Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Experience Taditional Japanese House! SUMIRE

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 645 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Two bedrooms; one with double bed, another two singles, perfect for a family

Good access to Skytree town and Asakusa area!

Convenienct location for tourists!

A 65 year old traditional Japanese townhouse located in busy downtown, Mukojima, Tokyo. The house belongs to my husband who spent his childhood there. We are university professors, and the house was too small and old for us to live with our three children and lots of books, so we have never lived there. After 30 years, I found it quite cool as it has not changed into western style house, which is now rare to find in Tokyo.

The house was renovated nicely remaining its original taste. There are two bedrooms; one with a double bed and the other with two singles. The bedrooms on the second floor are floored with tatami mats. There are small but cozy living space and a kitchenette in the first floor. Bathroom with a bathtub and shower head. You will find the 'washlet' in WC.

Since the house was built right after WWII, everything is made small according to the Japanese peoples frame at that time. If you are way taller than 6 feet, you may find it a bit close and uneasy.

More Details

Owner
Akiko
Member since: 2014
Speaks English, japanese
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
16 July, 2018

About Akiko

I am a retired professor who took her degree from Columbia university in NYC long time ago.

Akiko purchased this house in 1950

Why Akiko chose 9

Traditional outlook and modern equipments. Convenient to get to Akihabara, Ginza, Asakusa, Shibuya, Shinjuku, or even to Nikko. Bus stop right near the house and get to Asakusa by 10 mins. Less than 10 minutes walk to two major train stations.

What makes this house unique

Though it is located close to Asakusa, the major tourists attraction in Tokyo, Mukojima area is not polluted with commercial tourism.

There is a famous Japanese style 'tea house restaurant' where you can see and enjoy Geisha performance with reasonable price.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in 9 in 35

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 645 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • After confirming reservation, I send the document. Please fill in required inforamtion. We would appreciate your understanding for this matter.
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bidet
  • independent WC and bathroom with bathtub connected by a dressing space.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
  • We have two bedrooms in the second floor of the house. One with a doulbe bed and the other with two single beds. The rooms are floored with tatami mats. The double bed is American double bed which could be a bit too small for a tall big persons to sleep together.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • pier fishing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Our vacation rental, the Sumire House is a renovated Japanese house which was built right after WWⅡ. You may be surprised to know that one whole family of five used to live in the house. It is a remaining memorial of poor, devastated post war Japan. Now it's fully renovated but we dared to leave many parts of the house as they were. We hope you enjoy the time warp here. From Sumire House you can easily visit many interesting spots in Tokyo such as Asakusa, Akihabara, Ginza, Shinjuku, Shibuya, or Tsukiji fish market using public transportation.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

92% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Experience Taditional Japanese House! SUMIRE
average rating of 4.928571 based on 14 reviews
5

Great little traditional home in residential area

  • 5 of 5

This place is a sweet, small home off a busy street. We had 5 people staying here (one a small child) and it felt a bit tight for 5. There were only enough chairs for 4 at the eating area/table top and there wasn't really a space for a 5th person to sleep besides a mat on the floor.

It was a convenient location, with a convenience store steps from the home and about a 5-10 minute walk to 2 different stations. We found the walk from here to Asakusa a lovely one, by the river and through bustling Asakusa to the temple area. It felt great to be in a residential-type area and not a busy hotel somewhere.

Some of the downsides: It is an older building and my allergies were a bit crazy with the dust (not that the suite is dirty but the older wood and antiques do collect dust), it didn't have a couch or futon in the "lounge area" which would have been really nice. The kitchen is tiny and we bumped our heads many times (and we are not tall people). My husband finally marked it with some paper so we learned after a few times! I would have liked fluffier pillows and duvets as it got chilly at night in early May. And it would be nice if earplugs were here, as the traffic noise is loud & early. Luckily, I had some on me.

Upsides: Hisae the property manager was very nice and waited for us even though we got lost on the train the night we arrived. She was very helpful when we had questions. It is quaint and an experience you won't soon forget.

The final word: Despite some of the minor challenges, we still loved it and would love to return again one day. It would be great if they implemented some of the suggestions for bedding, a couch or futon for the living area (which could double as the 4th bed), etc. Otherwise, highly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: 14-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

This is a cosy home-like house in a residential area. You are next door to a temple and surrounded by Tokyoites. Family Mart is 10 seconds (!) away from the place, Oshiage metro station is 10-15 mins on foot. The house has everything you might need for a comfortable stay for 4 persons. We had a great time there, don't hesitate to book if you want to have a worry free holiday.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Jan-2016
  • Date of Stay: December 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mariusz P, Thank you very much for your nice and kind review. Yes, our location and atmosphere as you mention are very good and interesting for foreign visitors. You can have a good selection of meals and high quality coffees at FamilyMart and visit and explore major parts of Tokyo by bus or train with a short ride. Come back for the next time to experience pounding mochi for our new year ceremony. Thanks again! HIDE Yamamoto
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Excellent time in Tokyo

  • 4 of 5

On the whole, I would strongly recommend this property. The location is pretty good (it's an easy 1 km walk to the subway). Family Mart is literally next door and very convenient. If you have a JR Pass, there are two stations a 10 min bus/cab ride away. The home is very clean, things worked etc. The assistant (Mana) was great, speaks perfect English, was very responsive to emails, met us for check in and was very friendly.

So why 4 instead of 5 stars? This home is a bit tricky if you're tall and a bit clumsy (like me). The doors and light fixtures are about 5'6" above the ground and I kept bumping into them all the time and found myself tip-toeing around to avoid banging into things. No fault of the home/owner by any means (I'm a clod) but I would say this isn't the perfect place for tall people.

Still, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Tokyo and can recommend Sumire house 100%.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Sep-2015
  • Date of Stay: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Ashish D., Thank you for your review about Sumire House. Yes, for tall people the house seems to be a bit tight as it is mentioned in our Homeaway front page. I could however, safely say that if you are way over 6 feet tall, you can do fine with the low things because they are below your eye level. I am glad you enjoyed Sumire House and our hospitality.  HIDE Yamamoto
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
New York, New York
5

Close to Everything

  • 5 of 5

Close to Tokyo Skytree and Mass Transit. The home was beautiful and perfect, I truly loved this place, great having a shrine right next door. Planning another vacation, would love to rent this place again.

Sincerely,

Brunilda N.

  • Review Submitted: 15-May-2015
  • Date of Stay: March 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Brunilda N, thank you very much for your review from New York. The Sumire House experience must have been so much different from your hometown. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our property. Did you get to visit the Aquarium in Skytree shopping mall? How about Hana-yashiki in Asakusa? It is a small amusement park and supposed to be the oldest in Japan.You will enjoy riding the very thrilling roller coaster there. Come back and visit us again! HIDE Yamamoto, Akiko’s husband
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

old and new tokyo

  • 5 of 5

Sumire house is absolutely perfect!

Old neighbourhood in Tokyo only a short walk from Skytree and asakusa and honozon lines which will connect you with all the attractions and beyond. Mana the assistant was just great!!! Made sure we were happy how everything worked and guide of neighbourhood . Mana also let us know that she was available if needed.

There are not many old traditional style houses left in Tokyo so Sumire house is a real gem. Right next to a shrine with a view of skytree behind it. The best representation of the old and new we all imagine japan to be.

A supermarket approx 10 min by foot and a family mart literally a stones throw away if you forget anything open 24 hrs a day and a pharmacy is about 5mins on foot.

Sumire has everything you need for your stay and the beds are sooooooo comfortable.

Exploring alternative route to skytree station is a must through the narrow streets of the area.

Sorry to leave and wish we had stayed longer.

Thank you for the hospitality and hope to stay again .

  • Review Submitted: 01-Apr-2015
  • Date of Stay: March 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Anonymous, Thank you very much for your nice review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed our environment as well as Mana’s hospitality. I so much appreciate you explained almost everything that Sumire House could offer to the guests from overseas, and yes, Mana is a super person ! She spares no effort in providing useful assistance and friendship so that the guests could explore Tokyo to a satisfactory extent. Hope you enjoyed Sakura (cherry blossom) time in Mukojima which is said to be one of the most famous Sakura spots in Japan because people could see and feel authentic old Japan with a huge amount of the blossoms having Sumida river running along. Do please come back to Japan. HIDE Yamamoto, Akiko’s husband
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Singapore
5

We loved Sumire House!

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sumire House, and would definitely hope to return in a heartbeat on our next trip to Tokyo!

Akiko's very thoughtful gestures extended to having her assistant meet us at the train station upon our arrival. It was great to have a quick orientation of the house and neighbourhood by her lovely assistant Mana, who spoke beautiful English.

We were touched by the warm hospitality, including touches such as heat packs, bottled water and even all the paraphernalia for sending parcels home: marker, twine and tape!

We thoroughly enjoyed exploring the neighbourhood and finding gems in all the eateries we visited - yummy food that we hope to return to again and again.

Besides Family Mart, we made daily visits to the supermarket nearby. We love the easy access from and to Narita airport, the bus ride to Asakusa and Kappadashi, which Akiko kindly included a timetable for.

The Sumire House is beautifully maintained, with a modern bathroom. It contained all that we needed for our family of 2 adults and 2 young boys.

Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful guesthouse, Akiko!

  • Review Submitted: 05-Dec-2014
  • Date of Stay: November 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear S.S. and my future guests, I really appreciate this great review! Also I'm so happy to know that you explored the vicinity so effectively using several different ways of transportation. Didn't you have any difficulty finding Kappabashi Street? I'll be waiting for you to come back to Sumire House in near future. I would recommend you to spend a week in the season of cherry blossomes. To take a long walk along the Sumida River under the fully blossomed cherry trees is my favorite passtime in spring. Let me share the experience with you next time. Sincerely, Akiko
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Sensō-ji Temple
Sensoji (浅草寺, Sensōji, also known as Asakusa Kannon Temple) is a Buddhist temple located in ...
Ginza Kabukiza
Kabuki (歌舞伎) is a traditional Japanese form of theater with roots tracing back to the Edo Pe...
Nearest Airport
20 Kilometres
Haneda: New Tokyo International Airport
Nearest Train
0.9 Kilometres
Hikifune or Oshiage/Tokyo Sky Tree station
Nearest Restaurant
10 Metres
Sushi Bar Kansuke
Car: not necessary

How about having a day trip to Nikko, where one of the most famous shinto shrines in Japan is located? That was built for a tomb for Yeyasu Tokugawa, who started Tokugawa shogunate in 1603. From Sumire House, it is very easy to get to Nikko.

Kyoto enjoyed culture of court nobles with showy buildings and gorgeous eating/clothing habit while Nikko, the place where the top samurai is laid, has different taste.

http://www.toshogu.jp/

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in 9, Japan

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
£591
for 5 nights
From
£95
£725
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £15 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

cleaning fee £114.4

The regular number of guests is four at the Sumire House. However, one extra person can stay if s/he can sleep on Futon. In that case we charge $20 for the extra person a day.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals