HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Spectacular Lake Front Home Sleeps 13, Close to Nyc & West Pt.

People13
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Separate WC's1
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Chateau / Country House, 6 Bedrooms + Den, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 11-13)

Watching the sun raise or set on this Mediterranean style veranda will make you feel as if you were sitting in Southern France or Northern Italy. You overlook this gorgeous lake with all its tranquility and incredible range of animals including eagles, blue herons, beavers and swans just to name a few. You have full privacy at the pool, unwind laying in the hammock with a good book or glass of wine. Take out the kayak and enjoy the closeness to the water while exploring the environment. Cook your own dinner in a large gourmet kitchen overlooking the lake or BBQ. You may also visit one of the elegant restaurants right by the Hudson River, which is 10 minutes away.

At night, you may wish to play a round of table tennis in your own table tennis room.

In the winter, you can either ice skate on the lake or you head up north to Hunter or Wyndham mountain for skiing or snow boarding. When you come back home, you enjoy hot cocoa by the cozy wood fireplace in the grand living room while one of you plays the baby grand e-piano.

Keywords: Mediterranean lake-front living offering boats, bikes, BBQ, inside ping-pong table & fitness equipment. Minutes to hiking, horse farms, Hudson River, Storm King Art Center, West Point, shopping at Woodbury Commons, and one hour to major skiing areas. 2 minutes from train station going to NYC & NJ and 5 minutes to Stewart Airport. Boats, bikes, Close to fine dining & entertainment overlooking Hudson River.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks English, German
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
6 September, 2017

About The Owner

I am a Doctor of Naturopathy with a private practice in Germany. I am the co-founder of the Binder Institute for Personalized Medicine and the CEO of Ondamed GmbH and Ondamed Inc. My husband is the inventor of a therapeutic medical device, which we manufacture and distribute worldwide with our companies in Europe and New York. We have 6 children together, 3 grand-children, 2 little dogs, 2 cats and a bunny. My husband and I travel the world to educate physicians of a better and more personalized way to help their patients.

The Owner purchased this chateau / country house in 2003

Why The Owner chose Cornwall

Our family used to live here before we decided to move our prime residency to Europe. We love this place because it is so peaceful here and the house offers much space to promote creativity. This truly is a little piece of heaven! Due to our extensive travel, it was an ideal place to raise our children while being close to major airports and New York City.

What makes this chateau / country house unique

You walk out of the house and stand right in front of the dock leading to the lake. You have an enormous choice of outdoor activities including fishing, boating, skiing, hiking, biking, air sailing, rafting, and horseback riding, . The area is 'artsy' and offers plenty of antique stores nearby. You can enjoy great restaurants only minutes away in Cornwall or on the waterfront of the Hudson Valley.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Silvia,

Thank you for everything that you did to make our stay so perfect. We got take-out food from Leo's and we were happy with our meals. Your home is so beautiful and the lake was mesmerizing! I can't put into words how perfect this was - my husband was extremely happy to have his children and grandchildren with him to celebrate his birthday. There were many matches of ping-pong with my son and & I and he still manages to be the champ! My daughter and I went for a paddle boat ride today and that too was relaxing and peaceful. My husband and I went for a walk with our grandson and I took some many great pictures of our stay. Again thank you and I hope you and your family get to enjoy many more happy times in Cornwall.

Sincerely,

Arlene

PS my daughter-in-law is from Germany and enjoyed some of the German books at your home.
Oct 2011
  • 1 of 1

Location

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Stewart International (SWF)
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Washingtonville
Nearest Ferry
7 Miles
Newburgh
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Cornwall
Nearest Train
0.5 Miles
Cornwall-Salisbury Mills
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
84/87
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Laughran's Washingtonville
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Mt. Peter
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Beaver Dam

Close to West Point, the Culinary Institute of America, Mohonk Mountain House, Minnewaska State Park, Woodbury Commons. Close to vineyards, the NY Renaissance Fair, Bannerman's Island, Bear Mountain, Storm King Mountain and Mount Beacon.

2 minutes to train station taking you to Secausus, 5 minutes to Stewart Airport and 20 minutes to Beacon taking you to Grand Central Station.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chateau / country house in Beaverdam Lake-Salisbury Mills in Cornwall

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 17:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , 2 sinks, Master Suite Bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet
  • 4.5
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Master - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 6 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Cot
    Den - 2 Single Bed
  • The bedroom set-up is as follows: 2nd floor: • 2 queen-size bedroom suites with their own full private bathrooms • 1 queen-size bed bedroom • 1 twin-size bedroom • Full size bathroom for these 2 bedrooms • A playpen is provided in the master bedroom suite Ground floor: 2 queen-size bedrooms sharing a full size bathroom - these bedrooms are adjoined with a sliding glass door. A privacy bamboo standing wall is provided. The larger queen-size bedroom has sliding doors to our patio/lake from where you can walk a few steps to the main entrance to access the bathroom. Here you will also find the ping-pong table room, play/exercise room with a stationary computer. We also have 2 twin size oak wood beds set up in this room which is semi-private.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Player
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • 4 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • Racquetball
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
For indoor fun we offer an e-Baby Grand Piano, Organ, drum set, kids' pool and tabletop soccer table. For your outdoor fun we provide you with a hammock, outdoor furniture and pool sunbeds, kayak, paddle boat, canoe, life jackets, fishing rods, bikes and helmets.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(45 traveller reviews)

91% Complete
4% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Spectacular Lake Front Home Sleeps 13, Close to Nyc & West Pt.
average rating of 4.822222 based on 46 reviews
5

A stunningly beautiful lakeside home.

  • 5 of 5

This home was right on a beautiful lake, in a very peaceful spot. My mother, who is wheelchair-bound, came up from New York City and was greatly moved by the natural beauty of the place, and was refreshed by the peace and quiet of the location - she spent hours simply enjoying the ambiance on the sun deck. My brother is an avid bird watcher and had a splendid time as he identified all kinds of birds in the nearby trees and on the lake. My son loved splashing around in the lovely pool behind the house, and my cousin simply lounged by the pool working on her tan. My wife cooked up a storm for the 12 people who were comfortably billeted - the kitchen was well designed and had almost everything we needed for preparing family feasts. Everyone enjoyed themselves and did their own thing - there was space enough for folks to peel away and relax - and everyone left with their spiritual batteries recharged from such a lovely and relaxing spot. This was the nicest vacation I have had in years. Nothing but happy memories!!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a beautiful summary of your vacation experience, Denis! Thank you so much. Be well, my very best, Silvia
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Unresponsive Owner

  • 1 of 5

That we know the names and can comment on the activities of the caretaker (Bill), pool guy (Danny) and cleaning service (Kristine), sums up the beginning of this experience. Apparently the previous user(s) incurred significant havoc on the venue, and there was insufficient turnaround time to get the house into presentable condition. While they (the above mentioned team) went above and beyond, it does not erase the fact that we did not have complete use of many of the amenities until late Tuesday (arrived Saturday). My wife and I spent six hours between us on Saturday eve getting the kitchen in order, the pool was not available to us for the first 4 days, the washer was out of service for 6 days, and the lake was closed for several days while an algaecide was applied (i.e. the lakeside house with a pool provided neither). While we understand and appreciate that unanticipated events may occur, we were very disappointed by the response of the owner (Sylvia), who basically told us ‘sorry’, with no additional follow-up or adjustments for our inconvenience.

I will say that once the house was returned to order, it was a very good experience for my family. It had a ‘homey’ feel, and we all had personal space (My daughter, her husband and my grandson; other daughter and her husband, and my youngest daughter), yet there was plenty of space when we gathered for meals, hung out on the covered porch, fire pit or pool. We made full use of the kayak, canoe and paddle boat, and everyone had a successful fishing experience! The pool deck was expansive and relaxing.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: In summary: Marc and Theresa accepted a refund, yet they broke my washer and are giving false information regarding our lake access, cleanliness and my non responsiveness. These guests are not welcome back to our home. My team spent much time with them yet nothing was good enough. In detail my response to their email back in June: Thank you for the information on your plan to post your review. Again, I apologize for your inconvenience and disappointment. As you stated, the guests before you had left our home in bad condition. Of course I was involved to get things done for you, but behind the scenes. Still, upon emailing you my sincere apologies I immediately engaged my team. This was the reason why Kristine, Emily, and Bill as well as the pool man and the repair guy for the washer responded right away. Bill was on vacation or otherwise he would have stopped by the house personally right away. With all this said, yes, the pool was not available for the first 4 days since it had to be drained and refilled. The only responsible thing to do for our guests. Yes, our lake gets treated several times per year. The lake should not be accessed for 24 hours following the treatment, but not 6 days. I have lived on Beaver Dam Lake for 20 years, so I know what I am saying. The Beaver Dam Lake Community flyers posted state exactly this: no swimming for 24 hours. Now to the washer: Yes, the previous guests damaged our washing machine, we called the repair guy on Monday and it was fixed on Friday. The second time the washer broke, it was due to you; a coin which was in your laundry got stuck in the washer and it stopped working. So, we had to call the repair man again and he fixed the washer by removing the coin. I am prepared to offer you a $500 refund for your inconvenience. Certainly, I am glad to hear you enjoyed our home after all was in good order. I rent homes myself and often have to clean the house before feeling comfortable. I am particular when it comes to cleanliness, but I have never received any refunds and honestly, would not ask that of the owners. I hope you accept my offer. It is up to you if you wish to post your review. I will use the above reply to post mine as explanation. Respectfully Yours, Silvia Binder
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Spacious lakeside home with all the amenities

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed this wonderful home with 13+ adults for a weekend wedding at the nearby Brotherhood Winery, and everything was terrific! Lots of space, large kitchen, comfort and views helped to make this a perfect vacation home.

Sylvia, the owner, and Bill the caretaker were terrific to deal with. Throughout the reservation process Sylvia responded quickly by email to all my questions, and Bill was also a welcome face-to-face local contact to have for any house-related items. We definitely look forward to staying there again!

  • Review Submitted: May 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

The property was just what we were looking for in space and amenities. The location on the lake is

  • 4 of 5

Spectacular. Loved it

  • Review Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very special-better than we expected

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely perfect home, we thank you for sharing this spectacular home and setting!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful house and great porch for bird watching

  • 5 of 5

The house was a perfect size for our large group.The weather was lovely and we enjoyed sitting on the porch watching the birds.The dinning room and kitchen were big enough for my family to seat and eat breakfast/lunch and dinner together.The only negative thing I would say is there is a need for more cooking upgraded utensils and the toaster/oven did not work well.We will try to return again next year.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your kind review and your suggestion for updated cooking utensils and we will certainly purchase a new toaster right away. Stay well!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chateau / country house in Beaverdam Lake-Salisbury Mills, Hudson Valley

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£1,333
for 2 nights
From
£519
£3,185
£7,704
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £296.32

One-night bookings are possible for $900 plus cleaning fees
Daily rates with 2 nights min. stay are $700 plus cleaning fees
One-week rates are $3,300 plus cleaning fees
One-month rates are $10,000 plus cleaning fees
Small events (up to 50 people) are welcome at an additional charge of $1,500

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals