Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

5br 1 Ba Cottage In The Heart Of St. Ignace

Bedrooms 5
Space 1,300 sq ft
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 30 nights


About the property

5 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 9

This cozy cottage is the perfect family get away. The kitchen is well equipped and linens and towels are provided. The home has 5 bedrooms & 1 bath. There is a queen bed & private balcony on the upstairs master and a queen bed right off the living room in the downstairs master. There is a gas fireplace in the living room for chilly evenings, a flat screen TV with a dvd player, there are also many games, books and cards for your enjoyment. It has a large yard with lots of room for little ones to play. Look out of your glass enclosed porch with a glass of wine or a cup of coffee and watch the ferries shuffle people to Mackinac Island. There is a public boat launch waiting for your boat 300 yards away. The cottage is in a perfect location for access to all the interesting points in the U.P. Only a few blocks I-75 or US-2 and only about a mile from the Mackinac Bridge. You can easily make day trips to Mackinac Island, Tahquamenon Falls, Pictured Rocks or Sault Ste. Marie, but don’t forget about all the happening in St. Ignace itself. Fireworks every Saturday (in season), movies in the park, music on the Bay, wine tasting in town, and so much more.

More Details

Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
19 July, 2018

About Mark

Lori & I have been coming up to St. Ignace for twenty two years. Being professional photographers we loved the scenery and fell in love with the people. After ten years of looking for our own little piece of heaven we stumbled upon The Love Shack.

Mark purchased this cottage in 2008

Why Mark chose Saint Ignace

The location of the love shack is perfect. When we bought the home it had been vacant for many years. Noone saw what we saw. We have redone almost everything but as we all know the work of an older home keeps us jumping. It is close to town and all the happenings. The views are wonderful and with 4 children in our family the playground is right down the street.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Saint Ignace in Mackinac County

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Single Bed
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • limited accessibility
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • churches
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • swimming


Good! 3.8/5 -
(27 traveller reviews)

33% Complete
40% Complete
7% Complete
11% Complete
7% Complete
5br 1 Ba Cottage In The Heart Of St. Ignace
average rating of 3.8148148 based on 27 reviews
Flower Mound

Not the Ritz but charming.

  • 5 of 5

St. Ignace is a beautiful waterside town with great food, views, and relaxing times. The Love Shack is located in walking distance to everything and has a character all its own. My family enjoyed our stay and the property was just as described in the listing.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you and we are so happy you enjoyed yourself. I love your analogy that it's not the ritz but charming. The house is quirky but the old adage in St Ignace is that they decide where to build their house by "throwing a rock over their shoulder." That's what is was a hundred years ago and I am not sure it has gotten any more sophisticated since;)
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful vacation in spacious home.

  • 3 of 5

It was spacious and clean. Furnishings were comfortable but in need of updates as was parts of house - but they’re working on it. Location was great. Nice to have washer and dryer on hand. Talking with Mark the owner was wonderful. He was responsive and friendly.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Jul-2018
  • Date of Stay: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Cozy cottage....we loved it.

  • 4 of 5

The cottage is located in a well suited area that has easy access to a grocery store, restuarants and ferry service to Mackinac Island. It is a bit rustic but if you pay close attention to the small details, you can tell it is cherished by the owners. Mark was very responsive to all of our questions and concerns. We were originally worried because the cottage does not have AC, but the lake breeze is just enough to keep cool. Mark also provided fans to ensure the comfort of our furry family member, which was great! There is a nice playground within walking distance that is on the lake and makes for a great morning walk. While its not perfect cosmetically, its much better than camping in a hot tent. We would stay again!

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Michigan, USA 🇺🇸


  • 5 of 5

No complaints. Quiet neighborhood, close to everything.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rustic Vs Dilapidated House

  • 1 of 5

The house is not rustic by any means, it's more dilapidated. You don't know which way to lean when walking or getting out of bed as all the floors slant in different directions. The house smelled of smoke, could not enjoy the sun rm area due to smoke. We has to wash ALL the dishes before using due to the grease buildup, they must have been put away without washing. Be sure to bring you own pots/pans to cook in or purchase disposal pans for oven as most are rusted or caked/baked with grease. ALL the mattresses are extremely old, sagging, and springs poke when attempting to sleep. The couch/loveseat are broken down, feels like your sinking into a hole. We thought after reading prior reviews and the owner stating the house has been under (at least 2) complete renovations these issues and more would have been addressed but it does not appear anything had been addressed. We left the house cleaner than when we arrived by washing all the dishes and towels. One of our kids said, "If this is the first impression of Michigan, I don't ever want to come back!". Another child stated, "The ground outside in more level than the house." Thankfully, our kids were able to experience more of Michigan by visiting the zoo, bear ranch, fishing, Castle Rock, and Mackinac Island and realized Michigan was a great vacationing place, just stay at a different location next time. In different areas of the house the ceiling looks like it's going to collapse and we avoided walking under them, just in case. I believe this house has potential for charm, with a lot of work and foundation repairs. However, the HO did refund one night due to someone prior to our arrival smoking, which was greatly appreciated.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unrealistic expectations. Complained from minute one demanding refunds for amenities that were never advertised or asked about. Rude family.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Berkley, Michigan

Not bad.

  • 3 of 5

Was visiting for a wedding, not a vacation so was ok for what we came for. Older home. Only one bathroom, so probably wouldn't plan to fill the 5 bedrooms with people. Cute sunroom. Not on the beach, but close to town. No wifi. Owner seemed great and was on top of communication. Honestly won't use again, will find a place on West side of Michigan for vacations or somewhere directly on the water.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry if our ad misrepresented anything. I try to be as honest as possible with the hopes that people compare us to like properties. Thank you and have a wonderful day.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2



Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £75.72
Pet Fee £75.72

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.