HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Rustic Cabin on the River

49 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday cabin in Pickens

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-6)

This cozy cabin is located off Scenic HWY 11 near Tablerock.

This is in the heart of Upstate South Carolina near the Appalachian Trail. The cabin is located on Oolenoy River, which is A class a trout river. It is within 5 minutes from a public golf course. Jocasse and Hartwell lakes are only 20 minutes away, with Lake Keowee only 10 minutes down the road.

Tablerock State park is 2 miles from the cabin with many other parks also very close by.

This area offers: Hiking the Foothills Trail from Tablerock State Park, Biking or Motorcycle Riding, Golf at The Rock at Jocassee, Boating, paddling or diving at Keowee or Jocassee lakes, Swimming at Jocassee or Tablerock State Park, Canoeing at Tablerock Lake, Local flavors and crafts, Ice cream or lunch from Aunt Sue's, Horseback Riding, Quiet walks, Fishing in the river or the lakes, explore the many colorful places around here. Short trip to Hendersonville or Asheville.

Amenities: This roomy cabin has one queen size bedroom, 2 single size bedrooms and a pullout couch that sleeps 2. One large bathroom. The Kitchen comes all equipped with full size refrigerator, gas stove, Microwave, toaster, coffeemaker, dishes, pots and pans. It sits 10 feet from the river with a back porch for evening get-togethers. The area is great for Kids, young and old. The cabin also has a television and DVD player.

Keywords: cabin

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets considered

Member since: 2011
Speaks English, Norwegian
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
21 October, 2016
Call Owner


based on 49 holidaymaker reviews

Rustic Cabin on the River
average rating of 4.367347 based on 49 reviews

Even better than represented!!

  • 5 of 5

My girlfriend and I chose to rent this property mainly due to the location, but when we stepped inside we realized it was truly perfect. It's better than the pictures could ever tell you. Read a few entries of the visitor log and you'll see what I mean. We're not ones for the golf course resort kind of places. The owner is very nice and the place is filled with all kinds of nice accents. Great feel to it. And the books of waterfalls and great hiking in the area was really handy. We didn't count on having that local info. We'll be back for sure!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 21, 2007
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2007
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
32 0

Great little getaway spot!

  • 4 of 5

Thank you so much for a great stay! We all enjoyed the little "shack" and greatly appreciated the laundry unit that was available as well!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

wonderful peaceful time

  • 4 of 5

My family and I had a wonderful time here. There were enough linens and towels. The beds were comfortable and the living room had enough seating for 6 adults and 2 small children. I really liked that the kitchen was fully stocked with all the equipment needed for us to cook. We really enjoyed the patio in the back where we had a quiet and peaceful dinner on the grill that was provided. Having tiny children, it was very convenient to have a washer/dryer on site. This was a very rustic cabin so it wasn’t very bright inside, but it was fine because we spent most of our time enjoying the wonderful, spacious outdoor scenery. Because we went in July, we were very thankful that the cabin had 2 A/C units, one in the living room and one in the master bedroom. The only thing we all missed while staying here was wifi, but some of us still had cell signal so it was not that bad (AT&T had full service but T-Mobile didn't have any). When we noticed that two lights were out, I notified the owner and she had some nice people come over immediately to put in new bulbs. I definitely recommend this place to all those who want to unplug from modern living and appreciate simpler living.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Private lodgings near lots of things to do

  • 5 of 5

This cabin is the perfect example of how you can have it all with a little compromise. It is steps from the Oolenoy river (which is very narrow at this point), but also steps from a working field (learn where your food comes from) The river is populated with Blue Gill, Hornyhead, Suckers, and if you're lucky you'll spot a muskrat going about his business. You are welcome to walk the edges of the fields respectfully, which will afford you views of Crows, Wrens, sparrows, hawks, owls, robins, eastern bluebirds, mockingbirds, whitetail deer and for us, a baby black bear. NOTE: never approach a baby bear no matter how small. Mom is never far away!

The cabin sits about a football field's length from the road, meaning what few cars pass by will rarely even be heard. Yet the well developed town of Pickens is only 15 minutes away if you're inclined to give up serenity for civilization for a while. Within short drives are hiking, swimming, fishing, and boating at Table Rock State park, and numerous State and locally maintained trout streams.

The cabin itself is a eclectic mix of primitive and modern, with uneven floorboards, rough cut lumber, air conditioning and cable TV. The bedrooms are clean, cozy and comfortable. The living area is spacious with a vaulted ceiling and a HDMI capable TV with basic cable. You must take two steps down into the kitchen which has a low beamed ceiling of about 6'. Modern fridge, gas stove, microwave, coffee maker and basic necessities are provided, but you should bring any specialized cookware you may need. The back porch is covered and provides a picnic table and charcoal grill. There is also a firepit about fifty feet from the side of the cabin. Laundry machines are provided in a small separate building as well.

I cannot recommend this property to anyone with mobility issues as you must step up into the cabin itself and down into the kitchen (as well as the uneven flooring,) but it is in no way hazardous for the commonly abled.

The property owner, Tone, is a gem. Friendly but unobtrusive, she is there the instant you need her and all but invisible otherwise. Perfect for those seeking privacy or those hoping to make new friends. She seems to believe strongly in sustainability and responsible stewardship, so there may be a cricket in the bathtub, and the "lawn" is mowed but not groomed. This means low poison levels, cleaner air and a healthier place to enjoy all that Nature has provided.


  • Review Submitted: Jun 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Beaufort, SC

Peaceful getaway

  • 5 of 5

This is a wonderful, peaceful, great place to get away from it all! Myself, my spouse and our dogs have spent many awesome weekend getaways at this very unique, rustic property in Pickens. The cabin is located on a one-of-a-kind piece of property in Pickens, close to Table Rock and beautiful Lakes Keeowee andJocassee in the upcountry of South Carolina. The cabin has everything you need and more! We spend most of our time outdoors, whether sitting outside enjoying meals by the little river, or by the fire pit, on this private farm location. Our dogs love running around free on the large front lawn area of the property and we love not having to have them on a leash! Tone, the owner, is so accommodating! Last year, our truck broke down and she let us borrow her van so we could enjoy our vacation, before we could get it fixed on the Monday, after the weekend was over. We have vacationed here 7 times and every time we come back, it is like "coming home" to our little slice of heaven! We will be back again, for sure!

  • Review Submitted: May 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Pro's vs. Con's

  • 2 of 5

Fist impressions, outside, we almost decided to turn around and go home, but were there to spend a weekend, to relax, site see, we would spend the night, to give it a chance. If you are expecting this to be like a hotel,,go to a hotel. It is rustic, country living, if that is your expectation, this is a prefect place.The inside grows on you, if you are from country living, city folk would not understand. The beds were disappointing, we did not sleep well. Everything you need to get by, is there, but the price per night vs reality, is to high. This is not a handicap, friendly place. Great location, to go site seeing, but were just disappointed, in the relaxation, that we were expecting. I guess the beds had a lot to do with that. Other than not being a good place for handicap's, the beds, not enough bath and kitchen linens, no gas grill only charcoal, all in all , it all, was just, OK, not something we would be interested in staying at again for the price. Somewhat disappointed.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that your stay was not what you expected. The place is not advertised as a handicap place, and I asked you when you checked in if you could get around OK in the cabin and you answered yes. If there was not enough bath or kitchen linens for you, all you had to do was ask, we were there. We are here and available to try to make sure your stay is comfortable. As for the price we are in line with all other cabins in the area. The booking website has imposed a fee this year. We provide everything you need for a stay except for food. There are pictures of the cabin online which shows exactly what it looks like, so that should not have been a surprise.As for the beds, we had ordered new mattresses and are expecting them next week.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Car: necessary


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Pickens, Table Rock

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Housekeeping/Linen £41
Pet Fee £0
Tax Rate 8.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund for cancellations more than 0 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Pickens in Western South Carolina

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Single Bed
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Terrace
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets considered ...
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties