HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Generous Neat Home with Pool and Garden in Worlds Best Climate, discounts !

People9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Space 2,200 sq ft
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-9)

This is a very generous 3 BR family home in one of the worlds best climates 27 deg.C (70-80 deg F) yearround with cooler nights).

It is fully furnished for comfortable living and well equipped to bring nothing along.

A very spacious salon with cable-TV, DVD player, music set and games invites family life helped by a modern kitchen.

It is perfect for outdoor living with a 64 sqm (650 sqfeet) covered Mediterranean-style terace, a cozy private swimming pool and a nice tropical garden with palms, fruit trees, rare plants, birds and Iguanas.

It is located in a gated and guarded community for security, fenced-in with automated gate and own alarm system, but in walking distance into town with well sorted shopping facilities, banks, local amenities, farmer's markets, health support of any kind (incld.gym., Red Cross, clinics) and restaurants.

You won't need a car to.do your daily chores.

There is direct access to the motorway system and you won't be far, no matter which part of CR you wish to explore: highend shopping in San Jose/Escazu, the Pacific beaches, volcanoes, National Parks, cloud forest, lakes or waterfalls, animal sanctuarie's, coffee-farms........

There is WiFi throughout, on-demand warm water, a fully equipped kitchen and an extra laundry-room.

Airport-, housekeeping and pool-services can be organized.

We are pet-friendly.

Keywords: very generous 3 BR flat bungalow, large covered teraces, nice tropical garden with ecolodge,cozy pool, fully furnished, comfortable living, walking distance to shopping

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2011
Speaks English, French, German, Spanish, Turkish
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
19 May, 2018

About The Owner

I am a marine biologist and have lived in many tropical countries.

I have finally settled in Costa Rica for a very favourable cost:benefit ratio and for lovely, warm and welcoming people

The Owner purchased this villa in 2010

Why The Owner chose Atenas

Costa Rica is the nicest and safest of all Latinamerican countries and the Central Valley is best suited for temperate-climate people.

Costa Rica has responded well to expatriate demands.There is world-class health care, American-style shopping and amusement, wild tropical life and lush beaches - all within arm´s reach.

What makes this villa unique

A large expat community while close to local life, markets, tropical nature, closeness to the sea - all of CR's splendours in easy reach.

The local community has well responded to expat demands.

No car required for shopping, banks and restaurants etc.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Atenas in Cantón Atenas

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • rural ...
  • village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 3 - Toilet
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • master bathroom with double sink, toilet, shower, bathtub, warmwater guest bathroom with sink, toilet and shower, warmwater
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Convertible bed(s) - 3 Sofa bed/Futon , air-matrasses and camping beds available
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2), camping and airbeds
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
tropical garden, ecolodge, 2x large covered teraces, separate furnished laundry, separate store

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)

87% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Generous Neat Home with Pool and Garden in Worlds Best Climate, discounts !
average rating of 4.6875 based on 16 reviews
5

Generous and neat home

  • 5 of 5

I have now been for a 2d term in this very nice villa and I hav'nt been disappointed at all: airy, spacious, well equipped, nicely decorated, clean and well maintained.

It's an owner's house, not a rental !!!!!

Atenas is very much in the center of Costa Rica and none of its varied destinations " beauties " is far away - without having to suffer the scorching heat of the coastal aeras.

I'm already planning a 3d term.... this house and C.R. deserve it !!!!

  • Review Submitted: 18-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Slave Lake, Alberta, Canada
5

Enjoyed

  • 5 of 5

Property is quite lush with vegetation. House is nice, large with roomy appeal. Views of surrounding countryside is nice. Property managers, Piet and Yvonne were very accommodating. We didn't rent a vehicle, so walked into town(20 minutes) and if we bought groceries, rented a cab back, about 2 or 3 dollars depending what market we went to. Would rent this place again.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellente location

  • 5 of 5

Nous venons de passer 3 semaines dans cette maison. Son seul inconvénient est qu'il n'est pas facile de la quitter......spacieuse,chaleureuse,cuisine bien équipée ET une suite parentale ! Sans parler des 2 patios (1 sur piscine, jardin, palmiers, l'autre sur petite forêt tropicale).

m

Mandarines'es "maison", colibris, geckos à la drôle de voix et même visite d'un petit iguane......

La résidence est sécurisée, avantage indéniable ! Et les maisons sont espacées, autre avantage car même si le voisinage est agréable, la tranquillité et le calme sont importants pour nous.

Les managers sont compétents et disponibles !!! La voiture n'est pas indispensable, le centre ville et ses commerces sont à peine à 10 mn à pied.

En bref,JE RECOMMANDE !!!

Et j'en redemande....une maison pour le prix d'un appart. ......le Costa Rica tout autour......et un jardinier qui s'appelle Ulysse !

  • Review Submitted: 26-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
Forchheim, Germany
5

simply great !

  • 5 of 5

A very comfortable and charming house with lovely pool and garden - birds, fruits snf butterflies á la carte!

Great location - an easy walk into Atenas and an easy drive to most of Costa Rica spectacles.

Excellent climate - no AC required !

The manager was helpful, considerate and responsive - no nonsense.

We have been very happy with this house, it even exceeded our expectations! I highly recommend this house to even our best friends.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
1

Our stay in Atenas home

  • 1 of 5

The house was in a good location , but it need a lot of maintenance. For 4 days since our arrival we have the refrigerator not working, they need to other a part and replace it, during that time we buy ice and leave in a cooler for our groceries. The electrical gate didn' t open correctly, we need to open manually specially when was raining a lot, the toilets are leaking water, and finally the pump water that use the comunity was shutdown during mostly all day, we need to bring water from the pool to fill the toilets and buy water for our bath, we can't use the kitchen to cook because of the water and the refrigerator. The owner of the house lives in France but we meet Piet and his wife, that administrate some houses in the comunity. Piet was very concern of the situation in the house, and bring some ice for our cooler. I ask for a refund for all those problems that you not expect when rent a place to stay during your vacations, but the last day we stay, they give me a tip of $20.00 that the owner think was enough to cover the issues on our stay. I never stay again in this place, and never recomend to anybody, its my first time in the 5 th visit to Costa Rica that something like that happens. It's ashame that people that owns properties to rent didn't take care of it and rent the property with issues nowing that the tourist pay a lot to stay in. I hope that my family experience in this place help you to choose other place to stay.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Dec-2016
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The stay fell into a time, in which a category 2 hurricane crossed Costa Rica which caused: - a total of 23 deaths (at least 10 of which in Costa Rica) -the deplacement of 6 800 people in CR -"chaotic and unprecedented" conditions with widespread outages of power and water and U$ 34 Mio of damages - a governmental state of emergency in CR -and 3 days of national mourning. Hurricanes are a defined case of "Force Majeur" or "Act of God" in which - according to Common Law interpretation- parties are a) relieved/ exempted of their contractual obligations b) compensation cannot be asked for and c) consequences are to be carried by oneself. While I regret those events -clearly beyond my control-, and while I realize mention of some of the generous relieve measures carried out by my staff in order to minimize consequences, I miss the necessary sensitivity for the situation at hand and their due acknowledgement as they are not reflected in the conclusions drawn.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
5

A Great House in a Great Location

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I recently spent two weeks in this lovely house, which is only a 10 minute walk from the center of Atenas. It is spacious on the inside with a large and quite beautiful patio on the outside. Having a pool was the icing on the cake. The gated community of Roca Verde is very secure and is perfectly located as a jumping-off point for further travels around the country side. Also, the couple who manage the property were quite helpful and attentive. For the budget traveler (like us), the property was quite a bargain. Not only do I recommend staying here, I also hope to return in the very near future.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Dec-2015
  • Date of Stay: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
14 Miles
San Jose International
Nearest Ferry
30 Miles
Punta Arenas
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Bus Station
Nearest Beach
30 Miles
Punta Arenas
Car: not necessary

local markets, rodeo, local ferias

cloud forest canopy tours, jungle hikes, orchid gardens and coffee plantations, humming bird and butterfly observatories, 1hr to Pacific beaches

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Atenas, Costa Rica

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
£395
for 5 nights
From
£64
£484
£1,560
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £5 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

mandatory final cleaning £25.99
excess party person/nigh £5.2
utilities per week £44.56
Refundable Damage Deposit £185.65

Rates are subject to change until booking is confirmed.

weekly net rent is reduced over time: the longer, the cheaper:
1st week : USD 602,- 2nd.wk: 540,- 3rd.wk : 480,- 4th.wk: 410,-

Weekly rents carry additional USD 50,- for utilities per week
Pls. use pool and equipment with prudence and at own risk. No lifeguard on duty !

We are surrounded by nature and share this paradise with wildlife.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals