HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Manny

Member since: 2014
Speaks English

Downtown San Antonio Historic 2 Bed Apartment Across The Street From River Walk

17 Reviews
People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday apartment in Downtown - Historic Downtown Apt. 2b/1

Historic 1913 Apartment situated in the heart of Downtown San Antonio

This fully furnished 2 BEDROOM, single bath Toltec Apartment unit is located across the street from the San Antonio River Walk and the Tobin Center for the Performing Arts.

This unit is often reserved as part of an artist-in-residence program as well as for special guests who are performing next door. It is a 3 minute walk from shops, art galleries, and cafes as well as the River Walk's new northern reach where walking and biking paths extend in both directions.

You will feel right at home during your stay in downtown San Antonio.

THIS UNIT'S SPECIAL FEATURES:

In addition to the 2 Bedrooms (1 King, 1 Full futon), the living area includes a sleeper-sofa.

Other features:

.. 60' Flat Panel Tv

.. HighSpeed Internet (Wi-fi)

.. Cable Tv

.. Netflix

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Manny (Property Manager)
Member since: 2014
Speaks English

Reviews

3.7
based on 17 holidaymaker reviews

Downtown San Antonio Historic 2 Bed Apartment Across The Street From River Walk
average rating of 3.7058823 based on 17 reviews
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

Great location in a great part of town. Riverwalk really is walkable from here. Only issue we had was the only bathroom was in the master bedroom, so friends staying in the 2nd bedroom had to come through the master to get to the bathroom.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE-BAIT & SWITCH

  • 1 of 5

I don't know where to start. to say we're disappointed is an understatement. We are upset and have been lied to by you. Let's start with the apartment itself. you sent us photos of what we would be renting. Hardwood floors, leather sofa and a good sized kitchen. What we ended up with was an apartment with ripped carpeting throughout, torn bedding, an old cloth couch (which my Wife and I both suffer from allergies and is why we liked hardwood floors and leather seating surfaces). The apartment we stayed in, the bathroom door knob came off in your hand every time you used it. Roach-type bugs ran amok in the bathroom and kitchen. The kitchen was so small, you couldn't put down a drink and a plate at the same time in there unless you placed one on the stove top. Here's the worst part, believe it or not, we came back Friday afternoon to a car parked in our assigned spot. We parked elsewhere, went upstairs and to our shock, opened up our door to find two men in our apartment. no one called us to notify us of anyone coming over or in our apartment. We honestly didn't know if we should greet them or run for our lives. These guys let themselves in the apartment, that we have a signed agreement to possess without notice, with our personal belongings and valuables scattered about. We felt extremely violated. I should have called the Police. One said he was the Landlord and the other was the exterminator.

I reached out to the property manager with this same letter via email three days ago and have heard no response. I guess we're on our own now.

Needless to say, my Wife and I are extremely upset and feel "dooped" This review received 1 star from us because you had to pick an amount of stars for the review to go through. Trust me, it was a ZERO.

  • Review Submitted: May 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry to hear that you had such a terrible time while staying in the apartment. I looked at photos for the two units and they are very similar. We have no hardwood floors in the building but had a vinyl laminate installed in the smaller unit last month. The building is concrete and brick and built in 1913 so the kitchen may have been smaller than you are use to but no one has ever mentioned this before. The faux leather sofa that was in the photograph was just a futon and had been upgraded to a brand new full size sleeper sofa which we assumed was a positive addition and not done to be deceptive in any way. We were very sorry to find out that the old glass door knob lost a screw and slipped off in your hand. Had we been notified it would have been an easy fix to reattach it. As we had mentioned before you arrived, the cleaning lady always prepares the room for 4:00 check in. The neighboring apartment had just set off a bug bomb to address the spread of insects due to the heavy flooding which has swept through San Antonio. We had hoped that the barriers set up between apartments would have solved the problem there. Had we known there were any issues you wanted to address we would have been happy to relocate you. When you ran into me on Friday afternoon, I was personally checking all apartments with the exterminator who came by during business hours to inspect the areas. Since it was deemed urgent by neighboring apartment, it warranted my prompt attention. I was unaware that you felt distressed or that the police should be called because of my presence in the kitchen while I was actually glad to meet you and was truly impressed with your son's accomplishments and graduation. I wish you had told me that the place was so unacceptable while I was there with you. I would have been glad to have found you another place. We host guest speakers for nonprofits and have a variety of spaces to offer. It concerns me that I was completely unaware of your dissatisfaction with the apartment. The lady director who moved in the same day you left gave us the highest praise and said that it was one of her favorite rentals. Housekeeping in hotels try to come in and address issues in rooms while everyone is out during the day so it is typically considered a normal operating procedure and like them, we offer a towel service and extra linens if more are needed. Sincerely, Paul Carter
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Cute place, full of bugs

  • 1 of 5

Owners were responsive and helpful with our arrival. Our first impression was that of this is cute place close to the River Walk. When we returned in the evening, the apartment was crawling with roaches and bugs. They were everywhere including the bed in the second bedroom. We will not stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: May 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

bad pots and pans

  • 4 of 5

I suggest that either you state to bring your own pots and pans to cook, or you warn people about the quality of the cookware. It is totally not to my safety standards, and I refused to cook in them. Nonstick when it is scratched the way it is is VERY dangerous for you to cook anything in and then consume it. We brought food to cook for breakfast and as soon as we saw the conditions of the pans we decided to just not eat... which was a pain and inconvenient.

Other than that downside, it was great stay. The hotel has alot of character to it. It being historical was very neat! We loved how everything was within walking distance, but far enough away from the chaos of the riverwalk. We would definitely stay here again, just bring our own cookware :)

  • Review Submitted: Mar 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Apartment central to everything!

  • 4 of 5

I was in San Antonio for a few days to watch the Spurs play. The apartment was central to most everything! The building is old in keeping with the area but was neat and we'll furnished. It was an older, charminclean and enjoyed being right across from the Tolbin Performance Center where I attended a great musical tribute to the Beatles music (courtesy of one of the owners). Both owners are attentive and helpful during my stay here. I would come back again.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Salt Lake City, Utah
1

Horrible Service!!!!!

  • 1 of 5

My family and I were looking forward to visiting some family we hadn't seen in 11 years in San Antonio. So of course we booked our room a MONTH in advance. We also booked the flight at the same time and we were set to arrive the Thursday before Christmas. Yet ONE day before our flight to San Antonio we receive an email from the owner stating they had made a "mistake" and over booked our room. This is a normal practice from most businesses, but the fact that the owner had the audacity to inform us of this ONE day before we would arrive at the apartment is unacceptable.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 21, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We regret that you were faced with a last minute conflict. Once we noticed the booking error we sent an email and refunded your payment VIA the HomeAway Portal on Sun, Dec 20, 2015. We strive to be anything but normal and take pride in our service. I will apologize for not calling you personally and discussing other options. We have put polices and procedures in place to make sure this never will happen again. Sincerely, G. Jackson
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
8.6 Miles
San Antonio International
Nearest Barpub
0.3 Miles
Guillermo's
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
IH 35
Nearest Restaurant
0.3 Miles
Guillermo's

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Downtown, South Texas

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£284
for 2 nights
From
£115
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £54

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Downtown in South Texas

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • Monument View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties