HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Glenn Acres Black Bear Creekside Cottage- Mountains-Quaint-Quiet-Relaxing

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage on Creek, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4-5)

Just outside the hustle bustle of the city of Asheville, (about 18 miles) you will find Mountain Serenity with us in our Black Bear Creekside Lodge. (2 bedroom, 2 bath, with a large living/dining area.)

You will drive through the small creek up the quiet road where Glenn Acres begins. Enjoy the wildlife, immense trees and wildflowers the nice sound of the stream and just have a relaxing, memorable mountain vacation!

Please, note only 2 vehicles allowed on property.

**Please Note** During winter mths a 4wd will be needed to access the properties if there is ANY snow or ice.

Keywords: Cottage, cabin, lodge

More Details

Property Manager
Denise Glenn
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
19 January, 2018

About Denise Glenn

My Father in Law, Larry had always wanted a little place by a mountain stream/creek. He and Mother just happen to come across this 13 acre tract at the base of Mt. Pisgah with two cottages on the property. They moved into one and decided to redo the other for others to enjoy! This was in 2000. It is now the Black Bear Creekside Lodge! Contact Me, Denise Glenn for more information and booking. We hope to see ya real soon!

What makes this cottage unique

Listening to the mountain stream right outside your bedroom door! Seeing the mountain laurel in full bloom as well as other wildflowers. Hearing the woodpeckers and other birds fill the trees surrounding us. Walking around the property....visiting Larry's trout pond. (sorry not for fishing in) Or just relaxing on the porch. But mostly, enjoying family and friends. Contact us now!

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Candler in Upper Hominy

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
Notes:
ALL necessities furnished such as toilet tissue, paper towels, trash bags, (a two days supply) and all linens furnished!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)

81% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Glenn Acres Black Bear Creekside Cottage- Mountains-Quaint-Quiet-Relaxing
average rating of 4.6875 based on 16 reviews
5

Cozy. Homey. Lovely.

  • 5 of 5

Everything was perfect. Highly recommended. Will come back again and again. I love the creek and the sound of running water. I love the hike up the hill to explore. I love looking at your pond with trouts. Place was in the center of NC. We even got to go Gatlinburg and back at night to have home cook meal. Thank you for sharing your place. One disappointment, my husband was looking for the freshly bake yeast rolls, everyone was raving about. Lol.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We’re so glad you felt at home with us here in the mtns and enjoyed the surrounding area! I’m sorry you missed out on the rolls. Mom Was out of town when you were visiting. We do hope you’ll come Again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Friendswood, Texas
4

Texan in the Smokies!!!!

  • 4 of 5

Cabin and Creek were amazing. My son and family and this ole Texas man loved it. Thanks for my chance to visit the Smokey Mountains.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Pine Ridge Chalet

  • 2 of 5

We stayed at The Pine Ridge Chalet and was very disappointed in the accommodations. This cabin needs extensive cleaning & repairs. Front door hard to open/close, bathtub downstairs does not drain, poor lighting throughout cabin, uncomfortable beds, furniture needs steam cleaning or replaced, vcr upstairs does not work - need cable upstairs, walls dusty (which caused our son to get sick). I hate to complain; however, if I owned this or any cabin rental, I would keep it well maintained for my tennants. Housekeeper not doing her job!

  • Review Submitted: 28-Nov-2016
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: All I can say is I am so sorry the cabin was not up to par as far as the cleanliness. That has been addressed with our cleaner and it will not happen again. As far as the bath, vcr, and the door... these things will be looked at and fixed. Even though the review was not as we had liked, we do appreciate it and will be on top of getting things taken care of.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Parker, CO
5

Relaxing Cabin!

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful cabin! We had a great stay here and I must say one of my best nights of sleep in a while. The rain and the bubbling creek along with the comfortable bed made for a wonderful night of rest. My kids had fun exploring down by the creek. It was very peaceful and just what we needed after a long drive from Colorado.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richmond, VA
5

RELAXING!!!

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic cabin. The porch overlooking the creek was awesome. Mountain Laurel and Rhododendrons were in bloom. We never wanted to leave. The owners gave us fresh baked rolls and muffins. Delicious! Thank you, for a most relaxing stay. Peace.

  • Review Submitted: 18-May-2016
  • Date of Stay: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Orlando, FL
5

Weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

This was the most peaceful getaway. There were three adults and we came to the area to see a band in Asheville and to getaway from city chaos. The two bedrooms and two baths were perfect. Being able to keep the door open in the Master bedroom and hear the stream bubbling along outside made for a great night sleep. There is definitely a cabin feel with great vintage decor. And they brought us homemade rolls and muffins the day we checked in. Kitchen was well equipped. We absolutely loved our stay (love drive across the creek) and we will be back for a longer stay!

  • Review Submitted: 25-Apr-2016
  • Date of Stay: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
32 Miles
Asheville Regional
Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £46.92
Additional Guest Fee £7.22
Pet Fee £36.1

Check in is 3:00 pm Check out is 11:00 am

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals