HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Charming Creekside Camp in the Laurel Highlands

People7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
People
7
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday cottage in Jefferson Township - Streamside Cottage

2 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, 7 Sleeps

Beautifully restored Craftsman Style Cottage located in the heart of the Laurel Highlands of Pennsylvania. Cottage is located directly along pristine trout stream, and sounds of waterfalls are heard throughout! Ideal for outdoor entertaining with with stone patio and firepit, private trails and bridges, picnic area, mountain spring, and creekside volleyball court. Trails lead directly into neighboring state park with lake. Walk to restaurant with outdoor summer seating.

Close to Seven Springs Resort and about 30 minutes to Frank Lloyd Wrights Fallingwater and River Rafting and Biking at Ohiopyle.

Historic cottage has been fully restored and featured in national home publications and is very charming. Fully equipped kitchen featuring stainless steel appliances. Master bedroom with high-end adjustable Sleep Number Mattress. Hardwood dining set seats 6. Great Room with 17 windows on 3 sides overlooking stream. Stone Fireplace, Woodstove, and individual room heating controls. Wifi internet, and SmartTV with Netflix and Amazon Movies.

All rentals include cleaning and linen service.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner
Dave Bachman
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
8 December, 2016

Reviews

4.4/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

Charming Creekside Camp in the Laurel Highlands
average rating of 4.4 based on 5 reviews
5

Very comfortable, nicely furnished surrounded by beautiful woods/creek/hiking trails

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable, nicely furnished surrounded by beautiful woods/creek/hiking trails

  • Review Submitted: Nov 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Magical Getaway

  • 4 of 5

Dave was very helpful and responded very quickly to any questions we had. The pictures don't do the property justice. The cottage was so cozy, well maintained and clean.

The beautiful scenery was magical. We sat at the fire pit and listened to the stream. There was plenty of firewood. We cooked on the grill, made mountain pies and toasted marshmallows on the open fire.

The Laurel Mountian Inn is right next door. We met friends there for lunch and the food was excellent (don't know why the reviews on Yelp were bad)

I would have given the Sylvania 5+ stars if it weren't for having to go down steps to get to the back of the property, which made it a little difficult to prepare your food on the grill, and it is on the highway but was not that noisy.

We loved the Sylvania, and David was great to deal with. We will definately stay ther again!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

beautiful cabin - wonderful host

  • 4 of 5

Walking in to the property was like coming home. I absolutely love every single thing about the cabin. The very few things that caused this to not be a perfect location have little to do with the property itself. Everything that you need to enjoy your stay is in the cabin, bring food, your personal essentials and a good book and you're set. The pictures do not really do the site justice. The fire pit and stream behind the cabin walk the line of magical.

One concern is the noise - the road is very close and the dump trucks that drive by are apparently trying to escape the invisible bats from hell that must be chasing them. This is no fault of the cabin, but if you are looking for absolute silence this will not happen here. The only other concern was the beds - which is a losing situation no matter what. It is almost impossible to find a comfortable bed outside of your own, but the sleep number bed is filled with air and when my husband, who is a bit larger than me, would get in to the bed the air would blast over to my side and either knock the wind out of me because it was like being punched in the diaphragm or if I was on my back it would sort of shoot me upward which when you're sleeping feels like you're being launched in to space. So whoever is bigger just needs to get into bed slowly.

Dave was a fantastic host and went out of his way to answer questions quickly and help us out with a concern. This is a great property and a wonderful place to spend time with whomever will bring you happiness. Thank you Dave!!!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! Yes it really can be a magical place. A few comments: - It appears that you were there when they were doing some construction down the road with related truck traffic. With that said, would agree that since we boarder a road it is not going to be completely quiet. There are pros and cons to everything; During the winter is a good thing to since many other places can be inaccessible. - Yes, can't seem to win when it comes to mattresses. Initially we had used standard mattresses, and received comments from some guests that it was too firm, while others said it was too soft. It is hard to please everyone since it is a personal preference, but to try we invested in the highly rated Sleep Number Mattress, which is air adjustable and can be made to be as firm as or soft as anyone likes. Since they we have had no other complaints.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

2nd time at this property...we will definitely be going back. Perfect fire-pit!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review! It was great having you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chciago, IL
4

So close to perfect...

  • 4 of 5

There are so many great things about this cabin. It is super cute, roomy, and settled in a beautiful location. The kitchen is properly appointed and the caretaker, Lee, is attentive.

However, the beds and couches are not superbly comfortable, and the shower is quite weak and sometimes wobbles between hot and cold. Further, the cabin rests on a busy highway, so it is not as rustic and tucked away as we had hoped.

We immensely enjoyed the hike/walk from the property to Kooser Lake and appreciated the cozy cottage feel of the cabin. Even with the few downsides of this cabin, we would stay again as it really is lovely.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 28, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review! A note about the hot water you may have missed in the Guest Guide which pointed this out: The property features an on demand hot water heater, which is a state-of-the art system that conserves energy, and unlike a conventional tank heater you will never run out of hot water!. Since it is heats water on demand by sensing when water is being used, it requires a minimum flow and may not sense low flow such as used for for shaving or to rinse dishes for example. You simply need to fully open the spigot and there is plenty of hot water. If you would have inquired during your stay, we could have easily addressed. Thanks again for your review and you are welcome back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Jefferson Township, Allegheny Mountains

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
PreHoliday Season
16 Dec 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£432
for 2 nights
From
£216
£1,387
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Holiday Season
23 Dec 2016 - 29 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£536
for 2 nights
From
£268
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £22 per night, per additional guest
 
New Years
30 Dec 2016 - 1 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
£780
for 2 nights
From
£390
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £22 per night, per additional guest
 
Ski Season
2 Jan 2017 - 19 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£397
for 2 nights
From
£198
From
£251
Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,170
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£345
for 2 nights
From
£172
From
£224
Fri,Sat,Sun
£997
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £20 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

Weekday rates quoted are for non-holidays. Holiday weekdays are available at same rate as seasonal weekend rate, and include MLK Day, Presidents Day, Easter, Week of July 4th, Week of Memorial Day, and Thanksgiving and night before. Holiday weekends may be subject to 3 night minimum. Weeks of Christmas, New Years Mother Earth Festival are subject to special rates; Please inquire.

All bookings require a signed rental agreement and active credit card on file in lieu of a damage deposit or insurance

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Jefferson Township, USA

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Large Bathroom has 2 sinks and Laundry Center
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
    Great Room - 2 Sofa bed/Futon , The great room has 2 fold out sofa beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Notes:
Walk to state park. Ski Resort Minutes away. Winery with upscale tasting room just minutes away. Walk to restaurant and gourmet shop. Short drive to White Water rafting, biking, amusement parks, and golf.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot