HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Shirley

Member since: 2013
Speaks English

Wisconsin Panoramic waterfront view (12 miles east of Stillwater Minnesota)

31 Reviews
People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Wisconsin - Pine View Retreat

Great location for enjoying historic towns, outdoor activities and nature

There is so much to enjoy about the St Croix River Valley during any season! Enjoy your stay in our quiet, peaceful, rural setting on 3-acres, also located near local shopping & services. In any direction, drive less than 30 minutes to explore shops featuring antiques, vintage or upcycled items, unique gifts, and enjoy award winning restaurants, breweries, distilleries or wineries, cross-county or downhill skiing, hiking, and so much more.

*************

Individual sleeping accommodations for 6 adults (1 queen, 2 full, 2 single, 1 queen inflatable mattress). Maximum: 8 guests or possibly more if small children are included.

Driving distance or time: Stillwater, Minnesota or Osceola, WI: 12 miles ; Hudson: 15 miles ; Minneapolis-St Paul international airport: 45 minutes ; Downtown St Paul: 30 minutes. Check-in time is 12:00 p.m.; Check-out time is 2:00 p.m.

Note: Please respect we cannot rent to any guests who smoke. There is a no-smoking restriction on the entire property. There are NO exceptions.

The 1,800 sq. ft. house has: an open floor plan in kitchen/dining/living room; oak table in dining area can seat up to 8 guests comfortably with table extensions; cozy gas fire place in living room and comfortable L-shaped leather sofa and club chairs. Full bathroom w/tub/shower on main floor, full bathroom with jacuzzi tub/hand-held shower on 2nd floor. 3-season enclosed porch has a quality treadmill love seat/ottoman, table for playing cards, games, etc.

SLEEPING ACCOMMODATIONS:

-- Queen posture-pedic mattress in the main floor master bedroom (Walk-in closet spacious enough to accommodate a portable crib).

-- Full platform bed in bedroom with a treetop view on main floor.

-- Upstairs: Full-size bed with chaise lounge in master bedroom suite.

-- Upstairs: Two single twin beds in smaller bedroom.

MAXIMUM number of guests is 8 (including children) or daytime visitors. 6 guests maximum sleeping in individual beds and on an inflatable queen mattress. 8 guests maximum total (younger children not included).

==========================================

Basic amenities included: Quality bath towels and bedding, soaps and shampoo, hair dryer, kitchen and bath paper supplies, plush bathrobes for (1-4) guests, gas fireplace in living room; Ceiling fans in bedrooms, enclosed porch and living room. Central air and heating. Coffee maker (inc. coffee & filters), microwave, toaster, ice maker, variety of cookware, serving bowls and trays, utensils, and bake ware, bread, large crock pot, mixer, waffle iron, dinnerware, cereal and pasta bowls, beverage and wine glasses, basic cooking and pantry supplies.

WiFi internet provided. Cell phone coverage on the property is excellent.

32' HD television, DVD player, CD player w/radio, music and DVD library, playing cards, cribbage board, dominoes, books ranging in interest from infant to adult, exercise treadmill, toys: stuffed animals, legos, duplos.

Enjoy the beautiful hilltop view from living room or deck. Hiking trails on the property lead to the waterfront and a grassy area for a picnic. Our lake is on the migration path of geese. Swimming isn't recommended. An excellent swimming beach at Perch Lake Park (canoe and paddle boat rentals also is 8 miles from house).

Year-round activities to suite anyone's interests within 20 minutes in any direction. Local services nearby: grocery, natural food products, library, medical clinic, hospital, dentist, ATM/Bank, laundromat, massage therapist, health/beauty spa, recreation centers (including indoor swimming).

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Shirley (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Speaks English

About Shirley

We are retired, empty-nesters not ready to leave this beautiful property. My husband and I grew up in the Minneapolis-St Paul area. We are experienced vacation rental travelers, and enjoy sailing, fishing, golfing, motorcycling, hiking, and the arts: theater, musicals, photography, museums.

Shirley purchased this house in 1997

Why Shirley chose Wisconsin

We wanted to enjoy the best of rural living (privacy, solitude, a variety of birds and wildlife, wide-open spaces and heavily-wooded areas) with an easy commute to Minneapolis-St. Paul to enjoy everything city-living has to offer and the Mpls.-St. Paul airport.

Being close to Sillwater, Minnesota, a town I visited often before moving here, has so much to offer: a beautiful waterfront, historic architecture, unique shops and restaurants was a bonus.

What makes this house unique

Our home is well-built in an extremely quiet neighborhood. Laminate-wood floors in the 3-season porch and 2nd floor bedroom upstairs. Master bedroom on main floor carpeted in berber. Soft, low carpeting in the bedrooms. Hilltop, panoramic views from the deck, rooms in the back of the house, and the bonfire pit. Hike trails on the property for a good workout, especially climbing back uphill. Snowshoe or cross-country ski on fresh snow without having to pack up the car.

Guestbook comments from the owner

In January of 2015 we stayed in this home for our annual planning and relaxation retreat. The accommodations were excellent and the property was beautiful! It is everything that the pictures made it out to be. Shirley (the owner) was incredibly helpful and very easy to work with. She returned calls promptly and made sure that we had everything we needed for a successful weekend. I give this property my highest recommendation!
Jan 2015
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.9
based on 31 holidaymaker reviews

Wisconsin Panoramic waterfront view (12 miles east of Stillwater Minnesota)
average rating of 4.903226 based on 32 reviews
5

Great Place - Pine View Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

Our family stayed at Pine View Retreat while in the area for our daughter's ribbon cutting for her insurance business in Hudson, WI. We did many things while in the area - fishing, shopping, visiting Stillwater, St. Paul, and of course Hudson. However, the best time was spent on the deck of Pine View Retreat relaxing, talking and enjoying the view.

Shirley was very prompt (over the course of booking and even days before our arrival) in answering emails and any questions. She provided extra touches throughout the house from plenty of towels to different choices of coffee. We were able to cook most of our meals in the great kitchen. Additionally, the house was clean and the beds comfortable.

Everything was as described and we would recommend Pine View Retreat.

Bosard Family

Nebraska

  • Review Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

LOVED PINE VIEW RETREAT

  • 5 of 5

Seven of us stayed at Pine View Retreat for a four-day girls weekend. We really enjoyed our time relaxing and catching up with each other. Everything was so convenient, neat and tidy, and we felt right at home. Shirley provided many extra touches that you don't always find in other rentals. We spent a great deal of time on the deck, as the weather was just perfect for us to enjoy chatting outside. We appreciated the canopy outside the enclosed porch, which protected us from the sun and a few raindrops. We prepared all our meals in the well-stocked kitchen, and enjoyed dining together at one time around the large table. We managed to break away for a few hours for an outing to Stillwater, visiting the antique stores and kitchen shop. ( It was maybe a 20 minute drive into Stillwater.) We all found a few treasures while browsing the shops, however there was so much hustle and bustle along the main street on the weekend that we couldn't wait to get back to "peace and tranquility" at Pine View Retreat.

The beds were comfortable, the house immaculate and we found everything to be as described. We would definitely recommend this rental property to others. Shirley promptly answered any and all of our questions in advance. We truly enjoyed our stay. THANK YOU.

Ann N. and family

  • Review Submitted: Jun 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your positive, detailed review which we truly appreciate so much. Having booked our home so many, many months ahead of your arrival, I am thrilled to know the house and amenities met you and your family's expectations. You were great guests, so prompt in corresponding back and forth, and very easy to work with. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The house was quiet and peaceful. It was very clean and ready for guests!

  • 5 of 5

This is perfect for a relaxing getaway. The house is really comfortable and clean and was perfect for our girl's weekend away. Shirley thought of everything we might need our want for a relaxing stay. My only complaint is that we couldn't book it for a longer amount of time! We will be booking again for sure!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing our home for your weekend away and taking the time to write a review, especially knowing how busy your lifestyle is. :) I know you were relieved to find out I hadn't sent you the cancellation notice you received when the 24-hour response time to accept your book-it-now request expired while we were corresponding back and forth. For future guests, it's important to monitor your email during this 24-hour time frame if a vacation rental owner asks for additional information (or you need it from them) prior to determining reservation acceptance. The vacation rental owner cannot extend or prevent the automatic cancellation of a book-it-now request that lapses after 24-hours without being accepted.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Quiet rural stay

  • 3 of 5

I recently stayed at this property for a girls weekend. There were 6 of us staying at the house. When we decided we wanted to go to Stillwater for the weekend, we wanted to find a house that would be close enough to take taxis or Uber's to wineries, downtown etc. With that said, I was disappointed that this property was further outside of Stillwater than expected.

Here are some Pro's and Con's of our stay:

Pro's:

-The house was spacious enough for all of us. Only 2 people had to share a bed. The living room has a large couch that we all sat on comfortably, as well as a dining table with seating for 6.

-There were plates, silverware, kitchen gadgets, etc. for us.

Con's:

-Based on the pictures, there is a deck with furniture. When we arrived, it was 70 and sunny and wanted to be outside. There was no furniture on the deck. I called Shirley to ask if it was somewhere we could get at (in the garage, etc.). This was on a Friday afternoon and I never heard back from her all weekend. I was very disappointed at the lack of any response. We weren't able to sit out on the deck all weekend bc we didn't want to sit on the floor.

-There is only 1 shower. For 6 girls getting ready, this was a huge inconvenience. There is a second bathroom upstairs that only has bathtub and shower head. There is no shower curtain which makes it impossible to shower (because there would be water splashing out everywhere).

-She has several pages of house rules. Everything from outside noise, proper garbage disposal to cleaning before you leave. We thought this was very excessive and didn't make us feel comfortable with our stay. One of my friends rents out a property and said she has never seen the amount of "rules."

Things to know:

-Shirley will not send the actual address until 5 days prior to the stay. This made it very difficult to try to plan our activities and transportation. The property was further than we anticipated and it was close to a 20 minute drive north east of Stillwater.

-There are no Uber's available. For a taxi into town, it was $140 roundtrip. For this reason, we didn't even go to the winery we had planned, but instead just made one roundtrip in a taxi for Saturday night.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It’s unfortunate your expectations weren’t met during your stay. I apologize about lack of response over the weekend and for that, deserve 3 stars. However, it was not intentional. I was traveling overseas. My back-up host missed your call. Another alternative, in a situation like yours, would be sending an email. With earlier weekend temps with highs in the low 40's, the spike in warmer weather was not expected. Being off season and furniture is not on the deck until May 1, it was an oversight having deck furniture would be appreciated. Glad to know your 6th guest wasn’t uncomfortable sharing sleeping accommodations. Our listing notes the 6th bed is a deluxe queen inflatable mattress. We didn't get a request to set up the bed and it was an oversight my back-up didn't ask if it was required. The upstairs bathroom photo displays a jacuzzi tub and a glimpse of the hand-held shower head and no shower curtain, which is a standard installation. Unaware you were hoping to hire Uber service or other transportation, I couldn't confirm for you whether or not your plans were possible or how expensive. I've updated the listing to note no Uber service is available. We have a rental agreement our guest signs as a legal document for our protection and/or guest(s) in case of liability or damage. (A pdf copy is available for download when reservation is made). I'm thinking that might be what you've mentioned as pages of rules. The check-out ‘to do’ list is very short. Edited to add (6/25/2016): If the reason for needing the address so early was to arrange transportation, you would have gotten a quick answer. A very early request for the address can imply invitations for a social event, not suitable in our home, are being written. As our listing states, we have a very generous cancellation policy. Had I known you needed UBER service, which I knew was not available and you didn't ask me, I could have given you a 100% refund up to 2 weeks before your check-in date. It's truly unfortunate communication was lacking concerning your transportation needs and your stay resulted in such a disappointment.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, well maintained home

  • 5 of 5

We (five women) stayed in April for a womens get away. We were all impressed with how clean and well maintained the home was. We enjoyed the location, a quick drive to Stillwater (15 min max). We had a wonderful time and would return in a heartbeat!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write your review. When we receive an unsolicited 'thumbs up' rating like yours, it validates that we continue to offer a memorable, comfortable and relaxing stay at a reasonable cost. I also want to thank you for being exceptional guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Prague
5

Up North Feel & Just An Hour Away!

  • 5 of 5

We had a family girls' weekend and the property was a perfect setting! The house was clean, well maintained, and well stocked with all the little things you need in the kitchen and bathroom. The coffee was wonderful! The setting was beautiful. Conversation, nice walks, shopping, and dining and beverages were enjoyed. We would definitely return!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Terrie, thanks very much for taking time to write your review. We're so pleased we helped create a a memorable trip away for you. That's our goal!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Minneapolis-St Paul Airport
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Bristol Ridge, St. Croix National, New Richmond
Nearest Ski
12 Miles
Trollhaugen
Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Stillwater, Minnesota

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
May-October 2016
1 May 2016 - 31 Oct 2016
2 night minimum stay
£275
for 2 nights
From
£138
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £19 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£275
for 2 nights
From
£138
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £27 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £38

Additional guests are $25/per person per night (May-Oct), $35/per person Nov-Apr. For 5+ guests add a $85 cleaning fee. $50 Pet Fee for 1 Dog. Maximum number of guests: 8.(including any children). Check in is 12:00 p.m., checkout is 2:00 p.m. ***FYI***: In February 2016 quotes or invoices for reservations will include a service charge which is paid directly to Homeaway.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Wisconsin, USA

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • rural ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , On main floor
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Jacuzzi , 2nd floor bathroom has hand-held shower - no curtain
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , in master bedroom on main floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , platform bed in smaller bedroom on main floor
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , two twin beds upstairs
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed , Spacious master bedroom upstairs with a chaise lounge
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

Other holiday rentals