HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

15 Secluded Wooded Acres Near Lake MI Pool Hot Tub!!!

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,500 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, sleeps 12

This a 100 year old farmhouse, redone very nicely, it's a 3 bedroom 2 bath tucked away in 15 wooded acres. It's 6 country blocks from the closest beach, with many more gorgeous beaches along Lake Michigan to choose from. We're a mile south of South Haven , which has a quaint little lakefront town. The master bedroom has a King bed, the small bedroom has a Full bed, the sunporch converted bedroom has 2 Full beds, the dining room has a Full futon and the living room has a Queen sofa sleeper.

There's a pool, hot tub, tables, chairs, fire pit, and charcoal grill in the spacious back yard, surrounded with 15 wooded acres. The house is set back 400' from the road, providing loads of privacy and plenty of parking. The kitchen is very nicely stocked.

There is a $50 discount if paid by check (e-check). Please email for availability: I get emails fairly soon. They come to my phone. Anita

More Details

Anita Ozse
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
22 April, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Covert in Van Buren County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 17:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • lake
  • rural
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 9 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower)
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • The tub has a hand held sprayer.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • The third bedroom is a Sunroom/bedroom with blinds all around. The forth is a queen sofa sleeper in the living room. The fifth is a full futon in the dining room.
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
16% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
15 Secluded Wooded Acres Near Lake MI Pool Hot Tub!!!
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 6 reviews

Great location, nice stay

  • 5 of 5

Stayed for 4 nights. House was well stocked, had all that we needed. Kids loved the pool and hot tub. The location was great, easy to get to South Haven and St Joe. Owner was friendly and easy to work with. Very happy with our stay, would consider renting this house again in the future.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the good review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house and property, some quirks

  • 3 of 5

This was a welcoming property, hidden away in Western Michigan with plenty of acreage, and a lovely pool and hot tub, near Lake Michigan. The bedrooms are fine, and there are several beds for extra guests. A few things need to be made clear, for future guests. First, while the beach at Van Buren State Park (and/or Covert Park, a private beach) is probably no more than a mile and a half as the crow flies, there are no walking paths as the crow flies. To walk to the beach is pretty much impossible in under an hour and a half, so note that you have to drive about 4 miles and pay to park. Second, and perhaps more important, it sure seemed like the Michigan Militia training grounds were taking place in a few nearby lots: People were shooting off their guns constantly, and yelling at their "maggots," starting at 8 a.m., for five of the seven days of our visit, through about 6 p.m. The owner obviously can do nothing about this, but future visitors need to know it, as I hadn't seen it mentioned before. The noise can be loud, as it's probably 2-3 lots over. Nevertheless, South Haven is very close by, and the evenings and nights are completely quiet and wonderful. The pool/hot tub are great for kids. The kitchen is terrific, has every basic source you need. Recommended, but you need to know what you're getting into.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the positive things you said. I told the guest who booked that they'll want to drive to the beach, it's too far to walk, and the beach is under 3 miles away. This guest was in the group but not talking to me. You'll have to pay to park at ANY beach. Sorry, my neighbors were doing some target practice that week. It's normally pretty quiet. It's over doing it a bit to say they could hear someone yelling maggot, as it's too far and they don't do that. It's too bad for me that people "paint" things up.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Potential, Poorly Maintained

  • 3 of 5

We were very excited to travel to this charming home in Covert. When we arrived, we instantly loved the secluded area! This quiet house sits at the end of a long drive is surrounded by beautiful trees. Our kids were excited to see the pool and hot tub. We were impressed with the overall layout of the house, which offers great family space in the downstairs living area.

The location was very close to many nearby beach towns. We visited South Haven and St. Joseph almost every day, and found many activities for use and our 3 kids to enjoy!

However, our excitement ended there. The home had a strong dog odor, almost unbearable in the living room. My husband is highly allergic to dogs, and the listing said "no pets" so we did not expect this problem. We ended up washing blankets before we were able to use them due to the excessive dog hair on them.

Other than a few hours in the 5 nights we stayed, the internet did not work while we were there. My husband's job requires him to be available through email, which was difficult in this situation.

While the kitchen was well-stocked, the cupboards also had a LOT of leftover food and many random items in them. Some of the leftover canned food was growing mold, and many of the food packages were opened.

Overall, the house felt dirty, with many spiderwebs and spiders. A recently-cleaned home should not have so many spiderwebs.

We ended up coming home 2 days early, as we did not feel comfortable here. We are not picky people, and enjoy the charm in old places like this, however, the terrible dog smell and uncleanliness of this house makes us rate it so low. I would not recommend this location, unless it is thoroughly cleaned beforehand.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice things you said about this home. You can take any house in the city and put it in the country woods and spider webs will appear daily, it has nothing to do with being cleaned! There are no smells in this home, ask for emails of prior guests to confirm this. We have food there because my family uses the house and there's tons of cabinets. There's still two empty cabinets for guest's food. As if it matters, 2 cans of food rubbed on something black, not mold. There was an outage of internet at the time making it slow, it's fixed now. It's clear in my ad that pets are allowed with permission. Nonetheless, the one rug was removed from the bare floors. We do everything we can to keep this home immaculate. If you left early because you have allergies and didn't notice that pets are allowed ,please don't take it out on people who are doing a good job. Anita
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Kokomo, Indiana

Cozy country getaway

  • 5 of 5

Our family enjoyed our stay in this cozy little house in the country. There was plenty of room for all of us. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything we needed, cozy bedrooms, and two nice sized bathrooms.

Close to everything.. Grocery stores, shopping, bike trails, and the beach!! Glad my daughter-in-law found this place for our family vacation!

  • Review Submitted: 10-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Summer Rental!

  • 5 of 5

This was a wonderful home to stay in during our vacation. It slept our family comfortably with plenty of room. It was clean and up to date on things. The yard was great for the kids to play in, all of us were able to get out there and play a game of ball☺ The location was great as it was close to South Haven and also close enough to St. Joe that we were able to go and do all the things we wanted with no problem.

Anita is a wonderful person to work with to ensure you have a great stay while in her home.

I would highly recommend her property for a great vacation stay ☺

  • Review Submitted: 01-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Raleigh, NC

Private family getaway

  • 4 of 5

The family room / kitchen area has great appeal for the big family gathering. There is plenty of yard space for outdoor activities and parking. No worries here. When we vacation, we don't want to sit in traffic, we want to relax. Everything was clean and orderly. Kids and pet friendly, you feel right at home.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Jun-2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to review my property! Anita
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Grand Rapids
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Covert Township Beach
Car: necessary

South Haven has fantastic restaurants, unique shops, fishing, sail boat chartering, harbor and dinner cruises, scenic water fronts, golf, golf, golf, museums, nature and bike trails, wineries, fruit orchards, farms with seasonal berry picking, Sherman Dairy Ice Cream! (people come from all around for it), fishing, canoeing, and biking at a myriad of scenic sites close by. Just email me.

June -Harborfest

July -4th festivities

August- Blueberry Festival



Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Covert, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Before Summer
1 Feb 2018 - 15 Jun 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
After Summer
5 Sep 2018 - 15 Jun 2019
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £71.43 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £214.29
cleaning fee £71.43 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.0%

There is a $50 discount if paid by check or e-check. Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. My cancellation policy is on my website. Please inquire. Of course it's ok to pay if full if you desire.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals