HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

SEMI-OCEANFRONT- 3 Bedroom, 3 Baths, Close to the Beach and Dog Friendly!

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,590 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 8

Semi-Oceanfront splendor is waiting for you at “House Of The Rising Sun” in South Nags Head.

Views of the ocean and sound along with tempting master suite will lure you closer to attractions such as the Bodie Island Lighthouse, world famous Oregon Inlet Fishing Center and historical Roanoke Island.

Sun and covered decks with furniture will accommodate you wanting to catch up on that novel you’ve been waiting to read, soak up the summer salty air, socialize or simply revel in the views!

Experience convenience of direct beach access and “man’s best friend” is welcome too.

The grill master of the group will appreciate the charcoal grill provided; can’t you just hear the sizzle and smell the hamburgers, hot dogs, steaks and seafood now!

PROPERTY BEDDING: 2 QUEENS, 2 DOUBLES, 1 QUEEN SLEEPER SOFA.

TOP LEVEL:

Kitchen Area,

Dining Area,

Living Room with queen sleeper sofa,

Sun Deck with Views.

MID LEVEL:

Master with Queen with Deck Access,

Full Master Bathroom,

Bedroom with Queen with Deck Access,

Full Hall Bathroom,

Bedroom with 2 Double Beds.

GROUND LEVEL:

Entry,

Laundry Nook with Washer and Dryer.

More Details

Property Manager
Owner / Property Manager
Speaks English
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within 12 hours
Calendar last updated:
17 October, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in South Nags Head in Nags Head

Property Type:
  • house
Forms of Payment:
  • accepts credit card
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1590 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(25 traveller reviews)

32% Complete
28% Complete
24% Complete
12% Complete
4% Complete
SEMI-OCEANFRONT- 3 Bedroom, 3 Baths, Close to the Beach and Dog Friendly!
average rating of 3.72 based on 25 reviews
Medina, OH
4

Nags Head vacation

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Very good location and great beach access. Sliding doors are old (one had a latch broken) and no screens. Kitchen eating area really needed patched, sanded, painted and updated.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: Carolina Shores Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
winchester, VA
3

Not the Right Cottage For Us

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very unhappy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We are used to staying on the water, we should have picked a more expensive place to rent, but one party thought we should have saved some money, so we did and we were unhappy we did not have a cottage right on the water, so that is not the cottage's fault

  • Review Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: Carolina Shores Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Saluda, VA
4

House of the Rising Sun

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

House of the Rising Sun is very close to the beach with great beach access. The home is outdated but met our needs. The beds were very comfortable and the bedrooms were nice size. We had not planned to go to the OBX this year, but the house fit our needs when we booked it 3 weeks before our vacation.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Wanda, I am so glad to hear that we were able to offer you a refuge from your busy schedule. Thank you for vacationing with Carolina Shores Vacation Rentals this Summer. We certainly enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Stockton, MD
3

Our Stay at the House of the Rising Sun

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

If all you care about is a place close to the beach, this place is fine. It is in need of some TLC from the owners though. Deck chairs are broken,a kitchen drawer is broken, and a few kitchen gadgets are not available such as paring knives, vegetable peelers, etc. It appears some of these things have been reported before and have not been fixed. A visit from the owners or someone representing them is recommended to check things out. The location is great. The walk to the beach is very short and there are plenty of restaurants nearby. The Outlets are close also. It all depends on what your expectations are.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: Carolina Shores Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Dear Randall, I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay at THE HOUSE OF THE RISING SUN. The shocking part is your report of broken deck chairs. I had personally placed brand new items there on your arrival day. But I will go look at them now. We will also inventory the kitchen supplies to insure there are plenty of vegetable peelers and paring knives for future guests. Thank you so much for reporting this! You were actually the very first guest of the year- yep, that's why you found all new bedding, a brand new deck and new refrigerator too!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Raleigh, NC
5

Perfect for our needs

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was adequately helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We really enjoyed our stay here. Unfortunately it we were here for a wedding (during a hurricane near miss) and weren't able to spend quite as much time at the rental and beach as we'd like but the home met all of our needs and expectations. The entry level floor was a little dirty but that could be as expected for a beach house. The only other complaint I have is in regards to the check-in time at 4pm... I couldn't get the keys from the office until then and the home is near 20 minutes away.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 20, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: Carolina Shores Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Dear Taylor, Thank you for taking the time to review the HOUSE OF THE RISING SUN! Your comments and suggestions do mean much to us and we WILL share them with our senior staff and the homeowner. Please come back and visit with us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Newark, AR
2

OBX - Nags Head @ House of the Rising Sun

  • 2 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was adequately helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Not a good experience. First, the management company wouldn't acknowledge my husband's veteran status. The house was not clean. I had to clean the bathrooms, kitchen, wash dishes, and still it didn't feel clean. Old, dirty furniture, worn-out carpet, and lots of stains on the ceiling from leaks. We looked at the A/C filter and it was so full of lint and filth that we went and bought a filter ourselves. The bathtub in the hall bathroom was very slow to drain. Stood in water about 3" deep taking a shower. On the 4th night we were there, Tuesday, it was raining and we came in from dinner, and water was pouring out of the ceiling. There was a 3' circle, luckily, not on the bed. I called the mgmt. company at 7:39 pm and they finally called me back the next day at 10:34 am. They offered to send a technician to check it out but at that point there was no need as we had turned the ceiling fans on and it was drying. On Thursday night, I went in the bedroom and there was water everywhere. It was raining again and water this time was pouring down through the ceiling fan and the fan was on. It was slinging water all over the room. It was a mess. The Directv reception was terrible. We had to go outside and adjust it every so often. Shall I stop or go on? I would not go back to this rental. It needs work and a lot of it. For putting up with this you would think they would offer at least a partial refund. It certainly wasn't worth the almost $1,500 that I paid them. Oh, and the neighbors shot fireworks until midnight and were loud and disruptive. Also they had a mean dog that tried to attach my Boston Terrier. Was not a good experience at all.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 29, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: Carolina Shores Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Dear Gail, I am sorry you found the HOUSE OF THE RISING SUN unacceptable. I have contacted the owner and provided him with your contact information because he would like to respond directly.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals