HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Panoramic Mount Washington Views from Private Chalet

People10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
chalet
People
10
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday chalet in Jackson

3+ Bedrooms, with spectacular Mountain Views

Enjoy spectacular panoramic views of Mount Washington from our custom built, Smoke-Free chalet on scenic Jackson Highlands. Share a casual dinner with family or entertain guests for formal dining from the gourmet kitchen, all surrounded by views of the Presidential Range. Or just relax and enjoy the constantly changing views of Mt. Washington and the Presidential range during the day and evening hours.

The great room has a charming wood stove and vaulted ceilings with expansive glass and twin sliders that open onto the expansive deck with chairs and dining table. Hi-speed wireless internet and HD television for evening entertainment. Enjoy a relaxing jet tub after a full day of hiking, alpine or nordic skiing, or shopping and sightseeing. Relax and enjoy our vacation home in the heart of the White Mountains.

Enter to a terracotta tile foyer with vaulted ceilings and an open view of the living room and dining area. Upstairs enjoy two relaxing seating areas for entertaining or quietly reading a book or watching a movie on the HD flat screen cable TV and DVD/VCR player. Full gourmet kitchen with butcher block island for casual dining and a dining room table for family and guests.

Additional Information: Lower level master bedroom with Mt. Washington views has king size bed, TV/ DVD player, sitting chair and bureaus. Guest room with mountain views has comfortable queen bed and bureau. Bunk room has two bunks and a twin, with two bureaus and a TV/VCR for the children. Sleeping loft off the great room with queen and twin for private getaway.

Full bathroom with jet tub and shower downstairs and full bathroom with shower and large washer and dryer off the foyer. Storage/workroom for skis, bikes and sporting equipment.

Maximum occupancy is 10 guests. Come and enjoy the view!

Other Activities: Summer attractions - five minutes to Storyland/Heritage New Hampshire, Shopping and restaurants in scenic Jackson Village, Hiking and mountain biking - five minutes to Black Mountain or Jackson Ski Touring trails, 10-15 minutes to Attitash Waterslide and Alpine slide or Wildcat Mountain Gondola in Pinkham Notch, Mt, Washington Auto Road and Appalachian Trail along Presidential Range in the heart of the White Mountains, Rock Climbing - guides available, Extensive Outlet Shopping, Gourmet and Casual Restaurants

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Owner
Brad Kuster
Member since: 2004
Speaks English, French
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
18 November, 2016

About Brad Kuster

Our family roots in the Mt. Washington Valley go back to when my wife's father was one of the founders of the Wildcat ski area. We raised our sons skiing racing and hiking in the White Mountains, and built this house when a family home next door was sold.

Brad Kuster purchased this chalet in 2004

Why Brad Kuster chose White Mountains

We were very fortunate to be able to build our house on a unique site, to take advantage of the spectacular views of Mt. Washington and the Presidential range. We also designed it to work for two couples with kids, so we could have other families visit.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(20 traveller reviews)

Panoramic Mount Washington Views from Private Chalet
average rating of 4.35 based on 20 reviews
4

Quiet & private

  • 4 of 5

My GF and myself stayed over the Labor Day weekend. The house is fairly secluded, private and literally three minutes from Jackson Village. It was very clean and has everything you need to for a stay. All you really need to bring is food and beverages, although it definitely needs a set of long handled BBQ tools. I think the pricing is a little high and the cleaning fee which is posted online at $50.00, is actually $100.00 according to Brad. We stripped our bed, loaded the washer and dishwasher and started both before departing. Given that we left the place as clean as we found it, I think the $100.00 cleaning fee is excessive. Also, check-out is 10am and the transfer station does not open until noon, so getting rid of your refuse needs to take place the day before you leave or your trucking the material with you.Last but not least, not that my GF and I are big TV people, but, there are only four TV channels. I think for $300.00 a night Brad could afford to dump the ultra-economy cable package and maybe ramp it up to at least a mid-level package.Overall, it was a very relaxing and quiet stay and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We just changed to a new cleaning service, which requires a $100 fee for each visit. I've tried to edit the listing but unfortunately it hasn't been changed yet online. As to the TV, we do have HD cable w/ a number of channels, plus a chromecast receiver so people can stream their netflix/ HBO etc. accounts. Sometimes renters change the cable box connections, and I have helped a number of folks who call to get the cable connection working properly. My contact info is listed so I am available by phone and email to help with any questions that may come up like this. Finally, there is a set of bbq tools in the kitchen, but they can be moved around and hard to find.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The Kusters house is awesome. You feel right at home as soon as you enter the front door!

  • 5 of 5

I have been renting in Jackson for 17 years. This house was just perfect! The view is breathtaking! The house is spacious and comfortable. Very clean! It had everything we needed for a 2 week vacation! I will definitely be returning next year with my family!!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not worth the price

  • 2 of 5

The bathroom on the first flloor had a major leak from the toilet which caused a puddle of water daily, which was extremely annoying. The bedrooms had a musty smell, almost as if they were not cleaned properly prior to our stay. One of the beds also had springs poking out of it so that affected my sleep.

The owner took about 3 weeks to refund my security deposit even after I had made numerous attempts to contact him about it. Very unprofessional.

We would never comr back or reccommend this place to anyone.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As previously mentioned, we started to have problems with our cleaning service this summer, and have now switched to a new service. They provide weekly billing information so we can avoid delays in refunds. (We did, however, refund the full cleaning deposit within 13 days, not 3 weeks.) Ashish visited during an unusually hot and humid spell this summer, but unfortunately did not use the dehumidifier in the lower level, which should have addressed any issues with musty odors. We fixed the leaking toilet as soon as we found out, before the next renters. Finally, we include our cell phones and email contact information in the rental Instructions, and are always available to address any problems or concerns folks have while using our house.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Disappointing

  • 1 of 5

I seldom write reviews and only do so with a particularly good or bad experience. I'm sorry to say this was a bad one. The owner has neglected this property and apparently only goes there in winter. My wife and I arrived in July and immediately noticed how dirty the property was. The doors and walls were dirty, the living room carpet hadn't been cleaned in quite some time, there were cobwebs on the walls, the large windows facing Mount Washington were nasty.

There are red couches in the living room. which is really the only common area. At first I thought they were so dirty that I wouldn't sit on them, but after sometime I realized that maybe they weren't as dirty as I thought but sun-faded by the blazing sun coming in through the windows. I get that this is a winter recreation area however we came in July and it was 89 degrees the first day. From about noon till 9pm, the sun blazes through the windows and makes the living room uninhabitable. Imagine trying to live in a greenhouse. Yes, a nice view of the mountain but that became immaterial since we couldn't really enjoy the rest of the environment. There are only 2 very small fans so the house completely roasted. You can not view the television because the picture is completely washed out as the sun is directly behind it, until the sun completely sets. There are no blinds or curtains so you are stuck with what you got. Why the owner hasn't bought (at least) some cheap blinds that could be lowered is beyond me. It was a miserable experience being in the place (New Hampshire is nice - don't get me wrong!) . The basement is very musty even in summer. I have a basement at home and have no problem sleeping in it on occasion but we both disliked this environment. Opening the windows helped (open all the time except when we left the house) but the musty smell was always there.

We left a day early because we were tired dealing with it. We travel very often, this was the first time we even came back from a trip early, other than for family emergencies. I paid for the cleaning even though my wife and I left the house at least as clean as we got it. I paid for the cleaning if we were really to clean the house it would take us days and I could figure out where you would stop. The cleaning list the owner exceed that condition of the house received. To top it all off, its been 3 weeks and the owner hasn't returned my security deposit. My recommendation is to please skip this place!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We started to have problems with our cleaning service this summer, and have now switched to a new service that is doing a great job. We have also had the carpets shampooed and windows professionally cleaned. The new service also provides weekly billing information so we can avoid delays in refunds. However, to clear up any confusion, we did refund the full cleaning deposit, so Martin was not charged for those services We had an unusually hot and humid spell this summer, and have added some box fans for hot and sunny days. Unfortunately Martin did not use the dehumidifier in the lower level, which should have addressed any issues with musty odors. Finally, we are always available by cell phone and email to address any problems or concerns folks have while using our house. We would have been more than happy to work with Martin during their visit to address the issues they had. We have now switched to a new cleaning service, that will provide weekly billing information so we can avoid delays in refunds.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Mountain Home with Easy Access to Ski Slopes, Trails, Restaurants & Activities

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I have been staying at the chalet since before we had kids and continue to return with our little ones. It's a perfect spot for a family looking to ski, hike, golf, shop or just cozy up by the fire with a good book and a stunning view of Mt. Washington. Wildcat, Attitash and Black mountains are all a quick drive and there's plenty of snowshoeing, skating or cross country skiing in the village. Local restaurants are excellent and, during summer, Storyland is just down the road. The property is well maintained and has all the essentials for a quick visit or a longer stay. We'll be back!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

View is to die for!

  • 4 of 5

Awesome girls weekend in Jackson. House was great. Views were tremendous. Living area very comfortable. Kitchen was well equipped. Loft is not really a loft so much as a cubby hole tucked behind the kitchen. But 2 of our thirty somethings did sleep in there. Bedrooms are downstairs. Beds are adequate but mattresses are a bit thin with no box springs. Most of us slept well despite that. We went early in December with no snow on the ground. Driveway could be tricky with snow/ice, 4-wheel drive would be a necessity.

We spent our days shopping in North Conway and our nights in restaurants/bars in the area. We always end up at the Shannon Door in Jackson which is why we rented in Jackson which is such a beautiful quaint town. On our last day, we had breakfast at Yesterdays in Jackson. Food was delicious!

We would definitely recommend this house and would rent again.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 9, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

2 hours from Portland, Maine and Manchester, NH airports

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Jackson, White Mountains

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£508
for 2 nights
From
£215
£1,110
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £79
Cleaning £79
Refundable Damage Deposit £118
Tax Rate 9.0%

$750-$1500/wk US Dollars
Rates will vary for holiday periods, and low demand periods, please check with us about the dates you wish to rent.
Confirmation will include details about security deposit and cleaning fees.
Dates Available: Summer, Fall, Winter and Spring

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Jackson in New Hampshire

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Full 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi
    Full 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Guest Room - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bunk Room - 5 Single Bed , two bunks and a twin
    Loft - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue
  • Wood Decking
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi
  • Jacuzzi
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Full Gourmet Kitchen with Butcher Block Island, Jet Tub in Bath, Charcoal Grill (BBQ) and Deck Furniture

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties