HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beautiful Log Home with Stone Fireplace & Pristine View of Grandfather Mountain

People12
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Space 2,850 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Serene mountain log cabin loaded w/ luxuries & amenities - perfect for families!

At my home, A 'Peace' of Heaven, I want every guest to feel like they are at home. You will find every luxury of your own house here at my cabin - a fully stocked kitchen, a laundry set up with complimentary detergent and supplies, a master bedroom, bathroom, and guest room on the main floor; in addition to a loft (with pull out sofa) and large bedroom on the top floor, complete with plenty of plush blankets and pillows for cold nights! My home sleeps 11 comfortably in beds, with room for any air mattresses you may require.

I want to make sure that here in my home you have every amenity and luxury that you have in your own home. Between the beautiful kitchen and gorgeous stone fireplace, you will find a large dining table that can seat up to 8 guests. In the kitchen you will find endless supplies for cooking wonderful home cooked meals for your friends and family. All throughout the house there are plenty of books if you like to just sit outside and read while soaking up some sun and checking out the one of a kind view.

The main floor boasts an incredible view of Grandfather Mountain during the day time - with windows from the floor all the way to the rooftop, you will find yourself staring at the awe of mother nature - whether it be from a comfortable recliner in the living room or a rocking chair on the wrap around deck. The outside area is fully furnished, and the wrap around deck is an incredible place to just sit back and take in the view. With rocking chairs, tables, and dining areas, you may find yourself spending more time outside than inside on your vacation!

The loft is a great area for kids, with its pull out sleeper sofa and plush pillows. There is also a chest full of games in the loft! Its got all the classics like Candyland, Monopoly, and Trivial Pursuit, and will keep you and your family entertained for hours! The bedroom beside the loft features a bunk bed with a full size bed on bottom and a twin size bed on top. Beside the bunk beds there is a huge, queen sized bed with a wonderful pillow top mattress cover. Also in this room, a window-nook overlooking the outdoor dining area - perfect for gazing at the view from the top floor!

The master bedroom downstairs features another queen sized bed as well as its own flatscreen TV. The guest room beside it features two twin sized beds - these two bedrooms are connected by the master bathroom, an incredible stone tiled walk in shower/tub decorates this bathroom.

Here at A 'Peace' of Heaven, relaxation is the vibe, and you will most definitely leave here feeling more centered and rested. I would encourage all my guests to check out all that the local area has to offer. There are endless activities and I will happily recommend activities for you and your friends and family, just contact me!

-------

Check in at no earlier than 4PM on the date of check in and check out is no later than 11:30AM on the day of check out. These times are flexible with approval from the owner.

Cleaning Fee: $150 - Includes professional grade pre-check-in cleaning to ensure top to bottom aesthetic perfection in our cabin. Also includes all fresh linens, towels, two Tide laundry detergent pods, dish soap, two large paper towel rolls, and two hotel-quality toilet paper rolls per bathroom.

For parties of two who do no wish to use the top floor and only wish to use the main floor, the cleaning fee can be discounted, by request.

*Please note - the owner resides on the basement level of the rental house in a separate Owner's Apartment. It is not necessary to meet the owner to gain access to the rental, there is a key lockbox beside the front door on the ground level (code will be provided before check in). Contact with the owner is minimum to nil, as the owner works full time and has a private entrance to the Owner's Apartment. The owner respects the privacy of all guests and will not enter the rental portion of the premises during any guest's stay unless absolutely necessary.*

*The owner requests that loud music be turned off after 12:00 AM.*

*Please note that the left most parking spot is designated for the owner, and the availability of that designated spot must remain open at all times and a car must be able to enter and exit that leftmost parking spot at all times.*

**5% discount for military, teachers, police, firefighters**

**10% discount for returning guests**

More Details

Owner
Barbara York
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
30 April, 2017

About Barbara York

Hi, my name is Barbara and I am a retired elementary school teacher from Burlington, NC where I taught for 23 years. I currently work at a local veterinary clinic which I love! I am blessed to have this beautiful home and I want to share it with you! I love to spend time with my family, be involved with my church, travel, read, shop in quaint little towns, go antiquing and spend time with my wonderful friends.

Barbara York purchased this cabin in 2009

Why Barbara York chose High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains

My father bought this property in 1968 and I grew up coming up here with my parents for weekends in what my father referred to as 'God's Country'. We had a mobile home on this site for years and would come up, and many times, invite family and friends to come with us. After retirement I decided to build a log home on this land which was completed in November 2009. I then moved to the great NC mountains and became a local!

What makes this cabin unique

I am so blessed to have this home, I mean not many people can get up every morning and stare into the face of the spectacular Grandfather Mountain while drinking their coffee! My home is centrally located around Boone, Blowing Rock, Banner Elk and Valle Cruise. You can get to any of those towns in 30 minutes or less. There are so many wonderful opportunities for having fun in my area such as shopping in the quaint boutiques in Blowing Rock, people watching in their wonderful Main Street park while eating yummy ice cream from Kilwin's Chocolates and Ice Cream. You can also walk across the famous mile high swinging bridge on Grandfather Mountain and visit their fun little zoo to see the bears. Go and drink an old fashioned bottled Coke and eat a Moonpie on the back porch of the original Mast Store while listening to live blue grass music. Go hiking on one of the hundreds of trails in the High Country or go whitewater rafting or tubing on the Watauga or New Rivers. In the winter you can go skiing or snow tubing on one of our 4 terrific ski slopes. Enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner in one of our fabulous High Country restaurants. There are too many things for me to name here, but I will have a guest book for you to get more ideas for mountain adventures and directions on how to get to them. After your busy day, you can come back home and relax on the deck while gazing at the thousands of stars and the silhouette of Grandfather across the sky or come on inside and sit by the fire! Just make yourself at home!

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Banner Elk in Avery County

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2850 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Max. adults: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom Master suite - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 main floor - Toilet
    Bathroom 3 Second Floor - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , Main Floor
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Main Floor Master
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , Second Floor includes Bunk Bed-DBL on bottom, SGL top
    Loft second Floor - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Queen Sleeper Sofa
  • Queen size Beds (2) There is a queen bed in the master bedroom on the main floor and one in the upstairs bedroom., Twin or Single Beds (3) There are 2 twin beds on the main floor 2nd bedroom., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) There are 2 full size sofas (NOT sleeper sofas). One is on the main floor in the living room and the other is downstairs in the family room. Both are quite comfortable to sleep on., Bunk Beds (1) There is a bunk bed in the upstairs bedroom. The top bunk is a twin and the bottom bunk is a double.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • ski
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(27 traveller reviews)

Beautiful Log Home with Stone Fireplace & Pristine View of Grandfather Mountain
average rating of 4.814815 based on 27 reviews
5

FANTASTIC views and cozy interior

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely LOVED this cabin - the view is spectacular and Barbara was so nice/helpful/responsive. The kitchen was extremely well stocked with pots, pans (etc.) necessary for preparing meals for a big group of people. The location is amazing because it is close to grocery stores and fun things to do in boone/banner elk, but the view from the cabin makes you feel like you are in the middle of the wilderness. Just perfect! Would definitely rent from Barbara again.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 30, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Very comfortable, well equipped with fabulous views

  • 5 of 5

We had the privilege of staying in "Peace of Heaven" this past week. Even though the weather didn't want to cooperate early in the week we were still quite comfortable inside and on the covered porch, and it was beautiful even in the rain! But once the clouds cleared we were treated to the most incredible view of Grandfather Mountain!! Their home is very well equipped, comfortable and inviting. We truly felt honored to have the opportunity to share their home, and will return as soon as possible. Thanks so much!!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing View and Very Cozy

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at many cabins and I've got to say this is one of my favorites. I believe this cabin has the best view in the area. The kitchen is amazing. I enjoyed cooking every night and having a view of the mountains or cleaning by the sink and watching the kids play. Our kids enjoyed the loft area to hang out and the bedroom with bunk bed and queen bed to sleep and be together. Even though it was a bit chilly at night we still went out and enjoyed our last part of the day before it got dark on the deck. We will definitely plan another trip here in the future. If I could give more then five stars I would. We had such a great time here. Thank you for sharing your home with us.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so very glad that you and your family had an enjoyable stay at our cabin! Thank you for the very kind review, it helps us immensely to keep improving the cabin for future renters. I am very happy to have done business with you and look forward to hosting you and your family again one day!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Buyer beware don't let this happen to you and your family

  • 1 of 5

I have been renting homes through VRBO for 10+ years .I am sharing this, as I do not want this to happen to anyone else.The cabin is amazing but the home is ran and managed by the family. Imagine making a 10hr trip with 4 elderly couple And three young kids . I sent two emails in two days to ask about the address and any information I would need. I Never received an email back . I had to call vrbo support desk to assist us in getting in contact with the owners of cabin . Vrbo assisted in gaining information needed of the address of cabin and Knox box code so I can gain access to keys . While arriving to the home Barbara York had finally called me and advised she has been working and that the house is ready for us. The three days we were their my kids and niece were having a great time skiing at sugar mountain leaving the cabin at 11am and coming home at 10p every day . While the elders stayed in the cabin rented a movie and went sight seeing as the temp were in the 50s . On Sunday night I sent an email to Barbara York that the cabin was beautiful and that we were leaving Monday at 5am because of the trip back to Florida. I also advised her that we left $6 on top of the dinner table due to the elders decided to rent a movie. When I arrived at my house 12 hours later. I received a email stating that their was damage that was done to the inside of the house and that refund will not be returned . After reading commits I immediately called the owner of house and got her voicemail time and time again. A email was sent with a alternative number to call . When I called the son Mike York was the one that answered. I explain my story that the house was cleaned and inspected by all of us that nothing was Broken . He advised that the house keeping maid found the damages, a desk was broken into and the drawer were damage and chairs were also broken. I was in shock with accusations that were said . I told Mr.york that these accusations are not true and this damage had to be done when we left the house at 5am. He advised me that he will call me back in 30min and to keep it between him and I for he can get to the bottom of this. A hour later I called back with no response 2hours later I called with no response I finally got him to text me,he ask for my email address so he can show me damage. No email was ever sent.I called vrbo to file complaint as of what happen. The only advise I can give which I failed to do is take pictures before we left house.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest broke into a locked drawer in my house containing sensitive information such as social security numbers, deeds, and bank statements. I had to file a police report just incase any of the information is used to commit fraud. Every single thing in this review is false and the reason I did not return his calls after he left was because I was advised by my legal council not to. As of now, I'm waiting on the police detectives to investigate the situation, and I'm waiting on VRBO's team to take down this review hopefully.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2
5

Peaceful and relaxing weekend!

  • 5 of 5

We so enjoyed our stay at Peace of Heaven!! It's everything and more! Such a beautiful place to relax and enjoy that gorgeous view of Grandfathers Mountain. Hope to come back and visit again soon!! Thank you for sharing your home with us!!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect mountain house!

  • 5 of 5

The house has a great view, awesome kitchen, great layout and all amenities. It was the perfect house for our mountain weekend!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
97 Miles
Charlotte Douglas Airport
Nearest Golf
2.5 Miles
Hound Ears Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Highway 105
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Foscoe
Nearest Ski
8 Miles
Banner Elk
Car: necessary

While visiting my home, you are centrally located to many wonderful mountain attractions. You can visit Grandfather Mountain with the famous Mile High Swinging Bridge and its wild animal zoo. The famous Tweetsie Railroad is less than 30 minutes away. Another place you must visit is Mast General Store with 2 locations in Valle Cruise (about 15 minutes away) and another location in the town of Boone, I love to go on Saturday and Sunday afternoons to the Mast Store location in Valle Cruise and sit in a rocking chair on their back porch and listen to live Blue Grass music! There are also several places in the area where you can book a white water rafting or tubing trip down the Watauga or New Rivers. About a mile from my house, you can book flyfishing tours and catch some good ole mountain trout! Shopping is wonderful at the quaint local shops in both Boone and Blowing Rock and their is a Tanger Outlet between the 2 towns! There are lots of wonderful restaurants in the area with great food and some with exquisite views of the Blue Ridge. Almost year around, there are festivals going on nearby like the famous Wooly Worm Festival in Banner Elk where you can race your very own wooly worm and possibly win $1000 if you have the winning worm! There is also Art in the Park held each month from April - October in Blowing Rock which is a wonderful place to shop for beautiful crafts and art. In the winter there is nearby skiing and tubing opportunities at Beech, Sugar, Appalachian and Hawksnest Mountains. There is always something fun to do and see in this area and my home is centrally located to all of it!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Banner Elk, North Carolina Mountains

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Nightly Rate
28 Apr 2017 - 29 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
£419
for 2 nights
From
£161
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
30 Apr 2017 - 1 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£393
for 2 nights
From
£148
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
2 May 2017 - 4 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£428
for 2 nights
From
£166
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
7 May 2017 - 11 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£402
for 2 nights
From
£153
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
14 May 2017 - 18 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£402
for 2 nights
From
£153
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
21 May 2017 - 25 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£428
for 2 nights
From
£166
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
28 May 2017 - 1 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£428
for 2 nights
From
£166
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
2 Jun 2017 - 4 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£480
for 2 nights
From
£192
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
12 Jun 2017 - 15 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£410
for 2 nights
From
£157
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
18 Jun 2017 - 20 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£428
for 2 nights
From
£166
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
21 Jun 2017 - 23 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£384
for 2 nights
From
£144
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
23 Jul 2017 - 28 Jul 2017
2 night minimum stay
£428
for 2 nights
From
£166
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
6 Aug 2017 - 10 Aug 2017
2 night minimum stay
£428
for 2 nights
From
£166
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
13 Aug 2017 - 17 Aug 2017
2 night minimum stay
£428
for 2 nights
From
£166
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
20 Aug 2017 - 24 Aug 2017
2 night minimum stay
£428
for 2 nights
From
£166
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
27 Aug 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
2 night minimum stay
£428
for 2 nights
From
£166
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
3 Sep 2017 - 7 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
£428
for 2 nights
From
£166
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
10 Sep 2017 - 14 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
£428
for 2 nights
From
£166
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
17 Sep 2017 - 21 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
£428
for 2 nights
From
£166
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
24 Sep 2017 - 28 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
£428
for 2 nights
From
£166
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
1 Oct 2017 - 4 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£428
for 2 nights
From
£166
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
10 Oct 2017 - 12 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£428
for 2 nights
From
£166
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
15 Oct 2017 - 19 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£428
for 2 nights
From
£166
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
22 Oct 2017 - 26 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£428
for 2 nights
From
£166
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
29 Oct 2017 - 2 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£428
for 2 nights
From
£166
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
5 Nov 2017 - 9 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£428
for 2 nights
From
£166
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
Nightly Rate
12 Nov 2017 - 16 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£428
for 2 nights
From
£166
£1,317
£4,280
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£524
for 2 nights
From
£214
£1,317
£4,280
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £231.91
Cleaning-waived @7+days £96.63
Pet Fee £38.65
Tax Rate 12.75%

Please be SURE to read the rental agreement before submitting payment! Also, please be sure to log in to the Hospitality Manager on HomeAway/VRBO in order to see important Welcome Information!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot