HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Bahama House - Conch Home w Heated Pool and Grill. 1/2 Block To Duval St

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Barbecue

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
1 - 7 nights

Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Barbecue

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 8

The BAHAMA HOUSE located at 508 Amelia Street is a historic Bahamian-style Conch Cottage. It is a perfect example of turn-of-the-century island architecture. This adorable 3 bedroom home includes 2 bedrooms in the main house and an additional mother-in-law suite by the pool. Each bedroom features a super comfy queen sized bed and flat screen TVs. There are 3 full baths and queen sleeper-sofa is accented with Dade County pine walls, cathedral ceilings and island folk art, including original oil paintings, glass sculpture and antique furnishings. The dual head shower in the master bathroom can make for an intimate bathing experience for two or a hosing station for sandy kiddies. Modernity has not been sacrificed in the living room of this historical abode: a Bose Wave Radio/CD player, flat screen cable TV, DVD, and wireless internet. And that's just the interior!

Upon entering the large private covered porch your eyes will be drawn to the private seasonally heated pool with waterfall. With outdoor dining for a family of six there is no reason not to BBQ that fresh catch on your gas grill! Or just sit in a rocker and sip that margarita while listening to Jimmy Buffet.

The back cottage has been completely renovated as of September 2016 and includes adorable Key West decor throughout. There is a kitchenette with a mini fridge - the perfect safekeeping spot for your adult beverages - and a microwave for some quick cooking. The dining table seats two and is located next to the spacious closet. The newly renovated bathroom will absolutely take your breath away. Sitting atop the granite vanity rests blue sapphire vessel sink with a fountain faucet. The tiled shower is accented with a ocean blue back splash and cobblestone shower wall with dual shower heads.

Despite the history, technology and artistry of the Bahama House, the most valuable feature is that old real estate maxim: location, location, location! With a private off-street parking place, a rarity on this little island, you are just two doors down from the famous Duval Street, with just a short walk to the hustle of Sloppy Joe's. The Bahama House is central to all the action in Key West. Experience the history, culture, and adventure that living in the Bahama House affords.

All the amenities of a luxury property are included: fully equipped kitchen with refrigerator, blender, coffee maker, microwave, toaster and dishwasher. Indoor washer/dryer, wall unit air conditioners in each bedroom, plus living room, ceiling fans, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, all linens and beach towels, Flat screen TV's, a DVD player, wireless internet, clock radios and CD player, 3 full baths, private pool (approximately 6 feet at deepest end).

Minimum Stay:

Please contact Key West Vacation Rentals regarding minimum stays and special rates. Minimum stay requirements apply on weekends (at least 3 nights), Winter/Spring season (January 2nd - April 30th - 5 night minimum), holidays and special events( Fantasy Fest & Christmas/New Year - 7 night minimum).

Individual making the reservation must be 25 years or older with proper identification and be an occupant of the property

More Details

Property Manager
Key West Vacation Rentals
Speaks English, Spanish, Mandarin
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
26 February, 2017

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(49 traveller reviews)

Bahama House - Conch Home w Heated Pool and Grill. 1/2 Block To Duval St
average rating of 4.571429 based on 49 reviews
Dowell, MD
4

Great little house

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This was a great little house to sit back and relax in during Key West Race week. Despite the house being small we never felt over crowded with a house full of adults. The heated pool was also welcomed relief from a hard day out on the water.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: Key West Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cute spot!

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

I stayed at this house in the third week in January for a Bachelorette party. We were a group of 7 and fit perfectly. The house is extremely charming and perfectly laid out. A few things we did not like: the house has a strong smell of cleaning products, so much so that we had to open all doors to let the smell out. Second, the pool was extremely dirty. We did not use it at all. The location is nice if you are looking for a quieter trip as it is a little far from the action (about a 10-12 min walk). Overall, the house was great and we had an enjoyable time. Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: Key West Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We did provide you an early check in and housekeeping left the property just prior to you and you party checking in. They do provide a thorough clean and the cleaning product odors typically fade away in an hour or so. We do have weekly pool service, however, if it is windy or a storm comes, sometimes leaves and branches find their way into the pool. We would have gladly sent someone over to clean the pool for you upon request free of charge. Thank you and we hope to have you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Bahama house - Dec 2016

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The two cottages have all amenities including a beautiful private pool and new appliances. The poolside cottage has a beautiful large shower, there are three bathrooms in total and three bedrooms in total. There is a great patio to relax and enjoy meals out by the pool. Staff come everyday to replenish supplies (towels, refuse, bedding) and are very friendly and efficient. There is a full kitchen. The location is excellent and very quiet even though right near Duval st. All together, this is an amazing place. My one suggestion to the owners is to do something to improve the smell of the cottages, there is a smell similar to mold in both cottages. The cottages are impeccably clean, so I it is likely related to the building structures or wood on the walls, and could be a long term project. It is however noticeable, and can make the stay less comfortable for individuals sensitive to such odors.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: Key West Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback! We performed a full clean on both AC systems in the house and the back cottage which has eradicated the faint mildew smell that you mentioned. The AC cleaning is now on a monthly schedule so this will certainly not happen again. We are sorry that you experienced that inconvenience.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Bowling Green, Ohio
5

Bahamas House Key West

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We loved our stay at the Bahama House. Everything from the free shuttle to and from the airport to the daily maid service. Those extra touches that really helped make the trip great. The location is excellent just off of Duval St very convenient.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Key West Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richmond, VA
4

Bahama House

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, although it was a bit too hot, but we knew that would be the case in September. The only issue we had with the house was that it had a "dog" smell to it especially on humid days. I believe this was a pet friendly house, so we expected some of that. Overall, it was a great rental-the pool was a godsend and we really appreciated the daily maid service.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Adorable house - great location!

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We stayed for 3 night at the end of September with another couple at this cute cottage. My husband and I have been to Key West many times and have stayed hotels and Inns the other times - much preferred having our own home! The location was just a few houses from Duval on the quiet end so easy walk to everything. What we loved most about this house was the back porch that was covered so even in the rain we could enjoy being outside. The pool is small and mostly in the shade so not all that warm which was fine with us since it was so hot out. The landscaping is lush and gives you lots of privacy. Upon arrival the shower door was broken and the pool was dirty and cloudy -we called and they send someone over right away to fix everything. The only complaint was the house never got very cool. The back bedroom seems like the worst room - the A/C said 71 but it felt more like 80 in there. The house has indivdual units in all the rooms and it says if you put them any lower then 71 the units will freeze up so we kept them at 71 and all 4 of us felt a little warm all the time. Also there was no place to unpack. Small closets in each room but no chest of drawers. It was find for our 3 day stay but if I was there for a week I would like to have the option to unpack and not live out of a suitcase. That would not prevent me from renting this place again or from renting from that company - they were great and the location is awesome! The decor was charming and the house was very clean. I didn't realize there is a little guest cottage in the back so you can rent that out as well and make this a 3bed 3 bath unit! Also having a place to park the truck was great.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Uptown/Upper Duval in Lower Florida Keys

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 1093 sq. ft.
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 3 Queen beds, 1 Sofa Bed bed
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot