HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Beautiful cabin beside 7 acre lake that comes w/boat and deck overlooking water!

11 Reviews
Bedrooms 1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday cabin in Beattyville - Bear Lair

1 bedroom, 1 bath, with sleeper sofa. The cabin is beside a 7 acre lake w/ boat!

Bear Lair, a one bedroom, one bath bungalow, sleeps up to four. It features a 20 ft. covered porch overlooking the lake. Two log rocking chairs as well as a charcoal grill can be found on the porch. This cabin was designed and built by the owners and was build to highlight the beauties of wood, mostly acquired from the surrounding forests. Bear Lair has proved to be very popular, being booked for 256 days in 2013.

Sleeps four comfortably

1 bedroom and 1 bath

Pull out sofa bed

All leather furniture

Glass front wood burning stove

Log furniture

Copper vanity

Covered back porch overlooking lake

Log rocking chairs

Private dock with electric powered trolling boat

Full Kitchen

All stainless steel appliances

Fire Pit with benches

250+ channel Dish Satellite TV with HBO

AC and Electric Heat

No smoking and no pets

For monthly pricing, please call (606) 464-8097.

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Fred Austin
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
24 October, 2016


based on 11 holidaymaker reviews

Beautiful cabin beside 7 acre lake that comes w/boat and deck overlooking water!
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews

Just lovely

  • 5 of 5

We had about 36 hours at your cabin and had a wonderful time. Drinks at dusk on the pier, a hike through caves ledges and archs and a leisurely boat ride in the sun around the luscious lake. Than drinks again at dusk. Thanks for special spot.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A magic stay

  • 5 of 5

I still can't believe this place is even real. It's like an oasis; you'd never expect it to be there. It's the perfect mix of a quiet getaway and adventure. There are caves to be exlored (let Bronco show you) and huge catfish to be fed. I wish we had stayed longer. Sitting on the porch with a cool drink is what my busy mind needed to relax.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! You have described what we had in mind when we built this place. Actually, all we have done is to enhance what was already here.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful very well kept property. I place you could stay at least a week or more without a problem

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in the Bear Lair's cabin. This cabin is beautifully decorated and furnished. You will not be disappointed in your stay here, if you have the opportunity take a few minutes to talk to the owners Fred and Janice they are awesome people and would do anything to ensure you have an exceptional stay. We hope to come back and bring our adult children. This property is a definite "Don't Miss"

  • Review Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

My husband and I went down for 2 nights just to get away. The cabin is awesome for 2 people. The kitchen had everything you could need. The highlight is the back porch over looking the lake! Just a great place.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Visitors like you make us feel so good about the effort we have put into developing this wonderful place. We hope you return soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome cabin on nice property!!

  • 5 of 5

Rented a cabin at Bear Track Lake for a two week stay with a friend to get some climbing in around the Red River Gorge. Everything in the cabin worked as described during our vacation; Fred and his family are super friendly, and were available to help with any issues that might arise (we didn't have any problems though)! We weren't staying for the fishing, but we did have a good time taking the boat out for some relaxation time on the water. Aside from the lake the property also has some neat natural features to explore - cliffs, ponds, and caves. Hot showers, nice cooking facilities/supplies, satellite TV/internet, washer/dryer, made for clean and cozy evenings after full climbing days. Even had a blast having a few friends over to watch some basketball and eat meats off the grill. Highly recommended! Hope to be back soon!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are always glad to welcome Rock Climbers. We feel that you guys are seeking experiences in the beauties that are found in this area. We have made an effort to provide comfort and access but in such a way as it does not distract from nature. Again, thanks for coming. Hope to see you soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful but disappointing

  • 4 of 5

The caves and the property are beautiful. We really enjoyed exploring. However, after the first day we were really ready to go home. There was just enough room for me to park my expedition between the cabin and the owners house. The description and the pictures do not show that the cabin is close to any other buildings. If you look at the picture of the drive way where the hill starts going up, that's the owners house. The owner is very sweet and we enjoyed meeting him. He tried to allow us our privacy, but being so close it just did not seem comfortable. There were at least 3 dogs on the property, two of which barked a lot. One even worked its way up onto the back porch and would not move or leave. It was a little intimidating considering I am afraid of big dogs. There was a husky that had great manners. It went on our walk with us and gave us a guided tour. It never came on the porch or bothered us. The trolling motor was not strong enough to move the boat so we ended up using the oar to get around the "lake". We didn't mind that considering the lake is actually very small. There was no where to sit and eat, the kitchen is too small for a kitchen table. The bed was small and very hard so needless to say we didn't sleep very well. Everything was very clean and well stocked as far as what you need in the kitchen. It was a beautiful cabin. The satellite is obviously shared with another cabin or maybe even the owners home. We would be watching a tv show and have to cancel a recording at least 5 times. Overall it was not a bad vacation just a little disappointing. It just was not for us. So if you don't mind really close neighbors and plan to go to other places like natural bridge and the gorge and you just need a place to rest, it would be good. We on the other hand were looking for seclusion from the outside world and were disappointed.

  • Review Submitted: May 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: First, we want to thank you for the 4 out of 5 rating. We are also happy that you chose to invite your friends to come and tour this place. We are sorry for your disappointment. We do not understand that you had a problem with the boat. Our boats are time tested and are equipped with motors which are recommended by the manufacturers and to tell the truth this is the first time in almost three years we have heard the complaint that they are underpowered. Since the motor was brand new, purchased the day before you arrived it must have been that the battery needed a recharge. The charger is always available in the boathouse. The advantage of living close to our cabins makes us available at all times to remedy problems as they arise and if they are brought to our attention. As to the dogs, they are very friendly and was explained, we have put a door latch on the swing door that leads to the porch that when latched they cannot enter. They are also mentioned in the rental agreement. We also are confused about the indication that our "lake" is small, hardly the classification of a spring fed 6 acre body of water that is 1600 feet long, 35 feet deep and contains 29 million gallons of spring fed water. Incidentally it features just under one mile of shoreline. As for the provision of a dining room table, we chose, instead, to custom design a unique place to eat that features a beautiful log which was milled specifically for this cabin and to place that eating area where one can enjoy a terrific view while enjoying one's food. In fact we were so pleased of how this area turned out we decided to include a picture of it on our webpage.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1



Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Beattyville, Natural Bridge

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £206
Tax Rate 10.0%

Rates are subject to change without notice. The 50% due at booking is non refundable. Renters and any guests are subject to and expected to have read the rental agreement, referred to as 'House Rules', which are posted in each cabin and can be found ahead of time by emailing owners.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Beattyville, USA

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties