HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Pelican Lake's "Sunset Beach", sugar sand, clear water, perfect for children

People10
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Two cabins rented as one, 5 bedroom, two bath, double kitchen.

When you drive into the property, you’ll see the main cabin on the right and the guest cabin on the upper left. Your kids will scamper down the path, past the bonfire pit, to the white sand beach. You’ll hear their laughter as you explore the carpeted bigger cabin, with three bedrooms, a bathroom, long dining room table, couch, stereo, kitchen with trash compactor, fridge, stove/oven, microwave, and central air conditioning. A large fire-pit waits for you, wood stacked outside. A TV/DVD and Apple TV await with Direct TV. The master bedroom with queen-sized mattress stretches from here to way over there. The side of the cabin that views the lake is all floor-to-ceiling of sliding glass doors and screens. Step outside onto the wide deck and drink your coffee on the picnic table or lounge chairs. A gas grill is located on the deck at the rear of the big cabin. And yup, you’ve got Wi-Fi.

For those who like to explore the woods, step out the back door and stroll for miles through the spruce, white birch, and sugar maple.

For authors, you can write in the privacy of the small cabin in the morning, swim in the afternoon, drive to the tourist shops along quaint Nisswa 13 minutes away and grab a root beer float at the A&W or test out the 40,000 different types of candy at the Chocolate Ox, or make everything better with legendary hand-roasted coffee and mountain scones at StoneHouse coffee. Starbucks and Caribou are bit further down the road, but you’re an author and too good for that swill. Twenty minutes away is a mall, big box stores, a modern movie theater and restaurants to suit any palate or wallet.

More Details

Property Manager
Carol Austin
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
25 July, 2017

About Carol Austin

My parents, Fred and Vivian, built these two cabins when I was in grade school. I have been fortunate to share this cabin with my husband, two daughters, and two grandchildren. Where I grew up swimming and building sand castles, so too have they. As they all live out of state, I now wish to share the cabin with new friends and their families. This cabin means so much to my family that we want to invite you to create lasting memories like ours. I’m always there to help since the lower level of the guest cabin is my personal home-away-from-home for part of each week all summer. I’m very low-key and promise not to intrude on your space.

Carol Austin purchased this cabin in 1956

Why Carol Austin chose Brainerd Lakes

We are on the south side of the lake called 'Sun Set Beach' by the locals.

The location can’t be beat for things to do and for feeling like you’ve gotten away from it all. The cabin is stocked with anything you can think of for people of all ages to have a good time. The sunsets are spectacular.

What makes this cabin unique

You know how most lakes have reeds and a mud bottom. This one has white sand that slopes gently for 280 feet (a unique playground for young ones) before dropping off into deep water. No rocks or weeds. Eagles also like to take in the view from the top of a tall tree on the beach.

NO PARTIES ARE ALLOWED IN THE CABIN. This includes any use of the cabin that causes it to be occupied by more than 15 people. Use of the premises in such a fashion that disturbs neighbors shall be deemed grounds for eviction.

Guestbook comments from the manager

We really enjoyed our stay, and this year brought our daughter and her two children 4 and 10 months and our good friends. It was wonderful to see the 'up north on the lake' experience through our grandaughter's eyes. The big sand beach and extended swimming area of the slow sugar sand slope in the water meant she could wade and play for 100 feet without going over her head. The big deck is our favorite hang out. Owner Carol Austin worked hard to make everything we needed was available. We are coming back next year for our third year. Thanks Carol for a great stay!
Sep 2016
  • 1 of 2

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Merrifield in Lake Edward

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , has 2 sinks
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Sleeps 6 adults with about 4 to 5 children. Maximum of 10.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We have a hot tub. But Crow Wing County does not permit renter's to use it.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

80% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Pelican Lake's "Sunset Beach", sugar sand, clear water, perfect for children
average rating of 4.8 based on 12 reviews
Minnesota USA
4

Best beach and lake for families

  • 4 of 5

We had a marvelous time at "Sunset Beach," which is aptly named. The huge, sandy beach, crystal-clear water and water toys were just wonderful. There is a nice hammock and plenty of chairs, lounges. Would recommend taking a sun shade for the beach. The main cabin holds several large bedrooms, beds/nice linens, towels for a large group. The large-capacity washer/dryer were invaluable with all the kids' laundry. The kitchen is very well-equipped with everything one could need including myriad spices. The large, glass dining table is not exactly kid-friendly so we covered it with a tablecloth and it worked fine. There is an adorable, smaller cabin just right for 2-3 people across a short walk. The mattresses on the porch and small bedroom could use more comfortable replacements.

The only other concern is the well water which, though potable, has a strong odor. You may wish to bring a filtered jug or bottled water to drink. Overall, this is a great place to stay; the cost is reasonable, and the owner, Carol, was at the property on occasion and went way above the call of duty in making sure we had everything we needed. She was very kind and patient with us and all our kids, and was very understanding when we ended up leaving much later than planned. We hope to return next year for an even longer stay!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Sand & Sun

  • 5 of 5

The two cabins together were perfect for our 10 person group. They were clean and ready when we checked in, and we enjoyed our stay there. The best part of the property is the location on Pelican Lake - beautiful sandy beach, sandy bottom of the lake, and very shallow out past the dock which is perfect for the kids. There were only two things to the negative, stinky water and a horrible couch. :) It was very difficult to get comfortable on it, and we had to bring in more chairs from outside as no one wanted to sit on it...

  • Review Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you told me about the couch! I have been trying to get mom to replace it! Our water has that smell because of the sulfer in the well. We have a cleaning system but it doesn't take it all out.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A cozy family cabin with plenty of room - on an incredible beach on the clearest big lake around!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay, and this year brought our daughter and her two children 4 and 10 months and our good friends. It was wonderful to see the 'up north on the lake' experience through our grandaughter's eyes. The big sand beach and extended swimming area of the slow sugar sand slope in the water meant she could wade and play for 100 feet without going over her head. The big deck is our favorite hang out. Owner Carol Austin worked hard to make everything we needed was available. We are coming back next year for our third year. Thanks Carol for a great stay!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous Sandy Beach!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second year at Carol's and we are going back again in 2017. We have 5 children between three families and you couldn't ask for a more beautiful beach area. The water is crystal clear and all sand, not one weed. You can walk out a super long way and the water never gets higher than your waist. The children loved it. We fished, tubed, water skied and just hung out all day on the water and at the cabin's beach area. The cabin is also very nice with a small second cabin for the older kids to stay in. A nice break for parents! Accommodations are very nice.

The only thing I would improve on would be the living room sectional couch. The cushions keep sliding off it and not very comfortable.

Overall a wonderful place to vacation! Thank you Carol!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely place for a family vacation

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at Carol's cabin on Pelican Lake the past few summers. The sandy beach is perfect for little ones, with lots of room for swimming and playing. The setting is peaceful and lovely. Our favorite week of the year!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Plymouth, MN
5

Memorable first time cabin adventure for our kids!

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful powder sand beach that continues into the clear water, which our kiddos loved since they could go out about 50 yards and still touch! Great living quarters too, and the extra little house was nice, allowed for more room for everyone. The outdoor eating space was great, seated 10-12 people! The kitchen was great, was fully stocked with cooking/baking/grilling supplies! A little disappointed the hot tube wasn't usable, but we still had a wonderful vacation and look forward to going back!!!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 4, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nisswa
Half Moon Saloon
StoneHouse Coffee & Roastery
Christmas Point Wild Rice Company
Tap House
Ernie's On Gull Lake
Morey's Seafood Market
"The best place for fresh and smoked fish. "
The Chocolate Ox
"Homemade Ice Cream, Fudge and Candy!"
Car: recommended

Minutes from Nisswa, MN, located on the finest fresh water beach . Enjoy tall pines, fishing, a legendary golf course, nightlife, spas, spectacular sunsets, stars never seen by city dwellers, and free loon concerts.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Merrifield, Minnesota

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer
24 Jun 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,725
for 7 nights
£1,725
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,725
for 7 nights
£1,725
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £191.97
Cleaning Fee £76.79 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.0%

Rates are subject to change until your reservation has been made.
25% of the rental fee to reserve your spot at The Lake.

We charge $100 dollars a day for any extra person over the 10 person limit.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals