HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Private Whole House Rental Accommodations to Sleep 11 Guests!

12 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Hermann - Laughing Boar Guest House

House, 4 Bedrooms + Loft + Den, 3.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 11)

This charming house built in 1872 is nestled in the heart of the Historic District of downtown Hermann. The Laughing Boar is the perfect place to bring your small group to visit for a weekend, or perhaps an extended stay. With four bedrooms, three bathrooms, extra bunk area to accommodate larger groups of up 11 guests. Completely remodeled and decorated in the 1st quarter of 2011 it is clean, fresh and a mix of the new and the old.

We provide all the amenities you will need for your stay, and offer your party your privacy inside and out. The fenced in yard with the small pond, large deck and outdoor furniture are nice quiet place to wind down at the end of the day sipping a beverage, or plan your day with your morning coffee.

The Laughing Boar is walking distance from the Amtrak Station, to the Hermannhoff Winery, The Tin Mill Brewery, as well as several restaurants, bars and night life. We are very short walk to 1st street and Schiller Street as well as the Missouri Riverfront Park for a picnic.

The complete kitchen has full sized appliances including a refrigerator, stove, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, and all the cooking and eating utensils.

Enjoy a whimsical getaway where you can take advantage of the fleet of Hermann trolley’s to shuttle you to all the wineries and other attractions eliminating the concern of a designated driver for your group. Door step pick-up and drop-off is available for your group to travel together.

The Laughing Boar is the perfect lodging place for girls weekends, bachelorette parties, family reunions and out of town wedding guests wishing to stay together in a private setting.

We take pride our reputation for maintaining the high standards we set for a clean, comfortable establishment in our first property, The Weber-Schulte Guest House opened in April 2009.

Our furnishings are a variety of new modern to funky old repurposed artifacts. It is becoming a part of our signature that we intend to live up to with the newly added Laughing Boar Guest House.

Keywords: Hermann, Private, whole house rental, 4 bedrooms, bachelorette partys, girls weekend, walk to Amtrak, walk to Hermannhoff, sleeps 11, private yard, downtown, lodging shower bridal ladies couples kitchen wineries groups

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed

Brian Molloy
Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
23 September, 2016
Call Owner

About Brian Molloy

Two people with over 30 yrs in the IT Business that took ownership of The Weber-Schulte Guest House in Hermann in 2009 by accident? We travel quite often and understand what people want when they secure lodging for a get-away or vacation. We seem to have gotten it right and based on demand for our 1st Guest House, we were motivated to open a second property to accommodate more than 6-8 people in a group. We pride ourselves on the clean, sharp and private rental to make your stay as comfortable as it can be. We have a great following of Guests that look at our property as their 'Country Home' without the maintenance or upkeep cost. We deliver the home away from home feel they look for.

Brian Molloy purchased this house in 2011

Why Brian Molloy chose Missouri

Hermann is a great and growing tourist City with a large Destination Wedding Business and this created a need for rooms for the out of town guests to stay. In addition all the festivals, fairs, winery tours and location between St. Louis and Kansas City within short driving distance it is the perfect get-away town.

What makes this house unique

The benefit we offer is extremely competitive rates when compared to the cost of rooms at a B&B where you are lodging in a hosted home. We offer the same per room rates as the low cost B&B's but you are not sharing a bathroom with strangers (other the ones you bring with you) or having to meet a schedule to be back in your room at night or at the table in the morning. The Laughing Boar Guest House provides an environment where you can gather back in the house at the end of the day and not worry about disturbing the other guests or hosts in the house until you decide on a bedtime. To sum it up, PRIVACY for YOUR party!


based on 12 holidaymaker reviews

Private Whole House Rental Accommodations to Sleep 11 Guests!
average rating of 4.75 based on 12 reviews

Bachelorette Weekend

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at The Laughing Boar for a weekend bachelorette party, and it was absolutely amazing. We all couldn't stop raving about it! Extremely spacious (we had 10 ladies) and within walking distance to downtown Hermann. I even left a pair of shoes, and the owners so graciously popped them in the mail that very day! I would recommend this house to anyone and would definitely come back in the future!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect house in a perfect town!

  • 5 of 5

The Laughing Boar was perfect for my cousin's bachelorette weekend! The house was absolutely wonderful and everything was taken care of for us. Brian was super sweet and accommodating! Highly recommended!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kansas City, Missouri

Girls Weekend Away!

  • 5 of 5

This was our 5th year staying at The Laughing Boar and it was sensational again! The home is cozy, comfy and beautifully decorated. The owners are easy to work with, accommodating and provide great advice during your stay in Hermann. I highly recommend this home for your next stay away from home!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 19, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Wellsville, Kansas

Best Girls Getaway Place

  • 5 of 5

I have been coming Hermann every October since 2006. This is by far the best place to stay and the Owners are fabulous to work with (I own/manage vacation property so I have huge expectations). We now have 11 girls in our group and we always stay at one of Brian or Bartow's properties. We moved up to this house once we hit 11 guests. There was plenty of room for everyone and the house is decorated beautifully!! Plenty of bathrooms for 11 girls, which is super important. Beds are very comfortable! Large dining table accommodated all of us and was a great gathering place. Back deck is huge and peaceful! House is super close to downtown and to the Hermannhof Winery (we walked to both). We will stay again here next year! You won't regret booking this unique and beautiful property!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 14, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We love our annual visit from the KS Girls on Grapes. They have honored us by being our guests since we opened for business in 2009. They even booked BOTH HOUSES one October for a coinciding birthday that week. What a terrific group of ladies.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
no where

Disappointed. Wish we had stayed elsewhere!

  • 2 of 5

I was rather disappointed in our stay. The house really needed a good and thorough cleaning. Your feet and socks turn brown when walking inside without shoes. Dead bugs on the window sills and floor, and spiders all over the outside and between the windows and screens. No one has cleaned under the beds in a very long time. I looked under the bed for something I dropped and there was so much dust and stuff from previous guests (yuck).

The most disappointing and shocking part was that the owner refused to allow us to have our adult children over to the house. The rule was that only people registered guests are allowed on the property (make sure you memorize the fine print).

The landscaping is very overgrown. Based on the pictures I thought the property was going to have a nice back yard, it didn't and you will have to clean the outdoor furniture before you can use it.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 15, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm saddened and disappointed by the disparaging remarks in this review which is quite contrary to the grand majority of our reviews and completely contradictory of the complementary remarks at check-in. To clarify a few of the issues from the reviewer - First the comment regarding not allowing their adult children in the house is not correct. At check-in, this party informed us they were hosting a "Pot Luck" dinner at the house for 30 people. We politely explained that the house was not a good venue for a party this large. We offered 2 alternate party solutions and pointed out the policy which is written in bold red font (not fine print) in the Lodging Agreement they signed. It is also posted on our website under policies and on the bulletin board in the kitchen of the guest house. Also, if she had asked if a few of her children could visit, that would have been fine but a dinner party for 30 people was what she had expressed. The yard being a mess, well that’s true as there have been severe rain storms here for weeks as proof by all the flooding she saw around town. This has made it impossible to keep up with the garden, as I am sure you can understand. So as not to disappoint future guests, we will be removing pictures of the gardens from our listing for the time being. The rest of the comments regarding the cleanliness in my opinion are retaliation for not allowing them to host a party at the house. We have never had a complaint about the cleanliness of any of our houses and have received only the highest reviews in that area. I’m sure there were some dead bugs as we had just had the house treated for pest control earlier in the week (which is done quarterly). I saw none at check-in but they may have appeared during their stay. We are a comfortable private house rental where our guests can stay together and share one house for a fun lodging experience and never implied we offer a venue to host large private parties with 30 unregistered guests. It appears that the guests did not review the whole Lodging Agreement to know we have occupancy restrictions. We are deeply sorry they were disappointed but please compare our other reviews before making a decision where to stay – our positive reviews speak for themselves. Bartow & Brian Molloy Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Unique, clean and affordable

  • 5 of 5

Perfect for 8 ladies. Plenty of room, showers, bathrooms, table space. We had a fantastic time and loved finding all of the unique decorations. Loved it and can't wait to go back!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 17, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Louter Country Club
Nearest Train
0.2 Miles
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
Highway 19 / 100
Nearest Restaurant
Nearest Point of Interest

Enjoy your complete privacy for your groups stay on your special getaway trip in our Whole House Rental. Located downtown a few short blocks from the Amtrak Station on the riverfront in the historic district The Laughing Boar Guest House is the perfect place to lodge for your stay in Hermann. Trolley services are available at the door step to take you to the wineries, restaurants and bars, antique shops, art galleries or just on a tour around town. We have 4 bedrooms, 3 full baths and 2 half baths. The kitchen is fully equipt as well as most home kitchens. The Private Whole House rental is perfect for couples or groups of up to 11 guests for a weekend celebration. Enjoy the deck in the back Garden private yard while you sip your morning coffee or tea, and your adult beverages in the evening. Or relax on the rocking chairs on the front porch and savor the small town setting on a neighborhood side street in Hermann. We will not be there to make you breakfast so sleep in, and make the coffee on your time or enjoy one of the local establishments for coffee and breakfast fixings.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Hermann, Missouri

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Standard pricing
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Tax Rate 11.3%

8 Guests per nt. - mo tax -city tax - total
4 bedrooms, 4 beds $525.00 $42.50 -$15.75- $583.25

10 Guests
4 bedrooms, 5 beds $650.00 $52.65 -$19.50-$722.15

11 Guests
5 beds + twin daybed $725.00 $58.73-$21.75-$805.48


Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Hermann, USA

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3.5+
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • King size beds (1) Pillow top mattress the same quality as found in the highest end hotels of Chicago and New York. If we would not sleep on it we would not expect you to!, Queen size Beds (4) Pillow top mattress the same quality as found in the highest end hotels of Chgicago and New York. If we would not sleep on it we would not expect you to!, Twin or Single Beds (1) A day bed in the loft area up stairs
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • smoking allowed ...
  • churches
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties