HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Katie Henry Riley

Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Steve & Katie Riley Guest House, Breaux Bridge, 2 Bd, 1.5 Ba Artists Welcome!

People7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Separate WC's1
Property type house

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday home in Breaux Bridge - STEVE AND KATIE RILEY GUEST HO

2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

Charming Cottage In Breaux Bridge, La Owned By Grammy Winner: Steve Riley (of Steve Riley And The Mamou Playboys) And Katie Riley

2 Bedroom 1.5 Bath Guest House WIFI (very fast)

Walking Distance From Dance Halls, Restaurants And Historic Downtown Breaux Bridge.

It Is A Wonderful Solution For Someone Seeking A Private And Peaceful Location.

RATES VARY for two people:

SPECIAL SUMMER (June-Aug) $60-87 night

REGULAR RATES $95-125 night

SPECIAL FESTIVALS/HOLIDAYS $125-145 night

(All rates may vary, some terms apply and fluctuate. Please contact me directly for specific details, for dates needed. Katie

The Home Has A Full Kitchen With Gas Stove, Refrigerator, Toaster Oven And All Appliances For Your Enjoyment. Includes Cookware, Flatware, Dinnerware & Wine Glasses. Includes Washer And Dryer, So No Need To Over Pack. Master Bedroom Has Queen Bed, Full Bed And Vanity. Second Bedroom Has Queen Size Bed And Private Tv. Living Room Has Full-size Futon To Open Up In Full-size Bed And Bowl Chair For Reading And Relaxation. Living Room Has Bose Multimedia Speakers To Accommodate Your Devices For Listening To Your Favorite Music. Cable Tv And Wifi Is Provided. Kitchen, Dining And Living Room Space Is Open Concept. Bathroom Is Beautifully Remodeled And Has Ceramic Tile Shower, Full Size Porcelain Bath Tub For Relaxation, Custom Art Glass Window In Shower For Natural Lighting And Large Bowl Sink. There Are Plenty Of Closets And Storage Room.

Large Private Laundry Room With Washer/dryer On Site, So No Need To Overpack!

As A Bonus, There Is A Small Convenient Store In Kitchen For Any Forgotten Items Or Snacks.

Back & Front Porches For Relaxation

Free Covered Parking On Property

Privacy Fence In Back Yard And Around Property

Beautifully Landscaped

Feel Free To Contact Me Directly If You Need Any Assistance. Katie Riley

Breakfast: Since You'll Have Privacy In The Entire Home, Breakfast Will Be Somewhat Limited To Your Chef Abilities.

Breakfast Items Will Include (will vary a little):

Orange Juice

Organic Milk

Starbucks Coffee

Organic Coffee

Spring Water

Fresh Fruit (apples/oranges)

Whole Grain Breads

(toast With Real Butter)

Natural Jam

Toaster Pastries

Granola Bars

Organic Eggs (for Those Who Cook)

Oatmeal

Grits

Cheese

Enjoy And Make Yourself At Home.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Katie Henry Riley (Owner)
Member since: 2014
Speaks English

Reviews

2.2/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)
Steve & Katie Riley Guest House, Breaux Bridge, 2 Bd, 1.5 Ba Artists Welcome!
average rating of 2.1666667 based on 6 reviews
1

Not a Good Value

  • 1 of 5

The house was dirty, messy and shabby; the light and fan in one bedroom did not work at all. There was no place to put away our clothes. The kitchen was grimy. Leftovers from other guests were under the beds; the bathroom, house and porch had not been cleaned in a long time. The second "bath" is a toilet in the laundry room. The owner was not receptive to a requests for more linens. There are many other lovely and accommodating places to stay in and around Breaux Bridge. Do not stay here.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 10, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The cottage was built in 1953. It has old southern charm. I inspected this house prior to guest checking in and after. The light and fan do work. The light switch is in the living room (see notes on kitchen counter). The light switch was switched off. If the guest had asked me, I would have simply advised to turn light switch on (built in 1953). The house was very clean. In fact, one week prior, new hardwood bamboo floors were installed. As far as storage, there are two closets in the small bedroom. There is one closet in the large bedroom. There is an extra hanging closet in the kitchen. I'm completely appalled that a guest would make a false statement about leftovers being under a bed. That is so strange. Every room was cleaned prior to check in and immediately after. The guests immediately following left the exact opposite glowing review on airbnb five stars and a 2 page review in the guest book which is in the house in the living room on the table. The guest asked for more extra fluffy towels, and note there were already eight in the house, with a full laundry room, washer and dryer. I honored her request, purchased expensive new white cotton towels and sent multiple messages, asking when I could deliver them. I got no response. The half bath is located in the laundry room, which is about 10x10 room, (built in 1953) with another large closet for storage. I would encourage guests who are more comfortable in staying in a five star hotel, to do so. This is a southern cottage with Louisiana charm, for those who have respect for simple living, culture, music and the local area. Please feel free to contact me personally with any questions or concerns, I'll be happy to help. Katie Riley
Did you find this review helpful?
2 3
Albany, New York
1

Smelly and Unsanitary! Look elsewhere.

  • 1 of 5

We spit our visit here between New Orleans and Breaux Bridge. What a mistake. Cats run all over their property and the inside and outside of the house smells like cat urine. Cockroaches greet you in the bathroom evenings. Black mold on the inside of the windows. Overall its unsanitary and dirty. The landlord is unresponsive. Stay somewhere else! We reported her to the Louisiana Department of Public Health. HomeAway should not list this property!

  • Review Submitted: May 17, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 2
bellevue, washington
5

CAJUN COUNTRY COTTAGE

  • 5 of 5

nice cottage with good, central location for day trips in "cajun country." only thing lacking ... no microwave. hope to stay here again during a future trip.

  • Review Submitted: May 17, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: A wonderful brand new microwave was added for convenience. Also brand new bamboo wooden floors. :) Thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 3
1

Do Not Stay Here

  • 1 of 5

This house has a terrible odor and the pictures are very misleading. We decided not to stay the second night even though we had paid for it. The neighborhood is awful.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 8, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was at the guest house today and it had no odor. The pictures are exactly what the house is and has to offer. I'm sorry you had an unsatisfactory experience. The home is older and was built in 1953, with a lot of southern charm. The neighborhood is also older. Many residents/families have been there for several generations. Breaux Bridge is mostly a lower income community. The majority of guests are attracted to the charm, culture, music, wildlife, country settings...etc. If you would like to be a little more specific, perhaps I can better address the home and possible improvements.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1
4

Nice place to stay

  • 4 of 5

House well located to explore the cajun region all around. Concerning the house itself, we would have appreciated to have a dishwasher and more big and small plates to eat in. We appreciated the prepared list of places where we could listen to music in the surroundings.

Very warm welcome at the tourist office in Breaux Bridge.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 31, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Albany, New York
1

Stay somewhere else!

  • 1 of 5

This house needs to be razed or repaired and fixed before it is rented to people. Then photos are misleading. Numerous feral and stray cats live around and under the house, the inside windowsills are riddled with black mold, some of the floorboards are rotten and you can see the ground below, there were cockroaches in the bathroom and evidence of termites on windowsills. The house outside and inside smells like cat urine. The house is unsanitary and unhealthy to habitat. Katie Riley was not helpful in resolving any of these issues. Stay somewhere else!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 23, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest has written two terrible, and untrue reviews. He even went as far as to send me 15 page emails multiple times, numerous text messages, and sent in the government health department, who gave me a five star clean report with no issues what-so-ever. I had to contact my attorney, who has ordered this harassment and malicious intent, to cease and desist. This guest is to have no contact with me anymore. This guest stayed from Feb 1-11, 2015 and checked back in from Feb 18-Mar 1. This guest is a scam artist. He requested a full refund for both stays. If my property was so bad, he would not have checked in for another stay. I even went out of my and allowed this guest to park his large motorcycle trailer on my property for the week in between his two stays. Please disregard both of his reviews, this is the only bad-guest experience I've ever had and contact me directly if you have any questions. I'll be happy to speak with you:) Katie Riley
Did you find this review helpful?
5 5

Location

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Lafayette Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Cafe Des Amis
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Cafe Des Amis, Buck and Johnnys
Car: recommended

Must sees:

Cafe Des Amis zydeco breakfast

Pont Breaux's (formerly Mulates)

Lake Martin

Joie de Vivre

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Breaux Bridge, Louisiana

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Summert 2016
25 May 2016 - 30 Sep 2016
1 night minimum stay
£88
for 1 night
From
£57
From
£74
Fri,Sat
£404
£1,357
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£113
for 1 night
From
£82
From
£104
Fri,Sat
£527
£1,606
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £76
Cleaning fee £31
Tax Rate 8.5%

No pets
No smoking
No exceptions

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Breaux Bridge, USA

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 906 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • city centre
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , half bathroom toilet only
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Double Bed , Real Beds, 1 queen and 1 full
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , Real bed, 1 queen
  • Living room has full size futon (optional additional sleep space)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Garden
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • forests
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties