HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Big Sissabagama Retreat Class A Musky Lake Year Round Rental

People10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 2,244 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Chalet, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Private seculsion! Enjoy the beautiful view off the screened in front porch. Listen to the loons calling to each other. Watch the bald eagles nest in the tall tamaracks in the yard.

This log sided home is nestled down a private dead end road. Enjoy the chalet style large rooms with cozy fireplace. This large 4 bedroom home has enough room for the entire family. Large open concept kitchen with all the amenities. Covered wrap around deck for grilling. This unique property is very close to atv trails, hiking and cross country ski trails.

You can snowmobile from your front yard. This is truly as secluded as you will ever find. Enjoy watching the humming birds from the large glass windows. Have a evening bon fire in the custom fire pit in the yard. The great room offers an extra large flat screen tv with direct tv and sports channels.

We also have wifi. We also have Wii game system. We have a landline with free long distance to keep in contact with the world.

Enjoy fishing in this crysal clear class A musky lake. Big Sissabagama lake is 890 acres and is crystal clear all year. You can catch huge crappies, blue gils, small and large mouth bass and trophy musky. Big Siss has a wonderful sandbar to boat to. Great for small children to swim and play. There is also an exclusive popular restaurant on the lake with a great Friday fish fry.

Stonelake is only 4 miles up the road and features a charming wine martini bar, antique shops and walking trails. Stonelake also hosts the annual Cranberry Fest the first Saturday in October which is grown to be huge. You are very close to Hayward which features canoing down the Namakogen river and many other activiites. Hayward also has the very famous Birkie, Musky Fest and the world championship Lumberjacks.

You will love staying in this rustic yet beautiful getaway. The rustic up north decor will greet you. Enjoy your fresh coffee in the morning on the porch and watch all the wildlife.

Keywords: Rustic log sided retreat. Secluded peaceful and beautiful

More Details

Owner
Lisa or Paul Parkos
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
8 December, 2017

About Lisa or Paul Parkos

We are a married couple that loves the northwoods. We love the beautiful scenery of Wisconsin. We own and operate a near by restaurant in the town of Birchwood.

Lisa or Paul Parkos purchased this chalet in 2005

Why Lisa or Paul Parkos chose Stone Lake

We choice this area because of the beautiful scenery and the activities. You will never be bored living or staying here. The rustic beauty of the log sided home with the Tamarac trees in the front yard is great. The yard is huge with a great view, and the peacefulness of the surroundings will help you to relax and unwind. The eagles will soar around making nests. Off in the distance at night you can hear the faint whistle of the Stonelake train going thru. This is a very secluded peaceful property. It is perfect if your looking for a place to chill out and also close enough to activities.

What makes this chalet unique

This rustic but modern log sided cabin is equiped with all the every day amenities you desire. Watch direct tv on a 55' LED tv while cooking a gourment meal in the open concept kitchen. We offer direct tv with all the sports channels. Wi fi. Wii entertainment system. Sit out on the screened in 3 season porch and enjoy the evening with no bugs while relaxing with a nice breeze. Big Sissabagama has a wonderful crystal clear sand bar you can boat to. There is also a very popular restaurant on the lake to enjoy Friday night fish fry. Big Siss is a class A Musky lake and it is well know for its great fishing. Take a short drive to the town of Birchwood and enjoy a wonderful pizza or salad at Paul's Pizza Den. Take a peaceful walk down the gravel road and listen to the birds and nature. Hayward is only a short drive away. Stonelake is a charming small town with some fun attractions. Perlicks vodka distillery is a very short drive also.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Stone Lake in Sawyer County

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2244 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • rural ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower)
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower)
  • One bathroom on main level and one in lower level. Both have bathtubs.
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Large king size log bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , two single twins log beds
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , queen bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , queen bed
    Convertible bed(s) - 2 Sofa bed/Futon , 2 Murphy Bed , 1 full futon, 1 single couch pull out & double twin trundle
  • King size beds (1) Master has new bed on large log bed. Master has tv with dvd player. Master features a walk out patio door to beautiful screened in patio area., Queen size Beds (2) Two large bedrooms each with a comfy newer queen mattress., Twin or Single Beds (2) Large bedroom with two single log beds., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Couch bed folds out to single bed. One large futon which folds down to sleep queen bed., Murphy Beds (2) One murphy bed which pulls out to sleep two seperatly.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Large back yard for parking. Purified drinking water system. Total privacy. Close to Snowmobile trail and four wheel trail. Close to cross country ski and hiking trails. Lake view from almost every room. Central air. You can have an outdoor fire in the fire ring, please bring your own wood. Bring outdoor games to play in the large front yard such as volleyball, football, and bean bags!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

84% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Big Sissabagama Retreat Class A Musky Lake Year Round Rental
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 13 reviews
4

Beautiful house with everything you'll need.

  • 4 of 5

The house is lovely. No need to bring anything except personal belongings and food. It was clean and bug free. The screened in porch is a great addition.The 2 floors made it nice because with 4 month old twins we didn't hear them getting up at 5 am with their parents to eat.The bottom wooden deck is extremely slippery when wet. 2 of us fell on it. There really is no beach area and the water quite murky at that end of the lake.The lake is quite a walk from the house which was very difficult for the elderly person in our group. The fireplace was very nice and the Weber grill on the premises was very useful.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your vacation and liked the cabin. The spacious cabin and porch are always the favorites. Thank you for your insight on the deck, we will power clean it this fall, we have had quite a bit of rain and it must have became slippery. Big Sissabagama is know for having iron in the water giving the lake a "reddish" appearance sometimes. It is very clear at the beginning of the summer but we have reached the end of the summer and it does get hazy with a reddish tone. Thank you for your stay and I hope you will return again. Lisa & Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very Nice and Spacious

  • 5 of 5

Our family loved it.

The home is very spacious and nice.

Loved the screened in porch looking over the lake.

We enjoyed a few s'mores over the bonfire.

The weather didn't cooperate the best for fishing.

The kids would like to rent it again for next year if it is available.

Lorraine

  • Review Submitted: 07-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome fishing, House worked great for mutli-family gathering

  • 5 of 5

Each year we try to rent a place for our two kids, their spouses, and an increasing number of grandchildren. We end up changing when the owners sell the house we've been renting. This was our first year here, and this house works great. There is a great area where we can all get together for meals or to watch the grand babies. It's got an open kitchen. There are two bedrooms down stairs where the grand children can nap. The screened in porch is great. They phone reception is almost non-existent for ATT & Verizon at the cabin which is good or bad depending on your point of view. Better service in the middle of the lake or the road to Stone Lake. There is DSL wifi but the quality of the service is sketchy. The phone line had quite a bit of static on it, so hopefully a call to Century Link would get better wifi, but that really didn't bother us. We rented a pontoon boat and had great fishing on Big Sis. Lots of Sunfish, some Bass Large mouth and small mouth, couple of lines that were snapped by Muskie. Even if this house is off the rental list next year (I hope not), I know we'll be finding a place on Big Sis or I'll have some disappointed kids. As is indicated in other reviews there is not a beach. If you want a beach for the kids to play in, your best option is the city beach in Hayward. Sand and playgrounds to keep them occupied. Not too far way. We did see bear, turkey and deer driving from the blacktop to the cabin. Great stay, looking forward to next year. Great time at the Red Schoolhouse wines in Stone Lake. Good music on Friday night, good sandwiches and an area outside that was kid friendly. They even gave us some bubbles for us to use for the kids to chase. (Grand childen all under three)

  • Review Submitted: 25-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Fred, Thank you so much for the taking the time to review our property. We value your opinion. We plan on keeping the property on the rental market. The wild life in the area is very entertaining. The seclusion of the property is also well liked. As far as the beach goes, it is not a swimming beach. The sand bar on the lake is wonderful and I encourage guests to go there with small children. I was just at the property repairing the wifi that was down due to storms. The speed has never been great but it was working pretty good. The phone line will be my next fix. We have had several storms in the area this year and maybe the line needs repair. Thank you for your review and please keep this property in mind for next season.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very nice rustic home with view of lake although a little far away.

  • 5 of 5

Very lovely lake home that met our family's needs nicely with lots of space to spread out. The screened porch was awesome because the bugs were bad at times!

The fishing was good and our son caught a 40" muskie and son in law a 37" northern as well as some nice bass and walleye- they were thrilled!

The paddle boat took on water around the peddles and the planks down to the dock were precarious at times but all in all a good adventure. We saw eagles, bear, deer, otters, turtles, loons and snakes - 😊�

Definitely a place we'd come back to!

  • Review Submitted: 17-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kathy & Jim, Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed our rental property. Unfortunately the rainy spring has made our boardwalk/dock a bit wet. We have made plans to repair and upgrade it this fall once it cools down. I hope you come back again! The fishing on this lake is amazing! Lisa and Paul
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

very quiet and beautiful view

  • 5 of 5

Everyone in our group was very impressed with everything, from the beautiful fully equipped, the very comfortable sleeping arrangements,the awesome view from the screened in deck,to the great fishing and wildlife in the area.A big thumbs up to the Parkos. Hope to see you next year.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We appreciate it very much. We would love to see you again next year!!! Thanks again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Fun in the Northwoods

  • 4 of 5

We spent a week here in late June. We had 4 adults and 3 kids age 17, 15, and 5. We had a wonderful time. The house met our needs beautifully. We had good fishing, good hiking/exploring and it's an easy trip into Hayward. We brought yard games such as bags & badminton and had fires most nights. The fish cleaning station in the garage was great. The fishing was a highlight. We rented a canoe & brought kayaks & a fishing boat to complete our fun.

The owners were easy to contact & the neighbors were helpful. A huge storm blew in 5 minutes after half our party arrived. The other half arrived during the storm. There were downed trees (this is where the neighbors came in) across the road that had to be sawed/moved before we could all get TO the cabin. We were without power off & on for a couple days (along with a lot of the area). We still had a great time. We were able to get a generator from the owners so we could run the fridge & charge our phones.

The house was large enough to suit all our needs & give us together time or time apart as needed. We cooked, BBQ'd and ate out. The screen porch was a huge asset & there were great lake breezes. We would suggest bringing measuring spoons & measuring cups if you plan to do any scratch cooking. Almost everything else was there.

We thoroughly enjoyed the loons, ospreys, bald eagles, herons & otters. We even saw a bear in the neighborhood!

Our only complaint with the cabin would be that the listing hasn't been updated recently. There is no longer a sandy beach area as shown in the pictures. That area is now over grown & the area right along the dock is not a spot we were comfortable using for swimming due to the bottom, grasses & water lilys. The dock/boardwalk access needs to be raised so that shallow wading is not required to reach the shore. We bought rubber boots & it was no longer an issue of wet feet. We're sure some of it was from the rain but it also appears the lake level has risen and the board walk has settled since the listing was made.

We'd be at 5 Stars except for the discrepancy between the listed beach & the reality of it.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear: Renters Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We value your opinion and need your thoughts so we can strive to maintain a quality rental. We are so pleased that you had a good time even with the crazy weather. We are in the process of getting a storm package of supplies to be used in case this happens again. We also are going to stock the kitchen up with some measuring items as you suggested. We have had more than our fair share of rain this year. I know it has created some issues, such as the walk way flooding in are area. We are planning on raising this up and solving this, but we need to have the water level recede a bit first. The lake is also up several feet and it has over took the sandy area we had in the past. The lake is usually not so high. We have owned this property for 12 years and this is the highest water levels ever. We thank you so much for your stay at our cabin and will try to improve all the issues we can.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
130 Miles
Mpls./St. Paul
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Stonelake
Nearest Golf
19 Miles
Hayward Golf and Tennis
Nearest Train
4 Miles
Stonelake freight only
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Highway 70
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Pine Ridge by car or boat
Nearest Ski
29 Miles
Cristy Mountain in Bruce
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Blueberry Point Sandbar on lake
Car: recommended

This property is directly on the lake. You can fish or hop on your boat and head over to the beautiful sand bar located on the lake. Get hungry while on the lake, stop over to the beautiful Pine Ridge restaurant right on the lake. The property has access to hiking/cross country trails very close, including the snowshoe trail. Snowmobile to the trail directly from the front yard. Trails are groomed and beautiful. Four wheeling trails are very close also. Outdoor fire pit for evening fires, please bring your own wood. Cross country ski and snow shoe right out the front door!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Stone Lake, Wisconsin

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
fall season
10 Oct 2017 - 31 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£393
for 2 nights
From
£197
£1,377
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£666
for 3 nights
From
£222
£1,554
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £12 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £372.85
Tax Rate 5.5%

I prefer groups of around 8. Max is 10. No party groups or New Yrs parties. The rental rate is $1975 for up to 8 guests. Any additional guests will be an extra $100 each per week plus tax or $15 per day. Birkie weekend is special rate.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable