HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

The Getaway! 2 or 4 bedrooms and wifi! Jan-Apr 2018 now available!

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 5 nights


About the property

House, 2 or 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, Sleeps 4-14

Looking for total relaxation at the beach? We have a beautiful pier home in Oceanside Village at Surfside Beach, a private gated community with 24 hour security. OSV has 4 fishing lakes, tennis courts, basketball court, volleyball court, bocce court, large softball field, a playground for small children, and 3 pools--one indoor and two outdoor, including a 'water park' pool

for kids. There is also a Fitness Center on site with a $25.00 charge per person per week. Open 5 AM until 10 PM each day.

Our home, located at 409 Sandollar, now has available an apartment downstairs which can be rented with the upstairs

unit. We are not able to rent these separately, but they are perfect for a large group, as up to 14 people can be accommodated easily. During the summer season we prefer to rent both floors together, but will consider the upstairs only if

you are inquiring after April 1. The upstairs main house features two bedrooms with two full baths. The master bedroom has a queen bed with attached bath, and the second bedroom has a queen bed and a futon. Cable TV in both

bedrooms. The living room has a full sleeper sofa, a loveseat and rocker. It also features a 47' TV and a DVD player. Wi-fi is also furnished.

The huge kitchen is fully equipped with a microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, garbage disposal, dishwasher, washer and dryer, etc. There is plenty of storage, and a large bar with 6 barstools in addition to a separate dining area.

The downstairs apartment has two bedrooms, a living room with a sleeper sofa and 32' TV, one bath, and a small kitchen with everything the upstairs kitchen has except a garbage disposal and dishwasher. The master bedroom has a king bed and cable TV. The other bedroom has a double bed. Please scroll down below the rate chart to see rates for the whole house.


The deck features a covered seating area (see pictures) on the side. The front deck is not covered, and has a table and chairs and a large grill.

The downstairs storage room has 3 bicycles (two 26' and one 20') , beach chairs, sand toys, and a beach umbrella for your use.

We also have a golf cart which you may rent for $150/week. YOU MUST BE 21 YEARS OLD with a valid drivers license to operate the golf cart--NO EXCEPTIONS. Golf carts are also available for rent at the front office. There is a parking lot on the beach for OSV guests. Restrooms are located in the parking lot.

You must provide your own linens and paper products. Please leave our home in the condition you found it since there is no maid service, however, maid service can be provided for an additional fee. There is no smoking in the house, so please smoke on the porch or deck.

We rent from Saturday to Saturday in the summer. Dogs are allowed, and we require a non-refundable pet fee. ($50 PER DOG) For winter rentals, the pet fee is $50/dog/month.

We require a $200 refundable security deposit for weekly rentals, and a $400 refundable deposit for monthly winter rentals. A $400 deposit is required for confirmation. The balance is due 21 days prior to your scheduled arrival.

Keywords: Beach house

More Details

Phyllis Bridges
Member since: 2007
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
17 February, 2018

About Phyllis Bridges

We have owned a house in Oceanside Village since 1986. We actually bought our house here so I could bring my dog to the beach. Now we have 2 labs that love to come with us. We know that dogs are members of the family, and want others to experience the joy of taking your dog with you on vacation. We also own another pet-friendly home, The Roost, in OSV. We hope you enjoy our home as much as we do.

Phyllis Bridges purchased this house in 2011

Why Phyllis Bridges chose Surfside Beach

Security, value, homelike atmosphere, BEACH!


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Surfside Beach in Horry County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Master bedroom bath.
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Downstairs
  • 3 full baths
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 upstairs - 1 Large Double Bed , Upstairs MBR
    Bedroom 2 upstairs - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , upstairs 2nd bedroom
    Bedroom 3 downstairs - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , downstairs mbr
    Bedroom 4 downstairs - 1 Double Bed , downstairs 2nd br
  • Queen size Beds (2), King beds (1) Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (3)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Bicycles
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • Horseshoes
  • Miniature golf
  • Shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Golf cart available for $150/week.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(12 traveller reviews)

75% Complete
8% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
The Getaway! 2 or 4 bedrooms and wifi! Jan-Apr 2018 now available!
average rating of 4.4166665 based on 12 reviews

The home is a bit dated and grungy, but served the purpose. Would not go back

  • 3 of 5

The home was kind of a glorified trailer home, in a community packed with homes right on top of each other. I've stayed in much nicer homes at the same price point. Served our needs, though.

We had to clean up the house ourselves, that was not great. Be prepared to spend 30 mins cleaning the place. We won't stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great !

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was great. Really enjoyed Oceanside Village !

  • Review Submitted: 28-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The Stovers

  • 5 of 5

GREAT HOME! We have been coming to Ocean Side Village for about 30 Years and this is one of the best homes we have stayed in! The Getaway is an excellent place for the entire family. It accommodated us all very well and we had an great time. The home was clean, it is well kept, and offers a golf cart. The owners were extremely nice and pleasant to work with. We recommend this home to anyone that is wanting to stay in Ocean Side Village. Thank you for an awesome place for vacation!

  • Review Submitted: 27-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you had a good time. Hope you will stay with us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Shapleigh, Maine 04076 USA

Excellent Winter

  • 5 of 5

We stayed Jan thru Mar 2015 and were very happy. The Getaway is an excellent house to vacation in. It was not the warmest winter but the Getaway was warm and super comfortable. We will be staying there Jan thru Mar in 2016 and are now counting the days until we get there. The only glitch we had was the water heater died one night about 9 PM. I called and they were going to sent someone to fix it then and I said we could wait until morning. First thing the next morning the plumber was there and installed a new water heater. I would recommend this house to anyone that was looking for a great place to stay.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Oct-2015
  • Date of Stay: December 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
North Carolina


  • 1 of 5

My son (an adult) arrived at the house promptly at 3:00. There were still people at the house. So he left the house and came back a little later. When we first arrived we noticed the house was not as clean as it was last year when we stayed there. We noticed something spilled on the floor, food in the refrigerator and an old pizza in the microwave. At that time I thought about contacting the owner but I just decided to deal with it and clean it up myself. Upon our departure I cleaned the house very well including the bathrooms, the floors, the kitchen etc. All beds were made and sheets washed, folded and put away. When it came time for us to receive our security deposit back we were shorted $100. The owner claimed I had not cleaned the house which was absolutely untrue. We left the house in MUCH better condition than we found it. Stay here if you wish, but I wouldn't expect cleanliness or your security deposit back.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Aug-2015
  • Date of Stay: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have attempted to contact this renter to discuss these issues, but she has not responded to my calls. I have refunded the rest of her deposit due to the issues she had when she arrived. The people in the house when her son arrived were my husband and me trying to install a new dryer, do laundry left by the previous renter, wash dishes, and then discovered the refrigerator was full. Sorry I didn't check the microwave, but I did vacuum and clean the bathrooms, and washed every storage container that was left in the refrigerator.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Enoree, SC

Great Trip!!

  • 4 of 5

I really enjoy staying here. The neighborhood is very peaceful. The beach is a short golf cart ride. The only thing I can recommend is my son slept in the full size bed and it was very soft and the mattress cover made noise. But I do love staying here.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Aug-2013
  • Date of Stay: July 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0



Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Surfside Beach, South Carolina

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Winter - upstairs
1 Nov 2017 - 31 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
April - upstairs
1 Apr 2018 - 30 Apr 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Summer- 4BR
1 May 2018 - 10 Aug 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Upstairs (4br see notes below)
11 Aug 2018 - 7 Sep 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Fall - upstairs
8 Sep 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £142.48
Golf cart (May - Sept 8) £106.86
Pet Fee £35.62

May-Aug 10 - $1650/week, $250/night
Aug 11-Sept 7 - $1300week, $200/night
April & Sept 10 - Oct - $1100/week, $160/night, $1600/month
Nov-Mar - $1550/month, $900/week, $140 night

Rates are subject to change without notice.


Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Owner a Question