HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Updated Front & Back Cottages! Patio, Courtyard, Walk to the Beach (68265)

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 8

This is a fabulous property, comprised of two beach cottages, separated by a large interior courtyard. The interior and exterior have been updated, but the cottage feel is preserved.

The front patio has wicker seating and a market umbrella for enjoying the sunshine during the summer, as well as a heat lamp for staying warm during the off-season. Enter the front cottage through the dutch doors to the living and dining areas. The living area is just to the left, with a warm leather reclining loveseat, ottoman, a large flat panel TV, and a gas fireplace. The kitchen has stainless steel appliances and a small built-in eating nook seating four.

The first bedroom has a double bed and a flat panel TV. Don’t be startled by the mini-great white shark mounted on the wall, it’s just for show! The second “master” bedroom is located in the back of the house, with access to the interior courtyard. There is a double bed and a wall-mounted flat panel TV for your entertainment. There is one bathroom to accommodate guests, with a shower.

There is a lovely private courtyard, between the two cottages. It is wood-planked, and features a wicker glass-topped table with two matching chairs. There is also a large cast iron patio table, with seating for 8, and an umbrella for shade. There is a gas grill so the whole family can enjoy a feast on the BBQ. There is also an outdoor shower so you can wash off from the beach before going inside, and the fence has hooks to hang up your towels, wetsuits, and swim suits.

Enter the back cottage and find a compact but open and updated kitchen, with granite countertops, and stainless steel appliances. The walls are beautifully tiled in tiny white blocks, and the floors of the cottage are tiled in travertine. There is one bathroom in the hallway, with a shower. As you move towards the back of the property you’ll find a charming living and dining area. You can enjoy a meal at the high topped table with seating for two. The living room has a large brown leather sofa, which converts to a queen bed in the evening. There is a massive wall-mounted flat panel TV to keep you entertained in the evening.

As you carry on upstairs, you’ll find the master bedroom with a queen bed. The bedroom is semi-private; there is no door at the landing of the second floor, and is open to the stairway. There is a flat panel TV, and the space is open and bright, with plenty of windows, and several sky-lights atop the vaulted ceiling. There is also a ceiling fan to keep you cool in the summer.

There is one car parking in the garage, attached to the back cottage, with an interior entry into the living room. There is a stacked washer and dryer in the back bedroom in the front cottage.

More Details

Property Manager
Burr White Realty
Speaks English
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
14 December, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Balboa Peninsula in Newport Beach

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 0
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 1 Queen bed, 1 Sofa Bed bed, 2 Full beds
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • playground
  • restaurants

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(28 traveller reviews)

85% Complete
3% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Updated Front & Back Cottages! Patio, Courtyard, Walk to the Beach (68265)
average rating of 4.678571 based on 28 reviews
Las Vegas, NV
1

Our weekend sucked......

  • 1 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was very dirty.

I was very unhappy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

It began with us entering the property and finding spider webs in the upstairs bedroom. My husband killed a live black widow. We continued to have spider issues in the back cottage. There was a dead spider in the shower and we killed another one. Add in the fact that the upstairs bedroom was well over a 100 degrees due to no air conditioning and you can see why even my teenager didn't want to stay there. We went to the Mater Dei football game and got back about midnight to find that the neighbors behind us in the alley had blocked acces to the garage with their five plus vechiles in the alley. I drove around with four kids in my car for an hour trying to find a parking spot as I couldn't get in the garage and wasn't going to wake people up at midnight to move their cars. Finally, I just parked behind the garage because I actually wanted to get some sleep. Our "neighbor" then called the police because my car was "17 inches" over the yellow line. The only reason I was even over the line was because I couldn't get in the garage. The guy was a complete jerk and confrontational. The day we were leaving, I had to pull my car out of the garage to load it as the garage is too small to open the doors in the garage. Rather than assist a female with kidsload her car, jerk neighbor continues to complain. It's pretty obvious I'm loading the car - but the great neighbor would rather go off on me about the fact I'm "17 inches over the line" than be a decent human being. He made it clear he owns his home and isn't some "renter." Wow! I own a home too - thank god it's not next to this *****. I will never return. Avoid this home at all costs unless you enjoy spiders and uncomfortable mattresses --- and a jerk neighbor.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: First, we are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide each and every guest with a relaxing and enjoyable experience. We take all feedback from our guests very seriously and your comments have been reviewed by our management staff and the home owner and are being acted upon in order to improve guest experiences. After reviewing guest feedback from the past year, the spider issue is an isolated incident and is being addressed as a precautionary measure. We did not see any calls to our maintenance department, who are always available to address guest concerns. The area did experience a heat wave during your stay and we are sorry to hear that you were negatively affected by the unseasonably warm weather, however air conditioning is not an available amenity at this location. The way you were treated by the neighbor was entirely unacceptable. No one should be subjected to such behavior and we are currently working to contact this resident regarding their behavior. In the future, whether you stay at a Burr White vacation property or any other vacation rental, we would encourage you to contact the property management company's after hours customer service to address any parking problems so that the company may intervene and make sure that you have direct access to your parking at all times. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with an excellent experience in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Cozy Beach Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Great Stay

  • Review Submitted: 07-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Burr White Realty
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Newport Beach!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Funtrip Girltrip

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

5 girls had a wonderful experience in this rental. Great location, close to beach, very clean rental, and loved the apt. In the rear. Downtowner transportation to &from fun zone was great. The garage was small & hard to get an SUV in & out but managed. I would have thought the cleaning and linens would have been included like other hotels.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed your Newport Beach vacation and hope to see you again next year! Since vacation rentals are different than renting a hotel room, the cleaning and linen fees are added seperately instead of being included in the rate.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Chandler, AZ
5

Monroy Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

After coming here for the past four years we feel like this is our little beach cottage. It's perfect for our family. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: Burr White Realty
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Roseville, CA
5

Great House

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

By far the best house we have stayed in!

  • Review Submitted: 25-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: Burr White Realty
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
San Dimas, CA
5

Our Front and Back Cottage Fun

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This is our second year at this location, and we are hoping for a third experience here next summer. All was terrific (especially the office staff welcome. Magnificent organization!). The parking in the side lot is all but impossible, so I think I'll park elsewhere next year. My only negative comments are that the Bar-B-Q was very, very dirty. I wish there had been a couple of rolls of paper towels when we arrived. Someone came to inspect damage to the fridge doors made by a previous tenant. I showed him that the reclining couch was permanently in the up position. He tried to fix it, but wasn't able to. He never returned.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: Burr White Realty
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals