HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Charming Log Cabin on Private Pond Nestled in Woods.

Bedrooms 1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Cabin, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

My charming log cabin sits on 100 acres of private land which adjoins 2200 of New York State Forest. It overlooks a small pond which is stocked with bass. You are welcome to catch a few and cook them fresh on the Weber gas grill. The front porch is comfortable with beautiful views of the pond, hills and the valley below.

It is a cozy cabin with a sleeping loft and comes with a fully equipped kitchen and a shower bath. The loft has a double bed and the first floor has a double futon.

Bring your bicycles in the summer or your cross country skis or snowshoes in the winter or your hiking boots year round, as the stare forest is full of groomed trails. Or bring your books and just relax and enjoy your surroundings.

We are only 12 minutes from Ellicottville, New York which is a quaint little ski and resort town. You can ski in the winter or golf in the summer. There are world class restaurants for fine dining and wonderful shopping.

It is the perfect place for solitude or a romantic getaway. I hope you will come and enjoy this special place on Golden Hill!!

Keywords: private fish pond, bordered by state forest, walking trails, bicycle trails, cross counrty skiing

More Details

Bette Hestle
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 September, 2017


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Great Valley in Cattaraugus County

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • rural
  • Water View
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen Bed (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • churches
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
Fishing on stocked private pond. No license required. Hiking on 2200 acres of NY State land. Bike trails. Cross country skiing. Snow shoeing.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(55 traveller reviews)

90% Complete
3% Complete
1% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Charming Log Cabin on Private Pond Nestled in Woods.
average rating of 4.818182 based on 55 reviews
Buffalo, New York

A perfect getaway to the cabin in the woods

  • 5 of 5

What an amazing experience it was this past weekend in this very CHARMING & rustic cabin in the woods! Our host Bette set the tone perfectly as she let us in & we are so happy that we chose this perfect spot ! It was only a 20 minute drive into Ellicottville too!

We enjoyed a cup of coffee each morning from the front porch as the sun would rise over the hill ... the view is absolutely beautiful! Each and every detail of our stay was exceptional. The cabin was so cozy and decorated adorably. It looks exactly how it's pictured .

We can't wait to come back and stay again!! Thank you Bette for your awesome hospitality!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Good Morning Rachel and thanks so much for your kind review. It was wonderful having you and your family. It was fun seeing the surprise on your husband's face. What a thoughtful gift....I love the story about turn here, turn there and then the surprise!!! I look forward to your return visit!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful and peaceful

  • 4 of 5

Quiet and calm surrounded by an amazing view. Everything i was looking for

  • Review Submitted: Sep 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Chelsea.....thanks so much for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit....you certainly had beautiful weather. Great meeting your mother and hope you will return for another visit! Bette
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charming Cabin for our mini Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We wanted a mini getaway for Labor Day weekend with our 3 dogs and parents. Bette was always helpful and very responsive to my inquiries. The cabin was equipped with all the necessities. Although the weather didn't work out well, we spent the day on the porch overlooking the beautiful view, and played the board games we found inside! We also spent the day fishing (they WERE biting and we caught many of them!) and watching the two resident turtles. Thank you Bette for your hospitality, we will back hopefully in the fall to see the beautiful foliage!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi!! I am so glad that you had a wonderful time. It was delightful meeting your family. Your dad said you were looking forward to returning in the Fall and I hope you can all make it!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Springville, NY

Seclusion at it's best!

  • 5 of 5

This place was wonderful. Bette was extremely sweet and helpful. It was quiet and private. We enjoyed trying to fish, didn't catch much though. It looks like there are only a few fish in the pond itself but it was still fun. There are two turtles that we enjoyed watching all weekend as well. Bring firewood for your fire, the fire pit was great. There was a gas grill that looked almost new and in good condition, clean and ready to go for grilling whatever you want. The cabin was great as well. For the two of us there was plenty of room. Clean towels and linens were there and a lot of extra blankets. We walked for hours in her vast woods. They just logged them so there were trails to follow if you wanted to. Front porch was a great place to sit and ponder, there was a coffee maker and filters but don't forget your coffee itself and milk. She has sugar there. Kitchen was fully stocked so don't worry about bringing your pots and pans. Maybe you'll want tin foil if you plan on cooking vegetables on the grill. We literally fished, hiked, cooked, and ate all weekend. Wonderful getaway! Thank you Bette! :)

Jason & Roxanne

  • Review Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jason and Roxanne, Thanks so much for your kind words. I am so glad you enjoyed your 3 days at my cabin. You were wonderful guests and I sure hope you return again soon. And thanks Jason for the tip about the treetops......I did not know that someone would want them!! Have a great rest of 2017 and again, I hope you can come back for another visit. Bette
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful but uncomfortable

  • 2 of 5

The house is basically a one room cabin with a loft added into a space not designed for it so your head hits the ceiling 2 stairs down from the top and you have to bend in half to get up the rest of the metal spiral stairs. The bed up there is passable, but it is very hot and poorly ventilated as there is only one push out casement window that allows very little air in & no AC. Plus if you have to use the bathroom you have to climb down the spiral stairs. The fold of mattress on the first floor is so old that you can painfully feel every spring, plus the windows on the first floor don't open either and the only AC is a tiny one in the bathroom which only cools the bath. The whole house smells musty from lack of ventilation and the towels definitely smell moldy. I couldn't get more than 4 hours of sleep because of the discomforts so definitely nya relaxing weekend.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Amy. I am so sorry that the cabin did not meet your expectations. I do try very hard for everything to be perfect for my quests. I was actually not aware that the pullout couch bed was uncomfortable. I appreciate you letting me know. It is only 3 years old but I will fors sure get a new mattress for it! As to your other disappointments, I do again apologize. It is just a small cabin in the woods. I hope I have not misguided anyone into thinking it is super luxurious, as again, it is a small cabin. Again, thanks for letting me know about the bed....that I can certainly and will fix!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

It was Ok

  • 2 of 5

Nice cabin in what should be a quiet area. Each morning at 7:30 we were awakened by chain saws and trees crashing down very close to the cabin. It was not peaceful. Also, the towels and linens had a mildew smell

  • Review Submitted: Jun 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Ed, I certainly understand your concern and agree with you completely. The property was being logged and I told the logging company that did it that they could not do the work while there were renters. I did not realize that they had done so as I was not here. Also, as to the linens, I am not sure why there was a mildew smell as they are certainly fresh and laundered but will look into that. Please know that I take your concerns AND disappointment extremely seriously. I will contact you directly to discuss how I can compensate for your less than perfect stay. Again......I agree with you that this was not satisfactory!! Bette
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Great Valley, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £37

2 Night Min Stay

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now