4 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom Beach Cottage steps from the Ocean
Chris and Jenn Fletcher (or Trinity - Property Manager)
About Chris and Jenn Fletcher (or Trinity - Property Manager)
Chris and his wife Jennifer are the proud owner/operators of Halfmoon Haven. They have two sons, Braydon and Reese. For over 30 years Chris has worked as a Family Youth Counsellor for children at risk. Chris teaches life skills, and offers employment counselling, drug & alcohol counselling, conflict resolution, and life skills programs for Autistic Youth. He has expanded this work into men's retreats at Halfmoon Haven, working with parents and couples. Jennifer is a world traveler, who served for 16 years as a Social Service Worker, mostly working directly with disabled adults and in psycho-geriatrics. Now in her own private practice, Jennifer is a Registered Holistic Nutritionist; a Practitioner and Teacher of Hawaiian Shamanic Bodywork, and she facilitates Holistic Rebirthing and Breathwork experiences for individuals, couples and groups. Equipped with years of retreat work, a variety of tools from studies with various Shamans in different traditions/parts of the globe, Jennifer adores bringing people together for a unified purpose and easeful evolution. Together, through creative visioning and a true labour of love, Halfmoon Haven has become what some guests like to call the closest thing to Heaven on Earth. We welcome you to come and share in the magical experience that the Haven has to offer. Check out the link to our website under links to more information
Chris and Jenn Fletcher (or Trinity - Property Manager) purchased this Cottage in 2001
Why Chris and Jenn Fletcher (or Trinity - Property Manager) chose Halfmoon Bay
The Sunshine Coast seemed to pick us! We have been raising our two sons here and diving into the rich community and ocean waters for well over 10 years, offering private getaways, spectacular spa experiences, and so much more through this incredible piece of land that we happily share. Check out our website for all our available dates and membership options
What makes this Cottage unique
*Lush oceanfront settings; *Optional 5 star chef; *Wifi *Hot tub on bluff, overlooking the ocean and situated under a 500 year old doug fir tree *Multi-faceted Spa - massage, facials, mani/pedi *Sand volleyball court onsite *Hiking and biking trails close by *Fireplaces in both units, also beach fires/fire pit *Wide blend of fruit trees, plants, wild flowers and oriental grasses. *800 sq ft Yurt available for all guest services, or to host your perfect small business/family gathering or mini retreat. *Moorage and boat launch within minutes *General store within minutes Check out our other listing for the Halfmoon Haven: Deluxe Suite: https://www.vrbo.com/1196506
100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date. 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
No refund issued for a suite the owner double booked
We booked this entire property, which consists of a suite in the main house (deluxe suite), mini-suite in the cottage, and the cottage. We booked in Oct 2017 for our family reunion in July for 8 adults and 4 children. This is Chris's msg on VRBO booking system, "I have updated your quote to add in the full deluxe suite which will give you the full six bedrooms, 5 bathrooms and two kitchen areas. This will also give you the full property including hot tub exclusively to your family and there will be no other guest on-site". We paid the higher updated quote. Chris called 2 nights before our stay to say he had double booked us due to a glitch in the booking system, and that we didn't have the deluxe suite. We had family in flight from Saskatoon and Portland. We stated that since we booked first, Chris needed to cancel the other reservation. He refused. Instead, he said he would substitute a tent and a beach house suite (which turned out to be a hut with a mattress on the floor and no bathroom). We said this was not acceptable and that he was breaking our contract. He said instead of the tent he would give us an RV (the RV turned out to be a dirty old motor home from the 80's with no toilet). Instead of getting six bedrooms, 5 bathrooms and two kitchens, we received 1 kitchen, 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, a hut with no toilet and a broken screen door that let in mosquitoes, and an old RV with no toilet. Two of the adults ended up sleeping on the floor in the cottage instead of the RV. We were really cramped only having the beach cottage as we only had 2 bathrooms and 1 kitchen (and a small bar fridge). My husband and I took the hut. My choice in the night was to pee outside the hut or walk over to the cottage and step over sleeping bodies. Kitchen was not stocked, the whole property was run-down, and I found a pair of dirty panties at the top of the hut mattress (not mine!). We did not get the privacy we were promised as the other family got the suite we were supposed to have. We made the best of it, and after the holiday we asked for our money back since we didn't get the suite. He offered a pittance back b/c he said we should have been charged way more in the first place. Then, he wrote again and told us he wasn't going to refund any money at all. We expected the deluxe suite which we didn't get. He double dipped and got money from us and the other family who ended up getting the deluxe suite. He committed, in short, fraud.
I am the owner and operator of Halfmoon Haven and I would like to address your review in detail as it has already been red flagged on VRBO as a false and slanderous review. I am truly sorry that you are not satisfied as we did try to make many concessions to make your family vacation enjoyable.
I am very surprised that you have written a false review as I have addressed all of your issues in writing on 3 separate occasions and have compensated you over $1000 off the regular price you would have paid for your rentals, plus offered you 3 extra rooms and extra bathrooms, since the extra unit you requested was already booked. It should be noted very clearly that you ONLY booked the Beach Cottage through VRBO and you DID NOT book the deluxe suite. If you had booked both units you would have received a second booking confirmation and it would have cost you an additional $2000.
I would like to start off by saying in 18 years of business you are the very first negative review we have every received. Almost all of our reviews have been very positive and we consistently receive 4 or 5 star reviews.
We are also the #1 vacation rental property on the Sunshine Coast (on average we are occupied 3X's more then any other vacation rental on the Sunshine Coast) and we have consistently had the same families return every year as they love our space, services, amenities and our beautiful sandy beach. Which is also why we are booked out a year in advance, with a very long waiting list in our high season.
It was our Res. Manager who discovered that you only had the cottage booked and got a hold of me two days prior to your arrival. I contacted you immediately and gave you three extra rooms at NO CHARGE, so you still had the same amount of rooms you originally booked. You were now actually saving over $1000 with the extra units you were given as well as we waived the cleaning fee and your damage deposit..
I also gave you the option to cancel and you choose to keep your amended booking.
You then arrived at our space you said it was great and you even sent me a text 5 days into your holiday you stated "Things are going well for us". We did not hear from you until two weeks after your stay and got a very threatening/ blackmailing email to extort $1400 from us. We called VRBO and they said not to payout any money from false treats.
In conclusion you got all the rooms you originally requested at $1000 less to compensate for you for any inconvenience.
Beautiful renovations, spacious, phenomenal view, great location.
Loved our time at Halfmoon Haven- the only problem was we should have booked a longer stay!
Peaceful, beautiful, and amazing!
This was our first time staying on the Sunshine Coast, and it was by far one of the best family vacations we have been on. The accomadations were great, and there were no problems what so ever. Everything was clean and up to date. Now the view was the best part. Ocean front and spectacular, there are no words to explain the view, you can only see for yourself. The owners were also very nice and made us feel very welcome. The food was well stocked and the needed appliances and kitchen utensils were there. Halfmoon Haven was great for my kids and my older mother. My family and I will definitely be staying here again in the near future.
Not at this moment as advertised
This is a lovely site with lovely potential, but it is currently somewhat run down, and not as the pictures would imply, nor are all services advertised given. I would not exclude this as a possible rental--there are many plusses--but find out from the owners if they have addressed recent problems before you rent. If they have, go for it!
Dear valued guest, thank you for your feedback and you will be pleased to know we have closed for our low season to do full upgrades to both our deluxe suite and our beach cottage. We will be re-opening in April with brand new fixtures, appliances and extra amenities. Plus you will always have your million dollar beachfront view.
Pay for the view
While the sunshine coast is a beautiful place to visit, I will not be choosing Halfmoon Haven again. The view was amazing from the beach front cottage, as well as from the hot tub (when it was functioning), but it pretty much stops there. With a poorly stocked kitchen, furniture that was dirty, cluttered living spaces, and a generally run-down cottage (with a leaky roof), I would recommend this rental only if you plan on spending the majority of your day at the beach and don't mind getting rained on through the roof while you sleep. I felt it was overpriced as well.
Dear valued guest. Thank you so much for the updates we have fixed the window seal leak and re-stocked the kitchen. Our regular cleaner was away so the cottage did not have all the usual items you would be used too. You will be pleased to know we have closed down for our low season to upgrade all the units and grounds so Halfmoon Haven will be all shiny and new for our high season in 2016.
We take pride in being the number one booked vacation retreat on the Sunshine Coast for the past 10 years and we continue to strive to bring the best service and value to all our guests. We welcome you to come back next year to see all our new features and improvements.
A visit to paradise
I went to Halfmoon Haven with my wife and had a wonderful five days. We stayed in the main house, which is large and roomy. Our bedroom had a beautiful view of the ocean and we woke to the calming sound of Mother ocean. The property is on Welcome Beach, which is the best beach on the Sunshine Coast. We enjoyed late nights in the hot tub, looking up at the stars and completely relaxing. The owners, Chris and Jenn Fletcher, are very welcoming and helpful. There are many old growth forests nearby and hikes and we could go into Sechelt for a delicous dinner, a few minutes down the road. We highly recommend Halfmoon Haven to others. It feels like a spiritual and healing place where you can be nurtured and enjoy the beauty of nature.