Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beautiful Ocean Views from Every Room, Steps Away from Downtown Eastsound!

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,600 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

BBQ from the Spacious Deck Overlooking Ocean; 3 Beds, 2 Baths & Gourmet Kitchen

* THE VIEW & THE PROXIMITY: People go to Orcas Island for Eastsound, consistently voted one of the best small towns in America (Sunset Magazine). This newer Craftsman home is perched on a hillside within walking distance of Eastsound, Orcas Island, WA. You're in the center of it all, facing South for the best sunlight & views of the mountains & the East Sound.

* CLOSE TO EVERYTHING IN EASTSOUND, including: theater, shops, restaurants, bars, grocery store, church, kayaking, sailing, skatepark, Orkila YMCA camp, Orcas Island Winery wine tasting (YUM!), Island Hoppin' brewery, whale watching, Mt. Constitution & Moran State Park (7-minute drive to amazing waterfalls!), library, live music, Farmer's Market, Odd Fellows Hall, Chamber Music Festival (ampitheatre), AMAZING massages (see Chris at Orcas Island Healing Center), wedding venues, Funhouse Commons (interactive arts & science activities for your kids!), bike rentals (mountain bikes & road bikes), Ice Cream & gelato, coffee shops, bookstores, boutiques, parades, art galaries, poetry readings (do visit the Orcas Island Performing Arts Center for a show!), and much more!

* HUGE BALCONY DECK READY FOR YOUR OUTDOOR DINING & MORNING YOGA: enjoy your coffee and tea while watching the sun rise over Mt. Constitution and the bald eagles soar over the evergreen trees & ocean. (We've actually seen the eagles & ospreys come up with 12" fish!)

* DOGS ARE MORE THAN WELCOME!! Forget putting Rufus in the kennel or boarding house, he or she will find Orcas Island just as divine as you & your kids! (Limited to one well-behaved dog per stay, except with prior approval.)

* SORRY... the pellet stove is no longer functional. The house is fully heated in every room so there is no lack of warmth or comfort. Please let us know if you have any questions about this. Thanks for your understanding.

More Details

Property Manager
Nicki Guyton
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
22 May, 2018

About Nicki Guyton

OHANA is the Hawaiian term for "Family," and so it was only appropriate that I proposed to my wife there (at the top of Mt. Constitution). We hope that you and your "ohana" will make many more amazing memories as you find your adventure in this special place.

Many blessings,

Jason, Megan, Elena, Sophia, & Jazzy the 12-yo black lab Miller

Owners of The Orcas Ohana

Nicki Guyton purchased this house in 2007

Why Nicki Guyton chose Eastsound

Orcas Island is a one-in-a-million experience. I felt it immediately upon my first visit, and within no time at all, I’d gone and purchased this gorgeous home overlooking the ocean with the intention of writing my next book there. I'll never forget my first night sleeping on Orcas Island, lying on the living room hardwood floor in a sleeping bag, looking up at the full moon rising over Mt. Constitution. They say that Orcas Island is the home of an energy vortex, centered over Indian Island (walkable from Eastsound village when the tide is out!). I can certainly attest that there is some kind of magic in the air up there. Nobody who has visited our home has been disappointed... just look at our 60+ 5-Star Reviews for confirmation of that! :)

What makes this house unique

Location, Location, Location!

Walkability is key. Especially when you're traveling as a group, when everyone wants to go in different directions and explore different features of downtown Eastsound. Book a massage at the Healing Arts Center (with the most amazing bodyworker we've EVER experienced, Chris), uncork a great bottle of Northwest Pinot, and enjoy the beautiful sound of... yourself relaxing.

(Just writing this really makes me want to hop in the car and drive up to Orcas Island!) Enjoy.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house on Eastsound on San Juan County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Max. adults: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Master queen mattress is on firm side
  • Queen and Futon in Master located on the upstairs main level, Queen located in 2nd bedroom - downstairs, Queen and Twin Located in the 3rd bedroom - downstairs. Baby Cribs (1) There is a pack-n-play crib in the 2nd bedroom closet, downstairs.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Jacuzzi ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • bay fishing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(63 traveller reviews)

82% Complete
12% Complete
3% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful Ocean Views from Every Room, Steps Away from Downtown Eastsound!
average rating of 4.7619047 based on 63 reviews
5

Great Stay

  • 5 of 5

Great location to everything. The house was great for our family stay. Everything thing was great

  • Review Submitted: 29-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Very basic option for pet friendly rental that is close to Eastsound, but don't expect too much

  • 3 of 5

We stayed over the Christmas holiday. The key code didn't come through form the manager correctly and my husband got there without proper information to get inside the home.

We found the home to be only minimally supplied in terms of kitchen housewares. It was lacking in baking ware and the tableware was quite unpleasant- cheap plastic cups, weird shot glasses, mismatched dishes and a lack of cooking utensils.The bedding was mostly synthetic stuff you would buy at Target.

We had wanted to use the pellet stove for ambience considering Santa and Christmas, and it was out of commission, which we were not told in advance. This was a big downer for us, although the manager claimed to have told us in advance.

We had thought we would be traveling with my mother in law's small dog, so chose this for that reason. There was a lot of pet fur on the rugs but we understand it is difficult to fully clean fur from a dog friendly space. If you have a dog you wouldn't mind this though, if you have allergies don't stay here.

I could see how this home would suit the needs of folks during the summer season when restaurants are open and you can eat out, but in the off season it felt like an overpriced lack luster experience.

There is quite a bit of noise form the local airport and the hot water tank is not large enough to heat the jacuzzi, so I wouldn't include that as a feature.

We travel a lot and have our own home listed on VRBO, so I understand the impact of leaving a not wonderful review and still felt this was necessary.

I did purchase the VRBO insurance and that was lucky as the owners filed a claim for both a comforter (which I believe ink was spilled on by one of our kids- our fault) as well as an already damaged blind that had nothing to do with our stay. I would be upset if I had to pay the $100 for this but considering I bought the insurance I didn't feel it was appropriate to argue.

The home is suburbia/ Target/ polyester with tacky decor, but for accessing the town of Eastsound in the summertime I think that this is a good option for folks with pets who don't need fancy.

Lastly I will note that the manager was friendly when we requested a "late" checkout (normal is 10am) for Noon on Dec 27th, but the housecleaner did not seem pleased about this and considering they had no bookings for weeks it felt like an additional lack of customer service to be rushed off .

  • Review Submitted: 10-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback, Jeramie. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We tried to accommodate you in all of your requests. Please remember there are two sides to every situation. We felt you were very disrespectful of our home, our property and our house cleaner.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Deerfield, IL
5

Great House!

  • 5 of 5

We spent Thanksgiving week at this house. Everything was really nice. It had all the amenities including beautiful scenery.

Very comfortable for four people.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Shari! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you come back and stay with us again :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gorgeous!

  • 5 of 5

The house, the view we're all wonderful.

Deer and rabbits spotted, birds and

blackberries. Everything In place and

totally outfitted.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Isn't the wildlife great?! I'm so glad that you saw the deer and rabbits, it's so fun. We are very happy that you enjoyed your trip!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gorgeous home with a killer kitchen and room for the whole gang

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Ohana with my sister and her husband, 3 kids, and dog. The house is quite lovely - nicely decorated with plenty of seating space in the great room for all. It has a spacious, well-equipped kitchen (including a nice variety of spices in the cupboard), coffee maker with filters, and a toaster. (Note: Bring some sox or flip flops to wear inside as the owners ask that you leave your outdoor shoes at the front door). We enjoyed walking into town for ice cream or to visit the many shops along the way, and the grocery store there is well stocked with reasonable prices. We took several hikes, including up to Mount Constitution from Mountain Lake (taking the inland loop from the lake gets the steepest most challenging 1 1/2 mile part of the hike done first and finishes with a lovely walk along the lake - 7.3 m). The 360 view at the top is breathtaking so bring your camera. All in all a great trip - we're definitely planning to come again! The only negative was a bit of traffic noise from the main road just down the street, mostly noticeable when sitting out on the balcony.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable house with a gorgeous view

  • 5 of 5

My family, parents, and sister all spent a week together in this house just outside of Eastsound. We found it just as described--very comfortable and clean--and had a lovely time. The owners provided everything we needed, as well as plenty of instructions and information about the town and island. Nothing is very far away, and if you're willing to hike back up the driveway, you can walk to anything in Eastsound. The upstairs deck was particularly nice, with its view of the sound, and we ate all of our dinners out there. (Being able to use the grill was also a bonus for us.) I think my only suggestion would be to provide slightly better window coverings (in the upstairs bedroom at least) since those of us who live at lower latitudes aren't used to so many hours of light in mid-summer (particularly in the early morning). Otherwise, we had no complaints and would highly recommend this house and its location to anyone wanting to get away to Orcas Island.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great comments and feedback Sarah! We love that you enjoyed your stay on Orcas and at the house. Please do come back and stay with us again and thanks for the note on the Master bedroom windows (we do get a lot of light into the windows).
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Moran State Park
Wonderful place to hike and spend the day exploring. Best view of the San Juans from Mt Cons...
Orcas Island Market
This is THE grocery store on the island, it has everything you would need for your stay on ...
Orcas Food Co-op
Best place to get natural foods.... think Whole Foods, but smaller.
Kitchen -- CLOSED
Awesome food prepared in a healthy convenient way. Best "fast food" on the island.
Darvill's Book Store
We love this bookstore! They are really friendly and have a great selection of books. Perfec...
Orcas Island Farmer's Market
The farmers market on Orcas is fantastic. Lots of fresh produce and yummy things to try. If ...
Oddfellows Hall Orcas
Wonderful location for a wedding. Very popular destination wedding location, great location ...
The Barnacle -- CLOSED
Really cool new bar located right in the heart of Eastsound. Some of the most creative and t...
Inn at Ship Bay
Really amazing food and location for a special dinner. Great for a romantic dinner or a fun ...
Mia's Cafe
Amazing food! http://www.facebook.com/pages/Mias/282875684725
Mia's Cafe
Amazing food! http://www.facebook.com/pages/Mias/282875684725
Orcas Ferry Landing
This is where you land when you come in on the ferry. It is about a 20 minute drive to the O...
Nearest Airport
1.2 Miles
Orcas Island Airport
Nearest Ferry
8.4 Miles
Orcas Island Ferry Dock

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £230.8
Damage Insurance £43.93

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Note about the cleaning and trash fee. Orcas Island has a very limited trash and recycling program and thus is an expensive process to home owners. We hope you understand that there are no landfills here on Orcas - the islands would be unlivable in a very short time. We include the trash and recycling removal fee in our reservations to cover the cost that we incur to haul and dump after each reservation. The house may be for sale at any given time and the owner has the right to cancel reservations or notify guests that the house will be transferring ownership. Of course, our guests are top priority and the owner would make any and all effort to not inconvenience guests if the house sells. Thank you!

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals