HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Colorado Cottage Quiet Outdoorsman Paradise , St Vrain Trail

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Centrally located riverfront mountain cottage.Nestled on a private acre right at the St Vrain trail head. Great for outdoor recreation with lots to do right out your door. After a full day of recreation or shopping , relax on the covered front porch and listen to the rolling river, cozy up inside to a fire in the wood stove, or enjoy a bonfire right off the back deck. This is the perfect location to enjoy an authentic mountain lifestyle, with views of Aspens from both bedrooms and sounds of the river to calm any stress away.

Sports activities are plentiful; enjoy: hiking , snow shoeing, mountain biking , cross country skiing or fly fishing right out the front door; all free; no ticket fee's, no driving, all access to you.

Downhill skiing in Eldora within 30 min through the charming town of Nederland. Big I-70 resorts , like Vail and Breckenridge are approx 2.5 hr. drive. Magnificent motorcycle rides, on road and off, as soon as you leave the drive way. Plenty of great destinations for the motorcycle enthusiast await. World class hiking and backpacking destinations and trails are within a 20 minute drive and include Brainard Lake, RMNP, Sawtooth, Camp Dick, and access to Colorado famous 14 teeners.

Conveniently located between Boulder, Lyons, and Estes Park,

great shopping. dining, sight seeing, and live music are all just 30 mins away. Rocky Mountain views surround you as you travel to any destination.

Gambling Vegas Style, in the historic western towns of Black Hawk and Central City, is within an hours drive.

Antique enthusiasts can find plenty of treasure in the near by towns of Idaho Springs and Georgetown.

Wild life such as Elk, Deer and an occasional Bear can be spotted throughout the area. Only 1.5 hours from Denver International Airport it's a great place to recreate, relax and rejuvinate your spirit.

Keywords: Peaceful, warm, cabin, riverside, near trails, hiking, backpacking, motorcycle, ski, snowshoe,wood stove, open views, meadow, aspens, room to camp, firepit, garage, mountains, fish, fly fishing, flyfishing, river, stream, trout, mountain biking,

More Details

Owner
David Bevis or Rene Costa Bevis
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
15 August, 2017

About David Bevis or Rene Costa Bevis

Married couple, love the outdoors, avid motorcycle enthusiast, hikers, antique hunters and nature lovers.

David Bevis or Rene Costa Bevis purchased this cottage in 2010

Why David Bevis or Rene Costa Bevis chose Front Range Colorado

Did ya read the description...we got lucky!!!

What makes this cottage unique

The accessability of everything a mountain lifestyle has to offer. convenient restaurants with authentic local clientle, local live music, outdoor activities right out the door, magnificent riding experiences to exclusive and elusive locations. affordable skiing 30 min. away. 1.5 hr. to Denver International airport.

We Enjoy the accessibility of all that this location offers and allow yourself to B-r-e-a-t-h

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in the Ward in the Boulder County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:00 / Check-out: 12:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Room to move and offers shower and bath tub combination.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Double Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Veranda ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(42 traveller reviews)

73% Complete
19% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Colorado Cottage Quiet Outdoorsman Paradise , St Vrain Trail
average rating of 4.5238094 based on 42 reviews
5

Great cabin, wonderful location away from it all

  • 5 of 5

Loved our stay at the cabin, our boys enjoyed having the river and trail right by us as an alternative to going all the way to RMNP at times. Do yourself a favor and visit Brainard Lake and Nederland while so close to them at the cabin as well. Almost guaranteed to see bull moose at Brianard Lake. Thank you again for opening your cabin to us.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Deep in the mountains

  • 5 of 5

THe property was wonderful, the "Yard" on the side of the house is more of a high mountains meadow that attracts wildlife. Dinner's on the deck were peaceful and serene and the water rushing through the river lulled you to sleep at night and was a wonderful good morning beckon.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the mention of the field and the rendition of the wildlife viewing. Many of our guest find that to be an added treat! Visit again soon, perhaps during another season...Fall is amazing with the Aspen in their golden splendor.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet and pieceful

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was equipped with everything needed. It was in a quiet location and loved being close to the trailhead.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for visiting our little slice of Heaven. We hope you visit again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Peaceful location close to hiking and mountain biking paradise

  • 4 of 5

This rental is for you if:

You have flexible check out plans

You are excited to be "off grid"

You crave close proximity to a beautiful hiking/biking trail

This rental is not for you if:

You are on a tight schedule upon check out

You need/want consistent high speed internet

Overall:

We enjoyed our stay at this cabin, and found the location wonderful. Upon booking, I did not closely read the reviews and did not realize that guests were responsible for all laundry accumulated during the stay, and that the dishwasher was not functional. Given that we had a 10+ hour drive ahead of us, we were able to bring sheets and towels to use during our stay so that we avoided morning of departure laundry. This saved us time and headache, though the check out process and cleaning requirements were still difficult for an early morning departure. Not impossible and not worth being upset over for us, but it did make for a slightly challenging morning even with preparations made beforehand. Ultimately, if you are not bothered by doing all your own laundry/dishes and bringing trash to boulder, this is a steal of a spot. The owners clearly love their home, and we understood the desire to have guests respect their property. The owners were responsive to questions before we arrived, and the check out information and directions were accurate and helpful. A learning moment for us was that wifi does not always equal high speed internet =) But we were happy to disconnect while present at the cabin.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We certainly appreciate the guest willingness to keep the Cabin as found. Our property is maintained as a family welcoming home. We offer a minimal cleaning fee so that our property service can keep the home mowed, stocked and safely maintained from fire and wild life. A higher fee could be charged if you simply would like to 'Walk Away" Simply ask and we can quote for that service.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Colorado Springs, Colorado
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

A great location for a getaway from busy life. Small house with a great deck and privacy. Did not enjoy having to spend time vacuuming and cleaning towels and sheets when I paid a cleaning fee in my reservation. Uneven coils made it difficult to cook food properly. Afraid to use much of anything because I felt the owners were picky and would not refund my deposit. There is a laundry list of items to be done before you check out. Overall the weekend was nice and you can't beat the location with the trees, water, and proximity to the trail. The house could be great with some fixes.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We understand the check out clean up may not be welcomed by all travelers, however most VRBO travelers prefer to not pay for extensive cleaning fee's. Please recognized that basic chores are done to keep cleaning fee's lower than other locations in the area. The cleaning fee is to insure that the Cabin is maintained, restocked, and released as CLEAN for the next guest arrival. We do offer a 'Walk Away " service for an additional fee of 150.00 which most guest op out of due to the Ease of the actual clean up. Leave as found keeps this property Clean, affordable and VERY POPULAR.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very enjoyable!

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was conveniently located equal distances from several towns. The hiking path .25 miles away was beautiful. The cottage was cozy and welcoming.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The beautiful trail head and bridge is one of my favorite spots to go with hot cocoa or coffee in the morning. Happy you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
65 Miles
Denver International
Nearest Barpub
56 Miles
Millsite Inn
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Longmont, Boulder, and Estes Park
Nearest Restaurant
4.8 Miles
Jamestown Merc
Nearest Ski
18 Miles
Eldora Ski Area, Nederland, CO
Car: necessary

Any of the following are either immediately available at the property or are within a short drive. Downhilla nd cross country skiing at Eldora Ski Area, Nederland, Fly Fishing, Gambling, Hot Springs , highway and dual sport motorcycle touring, wading/ swimming, great hiking, backpacking, camping.

Jamestown Merc is a great local spot for breakfast or dinner and live music and is only 5 miles away. Other great restaurants nearby include Morrocco's in Ward and The Gold Hill Inn in Gold Hill

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in the Ward, Colorado

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£322
for 2 nights
From
£136
£923
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £19.39
Damage Deposit £193.9

The rates are based on a two person occupancy. All additional guest are subject to an additional fee of
$25.00 per person per night.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable