HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Wisconsin Panoramic waterfront view (12 miles east of Stillwater Minnesota)

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
8
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Somerset - Pine View Retreat

Great location for enjoying historic towns, outdoor activities and nature

There is so much to enjoy about the St Croix River Valley during any season! Enjoy your stay in our quiet, peaceful, rural setting on 3-acres, also located near local shopping & services. In any direction, drive less than 30 minutes to explore shops featuring antiques, vintage or upcycled items, unique gifts, and enjoy award winning restaurants, breweries, distilleries or wineries, cross-county or downhill skiing, hiking, and so much more.

*************

Individual sleeping accommodations for 6 adults (1 queen, 2 full, 2 single, 1 queen inflatable mattress). Maximum: 8 guests or possibly more if small children are included.

Driving distance or time: Stillwater, Minnesota or Osceola, WI: 12 miles ; Hudson: 15 miles ; Minneapolis-St Paul international airport: 45 minutes ; Downtown St Paul: 30 minutes. Check-in time is 12:00 p.m.; Check-out time is 2:00 p.m.

Note: Please respect we cannot rent to any guests who smoke. There is a no-smoking restriction on the entire property. There are NO exceptions.

The 1,800 sq. ft. house has: an open floor plan in kitchen/dining/living room; oak table in dining area can seat up to 8 guests comfortably with table extensions; cozy gas fire place in living room and comfortable L-shaped leather sofa and club chairs. Full bathroom w/tub/shower on main floor, full bathroom with jacuzzi tub/hand-held shower on 2nd floor. 3-season enclosed porch has a quality treadmill love seat/ottoman, table for playing cards, games, etc.

SLEEPING ACCOMMODATIONS:

-- Queen posture-pedic mattress in the main floor master bedroom (Walk-in closet spacious enough to accommodate a portable crib).

-- Full platform bed in bedroom with a treetop view on main floor.

-- Upstairs: Full-size bed with chaise lounge in master bedroom suite.

-- Upstairs: Two single twin beds in smaller bedroom.

MAXIMUM number of guests is 8 (including children) or daytime visitors. 6 guests maximum sleeping in individual beds and on an inflatable queen mattress. 8 guests maximum total (younger children not included).

==========================================

Basic amenities included: Quality bath towels and bedding, soaps and shampoo, hair dryer, kitchen and bath paper supplies, plush bathrobes for (1-4) guests, gas fireplace in living room; Ceiling fans in bedrooms, enclosed porch and living room. Central air and heating. Coffee maker (inc. coffee & filters), microwave, toaster, ice maker, variety of cookware, serving bowls and trays, utensils, and bake ware, bread, large crock pot, mixer, waffle iron, dinnerware, cereal and pasta bowls, beverage and wine glasses, basic cooking and pantry supplies.

WiFi internet provided. Cell phone coverage on the property is excellent.

32' HD television, DVD player, CD player w/radio, music and DVD library, playing cards, cribbage board, dominoes, books ranging in interest from infant to adult, exercise treadmill, toys: stuffed animals, legos, duplos.

Enjoy the beautiful hilltop view from living room or deck. Hiking trails on the property lead to the waterfront and a grassy area for a picnic. Our lake is on the migration path of geese. Swimming isn't recommended. An excellent swimming beach at Perch Lake Park (canoe and paddle boat rentals also is 8 miles from house).

Year-round activities to suite anyone's interests within 20 minutes in any direction. Local services nearby: grocery, natural food products, library, medical clinic, hospital, dentist, ATM/Bank, laundromat, massage therapist, health/beauty spa, recreation centers (including indoor swimming).

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner
Shirley
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
7 December, 2016
Call Owner

About Shirley

We are retired, empty-nesters not ready to leave this beautiful property. My husband and I grew up in the Minneapolis-St Paul area. We are experienced vacation rental travelers, and enjoy sailing, fishing, golfing, motorcycling, hiking, and the arts. My life-long hobby is photography.

Shirley purchased this house in 1997

Why Shirley chose Wisconsin

We wanted to enjoy the best of rural living (privacy, solitude, a variety of birds and wildlife, wide-open spaces and heavily-wooded areas) with an easy commute to Minneapolis-St. Paul to enjoy everything city-living has to offer and the Mpls.-St. Paul airport.

Being close to Sillwater, Minnesota, a town I visited often before moving here, has so much to offer: a beautiful waterfront, historic architecture, unique shops and restaurants was a bonus.

What makes this house unique

Our home is well-built in an extremely quiet neighborhood. Laminate-wood floors in the 3-season porch and 2nd floor bedroom upstairs. Master bedroom on main floor carpeted in berber. Soft, low carpeting in the bedrooms. Hilltop, panoramic views from the deck, rooms in the back of the house, and the bonfire pit. Hike trails on the property for a good workout, especially climbing back uphill. Snowshoe or cross-country ski on fresh snow without having to pack up the car.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Your home was perhaps the nicest one we have rented and we have been doing this for almost 30 years. You are so organized and your home so clean and well supplied....we really enjoyed sitting on the porch and also the living room comfortable sofa to watch a movie. The shop "My happy place" in Somerset was really fun too!



Thanks again for letting us stay in your home!
Aug 2016
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(36 traveller reviews)

Wisconsin Panoramic waterfront view (12 miles east of Stillwater Minnesota)
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 38 reviews
5

College Sisterhood Getaway

  • 5 of 5

OMG! This place was amazing! So welcoming and homey. The amenities were above and beyond expectations. It was a nice walk to the lake, sat on the bench on the dock and listened to nature. Absolutely perfect for us to get together, relax and catch up. Stayed in Friday and caught up with each other, cooked dinner and drank wine. Spent Saturday in Stillwater, so much to do there. This will be my first choice for a getaway in the same area.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for sharing what you enjoyed about our property. Walking down to the lake is an entirely different experience from taking in the view from the hilltop. Deer, pheasant, an occasional turkey and a variety of birds share the space with us. I enjoy the brief portion of the trail through the dense woods before approaching the lakefront. Feel like I've been transported to a forest preserve every time and hopefully you did as well.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
South Central Minnesota
5

It was exactly what we hoped for!

  • 5 of 5

Would definitely return and use this same house!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for letting us know your group of seven were pleased with our accommodations. We've always felt living here is like being on vacation 24/7. Sounds like you had a similar experience. Thanks also for taking exceptional care of the house. Do keep us in mind if you return to this area for a future reunion.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Girls Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful house and property just a short drive from the Twin Cities. Plenty of room for five of us. We had a relaxing few days and enjoyed the quiet location and the wonderful views. Close enough for a day trip to Stillwater for shopping and other activities. The house was stocked with plenty of everything we needed in the kitchen, bedrooms and bathrooms. We especially appreciated the current information about local events and attractions. Great communication with the owner before arriving. Everything was clean and in working order. Our October stay prevented us from taking full advantage of the outdoor amenities, but we imagined enjoying our morning coffee or a glass of wine in the evening on the deck. Will definitely consider again if we return to the area. Thanks for making our girls weekend memorable!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Having relied on vacation rental properties, our goal has been to provide many of the household or bath items that would have been helpful for us when traveling. Our property is ideal for spending quality time together for a reunion with family or friends and it's very rewarding to know that we met your expectations. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Truely a Great Experience

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this home for 4 days with our dog and the experience was as though it was our own home. Very clean, comfortable and quiet surroundings that anyone would enjoy.

We enjoy antiquing and there were plenty of shops in the area to keep us well occupied without much travel.

We will definitely recommend this home to any of our family members or friends...give it a try you won't be disappointed!!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Even though this 4-footed guest was the largest that's been on vacation in our home, he was a perfect guest. While preparing the house for the next guests to check in, it was obvious you and your wife took great care of the house during your stay. So many options for antique shopping or visiting occasional shops selling revamped, re-purposed vintage items are in this area,. The cities of Osceola, Stillwater, St. Croix Falls, Afton, Hasting and New Richmond offer plenty of opportunities for a full day of shopping. If you consider returning to this area for another opportunity to go antiquing, we hope you will consider staying with us again. You are always welcome.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Quiet Hideaway

  • 5 of 5

We rented Pine View Retreat for nearly a week for our daughter's wedding in Stillwater. It is about a 20 minute drive to Stillwater, crossing the historic Lift Bridge (that will sadly be replaced by a new bridge further down the road later this year). Lots of parks nearby if you enjoy nature. The home is very well appointed and was to my standard of clean when we arrived (that doesn't happen very often for me...I'm very picky.) I couldn't get over the number of (nice) towels in the bathrooms! We never ran out, even with a house full of guests! Furnishings were nice, beds comfortable. The weather was really hot so we didn't spend a lot of time outside, unfortunately, but there is a nice deck and seating area to overlook the trees/pond. We were pretty busy with the wedding activities, but would definitely stay there again just to spend time in the area!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We really appreciate for your positive comments . Thank you! Knowing you were extremely pleased with your stay is important to us, especially since you booked many months in advance. The new bridge over the St. Croix River is expected to be in use Fall 2017. Over the coming months we're expecting to see many more events and activities in this area that would interest visitors. The lift bridge will be converted to a pedestrian bridge and the roadway at the end of the bridge will become an expansion of the Lowell Park waterfront. If you return the St. Croix River Valley for another visit, you were exceptional guests and would enjoy having you return for a stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Place - Pine View Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

Our family stayed at Pine View Retreat while in the area for our daughter's ribbon cutting for her insurance business in Hudson, WI. We did many things while in the area - fishing, shopping, visiting Stillwater, St. Paul, and of course Hudson. However, the best time was spent on the deck of Pine View Retreat relaxing, talking and enjoying the view.

Shirley was very prompt (over the course of booking and even days before our arrival) in answering emails and any questions. She provided extra touches throughout the house from plenty of towels to different choices of coffee. We were able to cook most of our meals in the great kitchen. Additionally, the house was clean and the beds comfortable.

Everything was as described and we would recommend Pine View Retreat.

Bosard Family

Nebraska

  • Review Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad everything worked out for your trip 'north' to celebrate your daughter's new venture and to spend quality time with your family. When you make a return visit, we'd be very pleased if you'd consider a return stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Minneapolis-St Paul Airport
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Bristol Ridge, St. Croix National, New Richmond
Nearest Ski
12 Miles
Trollhaugen
Car: necessary

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Somerset, Minnesota

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Nov - Dec 2016
1 Nov 2016 - 31 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£207
for 2 nights
From
£103
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £20 per night, per additional guest
 
JAN - MAR 2017
1 Jan 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£222
for 2 nights
From
£111
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £20 per night, per additional guest
 
May-October 2017
1 May 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£286
for 2 nights
From
£143
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £20 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£270
for 2 nights
From
£135
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £20 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £40

Additional guests are $25/per person per night. For 5+ guests add a $85 cleaning fee. $50 Pet Fee for 1 Dog. Maximum number of guests: 8.(including any children). Check in is 12:00 p.m., checkout is 2:00 p.m. .

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Somerset, USA

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2180 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • rural ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , On main floor
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Jacuzzi , 2nd floor bathroom has hand-held shower - no curtain
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , in master bedroom on main floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , platform bed in smaller bedroom on main floor
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , two twin beds upstairs
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed , Spacious master bedroom upstairs with a chaise lounge
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties