HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Lake Pepin Charm. View of Lake Pepin and Pepin Marina

38 Reviews
Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more




Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday apartment in Pepin - Pepin Apartment

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Den, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-6)

Build brand new in 2010 this 1 bedroom apartment (800 sq ft) is above a retail space (which used to be our ice cream/sandwich/gift shop). It has a very large deck (~ 1000 sq ft) that looks out over the Pepin marina and Lake Pepin. We have been greening up the deck again this year with new plantings. The apartment is completely furnished and has a comfortable decor. It's simple style will appeal to those wanting a reasonably priced escape with ample space for a comfortable extended stay. A great place for couples or families.

Come to the Pepin area to slow down, relax, and enjoy the wonderful views of the Mississippi River bluffs and Lake Pepin. Explore the many small towns, shops, art galleries, wineries and eateries the area has to offer.

Please know that Pepin has trains that run along the waterfront. Trains run VERY regularly! Some folks don't like the noise. If you are a light sleeper this may bother you. Also know that the railroad has instituted a "quiet zone" so the trains will no longer need to blow their horns in the village (unless emergency). Be sure to cross the tracks ONLY at the marked crossings. If caught walking across the tracks in other locations you may be subject to a significant fine ! $$$$ Further more, the rails and crossings were improved so there is even less train wheel noise.

Keywords: apartment, condo, lake, sailing, vacation, family, simple, quaint, deck, marina

More Details
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

John Worrell
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
27 October, 2016
Call Owner

About John Worrell

John and Deirdre Worrell had a dream to run their own businesses so we purchased a small commercial building on the waterfront in Pepin, WI in 2007. Since then the old building has been demolsihed and a new one built to have a retail space, office space, and apartment space. We used to run Hear it Melt - an ice cream/sandwich shop in the retail space. Deirdre's Audiology business North Ridge Hearing Company is in the office space. The residential space above the commercial space is our apartment get-away. We love the beauty, pace, and people of the Pepin area for recreating.

John Worrell purchased this apartment in 2007

Why John Worrell chose Wisconsin

We chose Pepin for our location because:

- The area is beautiful

- Lake Pepin offers 17,000 acres of water

- The Tiffany Wildlife area offers 14,000 acres of wildlife area

- It's close to our home (1 hr) and offers a wide variety of activities.

- There is something in the area for everyone.

What makes this apartment unique

Pepin is a village of ~1000 people. We love the small town feel. There are also several small towns in the area that also offer a variety of little shops and activities.


based on 38 holidaymaker reviews

Lake Pepin Charm. View of Lake Pepin and Pepin Marina
average rating of 4.868421 based on 38 reviews

It's my favorite!

  • 5 of 5

Always clean, everything I need...although some people would groan about the lack of a TV...not a problem with me! For my business trip it is the perfect location and I love the sound of the trains coming by. It tells me all is well....because when there is a catastrophe...trains usually stop! I love sitting on the deck and watching the sailboats on the lake and the sunset. But most of all, I love the friendliness and helpfulness of the owners...they are the best!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely spot for a get away

  • 5 of 5

Property was very nice.it was well kept, very clean. It was exceptionally stocked, such as very nice dishes, glassware,all other things needed. Appliances in excellent condition.There was even things in the cupboard, such as coffee, creamers, some freezer items left, and condiments......we were told TO USE. Bathroom also supplied very well. Nice heavy towels. Many other bathroom incidentals that could come in handy. Lots of bedding and a very comfortable pillow. All furnishings .were in very good shape. Lovely patio with lots of flowers. And a nice grill. Overall.....it has been taken care of very well. Walking distance to restaurants, cafes, bars etc.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay. We try to provide the little things to make a stay enjoyable. We're glad to share the apartment with such great renters.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean, private, close to everything fun

  • 5 of 5

We keep coming back because of how consistently awesome this place is

  • Review Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you enjoy the place. Please keep coming back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect location and wonderful apartment

  • 5 of 5

It took a minute to find since you have to walk up an alley to the door, but once we walked in we were in awe of the feel of the place. Much larger than we all had pictured and decorated super cute for a water front site. The deck was amazing, between the flowers and the decor it was hard to remember we were still in the Midwest.

We stayed here for a wedding at the nearby (we walked there!) Villa Bellezza vineyard. And it was perfect to have our own space rather than a hotel room.

I highly recommend this rental for a girls getaway or couples weekend. I plan to stay again!!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. We put up some new pictures that show the rooftop deck and plantings this year. My wife does a wonderful job greening up the deck area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The property was exactly as described. The owner is extremely responsive. We would love to return!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent rental and our third time at this property.

  • 5 of 5

Train noise has been reduced significantly and sleeping was not interrupted. Would like some cushions for the outdoor chairs found 2 but guest three would have liked one as we spent every minute we could on the beautiful deck. Looking forward to seeing the new rental that is being worked on - I am sure it will be excellent.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The Quiet Zone in Pepin has been great. No train horns and also remember DO NOT cross the tracks other than at the crossings. Big fine $$$. Thanks for the deck chair cushion suggestion. We are always open to improvement suggestions.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Eau Claire
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
Shoreline Pub
Nearest Motorway
150 Metres
WI Hwy 35
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
Harbor View Cafe
Nearest Beach
200 Metres
Pepin Beach
Car: necessary

There are several local festivals in the area each year. There is a significant art community in the area. Laura Ingles Wilder days in Sept., Spring and Fall Art Tours. Fly Away Film Festival to name a few. Check out the National Eagle Center in Wabasha.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Pepin, Central Wisconsin

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night

Additional pricing information

Tax Rate 10.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Pepin, USA

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • village ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1) 1 Queen in bedroom, Twin or Single Beds (2) 1 twin inflatable bed, 1 couch in family room, Murphy Beds (1) 1 Queen murphy bed in den
  • DVD Player
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Public beach on Lake Pepin is one block away. Please know that Pepin has a railroad that runs along the waterfront. Trains run regularly. Some folks don't like the noise.

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties