HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

An Historic home with modern amenities only 10 minutes from Niagara Falls!

People12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Space 2,500 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

A safe suburban location near the Falls without having to stay in the city

This a very special home built in 1888 as a summer residence for the family of a well known Buffalonian.

Beautiful lawns spread across an acre of land. Awake to the sunrise shimmering over the river. Enjoy secluded picnics and bon fires on your own property at the rivers edge, just across the street. Bring your fishing gear to fish off the dock. We can also allow you space to dock your boat. If you're bringing a jet ski, no problem . We have a lift!

View the Niagara River from the veranda or the hot tub!

As was the trend in the late 1800's, wealthy families would summer on Grand Island, located between Buffalo and Niagara Falls, NY. There were resorts and clubs to cater to these families. There were also a number of private homes built. Our Home on Riversedge was one of them.

With 4/5 bedrooms, 2 baths, a game room, family room, formal dining room and formal parlor there is plenty of room for your group to spread out.

We will provide a unique and memorable experience for you. Something for all ages. Definately child friendly and meticulously clean . Reserve your spot today!

Our home is situated just across the street from the Niagara River and has 4/5 bedrooms with 2 full bathrooms with tubs and showers.

One bath is on the first floor, the other on the second.

We have a lovely parlor wit a gas fireplace where you might choose to relax and read or visit. Maybe a game of chess or checkers will help you pass the time. We supply lots of books and games for the family to enjoy.

The formal dining room will make your special occasions truly remarkable!

Our state of the art country kitchen provides the perfect gathering place for the family. Fully equipped and custom concrete countertops, hardwood floors and a spacious breakfast bar provides for the best way to start the day during your exciting Niagara stay!

Our family room is quite large and features a large HD flat screen TV. You won't believe the panoramic views of the river to the front and the woods behind this very private residence!

There are flat screen TV's in the 3 upstairs bedrooms.

Our 5 th bedroom is on the first floor. It is used as a den when not needed as a bedroom.

We have lots of books and games as well as bicycles and outdoor activities for your enjoyment. There is an air hockey game on the lower level. An Ipod dock will let you fill the home with all your favorite tunes.

The hot tub is located in a private gazebo off of the patio.

This one of a kind property combines history, comfort and elegance.

Restaurants from fine dining to fast food right here on Grand Island as well as a large grocery store, banks, pharmacies and so much more.

Year round swimming pool just a mile down the road at the Radisson( Only $5 per day)

10% discount for weekly rental

Your hosts , Bob and Anne

More Details

Owner
Anne and Bob Fahning
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
20 May, 2018

About Anne and Bob Fahning

We have always had an interest in history and older homes. When this house became available we were able to see past the years of neglect . It is an amazing home with 3 floors and is situated on 190 feet of waterfront on the Niagara River. A uniquely special property for all seasons! From golfing, fishing , swimming and sunbathing to hiking and skiing you'll find it all nearby!

Anne and Bob Fahning purchased this house in 2012

Why Anne and Bob Fahning chose Grand Island

This home is rich in history and happens to be only 1/4 mile from our home so it was the perfect fit for us.

It is a large enough home for everyone to be able to find space to meet their needs.

What makes this house unique

Year round our home is very special. We'll keep you cozy in the winter and outside and busy in the summer.

You'll have a unique opportunity to stay in a somewhat rural community while being only 10-15 minutes from both Buffalo and Niagara Falls. No hustle and bustle here. You can actually hear the birds chirping.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks again for providing such a wonderful place for 5 busy Moms to spend a long weekend scrapbooking, relaxing and laughing! The house has everything we could ask for to make our weekend perfect! We will be back in the Fall !
Mar 2016
  • 1 of 5

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Grand Island in Erie County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • No one except registered guests are allowed at the property without written permission.
Location Type:
  • river ...
  • rural
  • Water View ...
  • waterfront ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • Both bathrooms have a tub with shower. Shampoo, conditioner and body wash dispensers are provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Double Bed , Can add a Pak n Play also
  • Plush bedding with down comforters. There is an air mattress if extra sleeping is needed.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 6 bicycles
  • 10 garden chairs
  • 6 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • Horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • ski
  • swimming

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(28 traveller reviews)

89% Complete
7% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
An Historic home with modern amenities only 10 minutes from Niagara Falls!
average rating of 4.857143 based on 33 reviews
5

Perfect Location for Autumn Family Gathering

  • 5 of 5

Various members of my family met at this VRBO location for a long-overdue reunion. This is a beautiful piece of property that provided us nice space to relax and reacquaint with each other. All of the facilities are very well-maintained. The house was updated very well while keeping its colonial characteristics. Everything was extremely tidy and clean - not a speck of dust anywhere. The kitchen is well-appointed for cooking decent meals. The bedrooms were all quite comfortable with nice bedding. The Murphy bed in the front parlor is a nice feature for people with physical limitations for climbing stairs to the second -floor rooms. The towels and other linens provided were all of good quality.

As an air traveler, I appreciated the presence of shampoo and body wash in each bathroom.

The location of this house on Grand Island is really quite nice. As visitors to the area, we were able to easily access Niagara Falls and other tourist attractions, yet enjoy some peace away from the hubbub of the city. Grand Island itself is quite interesting and beautiful for a vacation destination. There are numerous parks around the island worth exploring.

It was nice to have lots of literature available in the house regarding the local attractions.

Anne is a very pleasant property owner/manager. My communications and transactions with her were all very positive. She is very knowledgeable about the area and offers appropriate suggestions for things such as dining and activities. She was prompt and detailed with all of her email communications.

If I should ever find myself in that part of the country again, I wouldn't hesitate to rent this property. It felt like home to all of us.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sylvia and family, Bob and I are so pleased that you had a great stay at our home. Thank you for the kind remarks! We'd love to have you back again. Warm Regards, Anne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for our family. We all enjoyed sledding on the property and the home is well appointed

  • 5 of 5

Ann and Bob are very responsive and wanted to ensure that we had everything we needed. Having the washer/dryer and all that was needed in the kitchen was huge for us. Great location.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your family time here. You are a hardy group tolerating sub 0 temperatures! We'd love to have you back again. Maybe in warmer weather so you can enjoy the river and dock.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Griswold
4

Family Game Getaway

  • 4 of 5

This spacious home with unique rooms was big enough to accommodate our party of 11 people. The owner was quick to respond to questions or requests regarding the property. The house is situated in an area which is conveniently located near Niagara Falls and Buffalo. House had everything you could possibly need. The neighbors were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend this property to others. Anne thank you for everything .

  • Review Submitted: 04-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review. We appreciate that you left the house in excellent condition. We pride ourselves on providing a very clean property for our guests and we are grateful when folks respect that. We hope to see you back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cute, with plenty of space for guests

  • 5 of 5

The property had everything we needed, from toys for my daughter, a well-laid out space, fans and a pack'n'play, clear instructions (and not too many!), private parking, easy drive to the falls. The owners have done this before!

More importantly, Anne was proactive with communicating from the date of the initial reservation. She checked in via phone at our arrival, and was nearby if we had any issues. Deposit return was prompt.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful accommodations!

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed at this lovely home when my daughter got married. Couldn't have worked out better. It's a lovely, spacious home. We made use of the whole house (and hot tub) and had a lovely dinner on the back deck. I would recommend this home to anyone!

  • Review Submitted: 27-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
VESTAL, NY
5

Perfect Venue

  • 5 of 5

My daughter was celebrating her wedding in the Buffalo Area and since we are out of town we decided to rent a home. Great Choice. The house was the perfect venue for a Wedding base of operations. The house is easy to get to and conveniently close to the GI Bridge. The home is beautifully decorated (nicer than my own) with some rooms being early 20th century and others more modern. There are 4 bedroom upstairs and one parlor that serves as a bedroom. With 2 full baths and the aforementioned bedrooms you can easily sleep 10. There is a large dining room and a large back porch. The Kitchen is large and is well stocked. It seems previous guests left quite a few staples so it kept me from having to run right out to the store (be sure to pay it forward). There is a hot tub which we made use of, and a large lawn/dock area across the street (it is beautiful but time did not allow us to use). There is a large number of bikes and games in the basement, good wifi. There were many TV's and cable but we did not use.We made great use of the house for wedding pictures. Parking is ample, we easily parked 3-4 cars.We are very grateful to Anne and Bob for the use of their home. They were gracious hosts and available when needed.

A few minor items - the stove is small, I was able to use for a breakfast, but for dinner plan to use the gas grill provided; There are 10+ foot ceilings - that means there are a lot of stairs between floors (10-12), it was not a problem for us but if you had elderly or disabled it could be an issue; the road in front is relatively busy - children will need supervision.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the lovely review. We are so glad that the house was such a good fit for your family! I want to point out that the first floor bedroom and bath has been useful for folks with mobility issues. Also I'm sorry if I did not point out that there is a full size range and oven in the game room downstairs for those large family dinners. We hope to see you back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Riverstone Grill
Fine dining at reasonable prices.
The Village Inn
Home cooked meals in a very casual atmostphere. Fabulous soups and desserts.
Dick and Jenny's
Breakfast , lunch and dinner. Good food with a Louisiana flair. Nice upscale bar.
Brick Oven Pizzeria
Great pizza and chicken wings
John's Pizza & Sub Shop
Great subs and salads
The Beach House Restaurant
Cozy local place. Best fish fry in the area
TOPS Friendly Markets
Beaver Island State Park
This is not placed correctly on this map. It is the southern most part of the Island at the ...
Martin's Fantasy Island
Affordable amusement park. Not too big . Easy to manage. Very nice water park as well as amu...
Tim Hortons
Burger King
McDonald's
Wendy's
Stans Pizza Parlor -- CLOSED
Very good pizza . Carry out
Just Pizza
Very good pizza. Great variety. Carry out
Say Cheese Pizza
Bar and restaurant . Family friendly although a bit loud at times.
Maid of the Mist
Niagara Falls
Nearest Airport
18 Miles
Buffalo or Niagara Falls
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Bar
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Beaver Island State Park
Nearest Train
18 Miles
Buffalo or Niagara Falls
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
I 190
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Ellden's Grill , Dick and Jenny's , BK, Wendys
Nearest Ski
45 Miles
Ski
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Beaver Island State Park
Car: necessary

Our home is conveniently situated on Grand Island NY. Niagara Falls is just 7 miles to the north and Buffalo is just 10 miles to the south. Minutes from shopping, casinos, parks, beaches and so much more. A beautiful sandy beach where you can relax and swim is only a few miles from the house right here on Grand Island. There is a Town fishing site less than 1 mile upriver.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Grand Island, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer
16 May 2018 - 12 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
£847
for 3 nights
From
£282
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £19 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall
13 Sep 2018 - 18 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£512
for 3 nights
From
£171
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £19 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
19 Nov 2018 - 26 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£624
for 3 nights
From
£208
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £19 per night, per additional guest
 
Late fall
27 Nov 2018 - 21 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£524
for 3 nights
From
£175
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £19 per night, per additional guest
 
Holidays
22 Dec 2018 - 31 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£646
for 3 nights
From
£215
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £19 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£524
for 3 nights
From
£175
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £19 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £148.52

$30 per night for each additional guest
Complimentary stay for children 2 and under
PLEASE PAY BY CHECK
NO CREDIT CARDS PLEASE
CALL OWNER FOR DETAILS

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable