HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar


15 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 6 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
6 nights


Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Kilauea - Emerald Point (TVR#1328)


This" Gem" of a property is perched up on a bluff just a short walk down the drive way, steps away from a golden sand beach with panoramic views of a beautiful tear droppjed shaped Bay. It is hard to take your eyes off of the absolutely spectacular one of a kind living reef just below. It's the best view of the Bay and Reef bar none. Many people refer this location as the " Trump card " of Molooa Bay. This older rustic plantation home is quaint and everything you need with Hawaiian charm. The Beach house has new French doors stepping out from the kitchen to a outdoor seating area with several beautiful tables and chairs for ample seating. Trade winds come through The front bedroom which also has french doors leading out to a spacious lawn area . If it were the Ritz on this property you would paying in the thousands per night for this location. And you still would not have the privacy you have here. Enjoy 200 plus feet of ocean frontage with awesome views. Which makes this location very unique. The mountain side of this property boarders 49 acres of conservation land Allowing the most ultimate privacy. A place to rekindle romance under a star studded sky or just the right place for a fun family vacation for all. If this were a Luxury home the rate would be unaffordable for most people.This is not a 5 Star Hotel, but a 5 star plus location with privacy you don't get at a hotel. This location is a prized vacation spot for many of our locals. Just imagine of all the islands in the Pacific with there numerous beaches, Hollywood chose Kauai to film Gilligans Island on Moloaa Bay, and on this very property for the the first few episodes. Other movies shot on Kauai include Jurassic Park, Pirates of the Carribean , Blue Hawaii, 6 days 7 nights, Raiders of the lost Arch, South Pacific,Jarasic Park, The Decendents the list goes on. This garden island offers breathtaking views of lush tropical mountains, beautiful waterfalls and an emerald sea. This special place awakens your spirit and holds you captive to serenity where memories are etched in your heart forever. Truly a Diamond among Pearls!


Exit airport. turn right at stop light, go Northeast toward Princeville past Kapaa Town where you will find shopping gas food and restaurants Kapaa is just a 25 minuet drive. Continue North keeping alert to mile markers on the side of the road, watch for mile marker 16. Watch for turnoff less than a mile by the coffee/smoothie stand. Take note its very hard to see coffee stand at night. Turn right heading down to Moloaa Bay on Koolau road. Its a winding road about 1 mile, you will see Moloaa Road. Turn right on moloaa Rd. continue for another 1 mile till you see a Sign on right that says no outlet continue to fork in road go right through the.gate and continue past 2 homes and over the small bridge their will be a locked gate. Call (808)298-0884 or (808)320-0946 or e-mail for combo to both the gate and the lock box number to get the key to the house, Let us know your arrival time and we will be available to help you get there if needed. Also take note not all cell phones work past the molooa coffee stand up at the highway. Rosa can also be reached who lives nearby at (808)639-1128. Just a few steps down the driveway and over the bridge on the right you will see a roped off area with no trespassing signs please note the green deck and picnic area is private property. Just a few more steps past that you will see a pathway with logs saying" BEACH ACESS FOR MARTEN HOUSE" lined with coconuts. Pass through here to get to the beach. The view is much more advantageous from the bluff butt the snorkeling is great and boggie boarding is so much fun. Boards and snorkel gear is provided. Please rinse off ALL SAND with hose before entering the house. Also please rinse off all sporting gear before bringing it in to the house. If you chose to use the fire pit please be careful and extinguish all flames It would be a big help to the cleaner if you could do a load of towels before you leave if you have a large group. if you have any suggestions for improvement s Pleas e-mail directly to Judith at mauisurfingrose@yahoo.com We would love to hear from you . If you would like to leave a awesome review through Home Away that would be great also. We hope you enjoy your stay and come back next year. Plan ahead for your next vacation. A Big Mahalo

More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only

Jeanette Bautisita 808 651-5285
Member since: 2013
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
27 September, 2016
Call Owner

About Jeanette Bautisita 808 651-5285

I simply enjoy life.

Jeanette Bautisita 808 651-5285 purchased this house in 1969

Why Jeanette Bautisita 808 651-5285 chose Kauai

Many people have said this is the trump card of Moloaa Bay," This is the only home on the bay used as a backdrop for filming of "Gilligans Island" This property is unique in the World. not just Hawaii.

What makes this house unique

Location, Along with being the most private location on the Bay. No other home has a view like this home. The view of the reef along is magical. Because of the unique location. this home is safe Why? because this home sits on a bluff out of the way of dangerous waves


based on 15 holidaymaker reviews

average rating of 4.3333335 based on 15 reviews
Boise Idaho

Excellent vacation retreat

  • 5 of 5

This house sits on a gorgeous bay overlooking a reef that makes for great snorkeling. You have your own private beach path down to the white sand this entire property is very secluded and quiet. You will probably find yourself eating out on the table outside as the views and breathtaking. The beach won't be overrun. The house has plenty of room for the entire family! You won't be disappointed

  • Review Submitted: Dec 8, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1


  • 5 of 5

we just love the views they are "SPECTACULAR" We love being so close to the ocean, looking down at the beautiful reef below. It's so UNIQUE! I don't believe there is anything like it on this planet. Just a the few steps down the driveway is a beautiful white sandy beach, Great for snorkeling, swimming, and boogie boarding . Or just relaxing. This would be a great place for a yoga retreat as well. We have stayed here many times before and love it more each time we go. This is not a 5 star Hotel with all the Bells and Whistles. What it does have surpasses what hotels have to offer PRIVACY! The yard is big enough for the kids big and little to play while we B.B.Q. under the new gazebo or if you choose you sit by the fire pit and roast marshmallows while listening to sound of the ocean waves. We had no problem not having A.C. The trade winds are almost present, We did not miss the gourmet kitchen of a newer home. It was like going back in time the way the Hawaians lived in this older plantation home. if your looking for a great family vacation, This is it!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Unforgettable Piece of Paradise

  • 5 of 5

Our whole experience with staying at the Marten house was filled with aloha and kind energy. Property management personally called me when I inquired about booking to talk not only about how gorgeous and preserved this Moloaa property is, but to share things about our lives and to welcome our group to stay here. Who does that? Seriously, every other vacation property owner I emailed back and forth with never took the time to project that serene energy or to answer my questions like how Jude and Michael did.

The property itself was nicer than we could have imagined. It may not be a 5 star resort, but when I think of everyplace I have traveled and stayed in this world the Marten house by far trumps every property. You have the whole bluff to yourself, a beautiful fire pit with seating for 10+, a house that is welcoming and clean (lacking a little bit on the kitchen supplies but we didn't let that effect our opinion), and you are in the BEST part of Kauai.

I was engaged on this trip and dream of getting married with our closest friends and families right on this bluff. It really is that beautiful. Thank you for your hospitality and for sharing this piece of paradise with the world! I cannot understand how anyone could complain.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

low-end house in beautiful place

  • 1 of 5

We sent Chayne a number of emails before posting this to have a discussion about it but he did not reply after several emails and calls. We called Chayne the morning after our first stay to let him know that (i) the rental was not habitable because of the lack of AC and (ii) that the condition of the house was far below what he advertised. He responded that he would do what it took to make it worth our while to stay and that he would also look for a substitute rental for us to move into. A couple days later, Chayne changed his tune and said that there was nothing he could do for us other than offering to pay for a portable A/C unit that we would have to first purchase. Renters paying this rate should not have to deal with a kitchen and bathroom that are grimey / smelly and have cabinet doors and drawers that dont open and are poorly finished and that have handles which are crooked or falling off. The rest of the house was also in poor condition. The laundry room was quite bad - smelly with some kind of plate / ashtray with burn marks. Some window screens were patched with duct tape. Bedrooms had concrete floors with peeling paint and electrical outlet plates falling off. Kitchen faucet handle couldnt be moved properly because it is blocked by the window sill above. Chairs and couches were stained. The house is very spartan, worn and not clean. Also, the house is not "steps away" from the beach. It is at least 300 feet (not the 25 feet advertised) from the front door to the beach. That makes a significant difference if you are renting a beach house. Also, it was very difficult to find, having no official address number. We were fortunate to reach someone at Chayne's # who guided us in. Otherwise, we would not have found it. Since our initial complaints about the house, Chayne revised his ad, taking out language which built up the place such as "it's the Trump card of Moloaa Bay" and he added new language like "older, rustic, not 5 star and this is how the Hawaiians live". We think that is wise so that people will not be misled.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review should never been posted. They never booked through Home Away.Home Aways bad policy of letting anyone leave a review just because they claimed they stayed there even though no payment was made is poor business ethics. These people found another place because there was no A.C.and not the 5 star Hotel they were looking for. Its old Hawaian Charm. Many updates have been made like newer windows, french doors and a New outdoor Pavillion. Fans are in every room thats all that is advertised. Any issues with house keeping should be resolved with a NEW team of high quality cleaners along with a new maintanance person. We currently have eight 5 star reviews. and this 1 and only 1 star review.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Great property

  • 5 of 5

Location is amazing! We had a great time.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Gorgeous, unbeatable loaction

  • 5 of 5

My family and I chose this house to vacation together for the first time in years. We absolutely loved it! You might see some minor complaints in some other reviews, for example, "bare bones", "bugs", etc. It might be helpful to include some details here.


The location is unbeatable. Gorgeous views from all sides and access to Moloaa Bay, which is very quiet. There's a reef just a few steps into the water that makes for beautiful snorkeling and a stunning, easy hike on the opposite side of the bay. We were within driving distance of a town with great shopping and had everything we needed (groceries, etc) withing close range.

The living spaces are clean and functional, allowing enough space for everyone to relax comfortably.

Possible negatives:

While we absolutely loved our stay, there are a couple of things we would have liked to know ahead of time.

The house was VERY hard to find the first time, even following the owners' detailed instructions. This was made slightly more difficult given the fact that the home doesn't have an address (this also made it hard for a taxi pickup for one of our family members who had to leave early).

There is no air conditioning in the house. We're hot weather people, but we struggled a bit as the kitchen gets VERY hot while cooking. It's not really an option to leave doors opened as the house fills with flies quite quickly and there are no screens on the doors. Screens in the kitchen and a couple of the bedrooms have holes in them, which we patched ourselves with duct tape.

We were surprised to find that, although the house is advertised as sleeping 10, there were inadequate kitchen supplies for that many (glasses and cutlery, specifically), so we supplemented the supply with plastic forks from a burger place. We found this with towels, as well. We ended up sharing (not a huge problem - we're family) towels and many served double duty as shower and beach towels.

That being said, NONE of this detracted from our holiday - again, we just would have liked to know ahead of time and thought other visitors could benefit from this information. Any other property in this location could easily cost twice as much and we were very happy in this home.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you for your comments, I now will make corrections.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Molooa cafe/smoothie/ coffee bar
Nearest Beach
Moloaa Bay
Car: necessary

This is the property the pilot episodes was shot for ' Gilligan Island' We were told they put large leaves in front of the house to hide it when filming. They also left behind a anchor, could this of been from the the 3 hour tour that crashed on mooloa bay.

In any event, you can only imagine!


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house on Kilauea, Kauai

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
6 night minimum stay
for 6 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £23 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

cleaning £205 + Tax
non-refundable booking £82
Property Damage Protection £48
Refundable Damage Deposit £82
Tax Rate 13.42%

Regarding cancellations refunds can take up to 90 days. If cancelled 90 days or sooner to arrival date no refund if time is not rebooked. Or if the time cancelled is rebooked the refund will be sent out earlier. Regarding refunds only 50% of funds collected will be returned if rebooked. The 90 days does not apply to Holidays no refund sent until rebooked. . and . No refunds for a cleaning issues. Instead we will send out a cleaner. if you pay extra for an event while staying in our home that event fee is not refundable . When booking a event 100% of event fee paid at time of booking. Along with 50% of rental amount due at booking. CALL FOR HOLIDAY PRICING 12/17/16 through 1/7/17

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Kilauea in Hawaii

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • city centre ...
  • Lake View
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • resort ...
  • rural ...
  • Water View ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , In tIhe back bedroom, but also has a door leading outside.
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Outdoor Shower , Also has a door leading to outside.
  • three bedrooms back room used as forth bedroom
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , This bedroom/enclosed patio is screened has its own entrance
  • All bedrooms have fans and windows sleeps total of 12
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • arboretum
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • rain forests
  • recreation centre
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
House Rules for your safety. Keep noise to a minimum. Turn off outdoor lights at night. Birds become disoriented at night if lights are too bright. Hawaii has a no smoking ordinance. No smoking within 20 ft of a public building. Beach Safety: Be cautions of ocean conditions. The local shoreline faces thousands of miles of open ocean and currents are treacherous. Winter storms and tropical conditions can bring us dangerous surf and water conditions.Never turn your back on the ocean. Rogue waves can appear in seemingly calm conditions. If in doubt do not go out. BEACH ACCESS: OUR PROPERTY IS SURROUNDED BY PRIVATE PROPERTIES, PLEASE BE VERY CONSIDERATE OF THIS WHEN GOING TO BEACH.ACCESS PROVIDED BY GOING ALL THE WAY DOWN DRIVEWAY,OVER THE CULVERT PAST THE METAL GATE, PAST 1ST DRIVE, PAST ROPE GATE. THERE IS A PICNIC TABLE THERE THAT BELONGS TO A NEIGHBOR ACCESS BEACH THERE. THE 1ST DRIVEWAY IS PRIVATE NOT A SHORTCUT. RETURN THE SAME WAY. SEE MAP IN PHOTOS Non emergency Police 241-1711

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties