Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

3 Bedroom Duplex W/3 King Beds And Pull-out Bed.new Appliances, Furniture & Beds

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,600 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom Duplex W/3 King Beds And Pull-out Bed.new Appliances, Furniture & Beds

The property is a 3 Bedroom duplex with 3 King very comfortable beds in each room. There is also a pull out couch in the downstairs living room and space for 1 more on the upstairs couch which is also very comfortable. The house is located 3 blocks from the J subway train which brings you into the Lower East Side of Manhattan in 5 stops or abut 12 minutes. The L subway train is about 6 blocks in the other direction which brings you into mid-town Manhattan in about 20 minutes. There are 5 brand new flatscreen tvs in every room and every movie channel. I will be doing up the back yard in th coming months with a deck and outdoor setting for the summer and spring months and will have a big BBQ back there for guests use.


Owner
Brendan McGeough
Member since: 2012
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
20 May, 2018

About Brendan McGeough

I am a Firefighter from NYC and try and rent my place when I am not there

Brendan McGeough purchased this house in 2013

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a fantastic time on our family trip at Brendan's place! All of the furnishings were brand new including dishes, appliances, bedding and towels! His attention to detail is amazing! It was like staying in a brand new, fully furnished condo. We stayed for 9 days and we were only 4 blocks away from the subway stop. The neighborhood is quiet and the beds? Oh, so comfortable! Grocery stores were close by. We plan on recommending his place to all of our friends and extended family! Thank you Brendan, really! We had a wonderful New York experience and created a lot of memories....
May 2013
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Bushwick in Brooklyn

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq ft
  • 2 stories
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • there is a pull-out couch in the downstairs living room and also room for 1 person on the upstairs couch
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
Leisure Activities:
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(27 traveller reviews)

55% Complete
29% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
7% Complete
3 Bedroom Duplex W/3 King Beds And Pull-out Bed.new Appliances, Furniture & Beds
average rating of 4.2222223 based on 28 reviews
2

Not what promised

  • 2 of 5

My sister left better reviews in the book at location..there is a reason for that. In the book there page that were ripped out I am sure due to bad comments. Well you can't do that here. Brendan was very hard to deal with through the whole process. The description of the location to Manhattan is off time wise on the trainu unless you are lucky enough to catch the express train every time. The biggest problem of all during our stay that was never fixed was the heat. When we got there the cleaner was there and said that the heat just went out between yesterday and today. When talking to Brendan later by text next day he said it had been out for several days. He said he would come by Wednesday and did not show. While we were there it showed and the temperatures were 30 to 46....lucky us he did leave us 2 space heaters..do not stay here bad location. He also rents a 5 bed above here that was rented during our stay that sounded like a herd of elephants above us all day long. Also there was a street party outside or our window the last evening.....I REPEAT DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Review Submitted: 07-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This woman was one of the nightmare guests that us hosts talk about and now as I can see she is a liar as well. google the train ride on J train from Halsey street to Essex street, 17 minutes, the express train does it in 12 minutes! I know I lived in the property for 3 years and took it everyday to work into downtown manhattan to my firehouse...you just keep making things up as you go along!! The pages that are ripped out are pieces of paper people used as scraps to write on bc it was a scrap book for guests, once again you are wrong, it started off as a scrap book for people if they needed paper and then people started writing nice beautiful things in it bc they enjoyed the property so much, including the pictures of the beautiful couple that got engaged in the home! I should have known something was wrong here with this person when she asked too book and told me she wanted to see my own private mortgage statement to prove I own my house. absolute craziness, almost bipolar behavior throughout the whole time from she booked up until check in, I wish I listened to my gut and didn't take this booking. As you can see, she called the family of children staying upstairs a herd of elephants, the parents of the kids even apologized as they were running around a little but she couldn't understand that children are hard to control so she made up all these things about the property. please refer to all my other reviews and you will see the truth in this womans review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice space to stay for access to city and roomy enough for family visit.

  • 4 of 5

Comfortable setting for our visit to New York. Close to subway for easy access to the city. We did not use the kitchen much, but is was equipped with enough supplies/utensils for snacks and small meals. Our family enjoyed the ability to have a space that allowed us to visit together in the evening. There were eight is us (two children) and we felt this property accommodated us very well. The owner does respond to questions or needs. We recommend the breakfast at City Bear.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

HOME AWAY FROM HOME

  • 5 of 5

My family and I drove there from Texas, which was a planned vacation. We had a good stay there and the neighborhood was nice and quite. I highly recommend the corner store on Evergreen for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Great location, close to anywhere you may want to go in the city. I highly recommend this place especially since the owner is fixing the backyard to look simply marvelous. If you like to do some grilling during your stay here hopefully by then the backyard will be completed. The owner was very nice and courteous and let us stay an extra night for free due to hurricane Harvey's situation my son's flight was cancelled. God is good. Again I highly recommend especially to those who have a large family.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Comfortable and Convenient

  • 4 of 5

For our annual trip to New York, my family and I usually look to lodge somewhere that has the comforts and conveniences similar to home. This property certainly met our expectations. First of all, we prefer to pick up groceries so that we can prepare a few meals rather than eat out often. Having a full kitchen as well as two grills on the patio, (one gas and one charcoal), was a definite plus. Since it was five of us, with the guys out numbered, we appreciated the two bathrooms. The bedrooms all had king size beds and enough storage space for our belongings. Having a washer and dryer in the apartment was another convenience, so we didn't worry about packing a lot of clothes. There are televisions with cable in all of the bedrooms and living spaces. This provided added entertainment for our two small children in the evening after a long eventful day.

The owner provided personal touches such as umbrellas in the front closet. One of the days we were there it rained all day. We needed to use one of the umbrellas from the apartment. Although we bring our own cleaning materials, there are cleaning materials and clothes detergent in the unit.

The neighborhood felt safe and was quiet most of the time. Be aware on the weekends there may be a party or two occurring. On Saturday night of our stay, there was a party in the evening with loud music until 3:00am. Travel into Manhattan was easy. The J train is only about an 8 minute walk from the apartment, and a 20 minute ride into lower Manhattan. Add another 29 minutes to the commute if you're looking to travel into Upper Manhattan.

I decided to rate our experience four stars because we did have to deal with ants in the apartment. Make sure you sweep up any food or crumbs that have fallen on the floor, or you will have a trail of ants all around them. Also, the bathrooms had rust and mildew spots around the floor and shower in the basement. We used a bleach cleaner and were fine. The grout lines in the kitchen and bathroom floor tiles were also a bit dirty. Could have been scrubbed by the cleaning crew.

Overall though, we really enjoyed our stay. This property was a comfort and convenience to my family of five. Especially after a long day of adventure. We will definitely consider this property on future trips to NY!

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Poorly maintained in less than desirable part of Brooklyn

  • 1 of 5

Water leak made one restroom unusable and one of the A/C units didn't work. The kitchen was not well stocked with tools necessary to make a real meal and was disorganized and dirty.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The AC broke and I replaced it the next day, theres nothing I can do about that but to replace it, I'm sorry you were without AC for 1 night. As for the water leak, that ruined my floors, its bc one of your party was irresponsible and left the water running out of the tub and down the walls which I had to totally rip out and replace. You left the house in ruins which I had to fix after you left. Im so disappointed you would write something like this after the way you treated my home. I should have charged you the deposit for that wall and I didn't and then you write a review like this probably to get out paying for the wall you destroyed via homeaway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

The property was in great shape and very clean. Wonderful decor.

  • 5 of 5

What a great place with an even better host!! Brendan was great to work with and very responsive. It's hard to find a place to stay with a king size bed. This place has 3. The tv's are really good. I would recommend this home to anyone we really felt like we were at home.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Dec-2016
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
John F Kennedy International aiprot
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Staten Island Ferry
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
BQE and jackie robinson
Nearest Beach
12 Miles
Jones Beach
Car: not necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Bushwick, New York City

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
memorial day weekend
24 May 2018 - 31 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,055
for 3 nights
From
£289
 
 
4th of July
1 Jul 2018 - 7 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,055
for 3 nights
From
£289
 
 
Labor Day weekend
1 Sep 2018 - 6 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,055
for 3 nights
From
£289
 
 
Christmas NYE
18 Dec 2018 - 5 Jan 2019
5 night minimum stay
£1,670
for 5 nights
From
£296
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£618
for 2 nights
From
£215
From
£222
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £37 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

cleaning fee £129.96
Property Damage Protection £58.67

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals