HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Perfect Westshore Lakefront - 108' Frontage and Close to Town

Bedrooms 3
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-10)

Great lakefront home on the west shore of beautiful Schroon Lake. Three bedrooms, spacious living room with a beautiful stone fireplace and AMAZING views of the lake and mountains. Eat in kitchen, roomy screen porch and large deck with the same great views. The master has a queen size bed. The second bedroom has a full bed and a set of bunks, and the third has two twin beds. There's a queen sleeper sofa in the living room, and a queen air mattress and a twin fold out. The kitchen is fully equipped including microwave, dishwasher, stove and refrigerator.

There is a sandy beach, a boat dock and the views are unbeatable of the Pharaoh Mountain Wilderness. The swimming area is perfect for children of all ages. It has a sandy bottom and is very gradual for the little ones, but the older kids can jump in off the end of the dock.

The house is less than one mile south of the village of Schroon Lake and an easy walk or ride to town, shopping, restaurants, movie theater and services, but it is far enough off Route 9 that it is extremely quiet and peaceful. It's also less than a half hour from Gore Mountain and would be a cost effective way for a couple of families to have their own ski getaway for a month or even the whole winter. Monthly or seasonal rates are available. Please call or email owner for details.

Larger groups, please see other home if you need a bit more space. The two homes together accommodate up to 22 guests and provide a great set-up for a Family Reunion or other large groups. See listing #325945.

Keywords: house, cabin, cottage, lakefront

More Details

Member since: 2010
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
10 March, 2018

About The Owner

I grew up in upstate NY and spend my summer vacations at Schroon Lake.

The Owner purchased this house in 2006

Why The Owner chose Schroon Lake

Schroon Lake has always been my favorite place to vacation from childhood through adulthood. It has all the beauty of Lake George without the crowds. You can boat to the Town of Schroon for lunch or shopping, and it's so close to Lake George and Gore Mountain and so many other Adirondack attractions! It's where I plan to spend my retirement, and until that time I will share my home with those who also enjoy the beauty of the Adirondacks!

What makes this house unique

I chose this house because the swimming area is perfect - one of the few sandy spots on Schroon Lake, and it's really great for kids. I also love being so close to town. It's nice to be able to walk to town for lunch or an ice cream cone with the kids. Other homes I looked at were very close to Route 9 with lots of road noise and traffic that would cause me to worry about the kids. We're on a little dead end road that gets almost no traffic and is set far below Route 9 so you don't hear any road noise. And the absolute best thing is the view! There is nothing better than sitting on the deck, drinking a cup of coffee and looking out over the lake to Pharoah Mountain. It's really amazing!


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Schroon Lake in Town of Schroon

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
  • Maximum of 3 vehicles. All vehicles must be completely parked on our property and not stick out into the road.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Mountain View
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • Boating
  • Miniature golf
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Screen Porch, Fire Pit, Row Boat, 2 Kayaks, Blankets/Pillows/Comforters Provided (Linens and Towels NOT Included)


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

90% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
Perfect Westshore Lakefront - 108' Frontage and Close to Town
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 11 reviews
Warwick, NY


  • 5 of 5

I spent 10 days at this cute cottage! It is located in the perfect spot, close to everything Schroon Lake has to offer and right on the water. Lots of comfortable beds. Space for a good size group. There are big picture windows in the LR overlooking the gorgeous lake. I love the screened porch, its the perfect spot to hang out day and night. At night I fell asleep listening to the lapping water and the loons calling. My dog was able to come with me, which was wonderful, he loved swimming in the lake. My family joined me on the weekends and spent time swimming, fishing and kayaking, they loved the cottage and location as well. Colleen is a gem to work with, she always gets right back to you with in hours. I highly recommend Witherbee's Carriage House Restaurant, Sticks & Stones Wood Fired Bistro & Bar (you can bring your dog and eat on the patio) and Flannagans Pub and Grill (great if you want to watch a game! We are hockey fans.) A great vacation was had by us all! Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: 23-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad it worked out for you and gave you the getaway you were hoping for. There's nothing like September in the mountains! We hope you make it back next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Relax and enjoy the lake!

  • 5 of 5

Great week spent by Schroon Lake. House has an amazing view from the deck. Spent many evenings grilling and taking in the view. Area is lovely. There is so much to do in the area would love to visit again!

  • Review Submitted: 19-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

There were 4 adults and 2 children ( ages 3 and 10 months ) in our group. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The home was perfect, more than we expected. The owner was great to work with. We look forward to staying again in the future. Thank you !

  • Review Submitted: 02-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brunswick, NY

Alittle slice of Adirondack heaven

  • 5 of 5

Whenever I think of truly getting away, I think of this cabin on Scroon Lake. My husband and I, along with our two boys and lively goldendoodle, spent a beautiful week here in the early fall. The weather was still warm enough to enjoy the lake with our kayaks and for our dog to tire herself out with a swim. The deck was perfect for my morning tea and taking in the mountain views before setting off on our daily hikes. In the evenings the screen porch offered a bug free dining option and the fire pit was perfect for smores. The convenient location was ideal, not too far to many trails and fishing spots. The cabin was quaint and rustic, but what it lacked in size and frills it surely made up in spectacular Adirondack views.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Jan-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Albany, New York

Best Lake Cabin We Have EVER Rented!

  • 5 of 5

Our first trip to Schroon Lake and this wonderful cabin was at least 5 years ago and from the moment we pulled up we were hooked. I don't think you will find a better view on all of Schroon Lake. We have two kids who have now grown up coming here. We love it so much we have even started renting weekends in the Spring and Fall in addition to our summer week. The road is extremely private and quiet. The cabin has lots of room for us inside although we find ourselves practically living on the screen porch and deck and around the fireplace outside. The sand beach and swimming is what my kids love the most. It's so easy to watch them and the water is so clear. The owner has always been incredibly attentive to any needs we had and gave us information for the area. Cafe Adirondack is a must go to restaurant and there are endless possibilities for hiking. As the kids have gotten older we have been able to just increase the difficulty and reward for them. I can't say enough about this cabin. It has meant so much to our family and we look forward to going back for years to come! If you are looking for the perfect Adirondack experience this is the place for you: great beach, great town, great swimming, great view and memories that will last a lifetime.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Jan-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jessie! We love to rent to people who love everything about Schroon Lake as much as we do! It's great to have you guys back every year. See you soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Philadelphia, PA


  • 2 of 5

My husband and I have traveled a lot around the country and we have stayed at many very nice vacation rentals. Unfortunately, this was NOT one of them. If you're expecting a cute little lake front cabin, this is NOT IT. I should have known better than to book a vacation rental that only offered 4 photos to preview. Now I know why.

I'll start with a few positives: The view of the lake and mountains from the LR/deck is BEAUTIFUL, the deck is nice, the location is very good, and the little town of Schroon Lake is VERY cute. That's where the positives end for me. When we first approached the property, I noticed that the cabin looks like it hasn't been painted in about 35 years. The window in the entry storm door is held in with DUCK TAPE! (What??!) Not a very good first impression. When I entered, the kitchen looked kind of cute, except there were dishes still piled up in the dish rack, and there was still food in the fridge from the previous renters. When I started looking around the cabin, I realized that there was NOT ONE DECORATIVE ITEM AT ALL in the entire place. Not one. There are no pictures on the walls at all (although we know there used to be some as evidenced by the nails still sticking out of the paneling!) And not one decorative item of any kind to reflect the lovely lake/mountain area that we were in. Very strange. The place wasn't very clean either. (I have to say, the owner tried to accommodate us by allowing us to gain access a few hours early). There were cob webs on the screen porch that looked like they had been there a while; the cushions on the furniture on the screen porch are stained and an ugly shade of brown, and the rug on the screen porch is frayed and stained. The area rug in the bedroom was stained also, and the window shade was broken (which I alerted the owner to). There was a lot of dust under the bed. The place is not very homey or welcoming at all. The fireplace in the L/R is unusable. The door is nailed shut and they didn't even bother to clean it out before they nailed the door shut! Weird. There was a can full of very stinky trash still in the basement too (where the washer/dryer are). It's really a shame, because the place could be very cute if a little bit of time and attention was paid to fixing it up a bit. Adding some color would help cheer the place up too. Even a few inexpensive flea market items would go a long way to making this place feel homey, and not so depressing.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Sep-2014
  • Date of Stay: September 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We apologize that you were disappointed with your stay. The door screen had been recently damaged. As a replacement was not readily available, the handyman did his best to find a temporary fix, and the door was replaced with a brand new one right after your stay. We really wish you had contacted us per the contract so we could have immediately addressed the cleaning issues. It is always tough to balance the requests for early entry with the desire to get the place clean and ready for arrival with a limited window between check out and check in. It seems that in the rush to accommodate your request some things were missed and we apologize. If we are alerted to any issues, we send our property manager over and address them just as quickly as we can! The shade that you told us about was fixed immediately. With such amazing views of Schroon Lake and Pharaoh Mountain, it never occurred to us to hang decorative items on the limited wall space. We totally understand that is a personal preference so we have added some fantastic Adirondack pictures by a very talented local photographer. We appreciate all feedback as it helps us make the experience better for all of our guests. Fortunately we have had few complaints in several years of renting and we address every single one as quickly and completely as we can. Thank you.
Did you find this review helpful?
13 0


Boat rentals


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Schroon Lake, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Security Deposit £358.85
Cleaning Fee £93.3
Tax Rate 3.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals