HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Garden House 3 Blocks From Subway 2 Subway Stops From Manhattan

People10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 10

You will not believe your eyes when you step in to this historic house just steps from Midtown Manhattan. Enjoy the peace & tranquility of a country home right in the middle of the fastest City in the world.

Situated just one stop from Manhattan in Dutch Kills, Long Island City, sits a lovely little house that we call The Chalet.

Built in the early 20th Century, this frame house would be like an old story book cottage if it weren't so close to the city. There are 2 bedrooms on the 2nd floor to accommodate a large group. There is also a finished basement that is perfect for pajama parties! There are accommodations for infants also, so just let us know. All of the bedrooms are on the second floor with a full bathroom to use.

The main floor has a full kitchen with a family size refrigerator. So if you plan on staying for a while, fill up the fridge. There is a dining table that can easily accommodate a large group (six chairs, but can be extended to hold 10). The living room is comfy and cozy and you will always have lots of natural light beaming in through the windows. If you need another room, there is another one on the main floor. It has many options for its use, so let us know and we can prepare it for you.

There is a garden in the front where you can sit under the apple tree and feel safe and comfortable all night long. Right in front of our gate is the bike path to cross over into Manhattan so if you like to ride bikes, we have them for you, just let us know how many. Our block is quiet and you will never be bothered by traffic going by.

Our Cottage is set back 75 feet from the curb and feels so secluded. If you like to entertain you will have no problem doing it at The Cottage or in the Garden. You can BBQ or relax next to the chiminea.

This house is not our primary residence so rest assure, the house is all yours while you stay.

AMENITIES:

- Chef's Stainless Steele Appliances

- Microwave

- Coffee Maker

- Pots, pans, plates, glasses, all kitchenware

- Dishwasher

- Washer/dryer

- Free high speed WiFi

- Smart TV

- Cable 240+ channels

- Fresh, fluffy towels

- Fresh, crisp linen

- Central Air conditioning

- Central Heat

- Iron

- Ironing Board

Guest Access

You will have access to the Entire House, all three levels of the house, the outdoor garden and the driveway where you can park a car or a van. There is also a finished basement that is perfect for pajama parties!

Interaction with Guests

We are very easy going and we leave the interaction up to you. We like to make ourselves available but we have found that most New York visitors have very specific interests and reasons for coming to the greatest city in the world and we want to give you the freedom to explore and make this city your own.

The Neighborhood

This area is called Dutch Kills, a small neighborhood right in between Astoria and Long Island City, two very popular destinations for cafes and restaurants. So the house is within walking distance (as short as 5 minutes) to local restaurants and bars. We also have 3 very famous galleries within walking distance, Fisher Landau Center for Art, Flux Factory and PS1, which is part of the Modern Museum of Art (MoMa). Since this area is so close to Queensboro Bridge, the main transportation hub of Queens, this has traditionally been a place for back businesses supplying Manhattan with bread, truffles, silk, etc. But over the last 10 years, artists have taken over these warehouse spaces and made them into work/live loft studios. It’s a very interesting area and I think you will be very pleased.

This apartment is located in Dutch Kills close to Astoria's famous and charming social life and small, independent restaurant and shopping scene. Everything is convenient and right-scaled in Astoria, Long Island City -- no big box stores in the entire area, for example. Instead hundreds of independent shops, restaurants, and services all within a block or two of walking distance. The neighborhood's historical Greek immigrant roots are evident everywhere, as well as newer arrivals from many parts of the world, but as the area has become coveted by people who work in Manhattan recently, there has also been influx of Asian, North African, and Hispanic businesses and dwellers, providing a model of diversity coupled with progressive, economic prosperity.

Getting Around

The neighborhood Dutch Kills is very safe, only 3 blocks from the N and Q subway station, which is 2 stops from Lexington Ave in midtown Manhattan. Queens and Queensborough Plaza stations (which provide the N, Q, 7, E, M, and R trains) are also a 5 minute walk away. Or if you'd rather drive, walk or bike, the 59th Street bridge is just a few short blocks away.

More Details

Property Manager
Steffan Olausson Partridge
Member since: 2012
Speaks English, Portuguese, Swedish, Norwegian
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
25 March, 2017

About Steffan Olausson Partridge

I was born on the Island of Cyprus in the same bed as my mother was born but it was too hot for my Swedish Dad so we moved to his home land when I was 6 months old. They bought a small farm in the northern woods of Wermland and from very simple ingredients they made five more kids at home but life in organic paradise ended when I was 12 when my Mom missed her big Greek-Cypriot family in Astoria NY and took all 6 of us to the Big Apple. So life has shaped me into a innocent street smart romantic that believed in the inherent good of all people. I still have the house in Wermland and Im in the process of building a house in Bahia, Brazil with my wife Cristina. We have 4 boys between 13 and 6 and my big girl just turned 25. I adore my little Dutch Kills community where I have partnered up with the neighbors to open a day spa, art gallery, gastro pub, and a community garden. We reward ourselves with travel and opening up our home to other adventurous explorers around this fabulous world.

Warm Welcomes, Steffan Olausson Partridge

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Long Island City in Queens

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • city centre
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
    Living Room - 2 Sofa bed/Futon
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • bay
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

Garden House 3 Blocks From Subway 2 Subway Stops From Manhattan
average rating of 3.909091 based on 11 reviews
3

A good location for getting downtown

  • 3 of 5

We are thankful having had the chance to stay because we had a real wonderful time with family and friends and the location is very convenient for using public transportation getting downtown. So we would like to split our review into two sectors:

1. Feelings: Five stars

a. Overall we felt well kept

b. We cooked and ate a lot together – what an awesome time we had

c. The management provided us even on the 24th of Dec. with missing pans and made us smile

d. There were very comfortable beds in the two bedrooms upstairs

e. We never ran out of hot water

f. The location is a quiet and safe place day and night

g. The kitchen worked perfectly well, most of the important cooking utensils were there for our free use

2. Housing: Three stars

a. Finding the house was difficult, because of no door-numbers shown, also we had creepy feelings when we were facing this situation because you don’t enter a dark backyard that easily in a foreign city and walk towards a door in order to find the key-box in the dark; the nephew of Steffan, the owner explained, that they will change this soon

b. There are NO three bedrooms: one finds only 2 bed-rooms upstairs, one room in the basement with no heating (this is no bedroom), which makes it unfriendly to stay in wintertime (it was cold and damp) and a double-bed sofa in the living-room – all this makes a definite difference to the descriptions on the internet

c. Some of the pieces of furniture, displayed on the internet, for e.g. in the living-room, have been changed, not for the better

d. The heating system did not work properly, when on, it made in the morning lots of noise, so you woke up unintentionally

e. The bathroom floor needs repairing, the front door didn't close very securely, and the stair banister does not look very strong

f. At last, in the bathroom, the mold we were facing between the tiles and the bath-tub was not very inviting

g. When we called/texted Steffan for an appointment, the nephew came after two days, he agreed about our critical remarks, but we never received an answer from Steffan or the management

  • Review Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
3

Perfecto para visitar NYC

  • 3 of 5

Difícil estar mas cerca de Manhattan sin estar en Manhattan.

Tres paradas de metro a 5 minutos de casa que te dejan en pleno Rockefeller Center o Times Square en dos o tres paradas. Supermercados cerca de casa, pizzas a domicilio al lado, etc...

La casa tiene sus años pero para desayunar, cenar y dormir es ideal. Nosotros eramos 8, 4 adultos y 4 niños y estuvimos muy a gusto. El propietario no esta lejos y responde si lo necesitas.

La televisión tiene 1000 canales, las camas son cómodas, la calefacción es ruidosa pero calienta bien. El agua de la ducha sale caliente y con presión. La cocina tenía café, sal, azucar, aceite, etc... pequeñas cosas que te facilitan la vida.

Había detergente para la lavadora y el lavavajillas.

Dentro de lo malo:

- las fotos no corresponden, sobre todo la habitación de abajo, no tiene la litera que aparece en la foto, pero hay un colchón grande ideal para niños.

- sólo hay un baño

- los mandos a distancia de la tele son cutres y les faltaban pilas.

Volveremos

  • Review Submitted: Dec 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Mount Carmel
4

Convenient home for sightseeing NYC

  • 4 of 5

The home is conveniently located 3 blocks from a subway connection to the heart of NYC. The neighborhood felt safe to us with a nearby deli market that was friendly and had most everything we needed to do some in-home meals during our stay. The house served our purpose well with the upstair bedrooms well kept. The stairs to the basement are a bit steep and shallow so older couples may not be able to access the basement easily but main floor and upstairs should not be a problem. While there is only one bathroom, we never lacked for hot water for showers. As some have mentioned, the house needs a little TLC to make it 5 stairs but the owner was good with communication and addressed the only primary concern we had during our stay. Washer/dryer was nice to launder clothes for lighter traveling. If you plan to be out seeing the sights of NYC but want to escape for some quiet of an evening...this is the place for you.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Place was nice and clean

  • 5 of 5

Good

  • Review Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Valencia
4

Adequate housing in decent neighbourhood

  • 4 of 5

The location of the house was great. Very close to the subway into Manhattan. There are a few nice places to eat nearby and the nearest supermarket is a five block walk away. The house was decent. 2 bedrooms upstairs with a double bed in each and another double bed in the basement. I would say the house easily sleeps 3 couples but any more than that would be a stretch. Maybe kids on the fold down sofa. But I wouldn't say any more than that.

The house was just a little bit rough around the edges to be honest. It looks like a DIY chop job. That said, the beds are comfortable and there is AC / heat in the whole house. I think that with a little love and small investment this would be a 5 star rating for staying in NY. The bathroom floor needs repairing, the front door didn't close very securely, and the stair banister looks like it's about to fall off.

I would recommend the house to travellers without a doubt. But I would like to see it improved a bit.

Cheers

  • Review Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

We paid for this property but we never saw it.

  • 1 of 5

We rented the Garden House from August 11 to 16, but we never saw it. Even though we booked three months before our August 11 arrival we were never told that the property was unavailable, apparently due to construction work. Instead we were "upgraded" to a three bedroom apartment in the neighborhood, #4075847. The apartment we stayed in was very noisy with little sound insulation. Needless to say we do not agree that we were upgraded.

The owner was not honest with us. He did not tell us that we could not stay in the rental we paid for and he did not offer any refund for the change.

I would not rent from the owner (Steffan) because I do not trust him.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello David! It really upsets me to see your review. I welcomed you personally in my home and attended to every request you had. While I could have cancelled your reservation due to an unforeseeable problem, I did my best to welcome your family and make it work with the short time before your arrival. The apartment you stayed was indeed an upgrade by every measure, with an extra room and modern appliances. When offered to see the original apartment after the issue was fixed, you refused it. We pride ourselves in providing quality lodging for a very reasonable price. I wish we could have come to an agreement, but unfortunately your request for 1/3 of the total amount was not a reasonable request. Both houses are located in a quiet residential block, and we make ourselves available 24/7 for any assistance. I do hope you enjoyed your niece's wedding and your stay in NY, Steffan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Long Island City, New York City

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£392
for 1 night
From
£244
£1,668
£4,871
 

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £47
Cleaning Fee £100
Refundable Damage Deposit £400

No smoking inside.
Pets are considered on a case by case basis.
Appreciate taking off street shoes inside.
Copy Of ID (Passport or Drivers License) upon arrival.
Please be responsible for all your belongings, if you leave something behind I will do my very best to find it and send it to you but I cant be held responsible for your private belongings.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties