HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Family beach rental pet friendly

People8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Townhouse, 3 Bedrooms ,open loft, 5 beds , 2 full Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Feel the "ocean spray in your face" while you watch birds and dolphins from the huge deck of this 3-unit townhouse named Mi Casa. Atlantic Ocean in front and the Matanzas River Inlet on the side. Very private dog friendly beach in an oceanfront homes section with no cars allowed on the beach and no public access. ( we're an island connected to the mainland by Hwy A1A bridges on each end). When the tides out kids have great fun searching tidal pools for critters. Fort Matanzas National Monument is on the other side of the bridge within walking distance, with free boat ride to the fort and a great nature trail.. 2 miles north you can rent boats and kayaks and buy bait. 3 miles south is Marineland where you can swim with dolphins or go on a kayak guided tour. Bicycle path for miles in both directions. Waterfront seafood restaurant across the street where you can bring your dog, and a gas/convenience store 1 block away. Brick charcoal grill outside. Fully equipped kitchen to spend a weekend or 6 months.

Sleeping arrangements: downstairs two full size beds roll out from beneath the elevated kitchen deck; upstairs is all master bedroom with a king bed; above the king bed is an open loft with two twin beds.

Keywords: Condo, Townhouse, oceanfront, beachfront, fully furnished, cottage

More Details

Owner
Owner, Barry Fouts
Member since: 2001
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
23 April, 2017

About Owner, Barry Fouts

We're both retired business owners who breeds parrots as a hobby. On our 55 acre farm covered with 100+ year old grandfather oaks we have dogs & cats on rat & predator patrol duty, cows, horses & a rescue pony with a resident wild deer as a pal; guineas, peacocks, chickens and many breeding pairs of macaws, cockatoos and african greys. We're both Florida natives; me from Lakeland, Pat from Jacksonville

Owner, Barry Fouts purchased this townhome in 2011

Why Owner, Barry Fouts chose St. Augustine Area

We love the quiet & solitude. When we moved to NE Florida in 1998 we visited St Augustine public beach and were not impressed by the crowds. 2011 was the first time we returned, and discovered Mi Casa. Our place on Summer Haven Island is the closest thing to a private beach you'll find for under $10 million. As soon as we stood on the deck, which really is on the beach, we told the realtor 'we'll take it!' Some of the yearly renters have come back 10 years in a row, and everyone has written wonderful reviews of the location and the updates & upgrades we've made. Sept '12 we shopped for another investment oceanfront condo and were amazed at the $4-500k condos that couldn't offer what Mi Casa has. It was a challenge just to walk the distance out their crowded walkway over sand dunes to the waters edge. Mi Casa has us spoiled. Walking down our 5' wide steps is an unfair comparison. The rod holders on the deck railing are your first clue that nobody else is this close to the water! Some say it's like being on a boat!

What makes this townhome unique

Waking to the roar of the ocean is a wonderful experience. Coffee on the deck, then 2nd cup on the beach letting the dogs run free (oops, the leash slipped out of my hand). Birds huddled on the sandbar in front. Discover turtle nests in season, and shells and critters caught in the tidal pools or rent a bike and enjoy the miles of paved bike paths north and south. Spot a sea turtle or manatee or dolphins swimming past. Whales pass in front but I haven't spotted one myself. Watch the kite boarders sail 20' into the air. Watch the Ospreys shake in flight like a dog after diving for fish. Last year a Bald Eagle pair regularly fished out front off the rocks. Gaze at the shrimp boats with binoculars (provided) then drive up the road & buy tonights shrimp dinner you watched being caught. The 3-grill brick BBQ has a smoker built in on the back side. View the stars in the near total darkness. Cross over the bridge & explore Fort Matanzas and its nature trail for free.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday townhome in Saint Augustine in St. Johns County

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • city centre ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Downstairs tiled bathroom with shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Tiled bathroom with full tub/shower
  • Downstairs bath is luxurious. Upstairs bath is also tiled and has an outside window. Ladies enjoy the bonus makeup counter with sink & mirror in the bedroom. We supply make-up remover pads.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 Double Bed , ground floor the beds roll out from under the kitchen deck.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Entire 2nd floor is a master bedroom
    Loft - 2 Single Bed , Open loft with porthole windows
  • King bed with memory foam, Double Beds (2) These two full size beds hide during the day under the kitchen deck, and roll out at night. Two twin beds in the loft over the master bedroom. You can see the ocean thru the portholes.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Stand at the edge of the deck & feel the ocean spray on your face. During unusually high tides there's water on 3 sides. Compare that with the usual 300 room condo 500 feet from the water with a 'peek' sideways of the ocean. Mi Casa truly is 'Awesome'

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(42 traveller reviews)

Family beach rental pet friendly
average rating of 4.952381 based on 42 reviews
5

Wonderful Beach Front Property Makes for Ideal Vacation

  • 5 of 5

This is the fifth time we've been back to Mi Casa. That in itself is an endorsement. Mi Casa is a very unique residence, located with an inlet on one side, making it much quieter and more private than many other locations in St Augustine. The house itself has been renovated since we last visited and it's well appointed and very comfortable. The master bedroom looks out directly over the ocean and we were able to enjoy the sounds and breezes from the ocean all day and night. We slept wonderfully the whole time we were there. The deck is a real asset to the house -- spacious and so close to the ocean. We spent a lot of time hanging out there, as well as on the beach/ocean. The owner, Barry, is very communicative and accommodating. He's obviously devoted to the property and is a pro at making sure everything works smoothly. I can't say enough about Mi Casa. We can't wait to return next year!!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: A restful sleep on the memory foam beds helps you enjoy the next day. Our guests comfort comes first!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It's a wonderful place to stay

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful private beach. Rarely more than 10 people out. Accommodations are great. Best part is the owners. Very thoughtful. Everything needed is here. Great place for a reunion, getaway, or grandparents and grandchildren

  • Review Submitted: Jan 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was a great place to weather the inauguration firestorm with calming ocean spray in your face.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A Relaxing View of the Sunrise With the Soothing Background of the Ocean's Waves

  • 5 of 5

While there is some construction still ongoing from Matthew's visit to the area, it was kept to minimum while we were present and wasn't really an issue. There was a problem with the AC on arrival and Mr. Fouts had it resolved within minutes. We had stayed in an adjacent condo a couple of times a few years ago and I had remembered how relaxing and enjoyable it was here. We decided to come back in the winter rather than the summer since we knew it would be even more quiet and it did not disappoint. I was able to sit on the deck before dawn and watch the sunrise over the water with no distractions other than the ocean and the nature that comes with it. Lots of nearby restaurants and shopping for the rest of my family. Perfect place to spend some time with our children before the oldest goes off to Oklahoma due to military transfer and the youngest goes back to college to finish up his bachelors degree. I would highly recommend this condo to anyone needing to get away from the pressures of the real world and enjoy some thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing time on the beach.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Watching the sun rise over the ocean provides relaxation that lasts the whole day.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

For the most part, we had a nice stay.

  • 4 of 5

The unit we had was roomy enough for up to eight people. Fully equipped kitchen, inside washer/dryer, permission to bring our pet, ample parking, comfortable beds, nice TV's. Best part was the deck with full ocean view and beach just steps from the deck. Awesome!! There were also a few negatives. Spiral staircase was difficult to navigate for seniors; no good restaurants within close proximity to unit; daily construction with lots of banging. I would recommend.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're 99% recovered from the hurricane damage. Sorry about the banging but it will be finished this week. Our middle unit (#7190) has conventional stairs that may be a better choice next time.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

We love this location.

  • 5 of 5

Barry and Pat are great. The hurricane ran us off before our week was up so I hope everything is still in one peace.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: A question lots of people ask, what happens if we have a hurricane ? As these guests learned, we refund all the unused part of their week. Others had to cancel their whole stay, and they also got 100% refunds.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

I loved it .. right on the inlet .. doesn't get any better ..

  • 5 of 5

Very relaxing on a quiet beach ..

  • Review Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Water on two sides will take your breath away.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Point of Interest
Matanzas Inlet Restaurant
Car: necessary

Walk, bike, or drive over the bridge to Fort Matanzas. It's free and very interesting. Park service boat transports you across the river to the fort, where a ranger gives interesting information about the history of the fort. The boat leaves on the half hour. Excellent nature trail thru the Matanzas National Park. Or, turn south and 3 miles away you can swim with the dolphins at Marineland.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday townhome in Saint Augustine, North East Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Summer
1 Mar 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,521
for 7 nights
£1,521
£5,317
 
 
Winter
1 Oct 2017 - 28 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£726
for 3 nights
From
£199
£1,521
£3,458
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,340
for 7 nights
£5,317
 

Additional pricing information

cleaning £117.35 + Tax
Pet Fee £78.23 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.5%

If the calendar shows no vacancy for the week you want, check my other listing vrbo.com/7190 for a vacancy in the middle unit/same building.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot