the delights of Ubud. Such a special part of world - and so good for the soul. Our own family of 5 are already talking about when we shall return to Ubud and Villa Madu. We absolutely loved it.

Sonia

  • Review Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Mill valley, California, United States
5

How can you stay anywhere else

  • 5 of 5

Let me start off by saying this the first review I've ever written in my entire life. As I write my eyes are watering with the unforgettable memories we've had with the Owner and her staff. My experience here compelled me so greatly I had to express it someway or the other. The staff are the most genuine, kind and helpful people I've ever met in my life. Nurdi, the chef, rushed to receive us along with the rest of the staff and promptly led us to our rooms as they brought in our lugggage behind us. We were welcomed with fresh juices and incredible complementary snacks which we then constantly pestered her for the recipe. Adrienne, the owner came to greet us after we settled in which surprised us because in most places the owners don't have time to mingle but she took time out of her busy schedule to personally make sure we were accomadated properly. Did I mention the property? It was breathtaking. I know this review might sound dramatic but if you look at any other review they say the exact same thing because it's true! The villa is located along a natural ravine which is wonderful in the evening as it provides cooler breezes. This isn't your stuffy, touristy, concrete closed off hotel room they give you a real experience of Bali in this Villa. I could go on and on but who wants to read an essay of my experiences? Come see for yourself they will make your trip the most memorable time of your life. Thank you again Villa Madu there's a reason your the most popular place in Ubud!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Mullumbimby NSW Australia
5

Divine Amazing Grace at an Amazing Place

  • 5 of 5

Amazing Owners and CARING Staff with well spoken English

Beautiful, STYLISH Decor with Exquiste Bathrooms

DIVINE Placement in NATURE where Your HEART will be CARESSED WITH LOVE &BEAUTY

A Peaceful Place in Ubud to rest and Restore WHERE Your HEART IS CARESSED WITH LOVE & BEAUTY

  • Review Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Great first impressions but...

  • 2 of 5

We stayed in early July for four nights with another family. We had four adults and three children aged between 5-7 years. We booked for three families, however one family of two adults and a child were unable to travel. The pluses were staying in a traditional Balinese villa, excellent breakfasts, helpful staff and great location.

We booked the villa given that it could accomodate our 10 people. Unfortunately there are only two designated bedrooms on two levels in the main house, only one with air conditioning. We needed to use a daybed with mosquito net for 2 children to share and another bed was needed to be made up on the floor in the room with air con for the other child. The only available space for the third family, if they had been there, would have been in two separate 1-bedroom /bathroom bungalows below the house, reached via many steps and situated on a steep bank. We feel it is really important that people understand that while the villa is advertised to accomodate 10 people, it doesn't on a practical level for families with young children needing to sleep in close proximity. Given the rate we paid per night, we feel the villa was not adequately described.

The gardens are beautiful, as is the fish pond. The kids loved seeing the turtles and feeding the fish. The pool was ok for the kids who could swim, but the jets in the spa pool did not work. Mosquito repellent cream was made available in the villa as there were many mosquitoes around the site. However, even with the repellent and the coils that were lit in the late afternoon, everyone had bites. Unfortunately, on our return, we have had 3 of us diagnosed with dengue fever. It is important that people when booking accomodation are aware of risk of bites in tropical settings, particularly in accommodation that is not completely enclosed and air conditioning unavailable throughout the entire accommodation.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: After nearly 5 years of sharing our home with travellers from all over the world, we have never received less than glowing reviews. So we were astonished and concerned to see the two stars at the top of yours. We believe there has been some confusion on your part, perhaps because you yourself were not involved in the booking process. We stand by our claim that the villa and bungalows can sleep 10+ people. You had access, as contracted, to 5 bedrooms, and 9 beds that can comfortably sleep 13 people. The choice not to use those rooms was yours. There is a sofa with a full-sized twin mattress that can be made up into a bed in the room where you slept with your child. You chose to use a mattress on the floor. If this was an issue, we do not understand why you didn’t just move your child to the sofa bed. Our VRBO listing very clearly states, as does our website and all of our listings on other sites, that to reach the two cabins you ‘Descend the 30 stone steps into the cool ravine to arrive at the grass thatched teak wood entryway for the 2 bungalows.’ It goes on to say ‘You will feel miles away from everything in your own private jungle cabin.’ We are not sure how we can be clearer about this. The description used on our websites is ‘wading and soaking pool.’ The spa jets have not functioned since shortly after the pool was built, and replacement parts are not available anywhere in Indonesia. Our guests have found that an actual massage next to the pool functions just as well if not better. Guests that travel to the tropics are generally aware that there are mosquitoes there. Even your government has issued a travelers’ advisory, warning its citizens to be wary of mosquito-borne diseases when traveling in Indonesia. It is unfortunate that members of your group contracted dengue, but you may have been exposed at any time during your visit including the next place you stayed. There are mosquitoes in restaurants, markets and even our airport. Many people don't realize what they are missing when they spend their holiday in a low-roofed, chemically fogged, tightly sealed air-conditioned hotel room. You don't hear the frogs chirping in the pond, the approach of a monsoon rain, or the gentle breezes rustling the leaves in the trees. We offer a different type of experience of Bali that is connected to the culture and environment of this rare and enchanting island. Sincerely yours, Adrienne, Nurdi, Dewa, Ngakan and all of us here at Villa Madu
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Perth Western Australia
4

Serene

  • 4 of 5

I stayed with a group of friends it was a girls week away.

All the staff are amazing and very accommodating, Nudi is the best cook her breakfasts were awesome!! they even organised massages for us each day in our villa.

Only drawback is only 1 bedroom is conditioned all other rooms have fans, the pool is great and view is just amazing you would think you were a million miles from anywhere

  • Review Submitted: Jun 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Car: not necessary

yoga, qigong, salsa dancing, salsa classes, tango dancing, tango classes, drumming, cooking classes, mask makingg, painting, weddings, reunions, family, gay friendly, LGBT friendly

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Kutuh Kaja, Bali

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Peak Holiday season
15 Dec 2016 - 9 Jan 2017
5 night minimum stay
£1,376
for 5 nights
From
£266
£1,722
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £28 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£759
for 3 nights
From
£237
£1,543
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £24 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £47

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 90 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Kutuh Kaja in Bali

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Included in Price
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 400 m²
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • village
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
    Bathroom 6 -
  • 6.5
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Villa Downstairs Master - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
    Jahe Bungalow - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
    Jeruk Bungalow - 2 Single Bed
    Villa Upstairs Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    Upstairs Alcove Bedroom - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
  • 5-6 bedrooms - Queen size Beds (3), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (6), Extra Twin Beds Available (4) For larger parties there are two more houses available on the same property. Vanilla Cottage has one bedroom in a quiet, enclosed garden space, with a daybed on the veranda. Sleeps 2 Rumah Madulina has 2 bedrooms and 2 baths, with ample space for more guests on extra beds. Sleeps 6
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • Parasailing
  • Racquetball
  • rafting
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surfing
  • swimming

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties