HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Mountain-side Cabin, Close To Town And Skiing. Great Place To Enjoy Ruidoso!

Bedrooms 1
Space 440 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath Cabin With Mountain Views, Nestled In Pine Trees.

1 bedroom, 1 bathroom cabin on 1.1 acres that is close to town, yet has that out of town feel. The cabin is 440 square feet and has all the amenities you need. A full kitchen, shower and bath and a queen bed in the bedroom make this cozy cabin comfortable. The two love seats in the living area both fold out into individual twin beds. Fawn ridge cabin also has a fireplace and outdoor decks to enjoy the fresh mountain air.

The Cabin is a great alternative to a hotel or condo, where you have your own place on 1.1 acres and are in the midst of the pine trees. Downtown Ruidoso is approx 4 miles away and the ski slopes (Ski Apache) is about 15 miles away. There are many restaurants within 2-3 miles as well. There is a very nice deck to sit on and relax and use the grill (charcoal) to make your favorite meals. There is also nice wildlife watching, from the bird feeder just feet from the deck to watching the deer walk through the property.

Come enjoy the Fawn Ridge Cabin!

More Details

Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
15 October, 2017

About owner/manager

We bought Fawn Ridge Cabin in 2013. We love Ruidoso and ended up falling in love with the cabin. It has been remodeled and is super cute. We live in Liberty Hill, Texas and travel to Ruidoso every chance we get!

owner/manager purchased this cabin in 2013

Why owner/manager chose New Mexico

We wanted a cabin that wasn't in town and wasn't a condo. Every time we rented in Ruidoso, it seemed that is what we ended up with (in our price range). When we first looked at the cabin, we fell in love. We can't live here full time, so we thought we would rent it and let others enjoy it's beauty as well.

What makes this cabin unique

The cabin is on 1.1 acres and has Pine trees surrounding it. We walked to the top of the property and found the beautiful view of the Sierra Blanca mountain range. As we were enjoy the beauty, the wind was blowing and the fresh pine was just amazing.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks so much for letting us share your beautiful cabin. We really enjoyed our stay. We did most of our cooking at the cabin but we also ate at Farley's and The Log Cabin. Both were very good. We hope to visit again soon.
Mar 2014
  • 1 of 6


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Sierra Blanca Regional
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Links at Sierra Blanca
Nearest Ski
16 Miles
Ski Apache
Car: necessary


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Ruidoso in Lincoln County

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 440 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Queen bed, small closet. There are also 2 loveseats that fold out into twin beds.
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • forests
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • ski


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(60 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
26% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Mountain-side Cabin, Close To Town And Skiing. Great Place To Enjoy Ruidoso!
average rating of 4.5333333 based on 66 reviews


  • 5 of 5

We love small, quiet get-away places and this one was awesome. We really enjoyed the peace and quiet. The gazebo, up the hill gave us a wonderful place to relax and meditate. Birds flew through the trees abundantly and once we filled the feeder, we viewed Junco's, Stellar's and Pinion Jays, Titmice, nuthatches, and woodpeckers right out the window, on the ledge. The deer walked right through the yard and stopped to munch and move on up and down the mountainside.

The full kitchen ad grill gave us just the right combination to cook to our hearts content.

You gotta see this place to believe it! Perfect!!!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Pampa, Texas

It was such a relaxing getaway, so confy and recommend it to any couple

  • 4 of 5

Great experience!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Fawn Ridge Cabin -- Unsatisfactory Status

  • 1 of 5

From the outside the cabin looked fine with decks and chairs to enjoy the area. However, I found the cabin was not very clean and issues that I believe constitute safety issues.

The driveway needs to be graded as there are ruts approximately a foot deep. My friend has a Lexus SUV and the driveway tore off the skid plate on his car and I had to take my car to the Ford dealer to check for damage to the undercarriage before driving home.

The problems with the cabin included, but were not limited to: an uneven floor with cracked tiles, broken window, windows that could not be seen out of, no storage space for anything other than hanging clothes, a couch without legs, mold (maybe from the leak in the bathroom ceiling), constant parade of insects due to lack of baseboards in the bathroom and improper seals to the front door and windows , and questionable wiring in the ceiling.

I was afraid of using the furnace, hot tub or fireplace as I feared safety issues.

I notice that were many good reviews in their guestbook but most of their renters stayed for 2-3 days. I saw only two that were more than that, one for a week and the owner's wife and mother-in-law for a longer period.

All-in-all, it was among the worst experiences in my life.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sad to hear this was one of the worst experiences of your life. My number (and my groundkeepers number) is in all of the information I send and if at any point there was an issue, I welcome a call. I also talked to you before hand and would have taken care of any issue you would have brought up; however, based on your review, I don't think anything would have appeased you. The cabin is built into the side of a mountain and the driveway does have some grade to it, but I was there the day after you in a car and had absolutely no issues. We did notice two cracked tiles and are repairing those. My groundskeeper reported the broken window after your stay and I opted not to charge you anything for it, because things happen. Concerns for safety are unwarranted. The furnace is less than a year old, installed by one of the best a/c guys in Ruidoso. The fireplace works perfect as does the hot tub. The wiring was all installed by a certified electrician and looks great. I am not even sure what you might have seen there. All in all, I think we seem to have about one in 50 that there is no satisfying. If you would have called me on day one with all of the issues that led up to the worst experience of your life, I would have happily refunded your money and let you stay somewhere else. People come to Ruidoso to enjoy themselves and I happily enjoyed the cabin the next 5 days after you checked out. Luckily the 250 or so people that have stayed at the cabin have had glowing reviews and enjoyed their time there. Our guest book is filled with people that have made some of the best memories of their life there and many more will. If you are a future guest, please take this review with a grain of salt and read all of the other reviews. We have all ran into a person like this in life (worst experience of her life??), and unfortunately, these reviews affect how people view our cabin. This is my personal cabin and we use it 8-10 times per year. I keep it like I am staying in it everytime and it's a nice fun place to go and enjoy Ruidoso. Jason
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Cozy cabin with a lot to offer.

  • 5 of 5

Great Cabin at a great location for a reasonable price. Management is very responsive to questions. Can't wait to go back!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Loved the affordability and the home-like feel.

  • 5 of 5

We really were made to feel at home. It was a magical little haven hidden away from everything and I couldn't have asked for a better experience. I wish the path up to the deck at the top of the property was a little smoother or had some stairs. The privacy behind the trees and up off the road made it feel like a fairy tale. (complete with friendly neighborhood deer that eat out of your hand!)

  • Review Submitted: Jul 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed the cabin and were able to meet CB (Cabin Buck). We have actually talked with a couple of people to pour some steps getting up to the pergola (we agree with you) so maybe in the next couple of months we can make the walk up to the top of the mountainside easier. Come back and enjoy it again sometime!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Great little furnished cabin!

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was great, we will definitely be staying here again next time we're in the area. The owner was also very pleasant to deal with.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Ruidoso, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
22 Nov 2017 - 26 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £152.02
Cleaning Fee £38.01

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question