Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Stone view home in historic Domme, France

Bedrooms 3
Separate WCs1
Space 1,248 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

Spacious view home on the slope of Domme, France

Welcome to Sous le Soleil, our stone garden home located on the slopes of the bastide of Domme, France. Our home is a few minutes walk from Porte del Bos, the southern gate of Domme, while also only a short walk to the shops and market of Cenec St. Julien (Cenac). Staying at Sous le Soleil gives you the benefits of Domme while also avoiding the village summer traffic and noise. It sits just below Domme and above Cenac with a beautiful view of the southern Dordogne valley.

Our home is spacious at 130

sqm (1200 sqf), has three bedrooms and two bathrooms, a large kitchen with gas cooking, and new clothes washer and refrigerator. Along with a large secure garage, tiered gardens with trees and flowers adds to the tranquility of our sunny home.

British satellite television are available, and of course WiFi throughout the home.

More Details

Property Manager
David Vale
Member since: 2014
Speaks English, French
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
14 July, 2018

What makes this house unique

Our house has all modern amenities and is located a short walk from restaurants and shopping. It is ideally located on the slope below Domme and above Cenac St. Julien.

The house is large and open with beautiful views from the living areas and bedrooms. Beautiful wooden floors and tiles under your feet, with a large kitchen with modern appliances to practice your culinary skills.

Along with the view of the south Dordogne valley, you will find a large area of tiered gardens. A garage is available along with an amply sized driveway.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Domme in Périgord

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1248 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    - Toilet
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • Two bathrooms, one with tub/shower, and one with shower.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • First level with lounge, kitchen and dining, room with toilet, on second level, three bedrooms and two baths
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • caves
  • churches
  • festivals
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • swimming


3.8/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

20% Complete
60% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
Stone view home in historic Domme, France
average rating of 3.8 based on 5 reviews
Jacksonville, Florida USA

Beautiful house but very poor communication from owner and manager

  • 2 of 5

I would give the house 5 stars - very spacious and attractive with lots of natural light from large windows offering beautiful views - great location. A few quirks that didn't bother us but others may find inconvenient - no dishwasher, 2 bathrooms but only one on the 2nd floor where the 3 bedrooms are located - other is on the first floor off the foyer, and a very steep and angled driveway which was quite a challenge

However, serious communication problems as follows:

1. Driving directions from Sarlat sent by US owner were incorrect. When I compared them to Google Maps I noticed a discrepancy in the route number of the road coming into Domme. When I questioned him about it he insisted his directions were correct - they were not. Glad I followed Google Maps. In addition, the street address shown on the Homeaway website is completely wrong.

2. No Heat. Although it was mid-May when we arrived there had been a late season cold snap several days before we arrived and lasted for several days after. It was 55 degrees in the house when we arrived. We determined that the central unit had been turned off and not being familiar with a European system, we did not want to experiment. Tried calling and texting the local manager several times but he never replied. Finally texted the US owner who had no idea what the problem was - said he would send the manager and a repair man the next day. We had to sleep in our clothes under piles of blankets. Next day the repair man(who had no idea why he was there and didn't speak English) showed up - no manager in sight. Luckily I speak French and could explain the problem. As it turns out a flick of a switch on the main unit and Voila!, there was heat. Why couldn't the owner have suggested that the night before? He obviously doesn't know what's going on with his property.

3. No info in the house about WiFi, check-out procedure, etc. After looking all through the house for the WiFi info and not finding it, we again texted the local manager - again absolutely no response. Texted the US owner who told us to find the router, turn it upside down and the long number on the underside was the password - seriously?! Every other place we have rented has always had detailed info about the house, WiFi, and locale prominently displayed.

So while the house is lovely and we were sorry to leave, I have never experienced such poor communication from an owner and or manager.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sorry you were dissatisfied with our home. A few days before your arrival, HomeAway sent to your email address our arrival notice (email) with the door code, WiFi password, and physical address. I never spoke with you about how to get to our property or the route from Sarlat. My first contact was when you called me from the house. You are correct that there was a glitch in the heating and a repair contractor arrived the next day. But I must also mention that most seasonal rentals in the Dordogne do not provide central heat and the cold snap was unexpected. Nevertheless we are adding written instructions at the property and my number will be posted there in case the Property Manager doesn’t answer. As for the PM, they have an excellent reputation and did tell me that they received only myour voice mail when they returned your call. I again apologize that you were not happy and hope that should you return to the Dordogne, you will accept a 25% discount for your next stay. Sincerely, David V.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Real Home

  • 4 of 5

If you want to stay in a stone house, consider this property. This is not just a rental, this is a home. It’s on the hillside, just below the town, to which you can walk or drive.

There’s a heated drying rack in the laundry room, but one day, wanting to feel like a real “local,” I chose to hang our laundry to dry outside in the sun, on the line in the yard, all the while taking in the great view.

This home’s great view brings me to the reason I withhold a star -- the outside window cover on the bedroom with the most stunning view was stuck about a third of the way down. This obstruction of the view was not the problem -- the problem was the response of the property manager, who'd been pleasant before arrived. We expected “Someone’s coming to repair it” or “Sorry, but it can’t be fixed during your stay.” Instead, I received a brisk, “Yes, we’re aware of that,” and then a sardonic, “Don’t worry, you won’t be held responsible.” The latter hadn’t crossed my mind, at all.

Aside from that, this home was a joy to wake up to each morning, and return to, each afternoon.

Suggestion to owners: include a set of instructions for how to operate the oven and the microwave – they were unlike any we’ve used before.

Suggestion to future renters: try the “Pesto Rosso” pasta at the “Pizzeria des Templiers” in town – it’s the best.

The owners, who live in the U.S., clearly wanted to make our stay as enjoyable as possible, and made several fine recommendations.

We would return in an instant, and hope we have the chance to do so.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Seattle, Washington USA

Nice house overlooking an idyllic valley and village. Comfortable

  • 4 of 5

We were the first to rent the house after a quick redo and cleanup. There were a few bugs that we needed to work out. After the bugs were worked out and we had adjusted to the bathroom arrangements (non ensuite), the house and furnishings were very comfortable and grew on us.

The owner has plans to update the bathrooms and install a dishwasher.

It was quite and the view was wonderful.

The owner and property manager were very nice and responsive to our needs and concerns.

I would rent from them again.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Jun-2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A great find in Domme

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful house - the exterior may be 14th ct, but the interior is newly, tastefully, and completely rebuilt. Ideal for 2 couples or even 2 families; the layout with bedrooms/baths on either side of the living room allows privacy. The kitchen is well supplied with all appliances, dishes and silverware. It lacks only sharp knives.

Clean, comfortable, good lighting, nicely furnished, well-situated within the village. My family was well-pleased with the choice.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Oct-2015
  • Date of Stay: September 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely critique and we shall place "sharp knives" at the top of our "to do" list. David and Jason
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Beautifull place / Très bel endroit

  • 4 of 5

15 days stay.

The La Boétie St is well located in Domme. There is traffic in this road but normal if you are used to live in a town.

A very nice and spacious house. The decoration is very nice.

In spite of the oppressive heat, the ground floor was cool. The first floor was a little hot but there was a van in one of the rooms.

We appreciated that the household linen was provided.

The place was well-maintained but there was not vacuum cleaner and this is a problem when you are there for a long stay.

The manager is an obliging man.

Very well place for a family.

Attractions : museums, a very good library with some books in english and a very good ice-cream maker in front of the church.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Aug-2015
  • Date of Stay: July 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0


Domme, France


Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £66.24
Pet Fee £88.32
Refundable Damage Deposit £176.63

PayPal and bank transfer accepted on all bookings. Upon booking, a 50% deposit is required. If less than 30 days before date of stay, payment in full is required. A $200 security deposit is required upon payment in full. After completion of stay, if is no damage is found, the deposit will be refunded via PayPay or bank transfer, as applicable, within seven days.Please leave the home in a reasonably clean condition. We encourage at your own option to include cleaning after your departure. A 75€ cleaning fee may be included when paying OR will be assessed against the deposit if the cottage is left unclean or unkempt. We will not assess that charge as long as the home is left in reasonable condition.

If cancellation is provided less than thirty days before the start of your stay, your deposit will be forfeited. However, if the cottage has a replacement booking, the deposit will be returned once the replacement booking is confirmed and paid. Please feel free to email any questions that you have. Our goal is to provide you a wonderful home for your vacation in the Dordogne. For longer stays at a discounted price, please contact the owner.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals