HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

THOMPSONS

Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks English

Grand Canyon/ Williams/ Route 66 Historical Getaway

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house

Overview

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Grand Canyon - Grand Canyon/ Williams Getaway

3 Bedrooms, 2 Full Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

We invite you to stay at our comfortable, inviting and newly renovated historic home, built in 1900. We are located in the historic residential district of the scenic mountain town of Williams, Arizona off the nostalgic route 66.

Our home is decorated with antique furnishings and items of the historic area. Our home comfortably sleeps 8, with 3 themed bedrooms. The Wild West Room hosts a queen size bed, the Scarlet Room, a full size bed, the Route 66 Room a trundle bed which converts into a king or 2 twin beds and the living room has a queen sofa hideabed. There are two full baths equipped with towels and basic amenities. The kitchen is equipped with both basic and small appliances, pantry amenities, full place settings, silverware, and cookware. Home features a comfortable living room and dining area, a small office with a library containing books and information on the Grand Canyon , historical Williams and Route 66 , Arizona and the Wild West.

Our home has an inviting veranda front porch for viewing the stunning Arizona sunsets and looking out into the spectacular starry moonlit nights and a back patio w/outside grill and chiminea for a cozy fire .

We are 55 minutes from the breathtaking and enchanting Grand Canyon.

Williams is home to the Grand Canyon Railway and its winter Polar Express which runs from about mid-November thru the first part of January. We are approximately 60 minutes from Oak Creek Canyon and Village and the colorful red rock town of Sedona. We are about 60 miles east of the intriguing Grand Canyon Caverns near Seligman, AZ And about 50 minutes from the Hopi and Navajo nations where you can purchase indian arts and crafts or visit an ancient indian village and indian ruins in nearby areas.

We are within minutes of fishing, hunting, hiking, cycling, swimming, golfing, snow skiing, sledding and exploring.

Our home is 1 block from the Kaibab National Forest where you can take scenic drives to view wildlife in their natural habitat or hike and rock climb in the wilderness area of Sycamore Canyon. We are minutes away from beautiful Bill Williams Mountain at over 9,000 ft elevation where you can sled, or snow ski on our uncrowded quaint hometown ski run.

We are located within walking distance to the historic Route 66, where you can dine in local charming restaurants, visit our hometown brewery or our wine tasting lounge or take a horse and carriage ride thru historic Williams with its old historic saloons, gift and craft shops. Williams is minutes from Bearizona, the Deer Farm and about an hour and half from the historic ghost town of Jerome, AZ.

.

Property type: historic venacular style house

Meals: guests provide their own meals

Location type: forest and mountain view/ historical residential district

Theme: family, relaxing, adventure

General: living room w/sofa queen hideabed

Dining room/ dvd player

2 full baths with towels, hairdryer and basic amenities provided

3 bedrooms with linens provided

Office area w/ small library

Kitchen:

Coffee maker

Stove/oven

Blender

Dishwasher

Toaster

Dishes, utensils, pot n' pans

Refrigerator and freezer

Heating

Plenty of extra blankets and comforters

Laundry room w/ iron and board

Entertainment: Satellite TV, Wi-Fi, DVD

Games, puzzles

Books

Some toys

Outside:

Veranda front porch

Back patio, outdoor grill and chiminea with wood provided.

Suitability:

Non-smoking only

No pets

Children welcome

Wheelchair accessible /ask owner

Events allowed

Long-term renters welcome

Attractions:

Grand canyon

Historic Williams- --Home of the Bill Williams Mountain Men

Historic route 66, Grand Canyon Railway, Bearizona, Deer Farm, Grand Canyon Caverns, Oak Creek Canyon and Village, Sedona, Sycamore Canyon, Indian ruins, Snow skiing at Williams Elk Ridge ski area or Flagstaff's Snow Bowl. Star gazing at Flagstaff's Lowell Observatory. Golfing at Williams Elephant Rocks golf course, Old-Timers Cowboy Rodeo and The Route 66 Classic Car event in summertime-August- Williams, AZ.

Leisure activities:

Horseback riding

Sightseeing

Scenic drives

Walking

Photography

Bird and wildlife watching

Golfing/ williams' elephant rocks golf course

Fishing at williams many nearby lakes

Canoeing

Cross-country skiing/ kaibab national forest

Snowmobiling

Star gazing

Swimming

Local services and businesses:

Grocery store

Bank/atm

Library/ access to internet

Post office

Local artisan crafts

Restaurants

Recreation area for basketball, skateboarding, tennis and indoor swimming pool

Fitness center

Local brewery and wine tasting lounge

Cyber cafe

Jeep tours

Sports and adventures: mountain biking

Hiking

Hunting big and small game

Rock climbing

Downhill skiing and snowboarding

Cycling

Spelunking and exploring

Rafting

Backpacking

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
THOMPSONS (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Call Owner
Speaks English

About THOMPSONS

There are three generations of our family born in Williams. And our family history at the Grand Canyon dates back to the early 1900's . Our grandfather was a world champion roper and rode in wild west shows and guided hunting trips into the Grand Canyon .

We are avid outdoors people who love to hike, explore, snow ski and raft the Colorado River of the Grand Canyon.

THOMPSONS purchased this house in 2012

Why THOMPSONS chose Grand Canyon

We love and enjoy the small town atmosphere and friendly neighborhood. A great place for raising a family .

We enjoy the outdoors around Williams and surrounding areas and we are totally attached to the Grand Canyon.

What makes this house unique

What makes our home unique:

Location, location, location. Our home is strategically located for any activity or place you want to visit, yet away from the hustle and bustle. Hosting a comfortable, inviting hometown feeling where you can sit on the front porch on a lazy sunday afternoon and enjoy the stunning Arizona sunsets and in the evenings ,gaze into the awesome starry nights.

Reviews

4.5
based on 19 holidaymaker reviews

Grand Canyon/ Williams/ Route 66 Historical Getaway
average rating of 4.4736843 based on 19 reviews
5

A lovely place!

  • 5 of 5

We were an extended family of 10 who stayed for two nights in the home. We had a great time there, the home was cozy and warm. We were very fortunate to find this place and did enjoy very much our time. We found the home clean and felt very much at home there. It is a place we would highly recommend, and if we are in the area again we would definitely chose this home.

It is an excellent location with restaurants close by as well as a nice grocery store. We came to see Grand Canyon and this place was perfect for that occasion.

We highly recommend this home for people visiting Grand Canyon as well as those who are just traveling through on I-40.

Those in charge of the building were nice and friendly.

A lovely place comes to our minds as we think of our time there.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Extremely uncomfortable to stay in winter.

  • 1 of 5

We spent a night at the home when the temperatures outside were about 20F. The climate control was plain horrible in any part of the house. (Not exaggerating, but, is the truth). I understand that its build in 1900 and there are certain limitations, but this is downright horrible. Had we know about the climate issues, we wouldn't have opted this place. If we were warned after booking, I'd have bought/purchased a portable heater.

The bedroom #1 (close to the main street) has its headboard by the window. If you sleep there, in winter, you are guaranteed to wakeup sick. Why? Because the heater won't reach you, even if you leave the bedroom door open (which no sane family would do)!

The bedroom #2 with two twins, will be hot if you leave the door open and cold otherwise. If you are a family and try to join the two twins beds to make it a kind, don't forget to put it back, else your refundable deposit will be dinged.

The bedroom #3, is UNINHABITABLE in winter. We were 4 adults and 3 kids. One adult and kid had to sleep on the floor because of this. (Couldn't sleep in the sofa-bad as it was too close to the furnace). I'm not exaggerating at all. Let me reword it: you cannot stay in bedroom #3 by the kitchen without freezing in winter.

With toddlers around and after a rough night we didn't get a chance to read every part of the journal that said to clean up the house before leaving. We assumed the cleaning fee was just for that. But no! Apparently you need to leave the place spic and span!

Misc:

* It was clean and well maintained.

* Location, amenities (except room heating system) all good.

* Snowplay in Wiliams was awesome.

* If you don't have kids, and the weather is such that your interior of the home won't be cold, this house "probably" is an option.

* Owner was easily accessible for questions via phone/text.

* We didn't get a chance to complain about the heating system as it was about midnight when we realized how horrible it was and checked out the following morning.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were sorry to hear guests experienced a cold night in our house. This was very puzzling to us, as we have two working furnaces in the home , one wall furnace and one floor furnace. We had both furnaces on and the housekeeper had turned them up before she left in late afternoon, as we had been having some very chilly nights. It was very warm in the home at that time. Our home was rented out most all of December and the first part of January and we had no complaints about the heating. If guests keep the furnaces turned up , it stays very warm and cozy in the home. If we had been alerted to this the night of the stay we could have supplied the portable heaters we have on hand . Our maintenance personnel is very close by , and is on call when we have guests no matter what time our guests are in need. As far as the condition the home was left in, after only a one night stay, was alarming to us. It wasn't so much the rearranging of things and furniture in almost every room, as it was literally the pile of dirty dishes and burnt skillet left in the sink ( a dishwasher is provided for guest to use), perishable food was left out on kitchen counters to spoil (there is a refrigerator provided), garbage strewn on floor in several rooms and garbage in paper sacks on kitchen floor with grease leaking out of them. We have trash receptacles literally in every room in the home, didn't understand why trash was strewn about the house instead of disposed of in the garbage. The border on a bedsheet was completely damaged as it was literally ripped apart from the sheet. Wet towels were piled on the carpet floor and left on the beds, we have a laundry hamper in the laundry room provided for your wet towels. We don't expect spic and span, just appreciation and respect for our home. Thank you , homeowners
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Slavica Ilic

  • 5 of 5

The house was very nice, clean and cozy, loved it!!! Thank you

  • Review Submitted: Jan 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Mobile, AL
4

Fabulous location for Williams and GC South Rim

  • 4 of 5

This was a perfect house for the five of us for our Christmas destination vacation at the Grand Canyon. We took our son and his wife and our daughter, and there was plenty of sleepy space and a spacious living room, dining room and kitchen. The home had an old comfortable feel (I guess built in the 40s or 50s) but was very clean and well-equipped for all the cooking we wanted to do. The beds were comfortable and there were new towels. Having the washer/dryer was a real plus! We also used the propane grill in the back yard for our Christmas Eve dinner.

We especially liked that it was easy walking distance to downtown Williams and the Grand Canyon Railway station (you must take the train ride to the Grand Canyon - but you'll have to rush to get it all in in the time that you have there). It is also an easy drive to Flagstaff - a small city- and to Red Rock area, Oak Creek Canyon and Sedona. The check-in was very simple and convenient with a key lock-box at the front door to which the owners gave the combination before our arrival. We would definitely stay here again when we go back, and recommend it to others.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 29, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very Nice Place!

  • 4 of 5

This house worked out perfectly for our group. It was in a great location to walk up to town, and enjoy some great food and drinks. Good space and comfortable setup - our idea of a good vacation spot.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 23, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angeles, California
5

Clean and Cozy Place to stay.

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this house during the visit to Grand Canyon. The house was clean and comfortable to stay in.It is equipped with all the basic needs. We use to come late at night and leave the house in morning so did not enjoy the house that much. Overall a good stay.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 20, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
37 Miles
Williams Airport-10 minutes /Flagstaff Airport
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Elephant Rocks - Williams
Nearest Ski
7 Miles
Williams Elk Ridge ski area
Car: not necessary

Our historic home is located off of the historic Route 66 in Williams, AZ, home of the famous Bill Williams Mountain Men and the Grand Canyon Railway, which also runs the Polar Express from November thru first week in January. Other attractions nearby are Bearizona, The Deer Farm, Grand Canyon Caverns, Oak Creek Canyon and Village, Sedona, Sycamore Canyon, Indian ruins, snow skiing at Williams Elk Ridge Ski and Outdoor Recreation Area or Flagstaff's Snow Bowl , star gazing at Flagstaff's Lowell Observatory. Williams hosts The Oldtimers Cowboy Rodeo and Rte 66 classic car events in the summertime months. And of course, we are a short 55 minute drive from a wonder of the world- the spectacular Grand Canyon.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Williams, Grand Canyon

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Summer Rates
15 Mar 2016 - 4 Sep 2016
1 night minimum stay
£188
for 1 night
From
£134
£834
£2,133
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£188
for 1 night
From
£134
£834
£2,133
 

Additional pricing information

NON-REFUNDABLE CLEANING £55
Refundable Damage Deposit £171
Tax Rate 8.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Grand Canyon in Arizona

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 2 FULL BATHROOMS
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Scarlet Room - 1 Double Bed
    Route 66 - 2 Single Bed , Trundle bed doubles as either 1 king or two twins
    Living room Sofa - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Sofa converts to a queen size bed
    Wild West Room - 1 Large Double Bed
  • 3 BEDROOMS-1 FULL BED-1 QUEEN-2 TWINS CONVERT INTO KING. Living room sofa also converts into a queen bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • ski
  • caving
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Upon leaving we ask that you leave home in same condition you found it . At check-out, beds may be left unmade and used towels deposited in laundry hamper in laundry room. Please alert owners immediately if upon arrival the premises appear untidy or damaged. CHECK-IN IS 4:00 PM AND CHECK- OUT ON YOUR CHECK-OUT DATE IS 11:00 AM.

Partner Offers

 
europ-assistance.png

Protect your holiday rental booking

  • Only 2.3% of the rental stay cost (up to £5,000)
  • Protection against internet fraud
Find out more

*Terms & Conditions apply

Portable wifi hotspot

Contact the Owner

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote