HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Click book now, view rates, dates & reserve. Hottub, firepit, Wifi, Pets, Canoe

People4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type mobile home
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
mobile home
People
4
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday mobile home in Butler - Driftwood Cottage

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4 with boat slip and complimentary canoe. Hot tub!

Cozy cottage-spectacular views overlooking Watauga Lake w/boat slip/canoe. Very Private 1 bedroom, 1 full bath w/ sleeper sofa sleeps up to 4. Queen in master-full size sleeper sofa in living area. Large Windows in the living room give you excellent views of Watauga Lake & mountain range. Kitchen has oven, microwave, coffee maker, dishwasher pots & pans. Gas grill with plenty of grilling utensils make a barbecue the ideal choice. Linens, Towels, Paper products & detergents included. w/d -a/c. Satellite TV/DVD. Clean Out door Private Hot tub on deck. Built in fire pit lake side. Boat slip-complimentary canoe. Motor boat rentals thru the local marina. A fisherman's dream - Both river & lake access. Skiers paradise - water like glass. White water rafting, horseback riding, hiking, skiing & fishing. Secluded & Private yet convenient to many neighboring vacation villages like Boone, Blowing Rock, Grandfather Mtn. Extensive welcome package, with directions, contact #'s & websites 4 local activities.

Overlooking Watauga Lake TN

Huge Mtn Lake

Water Activities

Boone NC Blowing Rock NC: 20 mins

Near by towns/vacation villages

Tweetsie Rail Road

Grandfather Mtn

Restaurants

Shopping

Music Festivals

Ski Resorts: Beech Mtn

Sugar Mtn

Hawks Nest

and More

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Property Manager
Watauga Lake & River vacation cabin rentals
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
4 December, 2016
Call Manager

About Watauga Lake & River vacation cabin rentals

We are all mountaineers that love the water. This is for anyone looking for privacy with great lake access. If you are into hiking, spelunking, if you are adventurous, and love views, wild life & the water, you have choose the right spot.

Watauga Lake & River vacation cabin rentals purchased this mobile home in 2005

Why Watauga Lake & River vacation cabin rentals chose Tennessee

You have the best of both worlds with water and surrounding mountains. Beautiful view from the deck. Many travelers choose to stay here because it's economical. The nightly rates at this property are less than a hotel room and with so many things included like canoe, a boat slip and a hot tub + hiking trails throughout the area you don't have to spend more $ on activities. There's so much to do right here if even its just soaking up the view and sun shine from the deck. Pontoon boat rentals thru the local marina's or bring your own.

What makes this mobile home unique

The canoe trip from the dock takes you straight into the Cherokee National Forest. This is a feature most travelers appreciate. A gentle trip through forest, tress, & boulders is just gorgeous. Lots of caves to discover and explore. If you like a diamond in the rough you have found it! Pontoon boat rentals thru the local marina's or bring your own.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(30 traveller reviews)

Click book now, view rates, dates & reserve. Hottub, firepit, Wifi, Pets, Canoe
average rating of 4.2 based on 30 reviews
Weaver, Alabama
5

Beautiful Lake & Mountain Views from your front Porch

  • 5 of 5

We stayed with another couple~We brought our own blow up & but was an enjoyable stay for all. The Big front porch was our favorite hang out place when the guys weren't fishing or us girls site seeing. Very tranquil & relaxing especially with the Hot Tub.

The Peace & Quiet was just what we all needed to rejuvenate!

If I had a complaint~it would be the distance to the water from this cabin~It was my fault thinking directly on the water~But the brief walk was enjoyable.

Was easy to book & I've already gotten my deposit back as well. Enjoyable Relaxing Stay!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes, there is a large deck that guests love to hang out on with great views of the lake and water. Its a quiet cove on the lake that is tranquil, relaxing and a large hot tub to enjoy and a big gas grill to cook on. Its just a short walk down to the lake where guests have a boat slip and a complimentary canoe. Being a short walk to the water also gives you more privacy and a better view. Thanks so much for the nice review. We always appreciate any kinds words about our little piece of heaven.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Beautiful, relaxing retreat!

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at Driftwood Cottage for 3 nights and it was just what we needed. My husband had been hiking the Appalachian Trail and was taking a few zero days to rest and recuperate. Even though there were several outdoor activities to do here at the lake (boating, fishing, hiking, etc.), we chose to just take in the view from the big porch, enjoy the quiet, and relax. The hot tub is a great perk. It worked wonderfully and is secluded on the the side of the cottage for privacy. The cottage was well stocked with kitchen needs. It is small, but plenty of room for two or a small family. The cottage is quite a ways from any stores (30-45 mins), so your best bet is to bring whatever you need with you and just enjoy the lake. We would love to come again and stay at some point.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for saying such nice things. So glad you two could enjoy and just relax there. It is nice to slow down and just take in the day and the view from the hotter. Glad you found the kitchen well stocked, our housekeeper tries very hard to keep the property well maintained. For future reference Dry Hill General Store sells breakfast, lunch and dinner for about 5 bucks. It also sells fishing supplies and limited groceries and is only a 7 minute drive from this property. Watauga lake winery is just down the street and a real 'treat' according to guests. Shirley's restaurant is about 15 minutes down the road and is considered a real 'Gem' in this area. If you don't mind the long wait in line to get inside. The Captains Table restaurant is on the water, serves adult beverages and is kid friendly is about a 20 minute drive. All these places and more are listed in the welcome package that every guest receives. Being that you two just came out of the woods after your hike you probably didn't have time to discover but want all guests to know there is stuff around if you know where to go. Again thanks so much for the kind words. They are most appreciated.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
4

The cottage is very homey and the view is gorgeous. We enjoyed the hot tub in the cool weather.

  • 4 of 5

Overall it was awesome, only complaint is there were a million ladybugs in the bedroom. Would love to come back.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Fantastic!

  • 4 of 5

We absolutely loved the cottage. It was perfect for just the two of us. It kept us close together but had everything we needed! The canoes being included were great! It was a little hike down the steep drive way to the dock (which is very slippery even when dry so be careful!) but well worth it! The lake was gorgeous all the way around. There's the cutest general store to the left after the bridge, instead of a right. The help there is the sweetest I have ever met! The only thing about the cottage is that the sliding door would not lock, with all of our valuables while we were gone during the day. I would also recommend the owner spraying for bugs because there were quite a few inside as well as on the balcony. Other than that, the location was perfect and we enjoyed every moment of it.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay. You sound so cheerful. You're right everyone at Dry Hill General is so sweet and for about five bucks you can eat breakfast, lunch or dinner, purchase fishing supplies and groceries. Know too that the sliding glass door has been fixed. Even with very little theft in this small communuty we still encourage guests to leave 'valuables' at home. There's no reason to bring anything up here fancy. This is blue jeans and tennis shoes territory. Know all of our properties in that area are sprayed monthly for bugs. But being in the Cherokee National Forrest you will see some, there's just no way to avoid. Some bugs like honey bees you aren't allowed to spray for as they are protected because they are endangered. When maintenance came up there to check on you 'all he said the honey bees were out and about all over the mountains. That season has come and gone and most of the bees are gone too. Glad you enjoyed the location and the properties amenities. Know you are welcome back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Asheville
1

Unmaintained~ Showing It's Age

  • 1 of 5

The saying, you get what you pay for really can't apply for this property. You actually don't get what you pay for. Why do I say this...? Because the dwelling was not very clean or maintained. It is old and shows signs of neglect. Needs a good pressure wash "lots" of exterior mold, pine sap, droppings and pine needles. I actually had to take a broom and clean around the porch of cobwebs and spiders which were abundant on the porch. Found one in bedroom. The lawn grass was 12-18" tall. Driveway is covered with oversize rocks rather than proper sized driveway stone, hard to walk. The large pine tree over the hot tub looks dangerously junkie, fallen limbs around and other large dying limbs above ready to fall. The hot tub needs a roof over it due to sap and pine needles falling into the tub/cover. The junked boat (yard art, insert wink) in the front yard is full of weeds, water and mosquitoes.

The view is not especially good from the property. It appears in the pictures posted perspective that property is quite close to the lake....it is not. The lake is on the other side of Draft Road and about 500 yards away. Just barely a view in summer. As for the lake, it's of course very low and somewhat dry, because this is a finger and dead end of the main lake. The canoe was tied right side up and full of water and dirt.

As for cleanliness...it was just bearable, both inside and out. There were cobwebs, sap, mold, dirty windows, the barbecue had lots of sticky sauce and was not burned off from previous use. Inside there were dust bunnies on high surfaces, "coats" of dust on ledges. Counter tops were sticky. Dishes and glasses had obvious grime and greasy, as were some utensils. Washing machine was broken. (Manager said parts were on order). The kitchen was barely stocked and dishes/glasses were slim.

Window AC's are loud and a bit stinky. Bathroom & shower were adequately clean, albeit very tiny, Although we found signs of mice in the bathroom closet.

Renters be aware that the sliding glass door will lock you out automatically due to the latch being worn if it is closed with any force as it happened to us.

The bit of good..... The hot tub works great, the gas grill works great and the large porch is big and comfy.

Unfortunately, I can not recommend this property especially for this price! It needs work, a good cleaning, yard maintenance and not what we bargained for. Good Luck!

I took pictures but can't be posted here.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nothing is universally loved, and sometimes bad reviews are just a reflection of the person you did business with.
Did you find this review helpful?
10 1
3

Sleeping difficulties

  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed the hot tub after we got it working with the help of Chris and Rose (who are awesome). The deck, fire pit and canoe were the best part of our trip. Their is only one cable box so you have to watch the same station whether you are watching on the TV in the bedroom or living room. The fold out bed in the living room is terrible and almost impossible to sleep on because of the bad springs in the sofa bed. We were also expecting the dock to be directly across from the rental but it is actually down the road a bit not too big of a deal. The property is clean and maintained very well.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad to hear that Rose and Chris were helpful. Every hot tubs a bit different. During the hot summer season we turn the heat down on the hot tub. For most this is more comfortable. Glad they could show you the heat button and get it turned up for you. You're right, this property has an awesome deck and great views. The canoe and the fire pit are great extra's thrown in there and are yours and not shared. Yes, sleeper sofa's are never very comfortable. This place usually rents to just a couple using the master bedroom that has a new queen mattress, other than small children the sleeper sofa isn't used much. Anyone planing to use it may bring a camping mattress for extra comfort and support, but wouldn't encourage putting big guys on it as its just a full size sleeper sofa. We advertise this place as a 10 minute walk down to the water. Its a short walk and being back up off the water offers more privacy. Being right down on the water puts guests around other boaters & noise. Being back up off the water offers a little bit more peace and quiet. Know that we do offer places right on the water too for anyone wanting to stay just steps to the shoreline. We have lots of properties in that area to choose from.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Airport
37 Miles
TRI CITY serviced by American, delta, united
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
neighbor hood bar
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Boat rentals thru local marinas
Nearest Golf
13 Miles
Mt City, Tn Red Tail country club
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Dry Hill General store
Car: necessary

Watauga Lake, East Tn mtns, Western NC Boat Rentals, Roan mountain state park, Rhododendron Festival, Blowing Rock , Boone , Lineville , Banner Elk , Ski Beech, Sugar Mtn , Bristol , Bristol Speedway, Race week, Blue Grass festivals. Just a short distance from the NC / TN state line in East Tennessee. Appalachian Great Smoky Mountains. NC and TN Attractions. White water Rafting, Hiking, Hunting, fishing, canoeing, kayaking. Unique Location. You get the benefits of both lake & river access. Kayaking, canoeing, boating, fishing Water ski, water tubing, skiing & sailing All can be enjoyed. Cliffs & caves ready for those who seek adventure. Secluded yet convenient to many neighboring vacation villages, restaurants, entertainment from family style to 5 star.

Other Activities: specialty shops, boating, wildlife viewing, canoeing, kayaking

Ski: Ski Beech Mtn / Boone NC

Sugar Mtn / Banner Elk NC

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday mobile home in Butler, Tennessee

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Early Winter 2016
27 Nov 2016 - 20 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£282
for 2 nights
From
£103
£608
 
 
Holidays 2016
21 Dec 2016 - 1 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
£307
for 2 nights
From
£115
£635
 
 
2017 Rates
2 Jan 2017 - 24 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£246
for 2 nights
From
£85
£662
 
 
Summer 2017
25 May 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£492
for 3 nights
From
£139
£859
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£300
for 2 nights
From
£112
£752
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £158
cleaning fee £67 + Tax
Pet Fee £59 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.5%

Guests can pay online or mail in a personal check or money order and avoid the online service fees. Call 803-415-4714 for mailing address. Once your deposit is paid you'll receive an extensive welcome package giving direction to area activities, restaurants, boat rentas, ski resorts. Pet fee applies: If you choose to bring a pet be sure to click the pet box when reserving here online. Rates are discounted for only a couple or you can bring a full house. Extra guest fees apply: Be sure to include the correct number of guests.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday mobile home in Butler, USA

Property Type:
  • mobile home
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • In between the master bedroom and living area Full bath with shower/tub combo
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 2 Sofa bed/Futon
  • Master bedroom with queen and a full size/ double sleeper sofa in living area. Can sleep up to four. Linens provided
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Canoe
  • Terrace
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Barbecue
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Decking
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • caving
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Need help during your stay? Know you'll have the contact # to housekeeping and maintenance. We offer A+ service to all.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties