HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Ann Morgan James

Member since: 2011
Speaks English

Hat Creek – Serene Mountain Getaway with Pool, Fishing & More

20 Reviews
People7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday home in Cassel - Hat Creek Retreat

House, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 5-7)

Hat Creek Retreat is lovely mountain home located in the picturesque Inter-Mountain area located in the north-eastern tip of Shasta County. Cassel sits at 3200 feet so it has the allure of all the seasons: sun in the summer and snow in the winter. Whether you have a passion to fish your heart out, enjoy the sights and sounds of the mountains, or just spend a peaceful afternoon lounging on the deck, you have found the right home to create vacation memories for you and your family.

We have outfitted our home with all the comforts you might need coupled with a warm inviting atmosphere to embrace the entire family!

Our recent remodel makes this house a mountain showcase you won’t want to miss.

Keywords: Located in Cassel, right on Hat Creek, this recently remodeled home sleeps up to six. Relax on the back deck and enjoy the beautiful back yard in the shadow of Burney Mountain! Take a relaxing dip in the pool or walk out the back gate to fish Cassel Forebay. This mountain home is inviting, warm and fully stocked for your comfort!

Great fun for families. Something for kids of all ages. Want to golf? Take a quick 15 minute drive and golf in Fall River. Interested in the out of doors? How about spending the day hiking or boating and swimming at McArthur Burney Falls State Park! After a day of fun, whatever your passion, you can head home, relax with a cold beverage and drink in the view of Burney Mountain while you enjoy all the creature comforts of home. We are close enough for a day trip to McCloud or Yreka for a train ride in McCloud or Yreka. How about exploring the Shasta Caverns or walk on the wild side and jump into the Falls at McCloud. Don't miss the best kept secret of the Intermountain region. This special area has it all.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Ann Morgan James (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks English

About Ann Morgan James

My 13 year old son Jack and I are so very excited to have this property. It was a family get away and when my husband decided to leave the family we were worried we could not keep the house...but we did and we could not be more thrilled!

We are both published authors. My title is How to Raise a Millionaire and Jack's is How to Let your Parents Raise a Millionaire. When you stay at the house, you can check out the house copy of the books! :-)

We are excited about our books. How to Raise a Millionaire is the ultimate parent’s guide to increasing confidence and growing bully-proof self esteem in any kid.

My book provides simple everyday tips and a unique action plan to teach my six millionaire skills you need to teach your kids so they can imagine and live the life of their dreams!!

Jack's book is the kid's companion piece to my book and is written from one kid to another. His book helps kids see the benefits of starting their own business!

We are a mother and son team on a mission. We want to fill the world with kid entrepreneurs.

If you have a kid and you want to tap into every ounce of potential your kid, help them start a business. Read our books, we'll show you how! It so simple it criminal!

Ann Morgan James purchased this house in 1999

Why Ann Morgan James chose California

We originally bought this home just before our son was born. We actually did the final walk through about 3 weeks before he was born! The first moment we saw it, we knew we had to have it.

It was a place to get away and fish, but we quickly fell in love with the area. The people, the weather, the surroundings, the activities, it is just the whole package! When we came to a fork in the road a year and a half ago (husband asked for a divorce), it was Jack who insisted I not sell the house. This brought me to the decision to rent it out as a vacation home so others could enjoy it just like us!

Renting our home to others allows us to keep our home and that is important! So Thank You from the bottom of my heart and the bottom of Jack's. You are helping us keep our special home.

What makes this house unique

Cassel is a small lazy mountain town. It offers the ease of country living with some of the best outdoor activities around. But more than the fishing, hiking and mountain air it offers peace.

Our home sits in the shadow of Burney Mountain -- whether you are in the living room, the kitchen, the dining room, the master bedroom or relaxing on the back porch, you are surrounded by the magnificent view of one of nature’s creations. The peace and calm this home offers to its guests invites you to relax and revive.

Reviews

4.8
based on 20 holidaymaker reviews

Hat Creek – Serene Mountain Getaway with Pool, Fishing & More
average rating of 4.75 based on 20 reviews
2

rental in cassel

  • 2 of 5

Don't plan on using the pool which is a bug breeding water whole and you'll probably get sick if you jumped in.There were dirty dishes in the dishwasher and damp towels in the dryer. everything else was clean and tidy.I was just bummed because it was advertised with a pool but you couldn't use it.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mary, Sorry you were disappointed in the pool. I wish you had mentioned this during your stay, I would have had my caretaker go out immediately and remedy the situation. The pool is maintained for safe swimming with all the appropriate chemicals, etc. It is surrounded by trees and while cleaned on a regular basis, can get visitors who drop in from the trees. We do our best to maintain it. We try to respect your privacy while you are at the house so my caretaker does not visit the pool while you are there, that said, we are certainly happy to make a run out to the house do a quick pool cleaning. As for the dishes in the dishwasher, that is not OK. My housekeeper is outstanding and it must have been an oversight. In my many years of working with her, I can say this is the first time it has happened. She is outstanding. My apologies. I know you were at the house for a wedding -- I hope it was joyful and the rest of your stay delightful. Again, my sincere apologies for our mishaps. Ann
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great

  • 5 of 5

Ann could not have been nicer. Great spot if you like to fish.

Great kitchen, wifi, comfy beds. Loved our stay!

  • Review Submitted: May 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Christmas in the Mountains

  • 5 of 5

This property is everything it is advertised. Very comfortable. Secluded area yet not too far from town for groceries and gas. We met our kids for Christmas here and all had comfortable sleeping accommodations. We played some games in the spacious back yard. Unfortunately it was too cold to use the pool but it looked very inviting. If you stay here make sure you go to the Burney falls at the state park. You do not want to miss that attraction.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 29, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Brenda and Family! So tickled you had a wonderful Christmas rendezvous at our home! When I woke up on Christmas morning to rain here in the bay area, I knew you had a white Christmas!!! The house is just lovely with a fresh dusting! You are so right about Burney Falls, it is really a fun site to see. Thanks again for making our home your Christmas home this year -- many wishes for a wonderful new year.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

What a fabulous place. Thank you so much. We are a group of friends that met in the California Conservation Corps (CCC) back in the 70's. Every year we get together and reminisce about the old days fighting fires, trail maintenance, fir cone harvesting and campground maintenance. We are always looking for new adventures and this place was perfect. I do believe we will be back again.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 20, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Pamela, So glad you ladies had a great time. I knew it was a girls weekend but didn't realize how long or where you met. Let me say to each of you, thanks for your service. I realize it was long ago and this sentiment might be a little late, but the service you all performed was admirable. With all the fires this summer and last, we are very grateful for those willing to serve!!! Thanks again and you gals are welcome any time!! Again, glad you enjoyed your stay! Ann and Jack
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Grandsons' First Fishing Trip - SUCCESS

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time at the "cabin" in the mountains - as our grandsons called it. The fishing was great. Both boys caught lots of fish and their first fishing trip was a huge success. They asked if we can do it again next summer. My husband and I will definitely be back before then. The house setting is peaceful and a nice place for relaxing, meditating, and connecting with nature. The pool was a nice plus with the grandsons - although, as mentioned, the water is COLD! but the kids swam anyway. The accommodations inside the house worked well for the four of us. One heads up to anyone staying here.....bring ALL of your own paper products - toilet paper, paper towels, napkins, kleenex, etc. We arrived after 5pm and there was about 1/4 left on each toilet paper roll in the bathrooms, no kleenex, and not enough paper towels to use for the four of us for dinner that night. The store is a ways away, so it made it a bit inconvenient with two little ones and trying to get settled the first night. The only reason I mention this is because every other place we've ever rented - and we've rented places all over the world - has been stocked with enough paper products for our stay. Other than that, it was a perfect getaway vacation for this Grammy and Grampy and our two littles ages 8 & 7.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 26, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Victoria, Thanks so much for the lovely review. So happy you two had a wonderful time with our grand kids. There is nothing like teaching kids to fish. What a delightful experience. I could not agree more about the pool being too cold. This old fart almost never goes in these days, but I have been reluctant to landscape over it because it is so lovely...like your own private black bottom pond to sit by and enjoy! Kids are so lucky -- so bold and full of fun! Again, my sincere apologies for the paper product issues. This is not our normal course circumstance at the house. I stock the house with oodles of supplies but my housekeeper simply made a human error and forgot to restock after the last folks. No excuse, just letting you know it was out of the ordinary. The sad truth is, we used to keep all our paper products in the garage for guests to access - if they needed - but found whole Costco sized lots o TP and paper towels would mysteriously walk....so it is now all locked in the shed. Again, no excuse, but a fact. Being a mom, I can only imagine the inconvenience - again, my sincere apologies. I spoke with Rhoda and she confirmed we are well supplied, but a mistake. Come back again and let us make it up to you. :-) We'll TP the house for your arrival. Tee Hee! Warm Regards, Ann and Jack
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fishing

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time. Accommodations were perfect. Looking forward to returning again next year.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 8, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Frank and Fishing Buddies!!!! So glad you had a wonderful time this year. So honored to have you back again! We'll see you next year....but don't forgot, some of the best fishing in Cassel is in October!!! :-) You can join us again before there is frost on the pumpkin! :-) Thanks again for your gracious review! Ann and Jack
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Fall River Mills
Nearest Barpub
12 Miles
Other than the one in the house??? Burney, CA
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Fall River Mills
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Hwy 299 and Hwy 89
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Burney and/or Fall River Mills
Nearest Ski
61 Miles
Shasta Ski Park, north on Hwy 89
Car: recommended

'Renowned Wild Trout areas close by for the avid flyfisher', 'Hunting available in season', 'Spinning reel and fly fishing available out the back gate', Mt. Lassen National Forest is a short 30 minute drive with multiple opportunities for exploring and learning!', 'Golfing in Fall River and even an Indian Casino for gambling.', 'This beautiful mountain area has it all!'

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Cassel, Shasta Cascade

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Base Rate
1 night minimum stay
£243
for 1 night
From
£167
£1,245
£5,088
 
 
Regular Season
1 Apr - 30 Nov
1 night minimum stay
£243
for 1 night
From
£167
 
Discounts: 2 nights or more: £167 Nightly; 3 nights or more: £167 Nightly
 
Winter Season
1 Dec - 31 Mar
2 night minimum stay
£327
for 2 nights
From
£125
£953
£3,835
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £0
Cleaning Fee £76
Tax Rate 10.0%

A County Occupancy Tax of 10% is required on your room fees. We charge a $100. cleaning fee so you can pack up and head home without having to worry about any white glove treatment after you leave.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Cassel, USA

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Master bath has whirlpool tub with separate shower. Downstairs bath has a stall shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Twin Longs or Single Beds (1) The twins longs in both bedrooms can be converted to kings.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • Rock Climbing
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
Notes:
'Fishing is located just out the back gate.'

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties