HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Only 1 Mile to Snowshoe Entrance. Ask About M-W Discount

People13
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 3,100 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Parking
  • Gas Fireplace
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Barbecue
  • Hot Tub
  • children welcome

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms + Loft, 3 Full Baths, (Sleeps 11-13) with Hot Tub

The Whitetail Lodge is a year round vacation spot, located just one mile from the entrance to the Snowshoe Ski Resort, which is one of the premier slopes on the East Coast. There are 750 acres of National Forest across the road and one can freely roam on the old logging trails and explore the unspoiled mountain setting. The Cass Railroad is only five miles away, a historic railroad town replete with running trains, an old general store, and many original homes. The Green Bank Radio Observatory has the world’s largest moveable telescope / radio dish, is only minutes away, and is open to the public. This is the reason we have no cell phone service in this part of the mountains. Other area offerings are the Greenbrier Trail for hikers and mountain bikers, the Raven Golf Club course (ranked in the top twenty in by the Golf Week Magazine), the Greenbrier River for fishing and rafting, and miles and miles of open roads for motorcycle rides and scenic viewing. After a day spent enjoying the colors of the fall foliage, or vacationing hard while enjoying more physical activities, escape back to the tranquility of the Whitetail; have a drink while you cookout on the deck, followed by relaxing in the bubbling hot tub under a canopy of stars…often appearing to be so close you feel that you can almost touch the Milky Way. You can then retire to the home theater (55” cable TV and surround sound) to enjoy your favorite DVD or CD, drop down to the first level to play foosball with friends and family, or find quite solitude on the back deck or another part of this spacious and well appointed home.

This lovely home is conveniently located on Route 66 in the Eagles Nest development, located between The Cass Railroad (which is approx. 5 miles to the east) and the upper Snowshoe Resort access road (one mile to the east). This luxurious 4 bedroom, 3 bath home boasts a master bedroom on every level (each with an en suite bathroom), wrap around deck on the front, a small deck on the back, and a balcony off the loft bedroom. The first floor master bedroom has a jetted tub and separate walk-in shower. The main floor has a master bedroom and a second bedroom. The upper level has a master bedroom and a loft area…all told there are beds for 11 plus a sleeper sofa, 13 in all, and plenty of room for adults and children to enjoy separate activities. There are TVs and fireplaces in the main sitting rooms, a large, rustic dining table, and a well appointed kitchen for your enjoyment.

Whether you relax in the hot tub, snuggle in front of a fireplace, or stargaze from a deck, we are sure you will have a grand experience.

The driveway off Route 66 is packed gravel; however, four wheel drive is highly recommended (if not a necessity) during the winter months and chains are recommended for REALLY heavy snowstorms. Remember, we live in the mountains!!

Keywords: Private mountain retreat near Snowshoe Ski Resort. A year round vacation spot offering hiking, biking on the Greenbriar River Trail, fishing, golf at the Raven Golf Club (one of the truly great golf courses in America, designed by Gary Player), and hunting (in the National Forest directly across the road). The Greenbank Radio Observatory and the Cass Historic Scenic Railroad are nearby. Whitewater rafting is available (March & April) or you can just sit in the hot tub or on the wrap around porch and stargaze in the peace and quiet of the mountains.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
15 March, 2017

About The Owner

Whitetail Lodge WV is privately owned by two couples who love the beauty and seclusion of the mountains. We built this 'cabin' with comfort and accessibility in mind...and both have been accomplished! Come see for yourself and experience a few days high in the mountains of West Virginia.

The Owner purchased this chalet in 2005

Why The Owner chose West Virginia

We chose this location because it is easily accessible, has 750 acres of National Forest across the street, the newest entrance to Snowshoe Resort is one mile away, and yet it is very secluded! Other nearby attractions are Cass Rail Road and the Greenbank Radio Observatory.

What makes this chalet unique

The privacy, stargazing and quietness offered are unbelievable after enjoying a day of fun activities.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in South Mountain in Snowshoe

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 13
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Double sink vanity
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , Double sink vanity
  • 3 Full Bathrooms, 2 with double sink vanities
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Loft - 1 Single Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • Queen size Beds (4) Each of the 4 bedrooms have a queen sized bed., Double Beds (1) Double size futon in loft area, Twin or Single Beds (1) Single bed in loft area, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Sleeper sofa in home theater room.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(19 traveller reviews)

Only 1 Mile to Snowshoe Entrance. Ask About M-W Discount
average rating of 4.6842103 based on 19 reviews
5

Beautiful, clean, relaxing, fun!

  • 5 of 5

Out group had a wonderful time and we're grateful to the owners and house manager for checking in to make sure our stay was everything we hoped it would be!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great location but a few issues with the property

  • 3 of 5

The location of the property is great but we had a few issues: the hot tub wouldn't heat up, the big screen TV didn't work (couldn't change the channels), the coffee pot was just about on the blink, though we got it to work after much effort. Also, many of the dining room chairs are about to fall apart.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Whitetail Lodge. We are so very sorry that you seemed to have found several problems with our home. We have spoken to our manager / housekeeper, who was surprised to hear you were not happy, as she did not hear from you during your stay. Upon reading your review, we dispatched her immediately to address the concerns listed in your review. In case you were not aware, between each guest’s stay the tub is drained, cleaned and the water is replaced. We are sorry that the hot tub was not up to temperature when you arrived. She also checked the coffee pot and there did not seem to be an issue. Did you find the second, back-up, coffee pot in the cupboard? Regarding the “big screen” TV, were you referring to the gaming TV downstairs or the home theater upstairs? If you were referring to the gaming TV, then it is not connected to the satellite. Lastly, thank you for the info on the dining room chairs…sometimes, over the course of the season, some of the screws do become loose. We will address that quickly. Once more, thank you for staying in our home and we hope you will do so again in the future. If you do, should you have any problems or concerns, please place a quick phone call to our manager and all will be taken care of immediately.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great vacation spot for family and friends

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed at this home for a ski trip. Our group included 6 adults and 6 kids. The house offered plenty of sleeping space for all. The three different living spaces worked great for our group and provided separation for adults and kids. The house manager, Jillian, went out her way to make sure that we had everything we needed. She was helpful not only for the arrangements at the house, but also made sure that we knew everything about the mountain when we were ready to ski.

Not having Internet access was both a blessing and curse. It was good to get away and avoid other distractions. But it would have been nice to have a little more access to the outside world.

The house is conveniently located to the entrance for the ski slopes. It was approximately a 3 to 4 mile drive to the main area of the mountain.

Our entire group agreed that if we were to ever go back to snowshoe mountain, this is the house that we would want to rent. The homeowners were very responsive and overall the place was very clean and met all of our needs. I would definitely recommend to others as a great place to stay.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great place and location

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time, the place was perfect, close to the slopes and we even got some snow!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

very nice onwers and property manager

  • 5 of 5

beautiful home very private. propertu manager was extremely helpful definetly will return

  • Review Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Everything we imagined!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a fantastic time with our family and friends at whitetail lodge! Three awesome days of skiing and snowboarding, that ended with lots of hot tubbing and cooking up great food in the kitchen that was perfectly equipped. We couldn't have asked for more and we hope to visit again!!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in South Mountain, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Spring/Summer
15 Mar 2017 - 13 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,029
for 3 nights
From
£314
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£1,567
for 3 nights
From
£493
 

Additional pricing information

Administrative Fee £24
Property Damage Protection £63
Tax Rate 12.0%

Until confirmed rates are subject to change. Additional discounts may apply to extended stays. Call or e-mail for availability and price.
.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Location

Nearest Barpub
4.5 Miles
Local village
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
The Raven
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Cass Railroad Town
Nearest Motorway
0.01 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
4.5 Miles
Local Village
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Snowshoe Resort WV

Photos

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties