HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

What a Charming Apartment - Latin Quarter - Wooden Beam - View

People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
People
4
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
4 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday apartment in Sorbonne - JACQUES

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

What a charming apartment ! :

if you are looking for the charm of a typically traditional French apartment with incredible wooden beams, antique furniture and a unique vue over the Saint Severin Church & square, this is the place to stay.

This 1 BR 46m2 apartment stays in a 17th century building of the “Saint Severin district”. In the early 20th century, it was inhabited by Berthold BRECHT the famous writer. The location is very central, in the middle of the latin quarter (5th) full of restaurants and shops and minutes walk from many monuments (Louvre, Notre-Dame). Subway is at 2 mn.

The apartment qualities:

- Rare traditional wooden beam building

- Unique view over the Saint Severin church

- Wooden furniture pieces are piece of art.

- Apt was completely refurbished in July 2011

The living room offers 2 different areas : an open kitchen (brand new) with large ancient wooden table that seats 4/6 and a lounge area that offers a comfortable convertible sofa (2 guests) and piece of art furniture pieces (desk, closet). The ceiling is hold by large dark wooden beams. Additionally, a few vertical beams create the space separation in a charming way. The view from the living room on is unique the church and square.

The bedroom is painted with a light clay color. It offer a confortable (new) double bed and a windows with view on the zinc roofs of the building.

Bathroom offers a small bath and shower. It is small but convenient. Toilets are in a specific room.

A small entry with a windows on courtyards opens to bedroom, living room, bathroom & toilets.

The apartment stays on the 4th floor (no elevator, it should be noted the staircase would need refurbishing).

Getting out the building, you may decide to visit the lively Saint Severin street, walk to Notre-Dame Cathedral, visit the Middle age museum with “la Licorne” tapisserie, walk to Saint Germain District to go shopping for the most famous brands or spend your day in the “Louvre” museum.

This location is a perfect base to visit Paris. It stays 10 minute by subway to most interesting Paris locations AND is a very charming and restful area to be appreciated after a whole day shopping and walking through museums.

Keywords: Charming, apartment, cozy, 1 bedrooms, flat, Paris, location, best, price, comfortable, light, calm, unique, value for money, affordable, roofs, restaurant, shopping, Latin Quarter, Mouffetard, Contrescarpe, Jardin des plantes, Ile Saint Louis, Notre-Dame, Paradis Latin, Saint Germain, Sorbonne University, The Louvre

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2008
Speaks English, French
Calendar last updated:
23 November, 2016
Call Manager

About The Owner

Flat used to belong to Berthold BRECHT the famous german writer.

Why The Owner chose 5th Quartier Latin

Unique for its location and charm in this 17th century building.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)

What a Charming Apartment - Latin Quarter - Wooden Beam - View
average rating of 4.4375 based on 16 reviews
Denver CO USA
4

Lovely, cozy and comfortable

  • 4 of 5

The location of the "Jacques" apartment can't be beat. A two minute walk to Notre Dame, Ste. Chapelle, and the Ste. Michelle Metro which will get you everywhere else. The Louvre and Musee D'Orsay were but a 15 minute stroll. Lots of options for groceries if you plan on eating in, including a totally fabulous open-air market around the grounds of the Jardin Cluny. The apartment was clean, very charming and comfortable. White washed walls, dark wooden ceiling beams and terra-cotta tile floors--we felt très français. Our young kids slept on the very comfortable, pull out sofa--it became two twin beds--but noted that the noise from the street was a little bothersome. It was cool enough in October (during our stay) to close the street-facing windows so sleeping was fine. The main bedroom located in the back was very quiet. Its windows opened to a central court for the building. A couple of cautionary points for those who like the typical hotel stay: Because the apartment's in a very old building, there is no elevator, and it is on the fourth floor. Pack lightly! The bathroom is not a high-end experience. It's small and could use a little attention to the tile work and caulking around the half-bath tub/shower, but it was perfectly adequate for us. The kitchen was fine if a bit low on drinking glasses (plenty of wine glasses!!) and spoons (but hordes of forks and knives!). Hardly major drawbacks. All in all, I recommend this little charmer as a place to collapse at the end of a long day of sightseeing.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Good location, "Rustic" apartment

  • 3 of 5

"Rustic" apartment, walking distance for most attractions. Narrow steep winding stairs would make it tough for older couples. Best for young adventurous couples looking for a low cost convenient location.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Mike, Thank you for your review. We always use reviews to improve our service or the apartment. The design of the apt can be seen on the photos. We believe they describe the apt as it is. There was never a complaint of misrepresentation. Obvioulsy, the apt is not designed in a modern way. Nevertheless all the modern comfort is there, kitchen, bathroom. We believe “rustic” is a strong word. This apts will not fit for guests who are looking for modern design. Some may appreciate that the actual desk of Berthold Brecht writer is in the apt. It is similar for the stairs. The stairs date from the 17th century. There is a wonderful tile drawing on the last floor. It is classified as historic by the French Ministry of Culture. For most of our guests this is part of the charm they are looking for. We understand not everybody will appreciate. Sincerely, Jean-Noel
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Ideal apartment in a terrific location

  • 5 of 5

From the moment we arrived at the apartment, met very efficiently by Myriam, to the moment we sadly closed the day as we left after five night, we loved every minute of our time there. Yes, it is a bit daunting to climb up to the fourth floor while lugging a suitcase, but it was worth every bit of the energy required. The apartment is charming and comfortable. We loved our view over St. Severin and the children's playground. The kichen contained everything we could possibly have needed. This is an ideal apartment for two and in a terrific location.

  • Review Submitted: May 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Australia
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay in the Jacques apartment. We are a family of four including two children aged 8 and 12. The location was magnificent – a couple of minutes walk from the Seine and the Notre Dame. In the other direction we could easily walk to the Moufettard street markets for breakfast. There were supermarkets nearby and a wide range of cafes/restaurants. We used the public bikes to ride along the Seine and could park them right near the apartment. We could see lights from the Eiffel Tower at night. The kitchen was useful although we were generally out exploring Paris all day and didn’t use it much. Our kids slept in the lounge room on beds that could be separated. The apartment is a few flights up (no lift) so it might not suit everybody, but we loved it. The check in process was smooth and friendly and all correspondence was dealt with efficiently and quickly.

If you are seeking a very centrally located and reasonably priced apartment for a couple or a small family, this is an ideal choice.

Thank you for a wonderful stay in Paris. The great location of your apartment meant we could maximise every moment of our stay.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Charming Apartment

  • 5 of 5

I had a very enjoyable stay at St. Jacques. This part of the Latin quarter is excellent for walking, sightseeing and food. It is close to Notre Dame Cathedral, the metro, bakeries, markets and many good restaurants. The apartment itself was charming and well-equipped. It is in a busy area but is quiet. The process of booking and check in went smoothly. I would recommend this place!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 20, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Carol, Thanks for your nice review. This is indeed a very nice part of the Latin Quarter, facing Saint Severin medieval church and 2 minute walk from Notre Dame cathedral. Perfect for strolling along the Seine river. Nice to know you found the apartment to be charming and well equipped, and that you enjoyed our booking process and check in was smooth. Hope to host you again in Paris! Sincerely, Jean-Noel
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Victoria, BC
4

Great apartment: Living life as a Parisian

  • 4 of 5

We arrived September 20 at the apartment and Myriam was there as planned to meet us. After a short walk through and explanation of the features of the apartment, we were on our own to live and experience Paris. The pictures are a true reflection of the apartment.

The apartment itself is old and absolutely wonderful. From the wooden beams running across the ceiling, the period furniture pieces, a piece of Paris from days gone by.

If you are renting this apartment it should be for the right reasons and those are to experience life as an every day Parisian and to do so in an apartment that dates back over a century. Things those of us in North American really do not get to see or experience.

Yes the apartment is old, yes the bathroom is small and there are 4 flights of stairs (you do somewhat get used to them after a few days Just take your time, after all you are there to experience the lifestyle, so slow down and enjoy).

Several times during our trip up or down the stairs we would meet some of the people living in the apartments, on the landing by the stairs and although we were not fluent in French, it's amazing what a smile and few attempts to communicate can accomplish.

The apartment is on St. Jacques St which can get noisy with the windows open during the rush hours, however with the windows closed, we had no issue. We found ourselves opening the windows at different times, then sitting down either in the living room or kitchen/dining table and having a glass of wine before heading out in the evening to explore the incredible amount of bistro's and cafe's in and around the area.

One thing I should mention is that from the kitchen/dining window, you can see the top 1/4 of the Eiffel Tower in the distance. Great view at night with the lights off, sitting and talking over a glass of wine.

As for location, you cannot beat how central you are. It's a 10 minute walk to Notre Dame or the metro lines.

You can walk to several other of the districts easily. There are fresh fruit and vegetables stands close by as well as cheese shops, charcuterie shops, wine shops. There is a grocery store a few minutes walk away. It has everything you want close by.

Explore the side streets and experience real French bistro's and café's, you won't be disappointed, they are fantastic. Try to avoid places like Gertrude's on the corner, it's more of a tourist type place.

Overall, a great original apartment, perfect location to experience the Parisian way of life.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 28, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Cheryl and Rob, Thanks for your kind review. Nice to know you found the apartment to be absolutely wonderful! We always try to make pictures reflecting the apartment as it is. Renting an apartment is the best way to live as a Parisian. In this area which is the oldest of the city, most buildings are over a century old and very few have an elevator. We are used to stairs :-) You are right, like everywhere if you smile and try to communicate, Parisian people are helpful and friendly. We can't say better than you did, the location can't be beat, hard to be more central, perfect to experience the Parisian way of life! There is a nice fresh market on nearby place Maubert...with a good bakery, wineshop, butcher, and one of the best cheese shop in the city! Hope to host you again in Paris Sincerely, Jean-Noel
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
25 Kilometres
CdG
Nearest Train
2.5 Kilometres
Gare d'Austerlitz
Nearest Point of Interest
Saint Severin Church
Nearest Point of Interest
Latin quarter
Nearest Point of Interest
Notre Dame
Nearest Point of Interest
Saint Michel Boulevard
Nearest Point of Interest
Ile Saint Louis
Nearest Point of Interest
Saint Germain District
Nearest Point of Interest
Luxembourg Garden
Nearest Point of Interest
Pantheon

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Sorbonne, Paris

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
LOW Nov-Mid Dec
1 Nov 2016 - 15 Dec 2016
4 night minimum stay
£342
for 4 nights
From
£86
£503
£1,510
 
 
HIGH Christmas
16 Dec 2016 - 5 Jan 2017
4 night minimum stay
£426
for 4 nights
From
£107
£629
£1,887
 
 
LOW Winter
6 Jan 2017 - 28 Feb 2017
4 night minimum stay
£342
for 4 nights
From
£86
£503
£1,510
 
 
MID March
1 Mar 2017 - 28 Mar 2017
4 night minimum stay
£377
for 4 nights
From
£94
£559
£1,677
 
 
HIGH Spring1
29 Mar 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
4 night minimum stay
£570
for 4 nights
From
£142
£839
£2,516
 
 
HIGH Spring2
1 May 2017 - 31 May 2017
4 night minimum stay
£570
for 4 nights
From
£142
£839
£2,516
 
 
HIGH Spring3
1 Jun 2017 - 14 Jul 2017
4 night minimum stay
£570
for 4 nights
From
£142
£839
£2,516
 
 
MID July
15 Jul 2017 - 28 Aug 2017
4 night minimum stay
£510
for 4 nights
From
£128
£755
£2,264
 
 
HGIH Autumn1
29 Aug 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
4 night minimum stay
£570
for 4 nights
From
£142
£839
£2,516
 
 
HIGH Autumn2
1 Oct 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
4 night minimum stay
£570
for 4 nights
From
£142
£839
£2,516
 
 
Present
1 Mar 2018 - 4 Mar 2018
4 night minimum stay
£339
for 4 nights
From
£85
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£475
for 4 nights
From
£119
£699
£2,097
 

Additional pricing information

Tax Rate 3.9%

- We may accept 3 days stays : simply send us a mail for 4 days and add actual dates in the comment.

-Additionally, we would like to mention:
• Electricity, heating is included (not included only in case of monthly rental).
• Internet is included
• Phone is free to many destinations (US, Canada landlines & cells please ask for details)
• Full end of stay cleaning is mandatory and charged additionally 60€ (includes Linen&Towels)
• Paris City tax of 0,83€/day/guest is charged extra on behalf of Paris City

- Tax/Handling charges will depend on payment way

- Rates may change at any time. Rates vary depending on season, nbr of guests if applicable, occupation & owner.

- Damage protection will be requested with 2nd and last payment

- Note that this site automatic estimated quote system calculates rents in a basic way : it may result in higher quote for 6 days than for 7 days or other discrepancies. Therefore, we may resend a detailed quote with description, & process via mail.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Sorbonne in Paris

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • Monument View
General:
  • Free Long Distance
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 Double Bed
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
The flat is furnished with wonderfull ancient wooden furniture. It fits perfectly with the nice wooden beam ceiling.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties