HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Vacation Home, Fantastic Views, Modern, Updated, Pet Friendly

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 11-15)

Enjoy the privacy of a gated community, without the gates. Prime Hook is located perfectly behind a wildlife refuge. Not many people know about our oasis on the bay. Close enough to the excitement, if you want it. And then come back and enjoy a bonfire on the beach.

Keywords: house, vacation, beach, dogs, cats, pet friendly, water view, updated, modern, popular, quiet, serene, kids, children, beach

Patrick Leonard
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
16 August, 2017

About Patrick Leonard

We are a family of 4. My wife and I bought the Beach House 17 years ago. When we bought it was a small cottage from the 50's. 9 years ago we tore down the cottage and built our beautiful, elevated dream beach home. We have had two sons since having the beach house. The family enjoys coming to the beach year round. The kids can play outside like I used to be able to do when I was a kid. We have a chocolate lab that loves the water and the beach and we take him with us every chance. The beach is hidden and has been a safe haven for us over the years

Patrick Leonard purchased this house in 1994

Why Patrick Leonard chose Delaware

We chose this location because of the privacy and lack of commercial enterprise. We are close enough to everything that Rehoboth, Lewes and Dewey have to offer, but far enough that we can enjoy the serenity of a peaceful day. We like to relax on vacation. Primehook is the place for relaxing.

What makes this house unique

The boys enjoy, kayaking and biking. The wife and I enjoy, sunning, swimming, walking the sandbar at low tide, its awesome. So much to do.

The First floor has the Kitchen, Dining room and Living room. There are also two bedrooms on this floor, each with a full bath. One king size bed and one Queen. The first deck is on this level. The washer and dryer are conveniently located on this level as well. The second floor has A full Bath, a family room and the third bedroom. The only way to describe this bedroom is HUGE. There are three full size beds and a twin bunk, and still plenty of room to spare. The Family room provides a great place to relax and for the family to spread out. There is also a deck on the second level. On a good day one can see for miles.

In nearby Milton, about 9 miles away, we have a Food Lion, a Walgreens, a Subway, a Chinese carryout, a Domino's and one of Our favorites, the Miltonian Restaurant with Greek/Italian and American cuisine.

For more shopping we have Lewes and Rehoboth Beach and (Outlets) south on Route 1.

There is the Boardwalk in Rehoboth and further south, in Ocean City as well as historic sites, theatres, amusement parks, the incomparable Henlopen State Park on the ocean in Rehoboth and all kinds of experiences awaiting you at the shore.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Prime Hook Beach in Sussex County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 15
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) Two futons in living room., Bunk Beds (1) Double Bed on Bottom/ twin bed on top
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Barbecue
  • Water Sports Gear
  • 4 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Kayaks, Bicycles, Beach chairs, Beach Umbrella, Patio Furniture, Large Private outdoor hot and cold shower


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(29 traveller reviews)

65% Complete
31% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Vacation Home, Fantastic Views, Modern, Updated, Pet Friendly
average rating of 4.586207 based on 29 reviews

A Beach Vacation!

  • 4 of 5

We spent a week with our kids, grandchild and dog. Had a great laid back time. I loved that we did not have to find parking, fight the crowds and broadwalk. The house was plenty big enough for all of us and well equipped with everthing you need.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Well situated across the street from a beautiful private beach. People friendly. Dogs friendly.

  • 5 of 5

Surrounded by Prime Hook National Park, a beautiful marshland with trails, places to launch kayaks, fish, birdwatch. Sunrise over the bay with calm water, sunset over the marsh. Lots of animals. Few miles from Milton and Lewes/ Cape Henlopen. The home has 4 bedrooms, 2 porches with view of the marshland from the back. Clean, neat. Nice kitchen, washer & dryer, bikes and beach equipment. People friendly, dogs friendly. Relaxing.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Prime Hook Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful week vacation at this Prime Hook home! The home was clean, comfortable and well decorated. We were extremely grateful that we were allowed to bring our dogs. They were allowed on the private beach, which was just a few steps away. The dogs had as good a time as we did! The owners have a double kayak, towels, beach chairs, and bikes that you are allowed to use. The kitchen was stocked with just about everything you need for meal preparations. The bathrooms were also well stocked with toilet paper, Kleenex, soap, and towels. The community is very quite and the neighbors were all very friendly. The only negative comment I have is that for the first three days we were there we could not enjoy the porches as there were too many little nat-like bugs. They all died on the third day and for the rest of the week we were able to enjoy the porches. I'm sure that was just bad timing and mother nature. Otherwise, we enjoyed many walks along the beach or street, bike rides, kayaking, beaching, swimming, relaxing. I would recommend this vacation home for any family looking to relax and share some family time together.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location.

  • 4 of 5

Nice to be able to see wetlands and ocean from the house, roomy, well equipped. Kitchen is very workable. Furniture not very comfortable, living room futons have seen better days. Relatively clean, kitchen could use a going over.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The views are amazing. The house is a nice size and set up well. The new living room furniture has been ordered for the high season. Should be in end of May. Will speak with. Cleaning company about kitchen. Thanks for the review. Peace, Patrick
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Newport News, VA

Spacious House Needs TLC

  • 2 of 5

This is a spacious home, which overlooks the marsh side of the Prime Hook National wildlife refuge. Built in 2004, this vacation rental is a close walk to the beach, and stocked with plenty of games, as well as televisions and dvd players. Watch out for the over abundance of trinkets, knick knacks (candles, shells, colored glass, star fish, etc) if bringing small children! We had children ages 8,7,6, and 3, and immediately had to put these items out of their reach. The house was tastefully decorated at one time, but the throw pillows, as well as the bed pillows, were of poor quality, mostly flat, and dingy. I recommend you bring your own sheets, as the $100 linen service is a rip off! Sheets felt like they were coated in residue from overuse of dryer sheets/softener, and bath towels were old and unclean. Yuk. Aside from the linens, the floor fan in the master bedroom was filthy, and the kitchen toaster was gross.

Overall, the house needed a good dusting (under the LR futons and chairs, on top of side tables, and lamps). The bathrooms were NOT clean (especially the inside of the trashcans), and we found human hair in all of them, and a questionable substance on the bath towel in the MBR.

If we have a choice, we will look for another house to rent when we come for a visit.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have addressed the issues refereed to in this review. We have used the same cleaning company for several years and never had any kind of complaint, please see our reviews. We did contact and discuss with the cleaning company the concerns mentioned and they assured us that all issues will be addressed with their staff and the house will be as clean as it always has been in the past and even will take extra care. The sheet service is $100 for 8 beds. The sheets are replaced as worn, stained and at the beginning of each season. We recommend bringing your own sheets if you are used to a certain style or thread count. If you have any questions or concerns after reading the other reviews, please feel free to ask. We are proud of our house and the community we live. We feel like we are always on vacation. Peace, Patrick and Kim
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Right across from the beach.

  • 5 of 5

Owner was very responsive! Always respomded within an hour when we reached out for our needs

Property was beautifully decorated and very spacious with plenty of beds.

Two separate level patios and very secluded with chairs and tables.

1000 feet to the beach.

Would recommend to all for an awesome beach house.

Will rent again in the future.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
Cape May Ferry
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
The Rookery Golf Club
Nearest Beach
Car: necessary


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Prime Hook Beach, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Off Season
2 Sep 2017 - 28 Feb 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 7 guests; add £23 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 7 guests; add £23 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Additional Guest Fee £23.32 per person per night
Pet Fee £77.72
Damage Deposit £310.88

Pets $100.00

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enquire Now