HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

New-Old San Juan Studio W/balcony to San Sebastian St.!

Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Ask About Our 3 Units in Old San Juan

This is a charming old san juan second floor apartment in the san sebastian street, close to all the restaurants in the famous san sebastian street. There, you will experience as a local this magical 500 year old city called old san san juan. It has one bedroom, balcony to san sebastian st., and high ceiling colonial apartment.

Doors open to the balcony so that you can enjoy the balcony view to San Sebastian St.

The studio has an a/c unit so that you can combine the ventilation that you wish.

The full kitchen facilities will allow your to explore your culinary fancy on those days that your chose not to eat in one of the one hundred restaurants within walking distance in old San Juan.

The apartment is located within a block of San Felipe (El Morro) a 27 acre military fortress built by the Spaniards during colonial times and in active use until WWII. From the apartment you will relax looking San Sebastian street, famous for its yearly festival in the month of January. The apartment is located in the residential/business part of San Sebastian but within two blocks of the bustling and partying of the street, which is the address for many of the best restaurants and bars of the city.

Half a block north is the most amazing view of the atlantic ocean and one block lies what i call the 'front lawn' of the apartment: a beautyfull grass area of the fort that is tucked between the fort, norzagaray street and tne ocean that will allow you to practice your tai chi chuan, read a book or smoke a good cigar.

If gambling is your cup of tea, the apartment is located six blocks from sheraton hotel that has a 10,000 square feet casino.

There are over fifteen public squares in old san juan all within walking distance from the apartment, which will give many hours of relaxation and entertainment.

Cristo street, the mecca of outlets and fashion stores is five blocks away and the famous jeweleries of san juan await you in fortaleza street.

If you are a cigar smoker you will be four and a half blocks away from the best cigar lounge in the carribbean and possibly the east coast.

Old san juan has a sun deck with a jacuzzi in the seafearers facilities that is just four blocks away.

A beautiful secluded (almost secret) beach is 10 walking minutes away. Don't believe those that tell you old san juan does not have a beach, they just do not know. If you want a full blue flag beach escambron is a 10 minute taxi cab ride away.

More Details

Property Manager
Carmen Medina
Member since: 2010
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
21 January, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Mercado in Old San Juan

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Two Twins that can be moved to convert queen bed.
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • limited accessibility


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

44% Complete
44% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
New-Old San Juan Studio W/balcony to San Sebastian St.!
average rating of 4.111111 based on 9 reviews

New Years in Old San Juan!

  • 4 of 5

Me and my fiancé spent 2016 New Years in Old San Juan and stayed at this amazing little gem. Modern interior with newish appliances was a nice surprise. The property manager, Carmen, was extremely pleasant and accessible.

I've read the other reviews and understand why people who not are looking for a nightlife scene did not like the location BUT if your looking to go out in Old San Juan this apartment's location couldn't be any better.

In the mornings there is a small restaurant/deli on the corner serving breakfast and great coffee. At night your surrounded by the best bars in Old San Juan and are in walking distance to everything else. We stayed in apt#201 which had a wash and dryer right outside the front door and had balcony that opened up to Calle De San Sebastián.

The only problem we had with the apartment was the shower did not have very warm water. It was warm enough to take a QUICK shower but the water never got really warm. For the location and all other amentities, dealing with luke warm showers wasn't a big deal but because the water got cold when We took consecutive showers I have to give this property 4 out of 5 stars.

Overall we loved it and would come back for sure!

  • Review Submitted: 01-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return in the future. We apologize for the hot water issue. That has been taken care of. Electrician went in and the breaker had tripped. We immediately changed it and up to now it's been working fine. Again thank you for your stay
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location!

  • 4 of 5

This place is located right in the middle of downtown Old San Juan. Yes, it's loud at night. But with the doors closed it was not obnoxious. I really enjoyed the nightlife going on right outside the door! Good people watching! The beds, however, were extremely hard and very uncomfortable. They could really benefit from a mattress topper. The blankets and pillows smelled a bit like mildew and one pillow was actually wet on one end. But after having many drinks at the local bars right outside the door, we didn't really care anymore! The shower did not stay hot very long and I had to finish washing my hair in a freezing cold shower. The decor is really charming and it's a very beautiful place. We really enjoyed our stay here and it is a great location for exploring the city. Parking can be a problem but for the most part we were able to find a space on the street right outside the building, which is painted a beautiful purple color. The owner was very nice and extremely easy to work with! We look forward to coming back to visit!

  • Review Submitted: 09-Oct-2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay and plan to return. We will have the hot water checked and get the bed toppers. We'll also check into the other things you mentioned.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

great stay in central location

  • 5 of 5

great location as long as you dont mind the noise at night on the weekends which actually wasn't as loud when the doors were shut. centrally located in a restaurant and bar area of old san juan which was great. also close to taxi stands and trollie stops. place was very clean however the shower was either really hot or really cold. very difficult to find a happy medium. other than that would stay here again, owner was very nice and helpful upon arrival (initially difficult to find the place, actually the yellow building with no number two doors down past the coffee shop)

  • Review Submitted: 01-Jun-2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect Location in Old San Juan

  • 5 of 5

I cannot say more than enough for the great location in Old San Juan, right in the heart of all the fun bars and restaurants away from the tacky cruise ship tourists. My wife and I did a quick weekend get away from St. Thomas, USVI and were pleasantly surprised with this cute little studio. It has a nice little balcony you can watch all the action from. If you are old and cranky (were are mid-40's) then this is not the place for you as all the bars have loud music and it is a street party there on the weekends, if you are young or young at heart, this place is perfect. Don't forget to go to Taberna on the corner with a large menu of draft and bottled beers and a Hofbrau beer on tap for happy hour at $3/pint and La Mala Vida, 4 doors down, for brunch at $21 that includes two entrees and bottomless mimosas!

Checking is was easy through mechanical lockboxes and we would stay here again! Not too happy with the additional $ paid to VRBO for their marketing fee.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Mar-2016
  • Date of Stay: March 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Myerstown, PA

Not so good

  • 1 of 5

The condo is nicely decorated and is sufficient for 2 people. Unfortunately the property is surrounded by bars on all sides and is very loud until 4 am. We only stayed one of the two nights. We couldn't stand the noise so we were able to find a hotel for the second night.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Feb-2016
  • Date of Stay: February 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We understand that you were there on the weekend and apologize for your negative experience. San Sebastian Street is known for its night life, especially on weekends. That particular apartment is in front of the building and if you're looking for a quiet place, it's not the best choice. We do have another on the first floor towards the back which is more suited for a relaxing stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very Clean and Right in the Heart of Old San Juan Nightlife

  • 4 of 5

I was very pleased with my stay here. The property was very clean and initial access to the property was easy. The kitchen and bathroom areas were adequately supplied. I do wish the bed was a bit bigger since I'm on the taller side and my feet hung off the bed, but other than that it was perfectly adequate and clean.

Before staying here, one should understand that this apartment is located in the heart of Old San Juan's nightlife. Because of this, it can be quite loud until very late into the evening, but if you are staying in Old San Juan to enjoy the nightlife, this shouldn't be a problem for you. However, if you are looking for a quiet place to spend the night, this would not fulfill your needs.

My only complaint would be that a key to the most outer door was not provided, as this door is supposed to be kept open at all times. The first three nights I came home to find myself locked out of the building. Fortunately, I was able to enter relatively quickly all three times and, after learning to leave a note on the door when I left, it was no longer an issue. But I would recommend that the owner find and including a key to this door, as being locked out can be quite stressful.

Other than that issue, I was very pleased with my stay here.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Jan-2016
  • Date of Stay: December 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mathew, we're glad you enjoyed your stay at our apartment. The issue of the key was in your hands all the time. I got in contact with the owners and the key that opens the gate to the apartments is the same one that opens the front door. I found out about it when I complained to the owners about your situation. Thank you for letting us know because now future guess don't have to worry about that issue.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £54.14

Certified Department of Tourism vendors. 7% Room Tax required by law.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals