Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Beautiful Home near Lake and Pool in the heart of Monflanquin

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,614 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Open our front door and step across the theshold into the world of the long ago past. Find yourself surrounded by the warmth of incredible stone walls and great wooden oak beams. As you ponder the elegant chandelier, worry not, as the dread of the 15th century lifestyle has been washed away by the luxuries of the present.

Enjoy a great glass of wine while drinking in the setting of beautiful Voltaire chairs, wonderful hand chosen antiques, and uplifting colourful modern original artwork.

Or if you must, contemplate your slumber in elegant wrought iron beds with the highest quality of linens laid upon them to snuggle under.

All of this can be found in a village where traditions and customs date back to the 13th century.

Monflanquin has been awarded the distinction of being 'one of the most beautiful villages in France'. Perched high upon a grand hill, this medieval village overlooks the spectacular countryside of sunflower fields and vineyards. Within the village itself, one will find wonderful narrow walkways revealing stone and half timbered medieval homes dating back over 500 years.

Our home is one of these homes. Dating back to the 15th century, our home occupies a perfect location in the village, just metres from the historical main square. Here one can find wonderful restaurants, and of course, the home of the famous 'Black Prince'. Held within the square, are traditional market days, antique festivals, flower festivals, medieval festivals, evening fests and art shows.

As you enter our home, you'll find yourself in the medieval stable and hayloft. Today however, the loft is now a bedroom and the stable is a wonderful lounging area with modern art, cream leather furniture, hand chosen antiques and our HDTV and DVD center.

Walking up the narrow stairway, you enter the kitchen, dining and sitting area. Also within this area, you will find a large wood burning fireplace, and in a separate room, a bathroom and the laundry facilities. Open the windows here, and let in the light and drink in the view of those half timbered homes.

Ascending the last portion of stairway, you will find two more luxuriously appointed bedrooms with beautiful historic plank floors. These bedroom have a view of neighbouring tile roofs and the distant countryside. Also on this floor you will find a large, bright and modern bathroom. Our home has everything to make your stay a little more than special.

And for that matter, so does the region. Whether you enjoy castles, caves, prehistoric sites, canoeing, golf, hot air ballooning, horseback riding or site seeing airplane flights, the Monflanquin region has it all.

If you have any questions or would simply like to see more pictures of the home, please just let us know. We will strive to make your stay in our home something that you will always remember.

Keywords: bordeaux, wine country, bastide, south of France, village home, medieval

More Details

Gary Lewicki
Member since: 2011
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
12 July, 2018

About Gary Lewicki

We the owners are a family of three, my wife works in the medical profession, my son is a ardent student and I am a professor of history.

Gary Lewicki purchased this house in 2010

Why Gary Lewicki chose Monflanquin

We are all addicted to travel and when we stumbled across this wonderful village, we absolutely had to set down some roots here.

What makes this house unique

I love all the history in this home, and letting my mind drift back in time to imagine all that went on here over the many centuries. You can just feel the past when you stay here.

Guestbook comments from the owner

"Beautiful gem in the south of France exceeded our expectations.."

Prior to my stay the exchanges with Gary (owner) were positive, professional and helpful. We picked up the keys as instructed and all was well. I'd expected a clean and furninshed home, and got so much more. The decor, deluxe modern and antique furnishing, and appliances were blended perfectly into this extremely cosy and functional home. The artwork and colour scheme of the home are original and lively, and the bedrooms were abolutely glorious. Be it in town, or the countryside, we found so many things to see. Everything there is just so charming. As we love great food and wine, we found ourselves in our own personal heaven sampling all the culinary treats the region has to offer. I hope to do this trip again because the time we spent there was too short, and we'll look to stay in this very place when we return.
Oct 2010
  • 1 of 4


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Monflanquin in Lot-et-Garonne

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1614 sq. ft.
  • 3 stories
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (2) Beds feature high quality duvels and exceptional linens, Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) New leather sofa can convert to a queen size bed
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
  • Bicycles
  • Boat
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • 2 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • Kayaking
  • swimming
view of medieval tiled roofs and french countryside


Very Good! 4/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
Beautiful Home near Lake and Pool in the heart of Monflanquin
average rating of 4.0 based on 10 reviews
Northern California

Many good points, but a few cautions

  • 3 of 5

I will note first that I do not agree with the negative comments in the previous review by Valerie M. We had no issues with cleaning or bad repair, and she must have had some personal agenda since we found none of the problems she describes.

I will list below some of the things we liked most about the house, but I want to start with a few cautions that renters should be aware of. My husband and I are of an age where stairs can be difficult. I knew that the bedrooms were on the top floor, but I should have inquired about the difficulty of the climb. For younger and stronger folks, the steps probably present no problem, but I have issues with dizziness and was not comfortable going up and down 4 flights of very steep winding stairs, especially with the rope railing at the top level.

The other safety issue concerns the master bath shower. It is a beautiful shower, and works well, but the floor is so slippery that I was afraid to use it until we found shower sandals at the local Casino.

What we liked most about the house were:

1) Excellent location in a beautiful village, with easy parking and good access to other beautiful nearby places and wonderful restaurants in the area.

2) Amenities – a tumble dryer is a rare thing in a rental property in France, and we were very happy to have it. The wi-fi also worked very well.

3) The kitchen was very well equipped (although we rarely do any serious cooking while on vacation, so this didn’t matter too much to us personally).

4) Beds very comfortable (although I don’t think the bedroom layout would work well for more than one couple).

5) Responsiveness of owner. Although I was unable to reach Gary by phone when I had a question, he answered quickly via email to any queries.

In general, I think the house lived up to its description, although there were a few things we found inconvenient. I don’t have space to list them all, but they mostly centered on the bedroom layout, lack of clothing storage, and the seating on the kitchen/ dining level.

I am only rating the rental 3 stars, because for us personally, it was not a suitable apartment in many ways. It was the most expensive place we stayed during our 3 weeks in France, and the one where we were the least comfortable, for reasons that probably had more to do with our personal idiosyncrasies than with the condition of the house itself. People who love the antique ambience and have no mobility issues would likely rate it higher.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Oct-2015
  • Date of Stay: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

Disingenuous description of a run-down property!

  • 1 of 5

On entering the house there was an overwhelming smell of damp emanating from a floor covered with cheap/torn Lino, this room was unusable. The chandeliers were covered in grime and most of the bulbs blown, most of which we had to replace at our own expense to allow access to narrow staircase to first floor. The toilet seats in both bathrooms were broken and the one off the master bedroom was cracked and open to all nasties. Electrical extension cables were lying all over the place which may have accounted for the light bulbs continually blowing. The front door lock was damaged; property manager intimated keys had gone missing and possibly others were using the house! There was dust/debris on the stairs, behind cupboards/ under the bed and soiled underwear under a rug in a bedroom and this was after £75 charged for cleaning! With obvious electrical problems the non operational status of the smoke alarms and absence of carbon-monoxide alarms this combined with a lack of security made for an anxious stay. The living room is overlooked by neighbours across the street, 2-3 m away ( the nature of a medieval street) but with an absent shutter which had fallen off earlier in the year there was no privacy. Mould was evident in the downstairs shower, along with discarded toiletries in cabinet and a splattered mirror. The carpets were unclean/cheap not in keeping with Gary's antique theme and hand-made beds from IKEA. On contacting the property manager, as per instructions, she couldn't help as she had no money! After 11 days out of a 3week stay we informed the P.M. We were leaving and also the owner. Gary, owner, who lives in Canada and hasn't been near the property in a year, thought our complaints were trivial and accused us of paranoia! If you want a safe and relaxing holiday avoid this place, even the Property manager tried to organise alternative accommodation as respite-her own words.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Sep-2015
  • Date of Stay: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Why would someone write an awful review? Probably for two reasons I would think, one the property was truly horrible and they felt it necessary to let the travelling public know or secondly, because the guests were seeking some sort of retribution or revenge. Let me take a minute of your time to address both. Initially, when addressing the first reason, it would make good sense to examine previous reviews to see if they are consistent with this review. We have over 16 reviews on various sites, all are 5 star reviews. However, if you just focus on this particular site, we have 4 previous reviews, all 5 star reviews. In fact, two of the four reviews are from this summer. Both reviews are 5 stars; the most recent guests described their stay as wonderful and the home perfect. This review applied to a time period just one week before this stay. The second review from the summer goes into much more detail. Here is an excerpt: “This is a very fine house, very clean and well above what you might expect for a holiday rental. The owner has loving restored the house, blending the old with the modern facilities and equipment that we all expect today. The listing and photos give the full picture accurately.....Gary is very responsive to all inquiries as is the local manager. This one star review is not consistent with all are other reviews. These guests did not book their stay through VRBO, they chose another website but decided to post their review on this site. You may ask why go out of your way to do that. An obvious answer may be revenge. These guests behaved badly and my property manager/cleaning lady intervened. She believes that this review is an attempt to get her fired. The guests certainly go out of their way to claim that the home was dirty and poorly kept. They also suggest that the cleaning lady knew she kept the house poorly and tried to find them another place to say. Logically, you would think such things would not happen. In an earlier review I quoted, it states that I was very responsive to all inquiries. I was never contacted by these guests, it appears they just left instead. Strange? Nevertheless, VRBO posted this review despite all in awful inaccuracies. Ultimately, all I can ask is that you use logic and sound judgment when taking this review in consideration. If you have any concerns, I would be happy to discuss these with you, something these people never bothered to do. Gary
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1
Den Haag, the Netherlands


  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful stay in your home. It was comfortabel and with the location right in the middel of was perfect. Thank you

  • Review Submitted: 08-Sep-2015
  • Date of Stay: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2

A great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

This is a very fine house, very clean and well above what you might expect for a holiday rental. The owner has lovingly restored the house, blending the old with the modern facilities and equipment that we all expect today. The listing and photos give the full picture accurately. One small inconvenience, depending on the composition of a group, is that access to the best bathroom with the wonderful shower requires passage through both top floor bedrooms. With only two couples there is another bedroom and shower room. The house is only two doors away from the main square with a number of restaurants but is wonderfully quiet. The village is beautiful, the people are always very friendly, the boulangeries / patisseries ( 3 of them ) are very tempting, and the general area is great for a walking and touring vacation.

Gary is very responsive to all enquiries as is the local property manager.

Susan & Neil, Scotland

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jun-2015
  • Date of Stay: June 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Beautiful home base to explore Aquitaine

  • 5 of 5

We recently spent 7 weeks in this beautiful home. The furnishings, art and kitchen are all top quality and make you feel so comfortable in your home away from home. We enjoyed going to local markets and wineries and then cooking dinner on the high-end gas stove using the commerical-grade pots and pans.

We explored the village itself with its excllent boulangerie, good restaurants and Thursday market. We also explored the Aquitaine area, from castles and chateaus to the cave paintings at Pech-Merle and Lascaux, the beaches of Biarritz, the walled city of Carcassonne, Toul;ouse, and the wine region of Bordeaux, to name just a few. We watched the harvesting and went to a Chestnut and Mushroom (cepe) local festival. People were freindly everywhere we wnet and made our stay very enjoyable.

You will not be disappointed with this accommodation and our dealings with Gary, the owner, were very good right from the start and during our stay.

The Monflanquin house is a real gem.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Nov-2012
  • Date of Stay: September 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Old world charm with every modern comfort

  • 5 of 5

We were lucky enough to enjoy this wonderful home during a six night stay in June. As described, it is an amazing 500+ year old house that has been extensively renovated and updated to provide every modern comfort you could want. Beautifully furnished, super comfy beds and equipped to a standard well above what you might normally expect in a holiday rental. Communication with Gary and key pick up was seemless. Monflanquin is a picture postcard ancient hill top village with plenty of restaurants, bakers etc. The house is only 2 or 3 doors from the village square. Monflanquin is a great base for exploring the wider area. I hope we have a chance one day to come back.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Jul-2012
  • Date of Stay: June 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Car: necessary

castle hopping, vineyard tours, horseback riding, french cooking classes,


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Monflanquin, Aquitaine

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
High Season
7 Apr 2018 - 2 Nov 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Low Season
3 Nov 2018 - 5 Apr 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

post stay cleaning fee £115.88
Cleaning fee £92.7
groups larger than four £57.94
Pet Fee £15.45
Refundable Damage Deposit £193.13

Rental rate deposits are non refundable.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question