HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Charming Cottage Just 2 Blocks From South Beach And Kids Corner Park!

People10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
10
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in South Haven - Lani Cottage

3 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom, Walking Distance To Downtown And The Beach.

This charming cottage is just 3 short blocks from beautiful South Beach and the largest kids' park in South Haven,...Kids Corner. This sun filled, clean, adorably decorated home is perfect for families and friends to gather and enjoy one another in beautiful South Haven with all the comforts of home. The upper level has 1 bedroom with 1 Double Bed and 2 twin beds. The loft has a twin trundle bed. Main level has 2 Queen bedrooms, 1 with adjoining bath. Another Full Bath is on the main level. The large eat in kitchen is equipped with all the necessities, open floor plan to large living room. Easy walk to downtown and Lighthouse Pier. Privacy fence in back yard with grill and patio table and chairs. Amenities include: Free Wireless Internet, HD Cable TV, Dishwasher, Washer/Dryer, Linens, Bikes, Beach Accessories, Games, Beach Chairs and Grill. Perfect for Family Vacations, Golf Outings, Holiday Celebrations and Girlfriends Getaways.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Owner
Jennifer Alexander
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
22 October, 2016
Call Owner

About Jennifer Alexander

As a family we've been going to South Haven for many summers to stay in a home for a week with friends. We love the feel of the small town and all the many shops, restaurants, bars, and events always going on. Walks along the beach in the morning and on the pier for the sunset are some of our favorite moments. We enjoyed it so much that we finally bought our own place in 2012 to share with others all the great times you can have in South Haven.

Jennifer Alexander purchased this house in 2012

Why Jennifer Alexander chose Southwest Michigan

This property is in a fantastic location, just 2 blocks from South Beach and Kids Corner and definitely walking distance from downtown. We like the fact that we can just park our car and walk or bike wherever we want to go. The walk or bike ride to town or the beach is beautiful with mature trees and historic homes and everyone is so friendly.

What makes this house unique

We want the home to feel like vacation so we spruced it up with all the Beach memorabilia and painted it with bright fresh colors. Lots of windows provide plenty of sunshine and on many of the days we can turn off the air and just enjoy the fresh cool air off Lake Michigan. The private back yard is awesome for gathering around the fire pit at night and roasting marshmallows or just having a drink and sharing stories. The home is the perfect size for a few couples to be able to enjoy the week together and provides the right amount of space. Its also great for a couple of families or one large family as there is plenty of sleeping space and family space in the living room and dining area.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

Charming Cottage Just 2 Blocks From South Beach And Kids Corner Park!
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 11 reviews
3

Great location for a family.

  • 3 of 5

We love South Haven and this is the first time we stayed in a rental there. The owner is wonderful to work with and was understanding and patient with us as we had adjustments to our schedule that was out of our control during our booking. For that we are so grateful. The house itself is in a good location for families being so close to the playground as well as south beach. Although we do prefer north beach, the great thing about South Haven is everything is so close anyway that it didn't matter. Also, the house is a short walk to downtown and the pier. The house accommodated our family perfectly in terms of space. However, it is pretty beat up overall. Maybe had to do with the end of the season? And in general, it wasn't the cleanest place either. The wood floors were cleaned very well, but the carpets (especially upstairs) are filthy. And the bathrooms and kitchen need a deep cleaning. We didn't go in the basement other than to discover that although it is clean, it's an old basement that was difficult to get in and walk around in so we just didn't bother doing laundry during our stay. Having a grill there was great for us, too.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Great cottage and location. We were able to walk to the beach and downtown.

This was our first house rental and I was weary on how it was going to be, but it was perfect.

Some toilet issues with the main bathroom but that is the only negative.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We did address the toilet issue. Please come back and stay anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lani Cottage is set for Fantastic Family Fun

  • 5 of 5

Three generations stayed at Lani Cottage last week. The seniors in the family appreciated the comfortable bed, chairs and couches for relaxing in the living areas and the backyard. There was lots of space for the youngest family members to explore by using the bikes provided in the garage. The beach items were unexpected garage finds and very helpful. Location was key since the beach, town and park were all within biking distance. The kitchen was well stocked. We kept finding things we didn't know we had like a mixer, griddle, waffle iron, etc. We also used the fire pit and the roasting sticks. If we couldn't find anything or needed something, we called the Alexanders who were kind enough to be available at all times! We left a puzzle partially put together and enjoyed the addition of the puzzles and games. Our only suggestion might be the placement of a railing by the stairs leading to the second level.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed staying at Lani. You are welcome back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful house for a girls getaway!

  • 5 of 5

12 of us girls stayed the weekend for a Bachelorette party. We had such an amazing weekend and the house was PERFECT! Our ONLY complaint is over some materials....we ran out of toilet paper within two hours of being there and at that time, there were only 9 of us and there didn't seem to be too many garbage bags but, we had just enough so it was all good! Perfect walking distance to both downtown and the beach. The house is very spacious and comfortable. We were slightly nervous with two bathrooms and 12 girls but it worked out so well. The backyard was so relaxing and we spent the whole day and night out in it on Friday. We were hardly home, at all, Saturday but it was very comfortable to come home to when we did. Thanks again for giving is such a great girls getaway weekend!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed your stay. We do note in our welcome letter and under amenities that we get you started on toiletries and garbage bags, we don't provide them. Best wishes to you and your friends.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Location for a Girls Weekend

  • 5 of 5

Myself, as well as nine of my friends enjoyed a girl’s weekend at this house to celebrate my best friends upcoming wedding. The house was absolutely perfect! Once we arrived, we parked our cars and didn’t move them since it was an easy walk to both the beach and downtown. We spent both evenings around the fire pit in the backyard. The kitchen is the perfect size to enjoy each other’s company and there was plenty of room for all 10 adults to sleep comfortably. I highly suggest stopping by the farmer’s market on Saturdays, watching the sunset over the pier, and eating dinner at Su Casa. We were already planning our next girls trip before leaving!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back! Thank you for your kind words and for taking such good care. Best! The Alexander's
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Louisville
4

Perennial South Haven vacationer

  • 4 of 5

Very nice house that was well appointed. There were a few minor issues that need to be addressed but wouldn't keep me from staying there again. Disposal didn't work and there didn't seem to be any plan to fix that. Toilet ran constantly which is more of an issue for the person paying the water bill than the tenant (I say that as a landlord myself!). Other than that, we couldn't have asked for more. Location was great and house was very comfortable and spacious. I also cannot say enough good things about the town of South Haven. We've been there for about 7 years running and plan to buy something there when we retire. Its is a slice of heaven (at least in the summer).

  • Review Submitted: Aug 4, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review as we always want to make sure our guests have a great experience and want to come back to stay. Unfortunately we didn't know about the toilet running until our cleaning crew found your note after you checked out and that was fixed immediately. Regarding the disposal, we have chosen to not have one (as its is not listed in the amenities and has a note on it to not use) because we have had several occasions where families have put items down it and it caused serious problems. You were wonderful renters and took good care of the cottage. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and love South Have as much as we do. You are welcome back anytime and in between each season we add and improve more things to the cottage. Best regards, the Alexander's
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
43.22 Miles
Battle Creek/Kalamazoo International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Black River Tavern
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Beeches Golf Club
Nearest Train
65.53 Miles
Michigan CIty, Indiana
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
I196
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Maria's
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
TimberRidge Ski Resort
Nearest Beach
0.25 Miles
South Beach
Car: recommended

Watch the sunset at night on Lighthouse Pier. Get the best ice cream in southwest MI at Kilwin's downtown. Ride bikes along the tree lined streets. Kids can play at Kids Corner just two blocks away. Quaint shops downtown for shopping. Be sure to check out out the farmers market. Watch the pirate ship come in and out of the harbor every day.

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in South Haven, Southwest Michigan

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Standard Rate
28 Nov 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£581
for 2 nights
From
£209
From
£250
Fri,Sat
£1,165
£2,250
 
 
Christmas special
23 Dec 2016 - 26 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
£504
for 3 nights
£957
 
 
New Years special
30 Dec 2016 - 1 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£504
for 3 nights
£957
 
 
Standard Rate
2 Jan 2017 - 25 May 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
2 night minimum stay
£581
for 2 nights
From
£209
£1,165
£2,250
 
 
Memorial Weekend
26 May 2017 - 29 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£468
for 3 nights
£873
 
 
Summer - non peak
30 May 2017 - 16 Jun 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
2 night minimum stay
£748
for 2 nights
From
£292
From
£334
Fri,Sat
£1,624
 
 
Summer - Peak
17 Jun 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,958
for 7 nights
£1,958
 
 
Labor Day Weekend
2 Sep 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
£343
for 2 nights
£790
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
2 night minimum stay
£581
for 2 nights
From
£209
From
£250
Fri,Sat
£1,165
£2,250
 

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £46
Cleaning fee £118
Tax Rate 6.0%

No Pets Allowed. Sales tax and damage protetion are not included in rental rates. Summer rental is from Saturday to Saturday.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in South Haven in Michigan

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1486 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • beach ...
  • city centre ...
  • lake ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , Attached Bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Loft - 2 Single Bed , Twin Trundle
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed , 2 Single Bed
  • Master Bedroom has dresser and walk in closet with master bath. Other bedrooms include dresser and large closet space.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties