HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Haus Hanika B&B The Black Bear Suite on the River

People2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Haus Hanika is a Bavarian designed Bed and Breakfast right on the Wenatchee River with a total of 3 suites. The Black Bear Suite is our queen suite with a lodge decor and river rock gas fireplace. Breakfast in your suite! So no schedule! Only 1 mile from town but completely relaxing on the river. The perfect getaway from it all, yet close to all the festivities of Downtown Leavenworth! Adults only with maximum of 2 guests per suite.

Relax on the private patio with your glass of wine or beer and watch the river and all the wildlife. Binoculars are provided for your enjoyment.

So many activities to choose from! Either just relax the whole time you stay, or ask Ted and Sandy about all of the many activities to choose from; Hiking, skiing, biking, dining out, festivals, wine tasting, fishing, golfing, rafting, tubing, Leavenworth has it all.

Keywords: The Black Bear Suite at Haus Hanika Bed and Breakfast is right on the Wenatchee River, only 1 miles from Downtown Leavenworth, with river rock gas fireplace. Romantic getaway! Kitchenette with breakfast in your suite, wireless internet throughout, private patio on the river.

More Details

Owner
Sandy
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 January, 2018

About Sandy

Ted and Sandy have vacationed in Leavenworth since we first met 30 years ago. It's was always our favorite getaway for the wonderful sun we have here. Living in Western Washington for our whole lives we began coming to Leavenworth more and more every year for the sunny weather, and all the fun activities and festivals year round. Finally, in 2000, we bought our property here on the Wenatchee River and used it as our getaway until 2005 when we began building Haus Hanika. Finished in 2007, we moved here full time and decided to share our wonderful spot on the River as a Bed and Breakfast so that others could enjoy this beautiful area as well. We know you'll love it here as we do!

Sandy purchased this chalet in 2007

Why Sandy chose Leavenworth

We chose Haus Hanika location because it is so close to town, but gives you the feeling of being in nature. The River and all the wildlife is so relaxing but you are so close to Downtown Leavenworth (just one mile).

What makes this chalet unique

Our goal is for you to have complete privacy and to feel like you've really had a break from it all. We are available for anything you want or need, but leave you alone for your 'down time'. That's why we provide your breakfast in your suite already when you arrive so that you can wake up and just relax in the morning!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We have stayed in Leavenworth several times, and your place tops any other we've been at. Loved the room and the view!
Jul 2011
  • 1 of 5

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Leavenworth in Chelan County

Property Type:
  • chalet
Accommodation Type:
  • Bed & Breakfast
Meals:
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Included in Price
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Brand new spa style rain shower tiled shower with large granite top vanity with Bavarian Lodge decor
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Black Bear Suite - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Queen size luxury 13" memory foam bed with river rock gas fireplace and fully stocked kitchenette. Private patio
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Garden
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • roller blading
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
River front with private patio right on the river. a with river rock gas fireplace. Kitchenette with sink, dishes, wine glasses, silverware, wine opener, microwave and fridge. Breakfast in your suite includes coffee, teas, hot cocoa, three kinds of muffins, fresh fruits, three kinds of cereal, orange juice, waffles and sausage. Binoculars for wild life viewing.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(17 traveller reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Haus Hanika B&B The Black Bear Suite on the River
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
5

Black bear suite

  • 5 of 5

Loved the Black Bear Suite for our getaway in Leavenworth. Quiet. Homey. Breakfast awesome. Great view & location. Quiet, clean, and well laid out. Can’t wait to visit again in the summer.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming Place!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in the Black Bear room, it was very sweet! Everything was clean and modern. Also had a nice view of the river. Breakfast was great and we loved that we could do it ourselves. Would definitely come back!

  • Review Submitted: 14-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for the lovely review. So glad you enjoyed the river view and the leisurely breakfast! We look forward to you coming back soon! We work hard to maintain a quality bed and breakfast and your review makes it all worth it! Warm regards from Leavenworth, Ted and Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Peaceful, comfortable stay

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay here. It was comfortable, beautifully decorated, and perfectly clean. The riverside view was a treat. We enjoyed the delicious included brunch out on the patio. Thank you Sandy and Ted!

  • Review Submitted: 05-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We loved your beautiful review of your stay with us! The river is so beautiful in September! We'll keep your snow paths cleared, lawns mowed and your trees trimmed until your return lol! So wonderful to meet you both! Ted and Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

River Magic!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I loved our 2-night stay at this wonderful little place. It was homey and oh so comfortable. The Belgian waffles were a special treat! And now back home in the miserable heat and humidity in Houston, we are relying on our memories of sitting in those great chairs at the rivers edge! I highly recommend Haus Hanika for your Leavenworth stay.

Thanks for the memories Sandy!

  • Review Submitted: 03-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Mary Poppins Visit

  • 5 of 5

The magical nanny described herself as practically perfect in every way. That description fits Haus Hanika to a "T." Cozy, quiet rooms. Absolutely lovely décor. Delicious breakfast food in the room. The most comfortable mattress ever. Killer location overlooking the Wenatchee river. Heck, they even provided wildlife: deer, herons, and eagles! The only thing Ted and Sandy failed to deliver was sunshine and blue skies. Oh, wait. It only rained two out of three days. :-) All in all, BEST B&B STAY EVER! We'll definitely be back!

  • Review Submitted: 13-Nov-2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the great review. So original and wonderful, you must be a writer! We appreciate you taking the time to do the review and so glad you enjoyed your time with us! You're the reason we love doing this and we always love our return guests so hope we see you soon! Happy Holidays from Ted and Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing

  • 5 of 5

Great view of the river with friendly, prompt service. The in-room waffle making supplies were a great touch! River access was great and managed to see 2 deer run past early in the morning. Will definitely stay here again when in Leavenworth!

  • Review Submitted: 28-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your amazing review! August is such a beautiful time of year here with all of the flowers. Now it's December and the snow it's a fallin' hope you can make it back soon to see the Christmas Lights and the Magical town. The river is so amazing it's starting to freeze! Thanks again, Ted and Sandy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Wenatchee (Pangborn) airport
Nearest Barpub
0.75 Miles
Icicle Junction
Nearest Golf
0.25 Miles
Leavenworth Golf Course
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Hwy 2
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Wild Huckleberry at the Leavenworth Golf Course
Nearest Ski
0.5 Miles
Cross Country Skiing
Nearest Beach
walking distance
Car: not necessary

Leavenworth has festivals year round and was voted Christmas Town USA. Christmas Lighting is first 3 weekends in December. Oktoberfest is first 3 weekends in October. Check out the Leavenworth Chamber website at Leavenworth.org and see all of the activities and festivals we offer. Leavenworth Shuttle is available for back and forth to town if you prefer not walking. Wine tasting has become very popular here in Leavenworth and all of the shops in town are wonderful! Ted and Sandy are available for ideas on dining and other activities in our beautiful town.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Minimum 2 nights stay on Fri. and Sat. nights. We charge the one nights stay to hold your suite and balance due upon arrival If you stay more than 3 nights, we require 50% down to hold the suite.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable