HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Mountain View Cabins Near Lost Maples & Garner Parks, Utopia and the Frio River

People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 522 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Private Cabins offering a Romantic Getaway for 2 or Fun for the Whole Family

IF THE DATE YOU ARE INTERESTED IN IS NOT AVAILABLE PLEASE CONTACT THE OWNER AS THERE MAY BE ADDITIONAL CABINS AVAILABLE.

From the sounds of gentle breezes rustling the leaves to the breathtaking views, The Lodges at Lost Maples are a unique hill country experience. Located on FM 337 between Vanderpool and Leakey in an area known as the 'Swiss Alps of Texas', The Lodges provide (5) private cabins less than 10 miles from Lost Maples State Natural Area and Lost Maples Winery at Polvadeau Vineyards, and 20 miles from Garner State Park. The closest river access is 10 miles to the Frio River and 15 miles to the Utopia City Park.

With tall, dense, mature stands of Ashe juniper mixed with Texas Oaks and Lacey Oaks along the steep-sided canyons, this stretch of RR337 has been designated as one of the most popular scenic highways in Texas.

All cabins have hand-hewn beams, cathedral ceilings, hardwood floors, wood-burning fireplaces, central air/heat, TV with VCR and/or DVD, video library, and an informal dining area with a fully equipped kitchenette (in-cabin coffee setup, microwave, full size refrigerator and stove, pots, pans and dishes).

The Red Rooster House and Cottage will accommodate a couple or up to (4) people in an open floor plan with a king size bed in the sleeping alcove and bunk beds built into the walls reached by a cedar ladder. These cabins offer a shower only.

Firefly and The Treehouse also accommodate up to (4) people offering a separate bedroom with a king size bed and a futon in the living room. These cabins offer a shower/tub.

Solomon's Den is perfect for a couple with a king size bed and a double whirlpool bathtub. The Villa is located adjacent to The Lost Maples Winery at Polvadeau Vineyards. It is a fully equipped upscale accommodation with a queen bed and shower. *Rates for these cabins are higher and will be quoted upon request.*

Towels and luxury 400+ thread count linens are provided for each cabin. All cabins have private porches with a view of the mountains, as well as outdoor fire pits, BBQ grills and picnic tables. Hammocks and bird feeders are also available on the property. Relax and unwind while enjoying the sights and sounds of nature up close.

Located on the Heart of Texas Wildlife Trail, The Lodges offer good birding and wildlife viewing opportunities year round. The area is home to over 200 species of birds including the Golden-cheeked Warbler, Painted Bunting, Tufted Titmouse, Summer Tanager, Vermillion Flycatcher, Black-chinned Hummingbird and Black-capped Vireo.

We know that you want to make the most of your hill country excursion so why not take advantage of our Concierge and Activity Recommendations and Planning service. We will personally work with you to make sure your time spent in the area becomes a memory to be treasured for years to come.

In the nearby town of Utopia you can play golf on the course where the movie 'Seven Days in Utopia' was filmed starring Robert Duvall, or enjoy an enchanted lunch or dinner on Saturdays at The Laurel Tree Guest Table Restaurant. The Laurel Tree is owned by Le Cordon Bleu Paris graduate Laurel Waters and offers a menu that changes weekly consisting of the freshest, seasonal ingredients. Mac and Ernie's Roadside Eatery is a more laid back option although the food is a special experience you won't want to miss.

The newest addition to the area is the Lost Maples Winery at Polvadeau Vineyards. Polvadeau Vineyards has specialized in growing the Black Spanish/Lenoir grape since 2006. The vineyard is the 1st commercial producing vineyard in Bandera County. In the fall of 2014 the first building of Lost Maples Winery opened and offers a tasting room and an opportunity for guests to see wine being made.

Other attractions to the area include Lost Maples State Natural Area, Garner State Park, Hill Country State Natural Area, Frio River tubing, horseback riding, Devil's Sinkhole and Frio Bat Flights. There's plenty to do in the Tri-Canyon area, but sometimes you can find enjoyment in doing nothing at all. At The Lodges nature can provide the entertainment, and we provide the "rest". Sit back and relax at your cabin, cook on the grill and enjoy star gazing or making s'mores by the campfire.

Whether a romantic getaway for two or a family fun-packed vacation, The Lodges at Lost Maples has something for everyone. Please Note: We are a 'No Pets' facility, although our dog Remy will be glad to be your surrogate pet while you are here!

If the date you are interested in shows to be booked on the calendar send us an inquiry. We have (6) cabins for rent so all of them may not actually be booked.

More Details

Owner
Jeralyn Hathorn
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
25 September, 2017

About Jeralyn Hathorn

My husband and I have been blessed to live in such an incredibly beautiful area of Texas. Each morning we wake up to the sound of birds chirping, not cars or sirens. Each evening before we go to bed we say goodnight to the Milky Way and marvel at the majesty of our universe and the One who created it. Our purpose in offering these vacation rentals is so that you too can experience how awesome our Creator is first hand.

Jeralyn Hathorn purchased this cabin in 1997

Why Jeralyn Hathorn chose Texas Hill Country

We weren't even looking for property to buy. But for some reason we answered an ad in the San Antonio paper to look at a property that cost far more than we would've entertained buying. We drove 2 hours to look at it and decided to return the following day to look at more properties in the area. When the realtor showed us this property God spoke and we listened. The rest is history as they say and we embraced the journey that lie ahead.

What makes this cabin unique

There's so many things that we love about living in the area - the friendly local folks, the abundance of wildlife, how bright the stars are and how big the full moon is (sometimes you feel like you need sunglasses at night!), the sunsets that paint the sky in the evening, the rain on the tin roof, but most of all the freedom to enjoy it each and every day. What our guests like best is the ability to be "unplugged". There is no WiFi or telephones in the cabins. Every now and then we start to think that it's time to come into the current century and add WiFi and the same day we'll read in one or more of the guest books about how the fact we did NOT have WiFi was the highlight of their trip. Apparently having to "talk" to each other brings unity. There's so much to love about the area and we'd love to share it with you.

Location

Nearest Airport
85 Miles
San Antonio
Nearest Barpub
12 Miles
Bear's Den
Nearest Golf
18 Miles
Utopia Golf Course
Car: necessary

The Lodges are only 10 miles to the Frio River - perfect for tubing or kayaking. The two lane country roads, steep sided canyons, rivers and natural environment provide plenty of opportunity for a beautiful and relaxing escape from the big city. The dark skies at night provide excellent opportunity for star gazing. The quaint towns of Leakey, Concan and Utopia offer mom and pop businesses providing eating establishments, entertainment and shopping opportunities.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Leakey in Real County

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 522 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • swimming
  • water tubing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

76% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
Mountain View Cabins Near Lost Maples & Garner Parks, Utopia and the Frio River
average rating of 4.6153846 based on 13 reviews
5

Great atmosphere, lovely cabin!

  • 5 of 5

Love this little place!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you enjoyed the cabin! Thank you for choosing to stay at our property and taking the time to write a review. Blessings to you and your family.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

... not great

  • 2 of 5

Cabin was nice.. until our AC went out and it was 90 degrees inside. We told the owner(husband) and nothing was done, we were given a tower fan and were told he would come back to check on us... well he never did.. no one ever did. Wouldn't recommend this place... poor hospitality!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you weren't aware that we went down to the cabin three times after you reported that the a/c wasn't working. In spite of maintaining our sytems regularly, there are times when they will freeze up. It is not uncommon for a unit to freeze up if they are turned down too low, or if the humidity is high and it is very hot. At the suggestion of our a/c professional we did post small plaques near the thermostats asking that they not be turned down past 70 degrees. It is unclear as to why your unit froze up that day, but as soon as you reported it we immediately attended to it. At the time all that could be done was let it thaw out, and then turn it back on. While you were gone we did make sure that it was cooling, which it was, but with temperatures between high 90s and 100 degrees it was going to take awhile. The next morning after you went out for the day we checked on it again twice, both times it was cooling to the proper temperature. Our guests are very important to us and we try to maintain a balance between respecting their privacy and making sure they know we are here in case they need us. I apologize that you did not realize that we did all that could be done with regards to the a/c.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely! We definitely loved it there.

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was clean and well decorated with rusty style. We had everything we need. The bedroom was nice, especially the bed was really comfortable. Will definitely recommend others!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. So happy to hear you enjoyed the cabin. Thank you for choosing The Lodges and recommending us to others.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

nice getaway

  • 4 of 5

+:

1. nice, quiet, perfect for 2 romantic cabin, serene

2. 2 very friendly dogs kept us company

3. clean

4. nice hill views

-:

1. 16 miles from Garner and other areas for food, restaurants, etc (took long to get there)

2. winding roads need to be extra cautious and plan extra time for departure/arrival

3. no shower

4. very isolated

5. absolutely no connection & very slow connection at corner store IF open

  • Review Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of our property. Of the 5 cabins we have on the property Solomon's Den is the only cabin with a whirlpool bathtub and no shower. The other cabins have a shower and/or regular bathtub. Be sure to ask for one of those next time if you'd like a shower and we'll be happy to oblige if we have the availability. This is a very quiet rural area. The beauty of that is it affords you the opportunity to unplug and enjoy nature activities such as star gazing, bonfires, hiking and horseback riding. The lack of restaurants nearby can be frustrating, although each cabin does have a full stove, refrigerator. microwave and BBQ grill if you'd like to bring your own food to prepare. If you're looking to be in the midst of the Frio River/Garner Park crowd this isn't the place to be. If you're looking for a quiet place to get away from the crowds, but still close enough to go tubing or to Garner State Park within a short drive, we've got what you're looking for. We appreciate you choosing to stay at our property and sharing your thoughts with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

Thought it was perfect. Great solitude and liked not having cell service. A baking pan is needed in the red rooster. Thanks again, it was perfectl and in great condition. Will hopefully be there again next year, just not sure if my summer schedule yet.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. It is always our goal for our guests to feel that they made the right choice when they chose to stay with us. Looking forward to having you stay with us next year - and there will be a baking pan in the cabin!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just so clean nice and peaceful

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful peaceful getaway can't wait to go back

  • Review Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jeff for your review. It is so great to know that you enjoyed the beauty of the area and how peaceful it is. Even better to know that you plan to return! We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Leakey, Texas

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Fall
3 Nov 2017 - 26 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£280
for 2 nights
From
£140
From
£160
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £12 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£280
for 2 nights
From
£140
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £12 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £377.45
Tax Rate 6.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals