HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

******2Chalet style houses with located on beautiful property with beachfront***

Bedrooms 2
Property type chalet


About the property

Has 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

COME ENJOY A REAL COSTA RICAN NATURE EXPERIENCE! Wake up every morning to the beautiful sounds nature has to offer you. Our property is approximately 3.2 acres of lush green landscape with everything from palm trees by the beachfront to the fruit trees always nearby. There are 2 houses on this great property, each offers great privacy. Whether your a couple just wanting to reconnect or a family wanting to enjoy some time together. This is exactly what you have been looking for all this time! Come enjoy all the great adventures that the area has to offer.

Keywords: Fishing, Beach Front, National Reserve, Villa, Cottage, Farm, tropical, rain forest, montezuma, rustic, getaway,

More Details


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Cabuya in Cóbano

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: 13:00
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • village
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Broadband Access
  • Dialup Access
  • Linens Provided
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1)
  • CD Player
  • Television
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • limited accessibility
  • library
  • live theatre
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surfing
  • swimming


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
******2Chalet style houses with located on beautiful property with beachfront***
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 6 reviews


  • 5 of 5

Sorry for my late review. Everything was just more than perfect. Very nice and clean house beach front. House is very well equiped. Cabuya is a very nice and safe little village, even at night. Fishing with local fisherman (Trino, Ariel, Moise, Norman, etc) was very nice. Wild life is very present around the house. Many things to do around. No need for a car.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Nov-2016
  • Date of Stay: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Montreal, Quebec

Run down house in a beautiful spot.

  • 2 of 5

There are two houses on the property so make sure you specify which one you want to rent. One is a chalet style right near the beach. The other one is further away in the garden. I rented the chalet style house for a month, so this review is about the chalet style house.

If you want a great location, near the beach, with a huge amazing garden, with lots of wildlife in a quiet village, but don’t care for comfort and don’t mind staying in a run down house, this is the place for you.

Kitchen supplies where old and a lot of them useless. The gas stove was really old and only had two burners working. Although in basic working condition, the fridge and washing machine where old and rusty. Not a lot of sheets or towels either.

The toilet was leaking and wasn’t properly fixed for the whole month I stayed. There was a lot of water at times on the floor and I had to put a towel down on the floor. The hot water for the shower didn’t work, but the groundskeeper quickly had a new shower head installed.

The place is not like advertised. There is no CD player or television. There where two TVs in the house (older style, not flat screen), and none of them worked. I didn’t mind because I wasn’t planing on watching TV anyway. But if you have kids who want to watch TV, they might be unhappy.

No outdoor grill like advertised either. Just an old rusty and dirty wood stove outside.

Not much privacy with the groundskeeper coming everyday, at different time of the day, to feed the parrots and water the lawn.

The house seemed like it had been abandoned for a while. I am not a fussy person and can adapt to most situation, but in hindsight I paid way too much for what it was. Especially compared to the other house I rented in the same village right after, for a month and a half.

On the positive side: The garden is huge and beautiful, with lots of trees, flowers, etc. Capucin and howler monkeys visit the garden every day. There are two parrots in a cage next to the house and they are adorable (if you don’t mind the noise. I didn’t). They talk, sing and laugh.

There is a beautiful patio to enjoy the outside and watch the monkeys and birds, with tables and comfy chairs.

There are hammocks also, one of them near the beach, in a breezy spot.

The beach is almost private, beautiful sunrises and close to a nature reserve, Cabo Blanco.

  • Review Submitted: 15-May-2016
  • Date of Stay: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1

Nature lovers.

  • 4 of 5

The grounds of this property were amazing for nature appreciation--truly an idyllic setting. Every morning we awoke to the calls of howler monkies who frequented nearby trees. One morning we could watch the howlers from the bedroom window. A huge troop of white faced monkeys visited the property's mango trees several times.. There were a number of bird species including black headed trogons and cinnamon hummingbirds. The Cabo Blanco nature preserve is within walking distance. Cabuya is a very quiet town with a great bakery restaurant with wifi. The only downside to the rental was that the wifi didn't work as stated on the property description so bring devices that can connect with cable. The beach is very rocky so we drove to a very nice and quiet beach 5k away. Having hot water would have been a plus but on balance we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Feb-2013
  • Date of Stay: January 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Charles we are very happy you enjoyed your stay! In Cabuya because of the tropical weather we really never felt the need for hot water as its already pretty warm, however, we took in consideration your suggestion and have installed a heater for the shower head. Thank You for being such great guests and blessing for you and your wife. Diego sends his regards. The Conrads Family
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

amazing iland view

  • 5 of 5

the place over-all, was amazing,very well kept.allso the person who maintaned the place was very heplfull, defintly a place i will return too.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Jan-2013
  • Date of Stay: December 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Jose, Costa Rica

Nice hideaway at the beach!

  • 4 of 5

Me and my familiy ( 2 adults, 2 children 4-6 years old and 3 big dogs) stayed at this nice and spacey rental in Cabuya. Although we couldn´t view pictures from the inside of the rental, this house is really nice: it was clean, it has good beds, cleen bedsheets, and enough space for 4 people. The style is tico, but that is OK by us. You cannot imagine how big the garden is!! We loved walking in the garden, and it was just perfect for our dogs. The beach at the property is with big stones , so you cannot swim or lay at the beach. We had a car so it wasn´t a big deal to drive to Montezuma, or Sta Teresa. There are lovely beaches, shops, restaurants etc. We also liked it very much that the property is not directly connected to the dustroads, so we could spend our time here relaxed, without dust from cars passing by. Cabuya is small, but there is just enough to do shopping and there are some restaurants. We spend Christmasnight at restaurant Kardoes. A good place. Our children loved the cementary island...In their eyes it was a pirate treasure island! We were here during Christmas time and they put a lot of time and effort to bring the house and garden in Chistmas style. Conluded: We really had a good holiday at this place, the price-quality is good!! Thank you so much doña Vera and don Diego for all the attencion and care.

  • Review Submitted: 08-Jan-2013
  • Date of Stay: December 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the lovely review, we are so happy you enjoyed the property, you are all a lovely family. Many Blessings to you all! The Conrads Family
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York

Thanksgiving Tropical Paradise

  • 5 of 5

This was a beautiful beach front property...beautiful sunsets, private beach the birds around you, it was pure relaxing bliss. We had a wonderful time thank you for having us see you next thanksgiving!!

  • Review Submitted: 30-Dec-2011
  • Date of Stay: November 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice comment we are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Vera Conrads
Member since: 2011
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
17 February, 2018

About Vera Conrads

Retired Structural Engineer, Originally from Germany and my beautiful Costa Rican wife Vera. We have a daughter, a son and 3 grandson's. We are all nature lovers and enjoy the Pura Vida lifestyle that only Costa Rica can offer.

Vera Conrads purchased this chalet in 1993

Why Vera Conrads chose Cabuya



Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Tambor Airport
Car: necessary



Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Damage Deposit £71.47

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals